tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd single review

13/11/2018 : BROKEN EGO - Getting Higher

BROKEN EGO

Getting Higher

MusicCD single
Electro PopElectro Rock

[75/100]   

Echozone
13/11/2018, Kevin BURKE

There is still the tongue-in-cheek element in rock music which makes it both fun and listenable, what is presented here in the latest Broken Ego single “Getting Higher” is the mixtures of good old 70s Glam-Rock with the heavy synth of the 80s under the spell of ‘noughties’ Brit-Pop, all good fun in the serious world in which we exist at the same time there is something very familiar here which and at times is what we look for.

The four-piece band from Vienna, Austria have shed their dark, gothic image which surrounded them early on in their career and have traded up for a more sparkling image, in frontman Chris Ego they have the perfect vehicle to start hammering at the door of commercial acceptance.

This is however a good time Saturday night track, not outstandingly original in construction but glides by with hand claps which trigger a toe tapping pleasure, if this is a taste of their next long-player ‘Avenue To Wonderland’ then we are in for a very interesting ride with this band.

Kevin BURKE
13/11/2018


 

Next reviews
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
HATCHLING • Alpha
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL • Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
WHISPERING SONS • Image

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
TENEK • Smoke & Mirrors
EUROROCK FEST • Day 1 (15/05/2015)
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL • Germany (2015)
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
PIG • The Gospel

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back