tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/11/2015 : KIRLIAN CAMERA - It Doesn't Matter Now

KIRLIAN CAMERA

It Doesn't Matter Now

MusicCD
New waveSynthpop

[94/100]   

Norton North
19/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even though Kirlian Camera still sounds fresh and innovating today, we sometimes forget that this Italian act was founded in 1979. Angelo Bergamini was one of the pioneers of the synthpop scene who founded Kirlian Camera with Simona Buja, Fabrizio Chiari and Mauro Montacchini: a musical project that would be forever his alter ego.

After a tape and a mini-LP, the debut album It Does not Matter Now was released in 1983 and sold in Italy over 6000 copies. Over the years, Kirlian Camera became an institution with numerous devoted fans, and the chances you still can find this album are rather small.

Fortunately, there is Norton North! This label is now rereleasing the obscure Kirlian Camera material, also It Does not Matter Now with a different (and much better) cover, and the songs have been re-mastered.

Communicate is dark minimal synth pop with a melancholic melody that knocks you down. Think of what Dirk Ivens is doing with Absolute Body Control, and you know what you can expect. In Future Rain, Angelo Bergamini is digging into the deepest depths of his soul. The song is fascinating and in a way it is the foundation stone for the frightening darkwave that is so typical for Kirlian Camera.

It Does not Matter Now is actually an album with a very depressive mood, and perhaps one of the most intense that Angelo ever made. Christ's Eyes takes you completely out of balance, it has a tragic beauty and an ideal sound to leave this earthly path. The song feels like pure pain, you see the eyes of Christ, but not as the son of God, but as a man who was tortured by barbarians.

The heavy, almost inhuman dark synth beats continue in Breaths. The song feels like a cry for help, a man who wants to scream out his demons and wraps them in indescribable beauty.

The most famous song on this album is Edges. Of course you know this track in its current version, but this original one is a bit different, danceable, but dark as hell!

After is the final song that lasts over ten minutes, the herald of what yet had to come: 26 years of darkwave/indus that was often copied, but never equaled!

Didier BECU
19/11/2015


NL

Ook al klinkt Kirlian Camera vandaag nog even fris en vernieuwend als toen, men vergeet soms dat deze Italiaanse act al in 1979 is opgericht. Angelo Bergamini was een van de pioniers uit de synthpopscène, die samen met Simona Buja, Fabrizio Chiari en Mauro Montacchini Kirlian Camera oprichtte: een muzikaal project dat voorgoed zijn alter ego zou worden.

Na een tape en een mini-lp, verscheen in 1983 It Doesn’t Matter Now dat het in thuisland Italië met 6000 verkochte exemplaren vrij goed deed. Met de jaren is Kirlian Camera natuurlijk een instituut met talrijke toegewijde fans geworden, en de kans dat je dit stukje vinyl nog kan aantreffen is eerder klein.

Gelukkig is er Norton North! Dit label doet er alles aan om het (vaak) onvindbare Kirlian Camera-materiaal opnieuw uit te brengen, ook It Doesn’t Matter Now dat zelfs een andere (en veel betere) hoes heeft gekregen, en ook de nummers zijn opnieuw gemasterd.

Communicate is donkere minimal synth pop met een melodie dat je door de melancholie murw slaat. Denk aan wat Dirk Ivens nu doet met Absolute Body Control, en je weet meteen wat je kan verwachten. In Future Rain voert Angelo Bergamini je mee naar het diepste van zijn ziel. Het klinkt allesbehalve opwekkend, maar fascinerend mooi en hiermee werd meteen de eerste steen voor de beangstigde darkwave gelegd die typisch is voor Kirlian Camera.

It Doesn’t Matter Now is eigenlijk een loodzware plaat, en misschien wel één van de meest intense die Angelo ooit heeft gemaakt. Christ’s Eyes haalt je volledig uit balans, het is tragische schoonheid en het zijn ideale klanken om voorgoed de knop uit te zetten. Het nummer voelt aan als pijn, je ziet de ogen van Christus, niet als de zoon van God, maar als een man die werd gefolterd door barbaren.

De loodzware, bijna onmenselijk donkere synthbeats blijven nazinderen in Breaths. Het nummer voelt als een noodkreet aan, een man die zijn demonen wil uitschreeuwen en het in onbeschrijfelijke schoonheid verpakt.

Het meest bekende nummer op deze plaat is natuurlijk Edges. Je kent natuurlijk dit nummer in zijn huidige uitvoering, maar deze versie is een tikkeltje anders, dansbaar, en donker als de hel!

De afsluiter After die ruim tien minuten duurt, is een voorbode van wat nog komen zou: 26 jaar darkwave/indus die veel werd gekopieerd, maar nooit geëvenaard!

Didier BECU
19/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
DES AMES LIBRES • Thick EP
EVEREST MAGMA • Modern/Antique
CHARNIER • Charnier
SIMPLE MINDS • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (14/11/2015)
MARCEL VANTHILT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

 

Other reviews from KIRLIAN CAMERA
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Best Of- Radio Music A
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTHPOP
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
TECHNOIR • We fall apart
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!
16
10
AKALOTZ
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... AKALOTZ!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive
16
10
PIETER VERMEYEN
Deep Into The Woods
15
10
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
Gold (Live at WGT 2014)