tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PASCAL PINON - Sundur

PASCAL PINON

Sundur

MusicCD
FolktronicaIndieMinimalNeoclassical

[82/100]   

Morr Music
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Music from Iceland, since years it is a concept that needs no explanation. Musically, this land was once awashed with Björk and het copycats, today we barely can keep track of the ice-cold (but simultaneously tender) dance/electronic releases.

Pascal Pinon is the project of the sisters Jófríõur and Ásthildur Ákadóttir. You might know Jófríõur as the singer of the popular band Samaris. Sundur is the Icelandic word for being separated, which is also the theme that recurs on this record. Due to musical circumstances, the sisters hardly see each other. It was not easy to get them in a studio together. They found some time in the Netherlands. The successor of Twosomeness includes 11 songs, finished in 18 months..

The voice of Jófríõur is often compared with Björk. And honestly, you can not ignore the resemblance between both. But compared with Samaris, she does something completely different with it. The eleven tracks are minimal dance pop songs with ambient-like piano and synthesizer sounds or strange noises which are collected by their father Áki Ásgeirsson, responsable for the percussion section. Sometimes he uses bizarre objects like disused aircraft parts.

Clever readers have understood the essence: if you are open to this, then Sundur is another Icelandic release to dream away on.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Muziek uit IJsland, het is een begrip dat sinds jaren geen uitleg meer hoeft. Werd dit land op muzikaal vlak ooit overspoeld door Björk en haar copycats, dan zijn de releases met ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) warme dance-electronica vandaag nog nauwelijks bij te houden.

Pascal Pinon is het project van de zusjes Jófríõur en Ásthildur Ákadóttir. Jófríõur ken je misschien als de zangeres van de populaire band Samaris. Sundur is het IJslandse woord voor apart en dat is ook het thema dat in deze plaat terugkeert. Door de muzikale omstandigheden waarin de zusjes verwikkeld zijn geraakt, zien ze elkaar nog nauwelijks. Het was dus niet eenvoudig om ze in een studio bij elkaar te krijgen. Ze vonden wat tijd in Nederland. Op de opvolger van Twosomeness vind je 11 songs waaraan ze anderhalf jaar hebben gewerkt.

De stem van Jófríõur wordt vaak met die van Björk vergeleken. En, eerlijk is eerlijk, daar kan je niet omheen. Wel, doet ze er, net als bij Samaris, in Pascal Pinon iets compleet anders mee. De elf tracks zijn minimale danspop die ondersteund wordt door ambientachtige piano- en synthesizerklanken of vreemde geluiden die door hun vader Áki Ásgeirsson zijn verzameld, en die tevens de percussie voor zijn rekening neemt. Soms doet hij dat met de meest bizarre voorwerpen, zoals bijv. afgedankte vliegtuigonderdelen.

Pientere lezers hebben de essentie begrepen: als je ervoor open staat, is Sundur alweer zo’n IJslandse release om heerlijk op weg te mijmeren.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WERNER KARLOFF • Tanz Der Automaten
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life

 

Same genre: FOLKTRONICA
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
BRODKA • Clashes

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless