tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

31/10/2018 : EMPIRION - I Am Electronic / Red Noise

EMPIRION

I Am Electronic / Red Noise

MusicCD / Vinyl
EBMElectroTechno Body Music

[95/100]   

Dependent
31/10/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

Empirion is one of those bands everyone has danced to, without actually realising it. Even though the band released Advanced Technology in 1996, a great but their only full album to date, most will only know them from their magical Prodigy Firestarter remix.

Last year, after more than 20 years of silence British band, Empirion, rose again from their ashes and today they present us their brand new EP 'Red Noise'. Undersigned admits to being owner of their first album and a big fan of remixes they made, for instance for Front 242 (Headhunter) and Praga Kahn (Luv U Still).

The opening track 'I Am Electronic' is BANG! on and straightens the hairs on our neck immediately. "I am not human, I'm electronic" sounds literally and figuratively as if a robot feels the need to apologise to a higher being for the state our planet earth is in. Immediately dragged to my DJ playlist folder! 'Red Noise' is also a pounding track and could simply be described as a mash-up of Front 242's 'Rhythm Of Time' and Combichrist's 'Get your Body Beat' but in fact it is at least the sum of these two quality products. The following Rotersand rework version is also very pleasing. The fourth track 'Strange' is instrumental to let you catch your breath a bit but is nevertheless a clever piece of electronic music. A song that would fit perfectly in some futuristic video game, while you try to avoid the TIE fighters and Deathstars with your X-wing. Also 'I Am Electronic' gets a very successful 'game jacket' fitted by Pete Crossman (Victory Pill) after which the sixth and last song The Arena is pounding towards us. An amazing Trancy-EBM closure track in the spirit of Empirion's 90s hit 'Narcotic Influence' which will see many in go into a trance in the (near) future and on dancefloors all over the world, including undersigned!

Hamis HIREK
31/10/2018


NL

Empirion is één van die bands waar iedereen al eens op gedanst heeft, zonder het eigenlijk te weten. Ook al bracht de band in 1996, het geweldige maar enige full album tot hier toe, Advanced Technology uit, toch zullen de meesten hen enkel kennen van hun magistrale Prodigy Firestarter remix.

Vorig jaar herrees het Britse Empirion, na meer dan 20 jaar stilte, weer uit hun as en vandaag presenteren ze ons hun EP ‘Red Noise’. Ondertekende geeft toe bezitter en groot liefhebber te zijn van hun eerste album en de remixen die ze onder meer nog maakten voor Front 242 (Headhunter) en Praga Kahn (Luv U Still).

Het openingsnummer ‘I Am Electronic’ is er boenk! op en doet de haren in onze nek meteen rechtstaan. “I am not human, I’m electronic” klinkt letterlijk en figuurlijk alsof een robot zich geroepen voelt om zicht te verontschuldigen tegen over een hogere identiteit voor de toestand van onze aarde. Meteen naar mijn DJ playlist mapje gesleept! Ook ‘Red Noise’ beukt erop los en zou simpel weg omschreven kunnen worden als een mash-up van Front 242’s ‘Rhythm Of Time’ en Combichrist’s ‘Get your Body Beat’ maar het is op zijn minst de som van deze twee kwaliteitsproducten samen. De daarop volgende Rotersand rework versie is ook zeer te pruimen. De vierde track ‘Strange’ is instrumentaal laat je even op adem komen maar is desalniettemin een knap stukje elektronische muziek. Een nummer dat perfect in een of ander futuristisch videogame zou passen terwijl je met je X-wing de TIE-fighters en Deathstars probeer te ontwijken. Ook ‘I Am Electronic’ krijgt door Pete Crossman (Victory Pill) een geslaagd ‘game-jasje’ aangemeten, waarna het zesde en laatste nummer The Arena pompend op ons wordt losgelaten. Een Trancy-EBM afsluiter van formaat in de geest van Empirions 90’s hit, ‘Narcotic Influence’ en waarop we in de (nabije) toekomst nog velen in trance zullen zien gaan op dansvloeren over heel de wereld, mijzelf inclusief!

Hamis HIREK
31/10/2018


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)