tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/02/2012 : BLOOD AXIS - Ultimacy

BLOOD AXIS

Ultimacy

MusicCD
Neofolk

[60/100]   

Tesco
14/02/2012, Chris KONINGS

"Ultimacy" collects all the singles and compilation tracks ever since the birth of the project in 1991. Two decades of neo-folk appear in reverse chronological order, beginning with recent work and moving back in time.



The first few songs sound all alike, dark folk with the moaning voice of Michael Moyhinan rising above the usual violins and other typical folk instruments. The howling wolves on "Wir Rufen Deine Wölfe" are difficult to take serious. "The March Of Brian Boru", yer typical pirate fiddler song, has an industrial intro and strangely enough this works rather well.



Gather yourself around the campfire with more fiddler's sing-a-long songs like "Follow Me Up To Carlow" and "The Hangman And The Papist". Or start ironing those brown shirts, with all the unsound rantings forced upon you during "Der Gefallene Engel", "Herjafather" and "Bearer Of 10,000 Eyes". You can better look for a blond mop of hair to put on your head!



Somewhat provocative but too "distorted" too be taken serious... I guess "Ultimacy" is only interesting for fans of Blood Axis. Since they probably have all these singles anyway this is a slightly useless release. Musically it's a stuffy affair! Bands like Of The Wand & The Moon have a lot more depth...

 

Blood Axis

Chris KONINGS
14/02/2012


Music reviews

16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall