tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : M CRAFT - Blood Moon

M CRAFT

Blood Moon

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course a CD which is compared with the masterpiece Laughing Stock by Talk immediately demands our attention. As experienced writers we know too well that we often return empty-handed. Everyone compares themselves with the genius of Mark Hollis. Who knows, the Australian M Craft has the right doing this. Just as Talk Talk, this musician went very far to get the sound he wanted. He isolated himself in a cabin in the Mojave Desert (that’s the Joshua Tree U2 sang about) in order to obtain the intimate atmosphere he wanted for his third album. With these recordings he went later to a studio in Los Angeles and enriched them with sounds from a hundred years old Mason- and Hamlin piano. There was also some percussion by Seb Rochford of Polar Bear added.

Sometimes reviewers are criticized for using not enough words to describe a work which took months. And yet, if you want to summarize Blood Moon in one word, the term "beautiful" is more than enough. In 45 minutes M Craft drags you into a fairy tale world on which he explores both the neoclassical genre as the singer-songwriter stuff that’s typical for Bella Union.

Sometimes it sounds pretty pompous (like the instrumental opener New Horizons), but M Craft always knows how to handle it. Most of the tracks are sung with a fragile voice that is reminiscent of Art Garfunkel. Maybe not a name you jump out of your seat from, but M Craft sounds honest, everything comes straight from his heart, it's never contrived and that makes Blood Moon such a wonderful record.

Music made by weeping willows that opt ​​for the beauty of solitude. They’re not happy guys, but they deliver the best records.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Een plaat die wordt vergeleken met het meesterwerk Laughing Stock van Talk eist natuurlijk meteen onze aandacht op. Als ervaren rotten weten we maar al te best dat we met zo’n vergelijking vaak van een kale reis terugkeren, iedereen vergelijkt zich immers graag met het genie van Mark Hollis. Wie weet kan de Australiër M Craft dat wel. Net als Talk Talk ging ook deze muzikant heel ver om het geluid te bekomen die hij wilde. Hij isoleerde zichzelf in een hut in de Mojave-woestijn (de Joshua Tree waarover U2 zong) om zo de intieme sfeer te bekomen die hij voor zijn derde plaat wilde. Met deze geluidsopnames trok hij nadien naar een studio in Los Angeles en verrijkte die met klanken uit een meer dan honderd jaar oude Mason- en Hamlin piano. Er werd vervolgens wat percussie van Seb Rochford van Polar Bear aan toegevoegd.

Soms wordt een recensent wel eens verweten dat hij net iets te weinig woorden gebruikt om een plaat waaraan maandenlang is gewerkt te bespreken. En toch, als je Blood Moon in één woord moet samenvatten, zegt de term “prachtig” meer dan genoeg. In een 45-tal minuten sleept M Craft je in een sprookjeswereld mee die zowel het neoklassieke genre als de singersongwriter uit de Bella Union-stal verkent.

Soms klinkt het behoorlijk pompeus (zoals in de instrumentale opener New Horizons), maar M Craft gaat nooit op zijn bek. Het merendeel van de tracks zijn gezongen met een fragiele stem die wat aan Art Garfunkel doet denken. Misschien niet een naam waarvan je meteen uit je stoel springt, wel klinkt M Craft eerlijk, alles komt recht uit zijn hart, het is nooit gekunsteld en dat maakt Blood Moon zo’n wondermooie plaat.

Muziek gemaakt door treurwilgen die voor de schoonheid van de eenzaamheid kiezen. Vrolijke jongens zijn het niet, ze leveren wel de mooiste plaatjes af.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive