tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/11/2015 : KIRLIAN CAMERA - It Doesn't Matter Now

KIRLIAN CAMERA

It Doesn't Matter Now

MusicCD
New waveSynthpop

[94/100]   

Norton North
19/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even though Kirlian Camera still sounds fresh and innovating today, we sometimes forget that this Italian act was founded in 1979. Angelo Bergamini was one of the pioneers of the synthpop scene who founded Kirlian Camera with Simona Buja, Fabrizio Chiari and Mauro Montacchini: a musical project that would be forever his alter ego.

After a tape and a mini-LP, the debut album It Does not Matter Now was released in 1983 and sold in Italy over 6000 copies. Over the years, Kirlian Camera became an institution with numerous devoted fans, and the chances you still can find this album are rather small.

Fortunately, there is Norton North! This label is now rereleasing the obscure Kirlian Camera material, also It Does not Matter Now with a different (and much better) cover, and the songs have been re-mastered.

Communicate is dark minimal synth pop with a melancholic melody that knocks you down. Think of what Dirk Ivens is doing with Absolute Body Control, and you know what you can expect. In Future Rain, Angelo Bergamini is digging into the deepest depths of his soul. The song is fascinating and in a way it is the foundation stone for the frightening darkwave that is so typical for Kirlian Camera.

It Does not Matter Now is actually an album with a very depressive mood, and perhaps one of the most intense that Angelo ever made. Christ's Eyes takes you completely out of balance, it has a tragic beauty and an ideal sound to leave this earthly path. The song feels like pure pain, you see the eyes of Christ, but not as the son of God, but as a man who was tortured by barbarians.

The heavy, almost inhuman dark synth beats continue in Breaths. The song feels like a cry for help, a man who wants to scream out his demons and wraps them in indescribable beauty.

The most famous song on this album is Edges. Of course you know this track in its current version, but this original one is a bit different, danceable, but dark as hell!

After is the final song that lasts over ten minutes, the herald of what yet had to come: 26 years of darkwave/indus that was often copied, but never equaled!

Didier BECU
19/11/2015


NL

Ook al klinkt Kirlian Camera vandaag nog even fris en vernieuwend als toen, men vergeet soms dat deze Italiaanse act al in 1979 is opgericht. Angelo Bergamini was een van de pioniers uit de synthpopscène, die samen met Simona Buja, Fabrizio Chiari en Mauro Montacchini Kirlian Camera oprichtte: een muzikaal project dat voorgoed zijn alter ego zou worden.

Na een tape en een mini-lp, verscheen in 1983 It Doesn’t Matter Now dat het in thuisland Italië met 6000 verkochte exemplaren vrij goed deed. Met de jaren is Kirlian Camera natuurlijk een instituut met talrijke toegewijde fans geworden, en de kans dat je dit stukje vinyl nog kan aantreffen is eerder klein.

Gelukkig is er Norton North! Dit label doet er alles aan om het (vaak) onvindbare Kirlian Camera-materiaal opnieuw uit te brengen, ook It Doesn’t Matter Now dat zelfs een andere (en veel betere) hoes heeft gekregen, en ook de nummers zijn opnieuw gemasterd.

Communicate is donkere minimal synth pop met een melodie dat je door de melancholie murw slaat. Denk aan wat Dirk Ivens nu doet met Absolute Body Control, en je weet meteen wat je kan verwachten. In Future Rain voert Angelo Bergamini je mee naar het diepste van zijn ziel. Het klinkt allesbehalve opwekkend, maar fascinerend mooi en hiermee werd meteen de eerste steen voor de beangstigde darkwave gelegd die typisch is voor Kirlian Camera.

It Doesn’t Matter Now is eigenlijk een loodzware plaat, en misschien wel één van de meest intense die Angelo ooit heeft gemaakt. Christ’s Eyes haalt je volledig uit balans, het is tragische schoonheid en het zijn ideale klanken om voorgoed de knop uit te zetten. Het nummer voelt aan als pijn, je ziet de ogen van Christus, niet als de zoon van God, maar als een man die werd gefolterd door barbaren.

De loodzware, bijna onmenselijk donkere synthbeats blijven nazinderen in Breaths. Het nummer voelt als een noodkreet aan, een man die zijn demonen wil uitschreeuwen en het in onbeschrijfelijke schoonheid verpakt.

Het meest bekende nummer op deze plaat is natuurlijk Edges. Je kent natuurlijk dit nummer in zijn huidige uitvoering, maar deze versie is een tikkeltje anders, dansbaar, en donker als de hel!

De afsluiter After die ruim tien minuten duurt, is een voorbode van wat nog komen zou: 26 jaar darkwave/indus die veel werd gekopieerd, maar nooit geëvenaard!

Didier BECU
19/11/2015


 

Next reviews
MODEL VILLAGE • Healing Centre
DES AMES LIBRES • Thick EP
EVEREST MAGMA • Modern/Antique
CHARNIER • Charnier
SIMPLE MINDS • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (14/11/2015)
MARCEL VANTHILT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
JOHNATHAN|CHRISTIAN • The Nothing I Feel
CROOKED WEATHER • Long Garden (12”)
PSEUDO CODE • Remains to be Heard Volume 1&2

 

Other reviews from KIRLIAN CAMERA
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Eclipse-Das Schwarze Denkmal
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Best Of- Radio Music A
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Black Summer Choirs
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Ghlóir Ar An Oíche EP

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTHPOP
PARADE GROUND • Cut up
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
TECHNOIR • We fall apart
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

06
06
I LIKE TRAINS
The Truth
05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE