tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

31/10/2018 : EMPIRION - I Am Electronic / Red Noise

EMPIRION

I Am Electronic / Red Noise

MusicCD / Vinyl
EBMElectroTechno Body Music

[95/100]   

Dependent
31/10/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

Empirion is one of those bands everyone has danced to, without actually realising it. Even though the band released Advanced Technology in 1996, a great but their only full album to date, most will only know them from their magical Prodigy Firestarter remix.

Last year, after more than 20 years of silence British band, Empirion, rose again from their ashes and today they present us their brand new EP 'Red Noise'. Undersigned admits to being owner of their first album and a big fan of remixes they made, for instance for Front 242 (Headhunter) and Praga Kahn (Luv U Still).

The opening track 'I Am Electronic' is BANG! on and straightens the hairs on our neck immediately. "I am not human, I'm electronic" sounds literally and figuratively as if a robot feels the need to apologise to a higher being for the state our planet earth is in. Immediately dragged to my DJ playlist folder! 'Red Noise' is also a pounding track and could simply be described as a mash-up of Front 242's 'Rhythm Of Time' and Combichrist's 'Get your Body Beat' but in fact it is at least the sum of these two quality products. The following Rotersand rework version is also very pleasing. The fourth track 'Strange' is instrumental to let you catch your breath a bit but is nevertheless a clever piece of electronic music. A song that would fit perfectly in some futuristic video game, while you try to avoid the TIE fighters and Deathstars with your X-wing. Also 'I Am Electronic' gets a very successful 'game jacket' fitted by Pete Crossman (Victory Pill) after which the sixth and last song The Arena is pounding towards us. An amazing Trancy-EBM closure track in the spirit of Empirion's 90s hit 'Narcotic Influence' which will see many in go into a trance in the (near) future and on dancefloors all over the world, including undersigned!

Hamis HIREK
31/10/2018


NL

Empirion is één van die bands waar iedereen al eens op gedanst heeft, zonder het eigenlijk te weten. Ook al bracht de band in 1996, het geweldige maar enige full album tot hier toe, Advanced Technology uit, toch zullen de meesten hen enkel kennen van hun magistrale Prodigy Firestarter remix.

Vorig jaar herrees het Britse Empirion, na meer dan 20 jaar stilte, weer uit hun as en vandaag presenteren ze ons hun EP ‘Red Noise’. Ondertekende geeft toe bezitter en groot liefhebber te zijn van hun eerste album en de remixen die ze onder meer nog maakten voor Front 242 (Headhunter) en Praga Kahn (Luv U Still).

Het openingsnummer ‘I Am Electronic’ is er boenk! op en doet de haren in onze nek meteen rechtstaan. “I am not human, I’m electronic” klinkt letterlijk en figuurlijk alsof een robot zich geroepen voelt om zicht te verontschuldigen tegen over een hogere identiteit voor de toestand van onze aarde. Meteen naar mijn DJ playlist mapje gesleept! Ook ‘Red Noise’ beukt erop los en zou simpel weg omschreven kunnen worden als een mash-up van Front 242’s ‘Rhythm Of Time’ en Combichrist’s ‘Get your Body Beat’ maar het is op zijn minst de som van deze twee kwaliteitsproducten samen. De daarop volgende Rotersand rework versie is ook zeer te pruimen. De vierde track ‘Strange’ is instrumentaal laat je even op adem komen maar is desalniettemin een knap stukje elektronische muziek. Een nummer dat perfect in een of ander futuristisch videogame zou passen terwijl je met je X-wing de TIE-fighters en Deathstars probeer te ontwijken. Ook ‘I Am Electronic’ krijgt door Pete Crossman (Victory Pill) een geslaagd ‘game-jasje’ aangemeten, waarna het zesde en laatste nummer The Arena pompend op ons wordt losgelaten. Een Trancy-EBM afsluiter van formaat in de geest van Empirions 90’s hit, ‘Narcotic Influence’ en waarop we in de (nabije) toekomst nog velen in trance zullen zien gaan op dansvloeren over heel de wereld, mijzelf inclusief!

Hamis HIREK
31/10/2018


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap