tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

HEILUNG

Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

Concert
AmbientDark FolkEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeofolkSoundscape

[100/100]   
16/11/2018, Claudia BLACK

HEILUNG

With Jo Quail

The Islington Assembly Hall, London.

9/11/2018

Well what can I say about tonight's experience?? I, like many people, have waited for months to experience the ritual invocations of Heilung and finally that wait came to a well-received end!! My mind prepared and fortified for the night proceedings. I walked 10 minutes from my home to the venue and took my place in the queue, which at 6:20pm was not that long. By 6:55pm the queue was snaking its way up the pavement towards the bus stop, everyone in an anticipatory frame of mind!! The doors open!! The experience commences!!

I must say that I did have feelings that the sound would not do the performance justice, in the past I've found it a bit hit and miss, a bit tinny or flat, lacking in richness!! Not tonight though!! We had a fine opening from a cellist I'd not heard of before. Her name was Jo Quail. A friend informed me that she played Wave Gotik Treffen this year but alas my radar had not pinged back to me the existence of such fine music!! Jo took to the stage and positioned herself between all the Heilung tools of magic and set up her cello right in front of me!! Katie, one of the photographers in the pit turned to me and said ''She's really good she supported Mykur a while back!!'' Hmmm I thought. Her cello was intriguing, I wondered who's pelvis she had commandeered to create such a fine instrument! Anyway, the soundscapes were fascinating!! Using loops to create textures and beats she bowed that cello to create haunting and evocative impression on the mind that I am already hooked on. Remember Katie Tunstall when she came on stage using loops etc?? Like that but better, way better!! The set did not last long, ending with a piece inspired by a goddess of water whom I assume must be Bylgia! Jo Quail is engaging and I want to experience her sonic resonations again!!

Appetite well and truly wetted we await for the main course...

Roars and screams emanate from the crowd as a mist slowly creeps out from the back of the stage towards the acolytes behind the barriers. A hooded man prowls the stage wafting incense to all corners to focus the senses in preparation for what is to come:-

Remember, that we all are brothers
All people, beasts, trees and stone and wind
We all descend from the one great being

That was always there
Before people lived and named it
Before the first seed sprouted

And the drums start, the hypnotic drums that pull you out of your body and connect you with the spirits and the dead. In Maidjan has made me head bopping and wishing I could dance up and down in a circle. Images of prehistorical people and native Americans replete in finery, arms heavenwards gyrating in trance like states fill my mind. I can feel the vibration of the throngs behind me rhythmically moving in unison! Wow!!I A friend just responded with ''Wow'' in regards to the photos I posted on Instagram nearly in sync with me as I type this! And then we take a big breath before the drums recommence with Alfadhirhaiti (Names of The Allfather) that maintains the trance and has made me body hopping to other realms. I am here and I am there, I am everywhere!! Carpathian Forest slows things down a bit as we go for a jaunt through the trees. Krigskaldr, a lament on war has a tone to it that to me says ''Humans are stubborn, they will always be stubborn and because of this seeds will be sown for war!! We will learn a lesson and then go deaf, again!! The visual and aural spectacle continues through Fylgija Ear and Othan until we get to the finale of tonight's proceedings!! Every part of tonight's performance was spine chilling, awe inspiring and an assault on the senses. Hamrer Hippyer was all that and more!! It is a piece that commands attention and requires participation. Emancipated from the constraints of this world and this body I let loose in a sway of movement. The Shamans on the stage melded with the throngs, we became one, the one great being that was always there!!

It was an honour and a privilege to witness this ritual, I will be at rituals in the future!! You can count on it!!

10/10

https://www.facebook.com/amplifiedhistory/

https://www.facebook.com/JoQuailCello/

https://youtu.be/h1BsKIP4uYM

Claudia BLACK
16/11/2018


16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Next reviews
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
HATCHLING • Alpha
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL • Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DARKHER • Realms
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Vision: Libertine - The Hangman's Triad's
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa

Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS