tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : M CRAFT - Blood Moon

M CRAFT

Blood Moon

MusicCD

Heavenly Recordings
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course a CD which is compared with the masterpiece Laughing Stock by Talk immediately demands our attention. As experienced writers we know too well that we often return empty-handed. Everyone compares themselves with the genius of Mark Hollis. Who knows, the Australian M Craft has the right doing this. Just as Talk Talk, this musician went very far to get the sound he wanted. He isolated himself in a cabin in the Mojave Desert (that’s the Joshua Tree U2 sang about) in order to obtain the intimate atmosphere he wanted for his third album. With these recordings he went later to a studio in Los Angeles and enriched them with sounds from a hundred years old Mason- and Hamlin piano. There was also some percussion by Seb Rochford of Polar Bear added.

Sometimes reviewers are criticized for using not enough words to describe a work which took months. And yet, if you want to summarize Blood Moon in one word, the term "beautiful" is more than enough. In 45 minutes M Craft drags you into a fairy tale world on which he explores both the neoclassical genre as the singer-songwriter stuff that’s typical for Bella Union.

Sometimes it sounds pretty pompous (like the instrumental opener New Horizons), but M Craft always knows how to handle it. Most of the tracks are sung with a fragile voice that is reminiscent of Art Garfunkel. Maybe not a name you jump out of your seat from, but M Craft sounds honest, everything comes straight from his heart, it's never contrived and that makes Blood Moon such a wonderful record.

Music made by weeping willows that opt ​​for the beauty of solitude. They’re not happy guys, but they deliver the best records.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Een plaat die wordt vergeleken met het meesterwerk Laughing Stock van Talk eist natuurlijk meteen onze aandacht op. Als ervaren rotten weten we maar al te best dat we met zo’n vergelijking vaak van een kale reis terugkeren, iedereen vergelijkt zich immers graag met het genie van Mark Hollis. Wie weet kan de Australiër M Craft dat wel. Net als Talk Talk ging ook deze muzikant heel ver om het geluid te bekomen die hij wilde. Hij isoleerde zichzelf in een hut in de Mojave-woestijn (de Joshua Tree waarover U2 zong) om zo de intieme sfeer te bekomen die hij voor zijn derde plaat wilde. Met deze geluidsopnames trok hij nadien naar een studio in Los Angeles en verrijkte die met klanken uit een meer dan honderd jaar oude Mason- en Hamlin piano. Er werd vervolgens wat percussie van Seb Rochford van Polar Bear aan toegevoegd.

Soms wordt een recensent wel eens verweten dat hij net iets te weinig woorden gebruikt om een plaat waaraan maandenlang is gewerkt te bespreken. En toch, als je Blood Moon in één woord moet samenvatten, zegt de term “prachtig” meer dan genoeg. In een 45-tal minuten sleept M Craft je in een sprookjeswereld mee die zowel het neoklassieke genre als de singersongwriter uit de Bella Union-stal verkent.

Soms klinkt het behoorlijk pompeus (zoals in de instrumentale opener New Horizons), maar M Craft gaat nooit op zijn bek. Het merendeel van de tracks zijn gezongen met een fragiele stem die wat aan Art Garfunkel doet denken. Misschien niet een naam waarvan je meteen uit je stoel springt, wel klinkt M Craft eerlijk, alles komt recht uit zijn hart, het is nooit gekunsteld en dat maakt Blood Moon zo’n wondermooie plaat.

Muziek gemaakt door treurwilgen die voor de schoonheid van de eenzaamheid kiezen. Vrolijke jongens zijn het niet, ze leveren wel de mooiste plaatjes af.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia