tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : M CRAFT - Blood Moon

M CRAFT

Blood Moon

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course a CD which is compared with the masterpiece Laughing Stock by Talk immediately demands our attention. As experienced writers we know too well that we often return empty-handed. Everyone compares themselves with the genius of Mark Hollis. Who knows, the Australian M Craft has the right doing this. Just as Talk Talk, this musician went very far to get the sound he wanted. He isolated himself in a cabin in the Mojave Desert (that’s the Joshua Tree U2 sang about) in order to obtain the intimate atmosphere he wanted for his third album. With these recordings he went later to a studio in Los Angeles and enriched them with sounds from a hundred years old Mason- and Hamlin piano. There was also some percussion by Seb Rochford of Polar Bear added.

Sometimes reviewers are criticized for using not enough words to describe a work which took months. And yet, if you want to summarize Blood Moon in one word, the term "beautiful" is more than enough. In 45 minutes M Craft drags you into a fairy tale world on which he explores both the neoclassical genre as the singer-songwriter stuff that’s typical for Bella Union.

Sometimes it sounds pretty pompous (like the instrumental opener New Horizons), but M Craft always knows how to handle it. Most of the tracks are sung with a fragile voice that is reminiscent of Art Garfunkel. Maybe not a name you jump out of your seat from, but M Craft sounds honest, everything comes straight from his heart, it's never contrived and that makes Blood Moon such a wonderful record.

Music made by weeping willows that opt ​​for the beauty of solitude. They’re not happy guys, but they deliver the best records.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Een plaat die wordt vergeleken met het meesterwerk Laughing Stock van Talk eist natuurlijk meteen onze aandacht op. Als ervaren rotten weten we maar al te best dat we met zo’n vergelijking vaak van een kale reis terugkeren, iedereen vergelijkt zich immers graag met het genie van Mark Hollis. Wie weet kan de Australiër M Craft dat wel. Net als Talk Talk ging ook deze muzikant heel ver om het geluid te bekomen die hij wilde. Hij isoleerde zichzelf in een hut in de Mojave-woestijn (de Joshua Tree waarover U2 zong) om zo de intieme sfeer te bekomen die hij voor zijn derde plaat wilde. Met deze geluidsopnames trok hij nadien naar een studio in Los Angeles en verrijkte die met klanken uit een meer dan honderd jaar oude Mason- en Hamlin piano. Er werd vervolgens wat percussie van Seb Rochford van Polar Bear aan toegevoegd.

Soms wordt een recensent wel eens verweten dat hij net iets te weinig woorden gebruikt om een plaat waaraan maandenlang is gewerkt te bespreken. En toch, als je Blood Moon in één woord moet samenvatten, zegt de term “prachtig” meer dan genoeg. In een 45-tal minuten sleept M Craft je in een sprookjeswereld mee die zowel het neoklassieke genre als de singersongwriter uit de Bella Union-stal verkent.

Soms klinkt het behoorlijk pompeus (zoals in de instrumentale opener New Horizons), maar M Craft gaat nooit op zijn bek. Het merendeel van de tracks zijn gezongen met een fragiele stem die wat aan Art Garfunkel doet denken. Misschien niet een naam waarvan je meteen uit je stoel springt, wel klinkt M Craft eerlijk, alles komt recht uit zijn hart, het is nooit gekunsteld en dat maakt Blood Moon zo’n wondermooie plaat.

Muziek gemaakt door treurwilgen die voor de schoonheid van de eenzaamheid kiezen. Vrolijke jongens zijn het niet, ze leveren wel de mooiste plaatjes af.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers