tempobet yeni adresi
like this article review

10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

On 15th September, The Arch will play at the Backstay in Ghent (free entrance) to present its excellent new album Fates. We asked singer Gerd Van Geel to tell us about the ten albums that changed his life...

1. FAD GADGET – Fireside Favourites
Frank Tovey was a great performer, using feathers and peck when playing live. These days a lot of bands use masks and special make up, most of the time to hide themselves. Frank Tovey's voice was special to me and very unique. Songs like Coitus Interruptus and State of the Nation are still relevant. He died too soon!

2. EXECUTIVE SLACKS – You Can’t Hum When You’re Dead
I saw this band at Pukkelpop in 1986 on a small stage (on a soccer field). It had such an energy live. I still remember this gig! At the same festival there were bands like DAF, Virgin Prunes and The Cassandra Complex. It was my first festival ever, something I will never forget. Especially songs like The Bus and Cinema are very energetic.

3. SIMPLE MINDS – New Gold Dream
New Gold Dream is the fifth studio album by this Scottish band. It was a turning point for the band as it gained critical and commercial success in the UK and Europe. For me it was my second album and I was immediately blown away! Songs like Glittering Prize, Someone Somewhere in Summertime, Hunter and the Hunted and New Gold Dream are songs that inspired me at that age. I had the opportunity to sing together with Simple Minds in 1996 in Germany... Something to remember!

4. FRONT 242 – Geography
The first time I heard a song of this band, was on a local radio, Radio Terheide, at the age of fourteen. It was the song U-Men. I searched for other songs of the band and found tracks like Kampfbereit and Operating Tracks. I liked the combination of 2 different voices and energetic sequences. Live, the set is always full of power. A lot of bands are copycats of Front 242. In the early years the band had parachutes on stage and that was very special at the time. We’ve played a few times together on the same festival... Very friendly people!

5. DAVID BOWIE – Low
This was my very first vinyl ever! For me one of the best records of Bowie with songs like Sound and Vision and Warszawa. Also records like Scary Monsters And Super Creeps and The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust couldn't be missed in my collection. For me Bowie was one of the best musicians and performers of this planet. It’s a pity he died this year after the release of his funeral record Black Star. He was a genius in everything he did till the end and still is very inspiring. A real gentleman!!

6. THE SISTERS OF MERCY – Alice
The first independent EP of the band, released on 12”. The Sister of Mercy had the perfect image, dressed in black with black hats. The music was very dark and I liked it at first listening, also at Radio Terheide in 1984. The special sound of Wayne Hussey's guitars with the dark voice of Andrew Eldrich is still an inspiration for The Arch. I saw the band for the first time at Seaside festival (at least ,I think). A few years ago we had the opportunity to play with The Mission in Tivoli Utrecht. It was special because two of the former members of The Sisters Of Mercy, Wayne Hussey and Craig Adams, were there.

7. BAUHAUS – Burning from the inside
Peter Murphy is a sort of icon in our scene. I always liked his way of singing, a dark voice full of passion. If you listen to She’s in Parties, you can hear this passion! This man has style. 3 years ago we did the support on his German Tour. It was a blast!!! In our music you can hear some influences.

8. SKINNY PUPPY – Bites
Bites is Skinny Puppy's first full-length studio album. I heard the song Assimilate the first time when we just started with The Arch in 1986. I liked the song because of the strong sequences and the powerful voices. I never saw the band live... this gig is still on my wishlist.

9. THE CULT – Love
Love is the second album by English rock band The Cult. This record blew me away with the powerful guitars and the charismatic singer Ian Astbury. He has a strong personality, full of power, which is important for a performer. When I studied in Brussels, I played this record almost every day. Songs like Revolution, Rain and She Sells Sanctuary are still relevant these days. I saw The Cult playing live in Vooruit Ghent in the 90s and that concert fulfilled all my expectations.

10. NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS – Tender Prey
Because of Nick Cave, lyrics of a song are very important to me. He is one of the best writers I know. I especially like this record because of the songs The Mercy Seat and Oh Deanna... Very experimental, but they also contain a sort of calmness and rawness. A band with a personal style. I still follow bands like Grinderman and Einsturzende Neubauten. Live always fireworks!

Picture of Gerd Van Geel by Xavier Marquis.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 10/12/2016 : GERD VAN GEEL (THE ARCH) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission