tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PASCAL PINON - Sundur

PASCAL PINON

Sundur

MusicCD
FolktronicaIndieMinimalNeoclassical

[82/100]   

Morr Music
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Music from Iceland, since years it is a concept that needs no explanation. Musically, this land was once awashed with Björk and het copycats, today we barely can keep track of the ice-cold (but simultaneously tender) dance/electronic releases.

Pascal Pinon is the project of the sisters Jófríõur and Ásthildur Ákadóttir. You might know Jófríõur as the singer of the popular band Samaris. Sundur is the Icelandic word for being separated, which is also the theme that recurs on this record. Due to musical circumstances, the sisters hardly see each other. It was not easy to get them in a studio together. They found some time in the Netherlands. The successor of Twosomeness includes 11 songs, finished in 18 months..

The voice of Jófríõur is often compared with Björk. And honestly, you can not ignore the resemblance between both. But compared with Samaris, she does something completely different with it. The eleven tracks are minimal dance pop songs with ambient-like piano and synthesizer sounds or strange noises which are collected by their father Áki Ásgeirsson, responsable for the percussion section. Sometimes he uses bizarre objects like disused aircraft parts.

Clever readers have understood the essence: if you are open to this, then Sundur is another Icelandic release to dream away on.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Muziek uit IJsland, het is een begrip dat sinds jaren geen uitleg meer hoeft. Werd dit land op muzikaal vlak ooit overspoeld door Björk en haar copycats, dan zijn de releases met ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) warme dance-electronica vandaag nog nauwelijks bij te houden.

Pascal Pinon is het project van de zusjes Jófríõur en Ásthildur Ákadóttir. Jófríõur ken je misschien als de zangeres van de populaire band Samaris. Sundur is het IJslandse woord voor apart en dat is ook het thema dat in deze plaat terugkeert. Door de muzikale omstandigheden waarin de zusjes verwikkeld zijn geraakt, zien ze elkaar nog nauwelijks. Het was dus niet eenvoudig om ze in een studio bij elkaar te krijgen. Ze vonden wat tijd in Nederland. Op de opvolger van Twosomeness vind je 11 songs waaraan ze anderhalf jaar hebben gewerkt.

De stem van Jófríõur wordt vaak met die van Björk vergeleken. En, eerlijk is eerlijk, daar kan je niet omheen. Wel, doet ze er, net als bij Samaris, in Pascal Pinon iets compleet anders mee. De elf tracks zijn minimale danspop die ondersteund wordt door ambientachtige piano- en synthesizerklanken of vreemde geluiden die door hun vader Áki Ásgeirsson zijn verzameld, en die tevens de percussie voor zijn rekening neemt. Soms doet hij dat met de meest bizarre voorwerpen, zoals bijv. afgedankte vliegtuigonderdelen.

Pientere lezers hebben de essentie begrepen: als je ervoor open staat, is Sundur alweer zo’n IJslandse release om heerlijk op weg te mijmeren.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WERNER KARLOFF • Tanz Der Automaten
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life

 

Same genre: FOLKTRONICA
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
BRODKA • Clashes

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day