tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

25/01/2016 : PARADE GROUND - Cut up

PARADE GROUND

Cut up

MusicAlbum Classics
New waveSynthpop

[95/100]   

PIAS
25/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What hasn't been written about Parade Ground on our website? In fact, far too littlie! Parade Ground is Pierre and Jean-Marc Pauly's cult band? it has a lot of avid fans (including myself), but we often forget that the duo belongs to the founders of Belgian cold wave. The two performed a gig for the very first time in 1981. Two years later they released a first single, called Moan On The Sly. That was on New Dance, the label on which Front 242 debuted. Very soon after, Parade Ground released some maxi-singles. Later they ended up on PIAS and after three maxis, the LP Cut Up came out. It is the sole album they made during their "synth period". Meanwhile, many compilations appeared on labels like Infacted, Dark Entries and Other Voices Records. We return to that mighty wonderful debut of 1988.

Hollywood is synthpop in its most strange form. It's danceable, it sounds 80s and even poppy, but it’s filled with melancholy! The song is made with electronic beats and minimal elements, while Pierre screams in a frenzy way: ,"Hollywood! Well I'm sick and tired of Hollywood images out of my mind.” Who can blame him?

For those who think that personal feelings have nothing to do with a review, let me tell you: with the utmost pleasure I refuse to accept this stupid rule. The visions I had with Modern Hunting were not exactly the best, but what do you want? The nervous bass of Pierre crawls like a slow poison in your blood until it reaches your brain and creates a painful, but wonderful ecstasy. It is ruin with a paranoid touch, but that is Parade Ground. Pierre told me once that he sees his songs as the vomit of his black spirit, vomit can indeed be delicious!

After the brilliant madness, it's time for some synth pop. I always described Parade Ground as synth pop for schizophrenics. It is a statement I still support, I Will Talk had enough melody to make it on the radio back then, but when a man screams in the chorus with an insane voice: "Take me to the promised land", then you can forget the radio...

Producer Colin Newman sang and even played some keyboard on Moans. A great song, but every fan realizes that this track was more a part of A Bell Is A Cup by Wire. Anyway, at the end of the 80s, Wire had a patent on genius pop (even though no one listened), and the two most underrated Belgian artists simply took (well!) advantage.

Parade Ground is terrifying beauty. When I interviewed Pierre for the first time, he told me that suicide is the only truth. Words that shocked many people. But hey, life is no fun, and the guitar in Moist Hands confirms that! No, anyone who claims that Parade Ground makes smooth synth pop, hasn’t understood one note of it! Parade Ground is music that pierces your soul. It hurts, and just like a drug, it gives you pleasure and pain.

I never asked Pierre, but I would have liked to see the faces of the PIAS bosses when they heard this masterpiece for the first time. Because no, music that goes to the bone, isn't commercial. People don’t want to listen to music that hurts, they want fun and they love to dress up for a parade (ha!) and follow the herd. They don’t want to hear a song like Such Is The Bow, it sounds like the cord that is suddenly tight, the final sigh! On Cut Up The Neck Tie, Danny Caron, who played in the obscure band Twenty Six Tears, joins on guitar.

The album closes with two wonderful songs. The title Cut Throat Business needs no explanation, it sounds like sheer madness, even the analoge poppy synths are no longer innocent. Blacker than black is impossible, this is doom music, even if it is packaged in a synthetic way. The album closes with that one cult hit, Strange World. Irresistible beauty and even though it sounds quite harmless on this record, the two brothers made a noise live version of it that knocks you to the floor.

Cut Up is not only an album that you should have, you have to experience it. Play the album loud, take off your clothes, stare in the mirror, look deep into your own eyes and experience the beauty of the inner pain along with the brothers Pauly, it is a catharsis...

Didier BECU
25/01/2016


NL

Wat is er eigenlijk nog niet geschreven over Parade Ground op onze site? Veel, en eigenlijk veel te weinig! Pierre en Jean-Marc Pauly vormen met Parade Ground een cultband die heel wat fanatieke fans heeft (waaronder ik mezelf reken), toch vergeet men vaak dat het duo tot de grondleggers van de Belgische cold wave behoren. De twee traden voor het eerst in 1981 op en brachten twee jaar later ook hun eerste single Moan On The Sly uit. Dat gebeurde op New Dance: het label waarop ook Front 242 debuteerde. Vrij vlug nadien brachten ze allerlei maxi-singles uit. In 1987 raakten ze op PIAS en na drie maxi’s, kwam er in 1988 de lp Cut Up, de enige trouwens uit hun “synthperiode”. Ondertussen zijn er al heel wat compilaties verschenen (op Infacted, Dark Entries en Other Voices Records), wij halen echter nog eens dat heerlijke debuut uit de kast.

Hollywood is synthpop in zijn meest vreemde vorm. Het is dansbaar, het klinkt 80s en zelfs poppy, maar de melancholie druipt ervan af! Het nummer is geconcipie:erd met elektronische beats en minimal elementen, terwijl Pierre als een waanzinnige de woorden schreeuwt “Hollywood! Well, I'm sick and tired of Hollywood images out of my mind”. Wie geeft hem ongelijk?

