tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl / digital review

07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL

Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

MusicVinyl / Digital


[90/100]   

Glass Modern / Glass Records
07/11/2018, Danil VOLOHOV

When Sonic Youth came to the USSR in '89, it was the first and last time that such unique artists visited the Soviet Union. Of course there were numerous artists who visited but it seems that only Sonic Youth provoked such a reaction.

On one hand - something noisy, something that Soviet listeners never heard. On the another hand – their power and energy could be proportional to the explosion of a nuclear bomb. Not only for all four of them but for any of them. At least, Thurston Moore has already proved that he can do such a thing, with the same power and energy. And re-release of his “Klangfarbenmelodie.. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv” (originally released in 1995 in New Zealand) is further proof of this.

Moore, together with his colleague and jazz-drummer - Tom Surgal, created a wonderful and atmospheric record. The fact that it’s a live recording doesn’t “kill” the album itself. It seems that Thurston and Tom made an excellent decision – to use the space of the area as their clamping tool. Echoes of Thurston’s gloomy and noisy chords resonate with the space of the ballroom, creating the depth of the sound. But not just gloomy. At least, speaking about Moore’s creativity – we can’t say that of how he works with the chords, progressions etc. - with the feelings he wants to express. In the second part of the record the artist makes you feel the howls of his guitar, overdosing with effects and distortion. While Tom Surgal, enhances the effect with his endless drum beatings.

The duo keeps you in suspense until the last second. However, it’s not such an “uncomfortable” suspense. Rather the opposite…like something you may feel watching “Le Samourai” knowing the ending of the film.

Danil VOLOHOV
07/11/2018


07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv 07/11/2018 : THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL - Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid