tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl / digital review

07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL

Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

MusicVinyl / Digital


[90/100]   

Glass Modern / Glass Records
07/11/2018, Danil VOLOHOV

When Sonic Youth came to the USSR in '89, it was the first and last time that such unique artists visited the Soviet Union. Of course there were numerous artists who visited but it seems that only Sonic Youth provoked such a reaction.

On one hand - something noisy, something that Soviet listeners never heard. On the another hand – their power and energy could be proportional to the explosion of a nuclear bomb. Not only for all four of them but for any of them. At least, Thurston Moore has already proved that he can do such a thing, with the same power and energy. And re-release of his “Klangfarbenmelodie.. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv” (originally released in 1995 in New Zealand) is further proof of this.

Moore, together with his colleague and jazz-drummer - Tom Surgal, created a wonderful and atmospheric record. The fact that it’s a live recording doesn’t “kill” the album itself. It seems that Thurston and Tom made an excellent decision – to use the space of the area as their clamping tool. Echoes of Thurston’s gloomy and noisy chords resonate with the space of the ballroom, creating the depth of the sound. But not just gloomy. At least, speaking about Moore’s creativity – we can’t say that of how he works with the chords, progressions etc. - with the feelings he wants to express. In the second part of the record the artist makes you feel the howls of his guitar, overdosing with effects and distortion. While Tom Surgal, enhances the effect with his endless drum beatings.

The duo keeps you in suspense until the last second. However, it’s not such an “uncomfortable” suspense. Rather the opposite…like something you may feel watching “Le Samourai” knowing the ending of the film.

Danil VOLOHOV
07/11/2018


07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv 07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
05
36 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
41 years Spellbound!
19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

21
05
PUSSY RIOT
Depot Leuven
21
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Depot Leuven
21
05
HETZE
Depot Leuven
16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
MODEL DEPOSE
Nightwatch
22
05
MARBLE SOUNDS
Tout et Partout
21
05
MARISSA NADLER
All the Colors of the Dark
20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money