tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/11/2015 : POPSIMONOVA - Brokedown Palace

POPSIMONOVA

Brokedown Palace

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsNew waveTechno Body Music

[88/100]   

Electronic Emergencies
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Peek-A-Boo loves Popsimonova. The Croatian singer already was the cover star of our latest issue and for two reasons: the handsome Lana Jastrevski is one of the main acts at BIM, and she has released a new stunning album that probably will be in the end year list of many electro fans, just because Brokedown Palace is one of the best records of the year!

On her previous eps and her debut Die Brücke, which she recorded with Zarkoff, Lana sometimes sang in Croatian, but with Brokedown Palace, released on the Rotterdam Electronic Emergencies label, Popsimonova wants to get power over the whole world!

Opener Walking Back To You immediately starts with the right mood. Very danceable, a nod to the 80s, but quite dark. One of the nicest things of Popsimonova (besides the brilliant melodies) is undoubtedly Lana's accent that gives her music a very personal (and even erotic) style. A good example is the title track in which she sounds a bit like Miss Kittin. Popsimonova admittedly explores every corner of electro. We can’t tell you how many beats per minute Entry has, but the song feels like you’re on a crazy mill and want to stay until your head explodes. Actually we can only invent one word when reviewing this song: delicious!

"There's no place for us!", Lana sings in Drive, let's hope so, because Popsimonova is simply the best sound you can find in the current electro scene. It sounds melodic, in a sense even poppy, but above all it is addictive!

Do not Ever Change is very mysterious and almost sounds like disco for industrial fans (it's no surprise that SPK is one of Lana’s musical examples). Delete Yourself has the same hypnotic effect as a Felix Da Housecat track.

Because of its repetitive beats, Can you love me? is a little more experimental, but just as good! The hardest song is undoubtedly Target: if you sit still on this, then you have no sense of rhythm, while Hey You is irresistible electroclash.

Anyone who gave his heart to Miss Kittin, Dive or Ladytron, will fall in love with Popsimonova. A must-have!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Peek-A-Boo houdt van Popsimonova. De Kroatische zangeres stond al te glunderen op de cover van onze laatste editie en daar zijn twee redenen voor: de knappe Lana Jastrevski is één van de hoofdacts op BIM, en ze heeft net haar nieuwe overweldigende plaat uit die in de eindejaarlijstjes van menig electrofan zal belanden, want jawel, Brokedown Palace is één van de beste platen van dit jaar!

Op haar vorige ep’s en debuut Die Brücke, die ze samen met Zarkoff opnam, zong Lana wel eens in het Kroatisch, maar op Brokedown Palace, uitgebracht op het Rotterdamse Electronic Emergencies-label, is dat niet meer het geval, Popsimonova wil namelijk macht over de hele wereld!

Opener Walking Back To You zet meteen de juiste toon. Uiterst dansbaar, een knipoog naar de jaren 80, maar vooral donker. Een van de leukste dingen aan Popsimonova (naast de geniale melodieën) is ongetwijfeld het aéccent dat haar muziek een zeer eigen (en zelfs erotische) stijl geeft. Een mooi voorbeeld is het titelnummer waarop ze een beetje als Miss Kittin klinkt. Popsimonova verkent evenwel alle uithoeken van de electro. We kunnen je niet vertellen hoeveel beats per minuut er in Entry vallen, maar het nummer voelt aan als een dolgedraaide molen waarop je wil blijven zitten tot je hoofd explodeert. Eigenlijk kunnen we maar één woord bij dit nummer verzinnen: heerlijk! “There’s no place for us!”, zingt Lana in Entry, laat ons hopen van wel, want Popsimonova is gewoon het beste geluid dat je in de huidige electroscene kan vinden. Het klinkt melodieus, in zekere zin zelfs wat poppy, maar het is bovenal verslavend!

Don’t Ever Change heeft iets zeer mysterieus en klinkt bijna als disco voor industrial fans (het is dan ook geen verrassing dat SPK één van Lana's muzikale voorbeelden is). Delete Yourself heeft hetzelfde hypnotiserende effect als een nummer van Felix Da Housecat (zo goed dus!). Can you love me? is door de repetitieve beats wat meer experimenteel, maar minstens even goed! Het hardste nummer is ongetwijfeld Target: wie hierop stil blijft zitten, heeft gewoon geen gevoel voor ritme, terwijl Hey You onweerstaanbare electroclash is.

Wie van Miss Kittin, Dive of Ladytron houdt, zal verliefd worden op Popsimonova. In huis halen!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life