Voor wie vindt dat persoonlijke gewaarwordingen niets met een recensie hebben te maken, vertel ik met het allergrootste plezier dat ik deze idiote regel aan mijn laars lap. De visioenen die ik bij Modern Hunting had, waren niet meteen de mooiste, maar wat wil je? De zenuwachtige bas van Pierre kruipt als een dodend gif langzaam in je bloed tot wanneer het je hersenen bereikt en zorgt voor een pijnlijke, maar wondermooie extase. Het is verderf met een paranoïde tintje, maar dat is nu eenmaal Parade Ground. Pierre vertelde me ooit dat hij zijn nummers als braaksel van zijn zwarte geest beschouwt, kots kan dus heerlijk zijn!

Na de geniale waanzin is het tijd voor wat synthpop. Zelf heb ik het duo steeds beschreven als synthpop voor schizofrenen. Het is een stelling waar ik nog steeds volledig achter sta, I Will Talk bezat destijds wel genoeg melodie om het op de radio te maken, maar als een man op een krankzinnige stem in het refrein de woorden “Take me to the promised land” schreeuwt, dan kan je de radio vergeten...

Producer Colin Newman mocht ook wat meezingen en zelfs wat keyboard spelen op Moans. Een prachtnummer, maar iedere fan beseft dat ddeze track meer thuishoorde op A Bell Is A Cup van Wire dan op Cut Up. Maar goed, op het einde van de jaren 80 had Wire een patent op geniale pop (ook al luisterde er geen kat naar), en de twee meest onderschatte artiesten uit dit land konden daar vier minuten lang volop van profiteren.

Parade Ground is angstaanjagende schoonheid. Toen ik Pierre voor het eerst interviewde, vertelde hij me dat zelfmoord de enige waarheid is. Het waren woorden die heel wat mensen rillingen deden krijgen. Maar ja, het leven is nu eenmaal geen pretje, en de gitaar in Moist Hands bevestigt die stelling alleen maar. Neen, wie beweert dat Parade Ground brave synthpop maakt, heeft er geen snars van begrepen. Parade Ground is muziek die je ziel doorboort. Het doet pijn en net als een drug zorgt het voor zowel pijn als genot.

Ik heb het Pierre nooit gevraagd, maar ik zou dolgraag de gezichten van de PIAS-bazen hebben gezien toen dit duo z'n meesterwerk kwam voorstellen. Want neen, muziek die zo tot op het bot gaat, raakt gewoon niet verkocht. Naar pijn willen mensen niet luisteren, ze willen genot en verkleed in een parade (ha!) met de kudde meelopen. Een nummer als Such Is The Bow willen ze niet horen, het klinkt net iets te veel als de koord die plotseling strak wordt, getrokken, de finale zucht! Op Cut Up The Neck Tie krijgen ze op gitaar het gezelschap van Danny Caron die in het obscure bandje Twenty Six Tears speelde.

Het album sluit af met twee wondermooie nummers. De titel Cut Throat Business hoeft maar weinig uitleg en klinkt als pure waanzin, zelfs de analoge poppy synths klinken niet langer onschuldig. Zwarter dan zwart kan niet, dit is doommuziek, ook al is het synthetisch verpakt. De plaat sluit af met die ene culthit, Strange World. Onweerstaanbare schoonheid, en ook al klinkt het op deze plaat vrij onschuldig, hebben de twee broers er ondertussen op het podium een noiseversie van gemaakt die je vanaf de eerste seconde murw slaat.

Cut Up is niet alleen een plaat die je moet hebben, je moet ze ook ervaren. Speel de plaat luid, doe je kleren uit, staar in de spiegel, kijk diep in je eigen ogen en ervaar samen met de gebroeders Pauly de schoonheid van de innerlijke pijn, het werkt als een catharsis...

Didier BECU
25/01/2016


 

Next reviews
PSYCLOCKS • Don’t Think Feel !!!
DAVID BOWIE • How Bowie Found Us
RESONANCE MAGNETIQUE • Revoke
FRANQ • Common Ground
CLAN OF XYMOX • Forever in love with Medusa
ULTRANOIRE • Disclosure
BURNING GATES • Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001
SIGNAPORE SLING • Psych Fuck
SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KOLFSKOP • halfMAN, halfWOLF, halfBOAR

 

Other reviews from PARADE GROUND
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
PARADE GROUND • Parade Ground
PARADE GROUND • Strange World
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
PARADE GROUND • A Room With a View
PARADE GROUND • The Golden Years

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTHPOP
KIRLIAN CAMERA • It Doesn't Matter Now
LUST FOR YOUTH • International
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
TECHNOIR • We fall apart
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
STACIAN • Person L

Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
02
Peek-a-Boo founder Ward De Prins has passed away...
18
02
Darkness On Demand (Ex-Dance Or Die) release new video, EP and album!
18
02
Today, exactly 15 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

19
02
THE SOFT MOON
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
02
SARIN
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
PUNISH YOURSELF
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
SPANKRAGHT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado