tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : GIRLSCHOOL - Take A Bite

GIRLSCHOOL

Take A Bite

MusicCD
GlamrockHeavy MetalRock n' Roll

[77/100]   

Cherry Red Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

We liked Spice Girls a lot. But do these girls have the right to use the word girl power? Not really, we rather give this honor to their compatriots of Girlschool. These women formed the first female metal band ever, at least when you consider The Runaways with Joan Jett as pop rock.

Girlschool was founded in 1977, and although the lineup changed frequently, the band still exists. Soon they will tour Europe with Saxon, and you will undoubtedly hear a set with many songs from the twelve LPs the girls made so far. Cherry Red Records began to re-release these rock pearls a while ago. Take A Bite (with a rather silly Dracula on the cover) is Girlschool’s seventh album.

Initially, Girlschool started as a band that performed with Motörhead, and although the band never scored super hits, it always was popular and even became a cult phenomenon.

By 1988, employees continually left the band. After Nightmare At Maple Cross, which came out a year earlier, bassist Gil Weston-Jones joined the NHS (UK National Health Service) to make money. She was replaced by Tracey Lamb, while Cris Bonacci remained on guitar, Denise Dufort on drums and Kim McAuliffe behind the microphone.

Although it is pretty loud, this record is not really metal. These four women, dress up as nuns on the cover (with a cigarette!), love honest straightforward rock 'n' roll, as in opener Action, Tear It Up and Up All Night.

Sometimes it's quite funny as in Love At First Bite (including an idiot vampire smile like Michael Jackson used at the end of Thriller) or the hilarious Girls on Top.

At other times the music is wrong (but delicious) stuff of the 80s, as in Do not Walk Away, and sometimes just sublime. Girlschool’s version of Fox On The Run surpasses the original of The Sweet and Head Over Heels, partly written by Lemmy Kilminster, is genius.

Take A Bite is sublime! Where are those women we can bite? Oh right, remember they have girl power!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

We hielden ontzettend veel van de Spice Girls. Maar toch, hadden deze meiden wel het recht om het woord girl power te gebruiken? Niet echt, geef die eer liever aan hun landgenoten Girlschool, zij waren namelijk de eerste vrouwelijke metalband ooit (ten minste als je The Runaways met Joan Jett als poprock beschouwt).

Girlschool werd in 1977 opgericht en hoewel met een vaak wisselende line-up, bestaat de band nog steeds. Binnenkort toeren de meiden met Saxon in Europa en de set zal ongetwijfeld heel wat nummers bevatten uit de twaalf lp’s die ze tot nu toe hebben gemaakt. Een tijdje geleden begon Cherry Red Records aan het heruitbrengen van deze rockparels. Take A Bite (met een nogal vreemde, zeg maar onnozele Dracula op de cover) is hun zevende.

Het begon aanvankelijk als een bandje dat samen met Motörhead wilde toeren, en hoewel de band nooit echte superhits scoorde, is hij toch altijd geliefd gebleven en zelfs een cultfenomeen geworden.

De meisjes waren het in 1988 al lang gewoon dat regelmatig iemand de band verliet. Na Nightmare At Maple Cross dat een jaar eerder uitkwam, gaf bassiste Gil Weston-Jones er de brui aan om bij de NHS (de Britse Nationale Gezondheidsdienst) lekker veel geld te verdienen. Ze werd vervangen door Tracey Lamb, terwijl Cris Bonacci op gitaar bleef, Denise Dufort op drums en Kim McAuliffe achter de microfoon.

Hoewel het er behoorlijk luid aan toe gaat op deze plaat, kan je nauwelijks van metal spreken. Deze vier vrouwen, die zich op de hoes als nonnen verkleden (met sigaret in de mond!), houden gewoon van eerlijke rechttoe rechtaan rock ’n roll zoals in opener Action, Tear It Up of Up All Night.

Soms is het behoorlijk grappig zoals in Love At First Bite (inclusief een idioot lachende vampier zoals Michael Jackson dat op het einde van Thriller deed) of het hilarische Girls on Top (zijn dat nu gewoon meisjes aan de macht?).

Op andere momenten is de muziek soms behoorlijk (heerlijk) fout (Don’t Walk Away), en dan weer subliem. Hun versie van Fox On The Run overtreft zelfs het origineel van The Sweet en het met Lemmy Kilminster geschreven Head Over Hells is ronduit geniaal.

Een prachtplaat deze Take A Bite! Waar zijn die vrouwen om in te bijten? Juist, ze hebben girl power!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed