tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : JOHN FOXX - Burning Car

JOHN FOXX

Burning Car

MusicCD
New waveSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Metamatic
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

36 years after the release of his debut solo album Metamatic, Foxx takes stock once again with another collection of material from that same era. However the marked difference between Burning Car and the likes of Glimmer and Metatronic is that this is a vinyl-only release, designed to expand upon the original Japanese mini-album release of the same name and to bring Foxx closer to a 21st-century audience.

Fans of the former Ultravox luminary will already be familiar with most of what's on offer here - dystopian electronica, chillwave beats, Ballardian references in the lyrics and an impressive gatefold sleeve by long-term collaborator Jonathan Barnbrook (the man behind Bowie's Blackstar, no less). The single versions of No-One Driving and Burning Car still thrill with their icy synth hooks, while other-worldy instrumentals such as Mr No and Glimmer ably demonstrate how Foxx has been rightfully hailed as a pioneer to the likes of Boards of Canada or Orbital.

For me, the highlights are the alternative versions of Like a Miracle and A New Kind of Man which sound warmer and enriched coming from a vinyl record. The former is vastly different to the later version recorded by Zeus B Held for The Golden Section (and less dated) while the latter isn't far removed from the same sort of housey synth-pop peddled by his recent collaborator Jori Hulkkonen a few years after. Being a non-album and rarities collection, there's no Underpass - there doesn't need to be. Burning Car is a concise enough anthology of Foxx's most peerless early works. It's limited to just 750 numbered copies from the John Foxx store.

Now what about a double-vinyl issue of The Golden Section, hmmm?

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
M CRAFT • Blood Moon
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
WERNER KARLOFF • Tanz Der Automaten
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life

 

Other reviews from JOHN FOXX
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
JOHN FOXX • 20th Century - The Noise
JOHN FOXX • London Overgrown
JOHN FOXX • The Virgin Years 1981-1985 Box set

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
KISSING THE PINK • Naked
VARIOUS ARTISTS • The Underground Wave 7”s
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
SCARLET SOHO • In Cold Blood
HUMAN LEAGUE • Classics: Dare
VARIOUS ARTISTS • CAGE 21

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?