tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : M CRAFT - Blood Moon

M CRAFT

Blood Moon

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course a CD which is compared with the masterpiece Laughing Stock by Talk immediately demands our attention. As experienced writers we know too well that we often return empty-handed. Everyone compares themselves with the genius of Mark Hollis. Who knows, the Australian M Craft has the right doing this. Just as Talk Talk, this musician went very far to get the sound he wanted. He isolated himself in a cabin in the Mojave Desert (that’s the Joshua Tree U2 sang about) in order to obtain the intimate atmosphere he wanted for his third album. With these recordings he went later to a studio in Los Angeles and enriched them with sounds from a hundred years old Mason- and Hamlin piano. There was also some percussion by Seb Rochford of Polar Bear added.

Sometimes reviewers are criticized for using not enough words to describe a work which took months. And yet, if you want to summarize Blood Moon in one word, the term "beautiful" is more than enough. In 45 minutes M Craft drags you into a fairy tale world on which he explores both the neoclassical genre as the singer-songwriter stuff that’s typical for Bella Union.

Sometimes it sounds pretty pompous (like the instrumental opener New Horizons), but M Craft always knows how to handle it. Most of the tracks are sung with a fragile voice that is reminiscent of Art Garfunkel. Maybe not a name you jump out of your seat from, but M Craft sounds honest, everything comes straight from his heart, it's never contrived and that makes Blood Moon such a wonderful record.

Music made by weeping willows that opt ​​for the beauty of solitude. They’re not happy guys, but they deliver the best records.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Een plaat die wordt vergeleken met het meesterwerk Laughing Stock van Talk eist natuurlijk meteen onze aandacht op. Als ervaren rotten weten we maar al te best dat we met zo’n vergelijking vaak van een kale reis terugkeren, iedereen vergelijkt zich immers graag met het genie van Mark Hollis. Wie weet kan de Australiër M Craft dat wel. Net als Talk Talk ging ook deze muzikant heel ver om het geluid te bekomen die hij wilde. Hij isoleerde zichzelf in een hut in de Mojave-woestijn (de Joshua Tree waarover U2 zong) om zo de intieme sfeer te bekomen die hij voor zijn derde plaat wilde. Met deze geluidsopnames trok hij nadien naar een studio in Los Angeles en verrijkte die met klanken uit een meer dan honderd jaar oude Mason- en Hamlin piano. Er werd vervolgens wat percussie van Seb Rochford van Polar Bear aan toegevoegd.

Soms wordt een recensent wel eens verweten dat hij net iets te weinig woorden gebruikt om een plaat waaraan maandenlang is gewerkt te bespreken. En toch, als je Blood Moon in één woord moet samenvatten, zegt de term “prachtig” meer dan genoeg. In een 45-tal minuten sleept M Craft je in een sprookjeswereld mee die zowel het neoklassieke genre als de singersongwriter uit de Bella Union-stal verkent.

Soms klinkt het behoorlijk pompeus (zoals in de instrumentale opener New Horizons), maar M Craft gaat nooit op zijn bek. Het merendeel van de tracks zijn gezongen met een fragiele stem die wat aan Art Garfunkel doet denken. Misschien niet een naam waarvan je meteen uit je stoel springt, wel klinkt M Craft eerlijk, alles komt recht uit zijn hart, het is nooit gekunsteld en dat maakt Blood Moon zo’n wondermooie plaat.

Muziek gemaakt door treurwilgen die voor de schoonheid van de eenzaamheid kiezen. Vrolijke jongens zijn het niet, ze leveren wel de mooiste plaatjes af.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag