tempobet yeni adresi
like this music dvd review

10/12/2016 : JOHN FOXX - 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City

JOHN FOXX

21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City

MusicMusic DVD
Electro PopElectro WaveElectronics

[80/100]   

Metamatic
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

Another peerless collection of tracks from Foxx and his many collaborators, it's difficult to pinpoint whether this is a film with a soundtrack or vice versa.

On the one hand you get a CD collection of previously issued (and a few unreleased) songs featuring Louis Gordon, Jori Hulkkonen, The Belbury Circle, Robin Guthrie and his recent triumphant merger with Benge, The Maths. One of the attractive high-points is the first ever collaboration with his apparent arch-rival of back-in-the-day Gary Numan. It's hardly a rewrite of the rule-book - Talk is an old track given more drone and some added Numan vocals but it's nonetheless a 'moment' and a landmark of sorts. Mutual respect reigns supreme.

On the other hand, there's an aesthetically pleasing DVD film directed by Macoto Tezka which continues Foxx's artistic fascination with cityscapes, flyovers, mysterious besuited men entering rooms and climbing stairways, beautiful women gymnastically draping themselves on beds, tables whatever and slick visuals aplenty. There's a plot loosely hinting at detectives, gangsters and femme fatales but the cinematic element makes the whole thing watchable - A Falling Star translates very well into film while Evidence recalls a time when Eighties videos were pure fantasy.

All of which makes for a consummate compilation. Evergreen remains one of John Foxx's most superlative songs of late, Interplay a subtle beat-less snippet of poignancy and atmospherics and the OMD remix of The Good Shadow doesn't sound much like OMD at all - it sounds like a herald of angels rubbing shoulders with Kraftwerk. In a crypt.

Most Foxxites will own most of these works but most will probably still invest in this rather varied and ultimately engaging collection.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
GUNG HO • Out of The West
X-QUADRAT • X-Quadrat
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk
TOMAS PETTERSSON (ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
VUKOVAR • Emperor
THE ASSOCIATES • Fourth Drawer Down.
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa

 

Other reviews from JOHN FOXX
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
JOHN FOXX • Burning Car
JOHN FOXX • 20th Century - The Noise
JOHN FOXX • London Overgrown
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See

 

Same genre: ELECTRO WAVE
HATCHLING • Alpha
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked