tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/11/2015 : KIRLIAN CAMERA - It Doesn't Matter Now

KIRLIAN CAMERA

It Doesn't Matter Now

MusicCD
New waveSynthpop

[94/100]   

Norton North
19/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even though Kirlian Camera still sounds fresh and innovating today, we sometimes forget that this Italian act was founded in 1979. Angelo Bergamini was one of the pioneers of the synthpop scene who founded Kirlian Camera with Simona Buja, Fabrizio Chiari and Mauro Montacchini: a musical project that would be forever his alter ego.

After a tape and a mini-LP, the debut album It Does not Matter Now was released in 1983 and sold in Italy over 6000 copies. Over the years, Kirlian Camera became an institution with numerous devoted fans, and the chances you still can find this album are rather small.

Fortunately, there is Norton North! This label is now rereleasing the obscure Kirlian Camera material, also It Does not Matter Now with a different (and much better) cover, and the songs have been re-mastered.

Communicate is dark minimal synth pop with a melancholic melody that knocks you down. Think of what Dirk Ivens is doing with Absolute Body Control, and you know what you can expect. In Future Rain, Angelo Bergamini is digging into the deepest depths of his soul. The song is fascinating and in a way it is the foundation stone for the frightening darkwave that is so typical for Kirlian Camera.

It Does not Matter Now is actually an album with a very depressive mood, and perhaps one of the most intense that Angelo ever made. Christ's Eyes takes you completely out of balance, it has a tragic beauty and an ideal sound to leave this earthly path. The song feels like pure pain, you see the eyes of Christ, but not as the son of God, but as a man who was tortured by barbarians.

The heavy, almost inhuman dark synth beats continue in Breaths. The song feels like a cry for help, a man who wants to scream out his demons and wraps them in indescribable beauty.

The most famous song on this album is Edges. Of course you know this track in its current version, but this original one is a bit different, danceable, but dark as hell!

After is the final song that lasts over ten minutes, the herald of what yet had to come: 26 years of darkwave/indus that was often copied, but never equaled!

Didier BECU
19/11/2015


NL

Ook al klinkt Kirlian Camera vandaag nog even fris en vernieuwend als toen, men vergeet soms dat deze Italiaanse act al in 1979 is opgericht. Angelo Bergamini was een van de pioniers uit de synthpopscène, die samen met Simona Buja, Fabrizio Chiari en Mauro Montacchini Kirlian Camera oprichtte: een muzikaal project dat voorgoed zijn alter ego zou worden.

Na een tape en een mini-lp, verscheen in 1983 It Doesn’t Matter Now dat het in thuisland Italië met 6000 verkochte exemplaren vrij goed deed. Met de jaren is Kirlian Camera natuurlijk een instituut met talrijke toegewijde fans geworden, en de kans dat je dit stukje vinyl nog kan aantreffen is eerder klein.

Gelukkig is er Norton North! Dit label doet er alles aan om het (vaak) onvindbare Kirlian Camera-materiaal opnieuw uit te brengen, ook It Doesn’t Matter Now dat zelfs een andere (en veel betere) hoes heeft gekregen, en ook de nummers zijn opnieuw gemasterd.

Communicate is donkere minimal synth pop met een melodie dat je door de melancholie murw slaat. Denk aan wat Dirk Ivens nu doet met Absolute Body Control, en je weet meteen wat je kan verwachten. In Future Rain voert Angelo Bergamini je mee naar het diepste van zijn ziel. Het klinkt allesbehalve opwekkend, maar fascinerend mooi en hiermee werd meteen de eerste steen voor de beangstigde darkwave gelegd die typisch is voor Kirlian Camera.

It Doesn’t Matter Now is eigenlijk een loodzware plaat, en misschien wel één van de meest intense die Angelo ooit heeft gemaakt. Christ’s Eyes haalt je volledig uit balans, het is tragische schoonheid en het zijn ideale klanken om voorgoed de knop uit te zetten. Het nummer voelt aan als pijn, je ziet de ogen van Christus, niet als de zoon van God, maar als een man die werd gefolterd door barbaren.

De loodzware, bijna onmenselijk donkere synthbeats blijven nazinderen in Breaths. Het nummer voelt als een noodkreet aan, een man die zijn demonen wil uitschreeuwen en het in onbeschrijfelijke schoonheid verpakt.

Het meest bekende nummer op deze plaat is natuurlijk Edges. Je kent natuurlijk dit nummer in zijn huidige uitvoering, maar deze versie is een tikkeltje anders, dansbaar, en donker als de hel!

De afsluiter After die ruim tien minuten duurt, is een voorbode van wat nog komen zou: 26 jaar darkwave/indus die veel werd gekopieerd, maar nooit geëvenaard!

Didier BECU
19/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
DES AMES LIBRES • Thick EP
EVEREST MAGMA • Modern/Antique
CHARNIER • Charnier
SIMPLE MINDS • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (14/11/2015)
MARCEL VANTHILT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

 

Other reviews from KIRLIAN CAMERA
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Best Of- Radio Music A
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTHPOP
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
TECHNOIR • We fall apart
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)