tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

23/11/2015 : POPSIMONOVA - Brokedown Palace

POPSIMONOVA

Brokedown Palace

MusicVinyl
ElectronicsNew waveTechno Body Music

[88/100]   

Electronic Emergencies
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Peek-A-Boo loves Popsimonova. The Croatian singer already was the cover star of our latest issue and for two reasons: the handsome Lana Jastrevski is one of the main acts at BIM, and she has released a new stunning album that probably will be in the end year list of many electro fans, just because Brokedown Palace is one of the best records of the year!

On her previous eps and her debut Die Brücke, which she recorded with Zarkoff, Lana sometimes sang in Croatian, but with Brokedown Palace, released on the Rotterdam Electronic Emergencies label, Popsimonova wants to get power over the whole world!

Opener Walking Back To You immediately starts with the right mood. Very danceable, a nod to the 80s, but quite dark. One of the nicest things of Popsimonova (besides the brilliant melodies) is undoubtedly Lana's accent that gives her music a very personal (and even erotic) style. A good example is the title track in which she sounds a bit like Miss Kittin. Popsimonova admittedly explores every corner of electro. We can’t tell you how many beats per minute Entry has, but the song feels like you’re on a crazy mill and want to stay until your head explodes. Actually we can only invent one word when reviewing this song: delicious!

"There's no place for us!", Lana sings in Drive, let's hope so, because Popsimonova is simply the best sound you can find in the current electro scene. It sounds melodic, in a sense even poppy, but above all it is addictive!

Do not Ever Change is very mysterious and almost sounds like disco for industrial fans (it's no surprise that SPK is one of Lana’s musical examples). Delete Yourself has the same hypnotic effect as a Felix Da Housecat track.

Because of its repetitive beats, Can you love me? is a little more experimental, but just as good! The hardest song is undoubtedly Target: if you sit still on this, then you have no sense of rhythm, while Hey You is irresistible electroclash.

Anyone who gave his heart to Miss Kittin, Dive or Ladytron, will fall in love with Popsimonova. A must-have!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Peek-A-Boo houdt van Popsimonova. De Kroatische zangeres stond al te glunderen op de cover van onze laatste editie en daar zijn twee redenen voor: de knappe Lana Jastrevski is één van de hoofdacts op BIM, en ze heeft net haar nieuwe overweldigende plaat uit die in de eindejaarlijstjes van menig electrofan zal belanden, want jawel, Brokedown Palace is één van de beste platen van dit jaar!

Op haar vorige ep’s en debuut Die Brücke, die ze samen met Zarkoff opnam, zong Lana wel eens in het Kroatisch, maar op Brokedown Palace, uitgebracht op het Rotterdamse Electronic Emergencies-label, is dat niet meer het geval, Popsimonova wil namelijk macht over de hele wereld!

Opener Walking Back To You zet meteen de juiste toon. Uiterst dansbaar, een knipoog naar de jaren 80, maar vooral donker. Een van de leukste dingen aan Popsimonova (naast de geniale melodieën) is ongetwijfeld het aéccent dat haar muziek een zeer eigen (en zelfs erotische) stijl geeft. Een mooi voorbeeld is het titelnummer waarop ze een beetje als Miss Kittin klinkt. Popsimonova verkent evenwel alle uithoeken van de electro. We kunnen je niet vertellen hoeveel beats per minuut er in Entry vallen, maar het nummer voelt aan als een dolgedraaide molen waarop je wil blijven zitten tot je hoofd explodeert. Eigenlijk kunnen we maar één woord bij dit nummer verzinnen: heerlijk! “There’s no place for us!”, zingt Lana in Entry, laat ons hopen van wel, want Popsimonova is gewoon het beste geluid dat je in de huidige electroscene kan vinden. Het klinkt melodieus, in zekere zin zelfs wat poppy, maar het is bovenal verslavend!

Don’t Ever Change heeft iets zeer mysterieus en klinkt bijna als disco voor industrial fans (het is dan ook geen verrassing dat SPK één van Lana's muzikale voorbeelden is). Delete Yourself heeft hetzelfde hypnotiserende effect als een nummer van Felix Da Housecat (zo goed dus!). Can you love me? is door de repetitieve beats wat meer experimenteel, maar minstens even goed! Het hardste nummer is ongetwijfeld Target: wie hierop stil blijft zitten, heeft gewoon geen gevoel voor ritme, terwijl Hey You onweerstaanbare electroclash is.

Wie van Miss Kittin, Dive of Ladytron houdt, zal verliefd worden op Popsimonova. In huis halen!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)