tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

17/11/2021 : DARK - Nightmare

DARK

Nightmare

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
DarkwaveGothicPost Punk

[100/100]   

Young & Cold Records
17/11/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

DARK, a singer/songwriter from Hamburg, strikes hard with the debut album Nightmare. 8 songs that mercilessly drag you along the darkest paths of dark music.

DARK found a home at Young & Cold records. In June 2020 the first single Forever Suffer was released. An enormous bombshell. And it didn't stop there. Nightmare and Nyctophilia followed. Followers worldwide watched the clips en masse, DARK was included in tens of thousands of streaming lists.

I myself discovered this masterful project in the autumn of 2020. The first tune I heard by DARK wonderfully fitted the grey and dreary Belgian autumn day, even more desolate because there was nowhere to go during the pandemic.

And that first tune was Nightmare. A masterly song. In my 47 years of existence, I have discovered a lot of great music in as many genres as there are bands because we don't care about pigeonholing. But this? A tsunami of enthusiasm, love at first sight! Rarely have I been so overwhelmed as by this musical explosion.

When I discovered the other songs, my breath stopped several times. The songs grab you by the throat without looking back. Goosebumps. This is such an overwhelming debut that I suspect it will be hard to top. And actually, it doesn't have to be - this is absolutely sublime class.

Forever Suffer belongs at every party. Great darkwave with lyrics that don't need more than a few words: "Passion, Pain, I suffer, Again. Forever Suffer". The building blocks? Corky drumbeats, a bassline with the necessary shine, and synths that cycle by rhythmically as well as humming. Perfect! Totally perfect!

And then my absolute favourite, Nyctophilia. Actually, all eight songs are my favourites, this one perhaps even more so. You don't change a successful recipe. The ingredients are the same as the previous song, but are backed up by dark guitars. They subtly wriggle their way into this anthem.

What certainly cannot be said of DARK is that it would be one-size-fits-all. That's what the Hamburg songwriter is careful of. In the Dark You Die could almost be called minimal. Vocally DARK goes down a few registers, in an almost spoken word mode. It's certainly danceable. It has everything: nice rhythm, intoxicating melody, mystery on every level.

The next magnus opus: Gothic Love. Do not expect an unctuous ballad. No, don't! DARK's voice sounds even more tormented. Musically it hovers between darkwave, minimal and some future-pop-like passages in which the synths get an absolute leading role. Lack of cheerfulness, that's clear from this phrase: "In silent dismay - I stare at your grave - we'll be together - forever and ever".

We said it already: variety is trumps. A song between post-punk and darkwave. You can hear a hint of She Past Away in it but it might as well remind you of Clan Of Xymox. Does it matter? Not at all. A quieter song that babbles on. And shines. A diamond of very exceptional quality. With heavenly voices on top.

In The Shadows is another gem. Please give me a dancefloor bathed in mist, lock me in and put this on repeat. For hours. This never gets boring. Cut from different musical cloth again. No song sounds the same and that makes this album, which for me is the debut of the year anyway, even more interesting.

The last song is a heavy gothic song. Avoid Everyone is a sledgehammer blow... and the dance goes on.

If there is one debut album that I would call a classic, this is it. The album Nightmare excels on all levels: atmosphere, diversity in the songs, both musically and vocally. DARK announced that in 2022 they will take the stage to present us all these songs live. So organisers, wherever you are: make it happen!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2021


NL

DARK, een singer/songwriter uit Hamburg, slaat snoeihard toe met het debuut Nightmare. 8 songs die je meedogenloos meesleuren langs de donkerste paden der duistere muziek.

DARK vond onderdak bij Young & Cold records. In juni 2020 verscheen de eerste single Forever Suffer. Een bom van jewelste. En het stopte niet. Nightmare en Nyctophilia volgden. Volgelingen wereldwijd bekeken massaal de clips, in tienduizenden streaminglijsten werd DARK mee opgenomen.

Zelf ontdekte ik dit meesterlijke project in het najaar van 2020. Het eerste deuntje dat ik van DARK hoorde paste wonderwel bij de grauwe en grijze Belgische herfstdag, nog troostelozer omdat tijdens je tijdens de pandemie nergens heen kon.

