tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/10/2013 : THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD - To Lunar Canyons

THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD

To Lunar Canyons

MusicCD
Dark ElectroDark WaveElectro RockGothic RockHeavy Metal

[72/100]   

Sonorium
03/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I first thought it was some kind of best of from the label as each song is so much different from the previous one. Almost every genre of our scene has a song in this one (or almost). It makes it hard to review it and to give a final quotation as well. Anyway, they describe themselves as progressive wave...

'Neon Judas' has a heavy bass voice, synths and lots of electro. Somehow I think I have heard this voice before.

'Rabbit Eye Movementz' is more into gothic rock with a retro sound, a little bit inspired by Fields Of The Nephilim. The voice sounds a bit better on this one, sharper and more straightforward. In the end it tends more into the metal direction

'Ghost in the Garden' starts with a piano, taken over by more electro and nice guitars and synths: a very strange combination. Somehow this combination works. This one could even work on a dance floor. It's just this voice: I honestly don't love it (sounds like Suspiria on a bad day).

'Festival of light' is the kind of song were I'm not sure if it's sung in tune, here the influence of Fields of Nephilim rules. For me this is the worst song on the album, I wouldn't recorded it: the song simply doesn't feel good.

Road Up to The Sky sounds like U2 versus Simple Minds (with some nice electro adds), a nice retro sound and a song that can get a nice feedback during a gig. This is my favorite song on the album.

'To Lunar Canyons' starts with boring synths and later on turns into an retro 80's song with a piano and this same boring synths and a voice of which I'm not sure if the singer sings in the right tone of the ladder. The electro influence in the middle is good, but doesn't blend in. What is the aim of this song, where do they want to go to with it? I don't know & I don't like it like this.

'Drowning in Sand' start acoustic, more as an country & western song. It's again a strange thing one this album, getting adds from a synth after a while. Not bad, but it's not my thing.

'Incognito' starts off pretty on fire, like a synthpop classic from the 80's and with nice guitars and bass line. Not bad for a retro anno 2013.

'Down Below' wants to be an epic guitar song, lasting longer than 10 minutes. I'm really wandering if I have to listen to this whole song while I am looking if I can't do anything else in the meanwhile. I think I simply don't like this voice.

So folks, some of you might love this voice and dito with the music. For me the music is great and it's nice that it's not always the same kind of song, but I simply don't like this voice (on a few songs it's fine as the standard on this is set in a different way). So finally it's up to you...

Filip VAN MUYLEM
03/10/2013


 

Next reviews
BRUCE LEE • Bruce Lee: The Complete Boxset
CLOé DU TRèFLE • D'une nuit à une autre
KARL MARKOVICS • Atmen
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE • Control EP
ARTS OF EREBUS • An Open Case Of Parousia
AEON SABLE • Aequinoctium
ROT ON THE MARCH • Era of the Penultimate Steps
• ESN X - Electric Summer Night 2013 - 28 september 2013
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath
NFD • Reformations

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
NORMORIA • Origin
AUTUMN • The Fall
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag