tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/10/2013 : GARY NUMAN - Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)

GARY NUMAN

Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)

MusicCD
IndustrialNew waveSynthpop

[75/100]   
03/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Gary Numan's new album "Splinter" will be released worldwide on Monday 14th October. Peek-a-boo had the opportunity to preview the album and it's f*cking good!

This is Numan's first full-fledged self-penned album since "Jagged" in 2006. It features a nice variation of styles and atmopsheres, ranging from the electro-industrial wall-of-sound à la Nine Inch Nails, especially in the first tracks ("I Am Dust", "Here In The Black") to more experimental synth-pop compositions ("The Calling", "Splinter"). As you know, Numan and Trent Reznor (NIN) have influenced each other greatly over the years and this album continues in the same... trend... To make things even clearer, the album features iconic NIN guitarist Robin Finck.

But of course Numan has his unique style, that transcends all possible comparisons. You also get slow ballads such as "Where I Can Never Be" and orchestral strings on "Scream". But the most attractive track, in my opinion, is "Love Hurt Bleed" with its very catchy chorus.

A good album, that will please all the fans!

TRACKLISTING
01. I Am Dust
02. Here In The Black
03. Everything Comes Down To This
04. The Calling
05. Splinter
06. Lost
07. Love Hurt Bleed
08. A Shadow Falls On Me
09. Where I Can Never Be
10. We're The Unforgiven
11. Who Are You
12. My Last Day

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
03/10/2013


 

Next reviews
DER BLUTHARSCH, POSITION PARALLELE, DEUTSCH NEPAL, JASTREB, MONGOLITO • Review of the concert at Magasin 4 in Brussels on 28th September 2013
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons
BRUCE LEE • Bruce Lee: The Complete Boxset
CLOé DU TRèFLE • D'une nuit à une autre
KARL MARKOVICS • Atmen
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Control EP
ARTS OF EREBUS • An Open Case Of Parousia
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium
ROT ON THE MARCH • Era of the Penultimate Steps
• ESN X - Electric Summer Night 2013 - 28 september 2013

 

Other reviews from GARY NUMAN
GARY NUMAN • Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
GARY NUMAN • Leuven, Het Depot (13/02/2014)
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (14/11/2013)

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
HYPERMOND.
Double
19
11
:OF THE WAND & THE MOON:
Caught In Winters Weave
19
11
NITZER EBB
Llive at Kulttempel in Oberhausen, Germany - 15.11.2019
18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart