tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/11/2015 : DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER - All The Way Down

DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER

All The Way Down

MusicCD
ElectroIndustrial

[91/100]   

Artoffact
22/11/2015, Benny CALUWE

EN

Even though we live in the digital age, I 'm the man who keeps reviews in maps and who writes everything down in notebooks. They’re filled with titles of books and albums, names of songs and bands that I should check out one day. In one of these notebooks the name of Dead When I Found Her is writtendown, followed by several exclamation points. While All The Way Down is the third album, it is also my first introduction to the project of Arthur Holloway from Portland, Oregon. Checking out the many names in my notebook is a real hard job. Where do those exclamation points come from, I wonder ? Perhaps because their second CD Rag Doll Blues was mentioned in the top 10 of 2012 on I Die: You Die.com (named after the Gary Numan song, just as we are named after a song by Siouxsie And The Banshees).

All The Way Down is a concept album about death from an unusual point of view. Not the blood and gore of death metal, nor the romantic side of death. All The Way Down is about the hard reality of aging and illness, the fear, the despair, the physical and mental decay, the inevitable end of life. An album that invites you to think about it. All The Way Down proves that electro-industrial doesn’t have to be written for the dance floor to be vivacious.

Dead When I Found Her is occasionally reminiscent of Skinny Puppy, both musically and vocally. Holloway makes dark, layered electro-industrial. Expiring Time starts with an ambient intro. It’s an atmospheric, pin point composition with many details. The Unclean stands out because of its nervous percussion. Holloway frequently uses well chosen samples.

Processed vocals often bother me, but not here. Hollow uses the effect efficiently. During the mellow Threadbare and the menacing Gathering Fear, the vocals are processed with effects. The different voices seem to have an internal dialogue.

All The Way Down is mainly downbeat, but varied. Downpour sounds spherical with a hint of trip hop. Misericordia sounds cinematographic. Blood Lesson reminds me of the 80's electro-industrial. Seeing Red is up tempo with uplifting percussion and noise. The Noise Above Us contains ambient elements and female vocals. The album ends with the epic At Rest.

The 70 minutes long album All The Way Down requires some effort from the listener. Try it, you get a lot in return. Although the music is somewhat complex and dark, it is still freely accessible due to the recognizable melodies. This album is an absolute must for fans of Skinny Puppy, Front Line Assembly and Mentallo & The Fixer. Perhaps the electro -industrial album of the year.

Benny CALUWE
22/11/2015


NL

Ook al leven we in het digitale tijdperk, ben ik de man van de knipselmappen vol recensies en de notitieboekjes. Schriftjes vol titels van boeken en albums, vol namen van nummers en bands die ik eens moet checken. In één van die schriftjes staat de naam van Dead When I Found Her, gevolgd door een aantal uitroeptekens. Hoewel All The Way Down het derde album is, is het tevens mijn eerste kennismaking met het project van Arthur Holloway uit Portland, Oregon. De talrijke namen in mijn schriftjes uitpluizen is dan ook een heuse opdracht. Danaïden-arbeid! Waar komen die uitroeptekens vandaan, vraag ik me af? Misschien omdat de tweede plaat Rag Doll Blues, een plaatsje kreeg in de top 10 van 2012 van I Die: You Die.com (genoemd naar de Gary Numan song, zoals wij dat zijn naar een song van Siouxsie And The Banshees).

All The Way Down is een conceptalbum over de dood, met een ongewone invalshoek. Geen bloederige deathmetaltaferelen. Holloway heeft het ook niet over de romantische zijde van de dood. All The Way Down gaat over de ijskoude realiteit van oud en ziek worden, de angst, de vertwijfeling, de fysieke en mentale aftakeling, het onafwendbare levenseinde. Een album dat uitnodigt tot reflectie. All The Way Down is het bewijs dat electro-industrial niet gericht moet zijn op de dansvloer om meeslepend te zijn.

Dead When I Found Her doet bij momenten aan Skinny Puppy denken, zowel qua muziek als qua vocalen. Holloway maakt donkere, gelaagde electro-industrial. Expiring Time start met een ambient intro. Het is een atmosferische, minutieuze compositie die rijk is aan details. The Unclean valt op vanwege de broeierige percussie. Er wordt veelvuldig gebruik gemaakt van uitgekiende samples.

Ik stoor me wel eens aan bewerkte vocalen, maar hier niet. Holloway gebruikt de vocoder op een efficiënte manier. Tijdens het zachtere Threadbare en het dreigende Gathering Fear klinken de stemmen met verschillende effecten alsof ze een inwendige dialoog voeren.

All The Way Down is overwegend downbeat, maar toch gevarieerd. Het sfeervolle Downpour bevat triphopelementen. Misericordia klinkt cinematografisch. Blood Lesson doet me aan electro-industrial uit de jaren 80 denken. Tijdens Seeing Red gaat het ritme omhoog. Opzwepende percussie met noise. The Noise Above Us bevat ambiente elementen en vrouwelijke vocalen. Het album eindigt met het filmische At Rest. Een episch nummer.

All The Way Down is met zijn ruim 70 minuten enr 10 tracks geen hapklare brok en vraagt enige inspanning van de luisteraar. Laat je daar niet door afschrikken, je krijgt er veel voor terug. Hoewel de muziek enigszins complex en donker is, is ze toch vrij toegankelijk wegens de herkenbare melodieën. Deze plaat is een absolute aanrader. Fans van Skinny Puppy, Front Line Assembly en Mentallo & The Fixer zullen ze zeker appreciëren. Misschien wel het electro-industrial album van het jaar.

Benny CALUWE
22/11/2015


 

Next reviews
KONER • Die Babbie
WATCH THEM FADE • Welcome To My Void
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
JAMES WARREN • Honest Man (EP)
EL VY • Return To The Moon
HURRICANE #1 • Find What You Love and Let It Kill You
SWERVEDRIVER • Antwerp, Trix (17/11/2015)
MEN IN THE SKY • If I Go
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now

 

Other reviews from DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + INDUSTRIAL
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
KLANGWELT • The Incident
DIVE • Underneath
NOSTROMO 7 • Existence / Rewired & Reborn
AMORPHOUS • Behaviourism
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015 (next level electronics)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)