tempobet yeni adresi

21/02/2012 : THE EDEN HOUSE - Timeflows

THE EDEN HOUSE

Timeflows

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesGothicPsychedelicTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Jungle Records
21/02/2012, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Finally they are back! Nearly 2 years after the DVD/CD "The Looking Glass", The Eden House is back with a long awaited EP: "Timeflows". This collaborative band, formed in 2008 by Stephen Carey (This Burning Effigy, Adoration) and Tony Pettitt (Fields of the Nephilim, Rubicon) had created quite a stir in the scene by combining elements of progressive metal, trip hop and psychedelia with beautiful ethereal vocal melodies sung by several guest singers like Monica Richards (Faith And The Muse), Julianne Regan (All About Eve), Evi Vine and Amandine Ferrari. Everybody remembers their awesome concert at the FantastiqueNights in October 2009.

Well, this EP was worth the waiting. The first track: "Neversea" (check video below) is a perfect hit, much in the style of "To Believe In Something". The beat is fast, with glittering guitars à la Mission/Fields and Valenteen, the new "resident" female singer, fits perfectly in the music with a voice that evokes a little bit Julianne Regan and Christa Belle (Hungry Lucy). Simon Hinkler from The Mission is guest on guitars on this track.

"Into The Red" has a slower beat, more trip hop-ish and features vocals by Valenteen and Amandine Ferrari. The structure and melodies sound a bit like "God's Pride" or "Sin" from "Smoke & Mirrors". Amandine's enchanting voice is amazing, bringing as usual such powerful emotions. The song ends with a heavenly duet of the two women singing wonderfully in thirds. "The Only One" is a slow and haunting song, in which Valenteen shows great melodic talent both in low- and high-pitched tones.

The title track "Timeflows" is a long track (more than 9 minutes) in the style of the progressive tracks from Fields Of The Nephilim and it is no surprise to hear an intro with Tony Pettitt's typical staccato bass riff (remember Psychonaut?)... The song develops into a dark and hypnotic sonic landscape dominated by Valenteen's and Meghan-Noel Evans' voices until a break comes with strange ghostly voices and sudden shouts: scary... Finally the drums of the excellent Simon Rippin return for the final chorus and a paroxistic ending. The instrumental "Timeflows Part 2" allows us to stay a bit further inside the dream...

This EP is produced by Stephen Carey, Tony Pettitt and Andy Jackson (who worked with Pink Floyd): needless to say that the sound is huge, clear, powerful and epic. I know I should not say that but I cannot help missing some people here, like Julianne, Monica and Evi. And by the way: where is the wonderful musical theme from the Recording Diary Part 1? I guess we'll have to wait for the full CD, due to be released later this year... Can't wait! So, if you like All About Eve, Evi Vine, Fields Of The Nephilim, the Mission and this kind of music, you should rush and buy this EP!

EP: Timeflows
Buy the EP on iTunes, bandcamp or ebay.
Release date: February 27th 2012
Label: Jungle Records
www.theedenhouse.com

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
21/02/2012


 

Next reviews
WINTERKÄLTE • Disturbance
APRIL • Sunderlands
FLUE • Vista
HEIMSTATT YIPOTASH • HY Breed
GRANDCHAOS • Rumours Of My Life
BLOOD AXIS • Ultimacy
FAUST • Something Dirty
JACK BEAUREGARD • The Magazines You Read
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
MOTOR • Man Made Machine

 

Other reviews from THE EDEN HOUSE
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
THE EDEN HOUSE • Bad Men (OnTheirWayToDoBadThings) [EP]

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

 

Same genre: TRIP HOP
IOKOI • Liquefy
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
LAMB • 5
SUBHEIM • Foray
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
THE GIRL WHO CRIED WOLF • Ruins
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
SOPHIE LILLIENNE • The Fragile Idea
A/T/O/S AND TRICKY • AB Brussels 27th January 2015
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading