tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/11/2015 : KIRLIAN CAMERA - It Doesn't Matter Now

KIRLIAN CAMERA

It Doesn't Matter Now

MusicCD
New waveSynthpop

[94/100]   

Norton North
19/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even though Kirlian Camera still sounds fresh and innovating today, we sometimes forget that this Italian act was founded in 1979. Angelo Bergamini was one of the pioneers of the synthpop scene who founded Kirlian Camera with Simona Buja, Fabrizio Chiari and Mauro Montacchini: a musical project that would be forever his alter ego.

After a tape and a mini-LP, the debut album It Does not Matter Now was released in 1983 and sold in Italy over 6000 copies. Over the years, Kirlian Camera became an institution with numerous devoted fans, and the chances you still can find this album are rather small.

Fortunately, there is Norton North! This label is now rereleasing the obscure Kirlian Camera material, also It Does not Matter Now with a different (and much better) cover, and the songs have been re-mastered.

Communicate is dark minimal synth pop with a melancholic melody that knocks you down. Think of what Dirk Ivens is doing with Absolute Body Control, and you know what you can expect. In Future Rain, Angelo Bergamini is digging into the deepest depths of his soul. The song is fascinating and in a way it is the foundation stone for the frightening darkwave that is so typical for Kirlian Camera.

It Does not Matter Now is actually an album with a very depressive mood, and perhaps one of the most intense that Angelo ever made. Christ's Eyes takes you completely out of balance, it has a tragic beauty and an ideal sound to leave this earthly path. The song feels like pure pain, you see the eyes of Christ, but not as the son of God, but as a man who was tortured by barbarians.

The heavy, almost inhuman dark synth beats continue in Breaths. The song feels like a cry for help, a man who wants to scream out his demons and wraps them in indescribable beauty.

The most famous song on this album is Edges. Of course you know this track in its current version, but this original one is a bit different, danceable, but dark as hell!

After is the final song that lasts over ten minutes, the herald of what yet had to come: 26 years of darkwave/indus that was often copied, but never equaled!

Didier BECU
19/11/2015


NL

Ook al klinkt Kirlian Camera vandaag nog even fris en vernieuwend als toen, men vergeet soms dat deze Italiaanse act al in 1979 is opgericht. Angelo Bergamini was een van de pioniers uit de synthpopscène, die samen met Simona Buja, Fabrizio Chiari en Mauro Montacchini Kirlian Camera oprichtte: een muzikaal project dat voorgoed zijn alter ego zou worden.

Na een tape en een mini-lp, verscheen in 1983 It Doesn’t Matter Now dat het in thuisland Italië met 6000 verkochte exemplaren vrij goed deed. Met de jaren is Kirlian Camera natuurlijk een instituut met talrijke toegewijde fans geworden, en de kans dat je dit stukje vinyl nog kan aantreffen is eerder klein.

Gelukkig is er Norton North! Dit label doet er alles aan om het (vaak) onvindbare Kirlian Camera-materiaal opnieuw uit te brengen, ook It Doesn’t Matter Now dat zelfs een andere (en veel betere) hoes heeft gekregen, en ook de nummers zijn opnieuw gemasterd.

Communicate is donkere minimal synth pop met een melodie dat je door de melancholie murw slaat. Denk aan wat Dirk Ivens nu doet met Absolute Body Control, en je weet meteen wat je kan verwachten. In Future Rain voert Angelo Bergamini je mee naar het diepste van zijn ziel. Het klinkt allesbehalve opwekkend, maar fascinerend mooi en hiermee werd meteen de eerste steen voor de beangstigde darkwave gelegd die typisch is voor Kirlian Camera.

It Doesn’t Matter Now is eigenlijk een loodzware plaat, en misschien wel één van de meest intense die Angelo ooit heeft gemaakt. Christ’s Eyes haalt je volledig uit balans, het is tragische schoonheid en het zijn ideale klanken om voorgoed de knop uit te zetten. Het nummer voelt aan als pijn, je ziet de ogen van Christus, niet als de zoon van God, maar als een man die werd gefolterd door barbaren.

De loodzware, bijna onmenselijk donkere synthbeats blijven nazinderen in Breaths. Het nummer voelt als een noodkreet aan, een man die zijn demonen wil uitschreeuwen en het in onbeschrijfelijke schoonheid verpakt.

Het meest bekende nummer op deze plaat is natuurlijk Edges. Je kent natuurlijk dit nummer in zijn huidige uitvoering, maar deze versie is een tikkeltje anders, dansbaar, en donker als de hel!

De afsluiter After die ruim tien minuten duurt, is een voorbode van wat nog komen zou: 26 jaar darkwave/indus die veel werd gekopieerd, maar nooit geëvenaard!

Didier BECU
19/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
DES AMES LIBRES • Thick EP
EVEREST MAGMA • Modern/Antique
CHARNIER • Charnier
SIMPLE MINDS • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (14/11/2015)
MARCEL VANTHILT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

 

Other reviews from KIRLIAN CAMERA
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Best Of- Radio Music A
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTHPOP
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
TECHNOIR • We fall apart
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You