tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl review

31/10/2018 : EMPIRION - I Am Electronic / Red Noise

EMPIRION

I Am Electronic / Red Noise

MusicCD / Vinyl
EBMElectroTechno Body Music

[95/100]   

Dependent
31/10/2018, Hamis HIREK

EN

Empirion is one of those bands everyone has danced to, without actually realising it. Even though the band released Advanced Technology in 1996, a great but their only full album to date, most will only know them from their magical Prodigy Firestarter remix.

Last year, after more than 20 years of silence British band, Empirion, rose again from their ashes and today they present us their brand new EP 'Red Noise'. Undersigned admits to being owner of their first album and a big fan of remixes they made, for instance for Front 242 (Headhunter) and Praga Kahn (Luv U Still).

The opening track 'I Am Electronic' is BANG! on and straightens the hairs on our neck immediately. "I am not human, I'm electronic" sounds literally and figuratively as if a robot feels the need to apologise to a higher being for the state our planet earth is in. Immediately dragged to my DJ playlist folder! 'Red Noise' is also a pounding track and could simply be described as a mash-up of Front 242's 'Rhythm Of Time' and Combichrist's 'Get your Body Beat' but in fact it is at least the sum of these two quality products. The following Rotersand rework version is also very pleasing. The fourth track 'Strange' is instrumental to let you catch your breath a bit but is nevertheless a clever piece of electronic music. A song that would fit perfectly in some futuristic video game, while you try to avoid the TIE fighters and Deathstars with your X-wing. Also 'I Am Electronic' gets a very successful 'game jacket' fitted by Pete Crossman (Victory Pill) after which the sixth and last song The Arena is pounding towards us. An amazing Trancy-EBM closure track in the spirit of Empirion's 90s hit 'Narcotic Influence' which will see many in go into a trance in the (near) future and on dancefloors all over the world, including undersigned!

Hamis HIREK
31/10/2018


NL

Empirion is één van die bands waar iedereen al eens op gedanst heeft, zonder het eigenlijk te weten. Ook al bracht de band in 1996, het geweldige maar enige full album tot hier toe, Advanced Technology uit, toch zullen de meesten hen enkel kennen van hun magistrale Prodigy Firestarter remix.

Vorig jaar herrees het Britse Empirion, na meer dan 20 jaar stilte, weer uit hun as en vandaag presenteren ze ons hun EP ‘Red Noise’. Ondertekende geeft toe bezitter en groot liefhebber te zijn van hun eerste album en de remixen die ze onder meer nog maakten voor Front 242 (Headhunter) en Praga Kahn (Luv U Still).

Het openingsnummer ‘I Am Electronic’ is er boenk! op en doet de haren in onze nek meteen rechtstaan. “I am not human, I’m electronic” klinkt letterlijk en figuurlijk alsof een robot zich geroepen voelt om zicht te verontschuldigen tegen over een hogere identiteit voor de toestand van onze aarde. Meteen naar mijn DJ playlist mapje gesleept! Ook ‘Red Noise’ beukt erop los en zou simpel weg omschreven kunnen worden als een mash-up van Front 242’s ‘Rhythm Of Time’ en Combichrist’s ‘Get your Body Beat’ maar het is op zijn minst de som van deze twee kwaliteitsproducten samen. De daarop volgende Rotersand rework versie is ook zeer te pruimen. De vierde track ‘Strange’ is instrumentaal laat je even op adem komen maar is desalniettemin een knap stukje elektronische muziek. Een nummer dat perfect in een of ander futuristisch videogame zou passen terwijl je met je X-wing de TIE-fighters en Deathstars probeer te ontwijken. Ook ‘I Am Electronic’ krijgt door Pete Crossman (Victory Pill) een geslaagd ‘game-jasje’ aangemeten, waarna het zesde en laatste nummer The Arena pompend op ons wordt losgelaten. Een Trancy-EBM afsluiter van formaat in de geest van Empirions 90’s hit, ‘Narcotic Influence’ en waarop we in de (nabije) toekomst nog velen in trance zullen zien gaan op dansvloeren over heel de wereld, mijzelf inclusief!

Hamis HIREK
31/10/2018


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion