tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

HEILUNG

Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

Concert
AmbientDark FolkEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeofolkSoundscape

[100/100]   
16/11/2018, Claudia BLACK

HEILUNG

With Jo Quail

The Islington Assembly Hall, London.

9/11/2018

Well what can I say about tonight's experience?? I, like many people, have waited for months to experience the ritual invocations of Heilung and finally that wait came to a well-received end!! My mind prepared and fortified for the night proceedings. I walked 10 minutes from my home to the venue and took my place in the queue, which at 6:20pm was not that long. By 6:55pm the queue was snaking its way up the pavement towards the bus stop, everyone in an anticipatory frame of mind!! The doors open!! The experience commences!!

I must say that I did have feelings that the sound would not do the performance justice, in the past I've found it a bit hit and miss, a bit tinny or flat, lacking in richness!! Not tonight though!! We had a fine opening from a cellist I'd not heard of before. Her name was Jo Quail. A friend informed me that she played Wave Gotik Treffen this year but alas my radar had not pinged back to me the existence of such fine music!! Jo took to the stage and positioned herself between all the Heilung tools of magic and set up her cello right in front of me!! Katie, one of the photographers in the pit turned to me and said ''She's really good she supported Mykur a while back!!'' Hmmm I thought. Her cello was intriguing, I wondered who's pelvis she had commandeered to create such a fine instrument! Anyway, the soundscapes were fascinating!! Using loops to create textures and beats she bowed that cello to create haunting and evocative impression on the mind that I am already hooked on. Remember Katie Tunstall when she came on stage using loops etc?? Like that but better, way better!! The set did not last long, ending with a piece inspired by a goddess of water whom I assume must be Bylgia! Jo Quail is engaging and I want to experience her sonic resonations again!!

Appetite well and truly wetted we await for the main course...

Roars and screams emanate from the crowd as a mist slowly creeps out from the back of the stage towards the acolytes behind the barriers. A hooded man prowls the stage wafting incense to all corners to focus the senses in preparation for what is to come:-

Remember, that we all are brothers
All people, beasts, trees and stone and wind
We all descend from the one great being

That was always there
Before people lived and named it
Before the first seed sprouted

And the drums start, the hypnotic drums that pull you out of your body and connect you with the spirits and the dead. In Maidjan has made me head bopping and wishing I could dance up and down in a circle. Images of prehistorical people and native Americans replete in finery, arms heavenwards gyrating in trance like states fill my mind. I can feel the vibration of the throngs behind me rhythmically moving in unison! Wow!!I A friend just responded with ''Wow'' in regards to the photos I posted on Instagram nearly in sync with me as I type this! And then we take a big breath before the drums recommence with Alfadhirhaiti (Names of The Allfather) that maintains the trance and has made me body hopping to other realms. I am here and I am there, I am everywhere!! Carpathian Forest slows things down a bit as we go for a jaunt through the trees. Krigskaldr, a lament on war has a tone to it that to me says ''Humans are stubborn, they will always be stubborn and because of this seeds will be sown for war!! We will learn a lesson and then go deaf, again!! The visual and aural spectacle continues through Fylgija Ear and Othan until we get to the finale of tonight's proceedings!! Every part of tonight's performance was spine chilling, awe inspiring and an assault on the senses. Hamrer Hippyer was all that and more!! It is a piece that commands attention and requires participation. Emancipated from the constraints of this world and this body I let loose in a sway of movement. The Shamans on the stage melded with the throngs, we became one, the one great being that was always there!!

It was an honour and a privilege to witness this ritual, I will be at rituals in the future!! You can count on it!!

10/10

https://www.facebook.com/amplifiedhistory/

https://www.facebook.com/JoQuailCello/

https://youtu.be/h1BsKIP4uYM

Claudia BLACK
16/11/2018


16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Next reviews
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
HATCHLING • Alpha
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL • Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DARKHER • Realms
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection