tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : PASCAL PINON - Sundur

PASCAL PINON

Sundur

MusicCD
FolktronicaIndieMinimalNeoclassical

[82/100]   

Morr Music
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Music from Iceland, since years it is a concept that needs no explanation. Musically, this land was once awashed with Björk and het copycats, today we barely can keep track of the ice-cold (but simultaneously tender) dance/electronic releases.

Pascal Pinon is the project of the sisters Jófríõur and Ásthildur Ákadóttir. You might know Jófríõur as the singer of the popular band Samaris. Sundur is the Icelandic word for being separated, which is also the theme that recurs on this record. Due to musical circumstances, the sisters hardly see each other. It was not easy to get them in a studio together. They found some time in the Netherlands. The successor of Twosomeness includes 11 songs, finished in 18 months..

The voice of Jófríõur is often compared with Björk. And honestly, you can not ignore the resemblance between both. But compared with Samaris, she does something completely different with it. The eleven tracks are minimal dance pop songs with ambient-like piano and synthesizer sounds or strange noises which are collected by their father Áki Ásgeirsson, responsable for the percussion section. Sometimes he uses bizarre objects like disused aircraft parts.

Clever readers have understood the essence: if you are open to this, then Sundur is another Icelandic release to dream away on.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Muziek uit IJsland, het is een begrip dat sinds jaren geen uitleg meer hoeft. Werd dit land op muzikaal vlak ooit overspoeld door Björk en haar copycats, dan zijn de releases met ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) warme dance-electronica vandaag nog nauwelijks bij te houden.

Pascal Pinon is het project van de zusjes Jófríõur en Ásthildur Ákadóttir. Jófríõur ken je misschien als de zangeres van de populaire band Samaris. Sundur is het IJslandse woord voor apart en dat is ook het thema dat in deze plaat terugkeert. Door de muzikale omstandigheden waarin de zusjes verwikkeld zijn geraakt, zien ze elkaar nog nauwelijks. Het was dus niet eenvoudig om ze in een studio bij elkaar te krijgen. Ze vonden wat tijd in Nederland. Op de opvolger van Twosomeness vind je 11 songs waaraan ze anderhalf jaar hebben gewerkt.

De stem van Jófríõur wordt vaak met die van Björk vergeleken. En, eerlijk is eerlijk, daar kan je niet omheen. Wel, doet ze er, net als bij Samaris, in Pascal Pinon iets compleet anders mee. De elf tracks zijn minimale danspop die ondersteund wordt door ambientachtige piano- en synthesizerklanken of vreemde geluiden die door hun vader Áki Ásgeirsson zijn verzameld, en die tevens de percussie voor zijn rekening neemt. Soms doet hij dat met de meest bizarre voorwerpen, zoals bijv. afgedankte vliegtuigonderdelen.

Pientere lezers hebben de essentie begrepen: als je ervoor open staat, is Sundur alweer zo’n IJslandse release om heerlijk op weg te mijmeren.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WERNER KARLOFF • Tanz Der Automaten
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life

 

Same genre: FOLKTRONICA
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
BRODKA • Clashes

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once

Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!
15
10
Holygram announces debut 'Modern Cults' album!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
14
10
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling