tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

HEILUNG

Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

Concert
AmbientDark FolkEthereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalNeofolkSoundscape

[100/100]   
16/11/2018, Claudia BLACK

HEILUNG

With Jo Quail

The Islington Assembly Hall, London.

9/11/2018

Well what can I say about tonight's experience?? I, like many people, have waited for months to experience the ritual invocations of Heilung and finally that wait came to a well-received end!! My mind prepared and fortified for the night proceedings. I walked 10 minutes from my home to the venue and took my place in the queue, which at 6:20pm was not that long. By 6:55pm the queue was snaking its way up the pavement towards the bus stop, everyone in an anticipatory frame of mind!! The doors open!! The experience commences!!

I must say that I did have feelings that the sound would not do the performance justice, in the past I've found it a bit hit and miss, a bit tinny or flat, lacking in richness!! Not tonight though!! We had a fine opening from a cellist I'd not heard of before. Her name was Jo Quail. A friend informed me that she played Wave Gotik Treffen this year but alas my radar had not pinged back to me the existence of such fine music!! Jo took to the stage and positioned herself between all the Heilung tools of magic and set up her cello right in front of me!! Katie, one of the photographers in the pit turned to me and said ''She's really good she supported Mykur a while back!!'' Hmmm I thought. Her cello was intriguing, I wondered who's pelvis she had commandeered to create such a fine instrument! Anyway, the soundscapes were fascinating!! Using loops to create textures and beats she bowed that cello to create haunting and evocative impression on the mind that I am already hooked on. Remember Katie Tunstall when she came on stage using loops etc?? Like that but better, way better!! The set did not last long, ending with a piece inspired by a goddess of water whom I assume must be Bylgia! Jo Quail is engaging and I want to experience her sonic resonations again!!

Appetite well and truly wetted we await for the main course...

Roars and screams emanate from the crowd as a mist slowly creeps out from the back of the stage towards the acolytes behind the barriers. A hooded man prowls the stage wafting incense to all corners to focus the senses in preparation for what is to come:-

Remember, that we all are brothers
All people, beasts, trees and stone and wind
We all descend from the one great being

That was always there
Before people lived and named it
Before the first seed sprouted

And the drums start, the hypnotic drums that pull you out of your body and connect you with the spirits and the dead. In Maidjan has made me head bopping and wishing I could dance up and down in a circle. Images of prehistorical people and native Americans replete in finery, arms heavenwards gyrating in trance like states fill my mind. I can feel the vibration of the throngs behind me rhythmically moving in unison! Wow!!I A friend just responded with ''Wow'' in regards to the photos I posted on Instagram nearly in sync with me as I type this! And then we take a big breath before the drums recommence with Alfadhirhaiti (Names of The Allfather) that maintains the trance and has made me body hopping to other realms. I am here and I am there, I am everywhere!! Carpathian Forest slows things down a bit as we go for a jaunt through the trees. Krigskaldr, a lament on war has a tone to it that to me says ''Humans are stubborn, they will always be stubborn and because of this seeds will be sown for war!! We will learn a lesson and then go deaf, again!! The visual and aural spectacle continues through Fylgija Ear and Othan until we get to the finale of tonight's proceedings!! Every part of tonight's performance was spine chilling, awe inspiring and an assault on the senses. Hamrer Hippyer was all that and more!! It is a piece that commands attention and requires participation. Emancipated from the constraints of this world and this body I let loose in a sway of movement. The Shamans on the stage melded with the throngs, we became one, the one great being that was always there!!

It was an honour and a privilege to witness this ritual, I will be at rituals in the future!! You can count on it!!

10/10

https://www.facebook.com/amplifiedhistory/

https://www.facebook.com/JoQuailCello/

https://youtu.be/h1BsKIP4uYM

Claudia BLACK
16/11/2018


16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall 16/11/2018 : HEILUNG - Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Next reviews
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
HATCHLING • Alpha
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL • Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
DARKHER • Realms
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K

 

Same genre: SOUNDSCAPE
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
ÆMAETH • The Roman
TOTAL COYOTEL • #Artwar, A Series of Denunciations & Hymns By Thee Church Ov Coyotel
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
CHVE • Rasa
BERSARIN QUARTETT • III
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete