tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/02/2012 : BLOOD AXIS - Ultimacy

BLOOD AXIS

Ultimacy

MusicCD
Neofolk

[60/100]   

Tesco
14/02/2012, Chris KONINGS

"Ultimacy" collects all the singles and compilation tracks ever since the birth of the project in 1991. Two decades of neo-folk appear in reverse chronological order, beginning with recent work and moving back in time.



The first few songs sound all alike, dark folk with the moaning voice of Michael Moyhinan rising above the usual violins and other typical folk instruments. The howling wolves on "Wir Rufen Deine Wölfe" are difficult to take serious. "The March Of Brian Boru", yer typical pirate fiddler song, has an industrial intro and strangely enough this works rather well.



Gather yourself around the campfire with more fiddler's sing-a-long songs like "Follow Me Up To Carlow" and "The Hangman And The Papist". Or start ironing those brown shirts, with all the unsound rantings forced upon you during "Der Gefallene Engel", "Herjafather" and "Bearer Of 10,000 Eyes". You can better look for a blond mop of hair to put on your head!



Somewhat provocative but too "distorted" too be taken serious... I guess "Ultimacy" is only interesting for fans of Blood Axis. Since they probably have all these singles anyway this is a slightly useless release. Musically it's a stuffy affair! Bands like Of The Wand & The Moon have a lot more depth...

 

Blood Axis

Chris KONINGS
14/02/2012


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir