tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GIRLSCHOOL - Take A Bite

GIRLSCHOOL

Take A Bite

MusicCD
GlamrockHeavy MetalRock n' Roll

[77/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We liked Spice Girls a lot. But do these girls have the right to use the word girl power? Not really, we rather give this honor to their compatriots of Girlschool. These women formed the first female metal band ever, at least when you consider The Runaways with Joan Jett as pop rock.

Girlschool was founded in 1977, and although the lineup changed frequently, the band still exists. Soon they will tour Europe with Saxon, and you will undoubtedly hear a set with many songs from the twelve LPs the girls made so far. Cherry Red Records began to re-release these rock pearls a while ago. Take A Bite (with a rather silly Dracula on the cover) is Girlschool’s seventh album.

Initially, Girlschool started as a band that performed with Motörhead, and although the band never scored super hits, it always was popular and even became a cult phenomenon.

By 1988, employees continually left the band. After Nightmare At Maple Cross, which came out a year earlier, bassist Gil Weston-Jones joined the NHS (UK National Health Service) to make money. She was replaced by Tracey Lamb, while Cris Bonacci remained on guitar, Denise Dufort on drums and Kim McAuliffe behind the microphone.

Although it is pretty loud, this record is not really metal. These four women, dress up as nuns on the cover (with a cigarette!), love honest straightforward rock 'n' roll, as in opener Action, Tear It Up and Up All Night.

Sometimes it's quite funny as in Love At First Bite (including an idiot vampire smile like Michael Jackson used at the end of Thriller) or the hilarious Girls on Top.

At other times the music is wrong (but delicious) stuff of the 80s, as in Do not Walk Away, and sometimes just sublime. Girlschool’s version of Fox On The Run surpasses the original of The Sweet and Head Over Heels, partly written by Lemmy Kilminster, is genius.

Take A Bite is sublime! Where are those women we can bite? Oh right, remember they have girl power!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

We hielden ontzettend veel van de Spice Girls. Maar toch, hadden deze meiden wel het recht om het woord girl power te gebruiken? Niet echt, geef die eer liever aan hun landgenoten Girlschool, zij waren namelijk de eerste vrouwelijke metalband ooit (ten minste als je The Runaways met Joan Jett als poprock beschouwt).

Girlschool werd in 1977 opgericht en hoewel met een vaak wisselende line-up, bestaat de band nog steeds. Binnenkort toeren de meiden met Saxon in Europa en de set zal ongetwijfeld heel wat nummers bevatten uit de twaalf lp’s die ze tot nu toe hebben gemaakt. Een tijdje geleden begon Cherry Red Records aan het heruitbrengen van deze rockparels. Take A Bite (met een nogal vreemde, zeg maar onnozele Dracula op de cover) is hun zevende.

Het begon aanvankelijk als een bandje dat samen met Motörhead wilde toeren, en hoewel de band nooit echte superhits scoorde, is hij toch altijd geliefd gebleven en zelfs een cultfenomeen geworden.

De meisjes waren het in 1988 al lang gewoon dat regelmatig iemand de band verliet. Na Nightmare At Maple Cross dat een jaar eerder uitkwam, gaf bassiste Gil Weston-Jones er de brui aan om bij de NHS (de Britse Nationale Gezondheidsdienst) lekker veel geld te verdienen. Ze werd vervangen door Tracey Lamb, terwijl Cris Bonacci op gitaar bleef, Denise Dufort op drums en Kim McAuliffe achter de microfoon.

Hoewel het er behoorlijk luid aan toe gaat op deze plaat, kan je nauwelijks van metal spreken. Deze vier vrouwen, die zich op de hoes als nonnen verkleden (met sigaret in de mond!), houden gewoon van eerlijke rechttoe rechtaan rock ’n roll zoals in opener Action, Tear It Up of Up All Night.

Soms is het behoorlijk grappig zoals in Love At First Bite (inclusief een idioot lachende vampier zoals Michael Jackson dat op het einde van Thriller deed) of het hilarische Girls on Top (zijn dat nu gewoon meisjes aan de macht?).

Op andere momenten is de muziek soms behoorlijk (heerlijk) fout (Don’t Walk Away), en dan weer subliem. Hun versie van Fox On The Run overtreft zelfs het origineel van The Sweet en het met Lemmy Kilminster geschreven Head Over Hells is ronduit geniaal.

Een prachtplaat deze Take A Bite! Waar zijn die vrouwen om in te bijten? Juist, ze hebben girl power!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag