tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : M CRAFT - Blood Moon

M CRAFT

Blood Moon

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course a CD which is compared with the masterpiece Laughing Stock by Talk immediately demands our attention. As experienced writers we know too well that we often return empty-handed. Everyone compares themselves with the genius of Mark Hollis. Who knows, the Australian M Craft has the right doing this. Just as Talk Talk, this musician went very far to get the sound he wanted. He isolated himself in a cabin in the Mojave Desert (that’s the Joshua Tree U2 sang about) in order to obtain the intimate atmosphere he wanted for his third album. With these recordings he went later to a studio in Los Angeles and enriched them with sounds from a hundred years old Mason- and Hamlin piano. There was also some percussion by Seb Rochford of Polar Bear added.

Sometimes reviewers are criticized for using not enough words to describe a work which took months. And yet, if you want to summarize Blood Moon in one word, the term "beautiful" is more than enough. In 45 minutes M Craft drags you into a fairy tale world on which he explores both the neoclassical genre as the singer-songwriter stuff that’s typical for Bella Union.

Sometimes it sounds pretty pompous (like the instrumental opener New Horizons), but M Craft always knows how to handle it. Most of the tracks are sung with a fragile voice that is reminiscent of Art Garfunkel. Maybe not a name you jump out of your seat from, but M Craft sounds honest, everything comes straight from his heart, it's never contrived and that makes Blood Moon such a wonderful record.

Music made by weeping willows that opt ​​for the beauty of solitude. They’re not happy guys, but they deliver the best records.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Een plaat die wordt vergeleken met het meesterwerk Laughing Stock van Talk eist natuurlijk meteen onze aandacht op. Als ervaren rotten weten we maar al te best dat we met zo’n vergelijking vaak van een kale reis terugkeren, iedereen vergelijkt zich immers graag met het genie van Mark Hollis. Wie weet kan de Australiër M Craft dat wel. Net als Talk Talk ging ook deze muzikant heel ver om het geluid te bekomen die hij wilde. Hij isoleerde zichzelf in een hut in de Mojave-woestijn (de Joshua Tree waarover U2 zong) om zo de intieme sfeer te bekomen die hij voor zijn derde plaat wilde. Met deze geluidsopnames trok hij nadien naar een studio in Los Angeles en verrijkte die met klanken uit een meer dan honderd jaar oude Mason- en Hamlin piano. Er werd vervolgens wat percussie van Seb Rochford van Polar Bear aan toegevoegd.

Soms wordt een recensent wel eens verweten dat hij net iets te weinig woorden gebruikt om een plaat waaraan maandenlang is gewerkt te bespreken. En toch, als je Blood Moon in één woord moet samenvatten, zegt de term “prachtig” meer dan genoeg. In een 45-tal minuten sleept M Craft je in een sprookjeswereld mee die zowel het neoklassieke genre als de singersongwriter uit de Bella Union-stal verkent.

Soms klinkt het behoorlijk pompeus (zoals in de instrumentale opener New Horizons), maar M Craft gaat nooit op zijn bek. Het merendeel van de tracks zijn gezongen met een fragiele stem die wat aan Art Garfunkel doet denken. Misschien niet een naam waarvan je meteen uit je stoel springt, wel klinkt M Craft eerlijk, alles komt recht uit zijn hart, het is nooit gekunsteld en dat maakt Blood Moon zo’n wondermooie plaat.

Muziek gemaakt door treurwilgen die voor de schoonheid van de eenzaamheid kiezen. Vrolijke jongens zijn het niet, ze leveren wel de mooiste plaatjes af.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On