En dat eerste deuntje was Nightmare. Een magistrale song. Ik heb in mijn 47-jarige bestaan al heel wat geweldige muziek mogen ontdekken in evenveel genres als er bands zijn, want hokjesdenken, daar hebben we lak aan. Maar dit? Een tsunami aan enthousiasme, liefde op het eerste gezicht! Zelden ben ik zo overdonderd geweest als door deze muzikale explosie.
Toen ik de andere songs ook ontdekte, stokte mijn adem verschillende keren. De songs grijpen je bij de keel zonder omzien. Kippenvel. Dit is een zo overweldigend debuut dat ik vermoed dat het moielijk te overtreffen is. En eigenlijk hoéft datook niet - dit is absoluut sublieme klasse.

Forever Suffer hoort op elke fuif thuis. Geweldige darkwave met een tekst die niet meer nodig heeft dan een paar woorden: “Passion, Pain, I suffer, Again. Forever Suffer”. De bouwstenen? Kurkdroge drumbeats, een baslijn met de nodige shine, en synths die zowel ritmisch als neuriënd voorbijfietsen. AF! Op en top AF!
En dan mijn absolute favoriet Nyctophilia. Enfin: alle acht songs zijn mijn favorieten, deze nét iéts meer misschien. Een succesvol recept verander je niet. De ingrediënten zijn dezelfde als vorige song, maar krijgen back-up van donkere gitaren. Ze wringen zich op subtiele wijze binnen in dit anthem.
Wat zeker niet kan gezegd worden van deze DARK is dat het eenheidsworst zou zijn. Daar past de Hamburgse songwriter voor. In the Dark You Die zou je bijna minimal kunnen noemen. Vocaal duikt DARK enkele registers lager, in een bijna spoken word-modus. Dansbaar is het zeker. Het heeft alles: lekker ritme, bedwelmende melodie, mysterie op alle vlak.
Een volgend magnus opus: Gothic Love. Verwacht je niet aan een smeuïge ballade. Nee hoor! DARK’s stem gaat nog wat getormenteerder klinken. Muzikaal zweeft het tussen darkwave, minimal en wat future-pop-achtige passages waarbij de synths een absolute hoofdrol krijgen. Lak aan vrolijkheid, dat blijkt uit deze zinssnede: “In silent dismay – I stare at your grave – we’ll be together – forever and ever”.
We zeiden het al: afwisseling is troef. Een song tussen postpunk en darkwave in. Je hoort er een zweem van She Past Away in, maar evengoed kan het je doen denken aan Clan Of Xymox. Maakt het wat uit? Not al all. Een rustiger song die voorbijkabbelt. En schittert. Een diamant van héél uitzonderlijke kwaliteit. Met heavenly voices erbovenop.
In The Shadows is een volgende parel. Geef me alstublief een in mist badende dansvloer, sluit me daar op en zet deze op replay. Urenlang. Dit verveelt nooit. Weer uit ander muzikaal hout gesneden. Geen song klinkt hetzelfde en dat maakt dit album, dat sowieso voor mij hét debuut van het jaar is, nog interessanter.
Het laatste nummer is we een loodzware gothic-song in de maag gesplitst. Avoid Everyone is een mokerslag… and the dance goes on.

Als er één debuut is dat ik nu al een klassieker durf te noemen, dan is dit het wel. Het album Nightmare excelleert op alle niveaus: sfeer, diversiteit in de songs, zowel muzikaal als vocaal. DARK liet weten in 2022 het podium te bestijgen om ons allen deze songs live cadeau te doen. Dus organisaties, waar ook ter wereld: make it happen!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
17/11/2021


17/11/2021 : DARK - Nightmare 17/11/2021 : DARK - Nightmare

 

Next reviews
NICK CAVE • Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
SONNY VINCENT • Shake Pit Therapy
MERCYFUL HEAVENS • For Now
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
SJOBLOM • Tape
JIHAD • Retrospekt
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror

 

Same combination of genres: DARKWAVE + GOTHIC + POST PUNK
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Iscariot Blues

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS