tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : PASCAL PINON - Sundur

PASCAL PINON

Sundur

MusicCD
FolktronicaIndieMinimalNeoclassical

[82/100]   

Morr Music
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Music from Iceland, since years it is a concept that needs no explanation. Musically, this land was once awashed with Björk and het copycats, today we barely can keep track of the ice-cold (but simultaneously tender) dance/electronic releases.

Pascal Pinon is the project of the sisters Jófríõur and Ásthildur Ákadóttir. You might know Jófríõur as the singer of the popular band Samaris. Sundur is the Icelandic word for being separated, which is also the theme that recurs on this record. Due to musical circumstances, the sisters hardly see each other. It was not easy to get them in a studio together. They found some time in the Netherlands. The successor of Twosomeness includes 11 songs, finished in 18 months..

The voice of Jófríõur is often compared with Björk. And honestly, you can not ignore the resemblance between both. But compared with Samaris, she does something completely different with it. The eleven tracks are minimal dance pop songs with ambient-like piano and synthesizer sounds or strange noises which are collected by their father Áki Ásgeirsson, responsable for the percussion section. Sometimes he uses bizarre objects like disused aircraft parts.

Clever readers have understood the essence: if you are open to this, then Sundur is another Icelandic release to dream away on.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Muziek uit IJsland, het is een begrip dat sinds jaren geen uitleg meer hoeft. Werd dit land op muzikaal vlak ooit overspoeld door Björk en haar copycats, dan zijn de releases met ijskoude (maar tegelijkertijd) warme dance-electronica vandaag nog nauwelijks bij te houden.

Pascal Pinon is het project van de zusjes Jófríõur en Ásthildur Ákadóttir. Jófríõur ken je misschien als de zangeres van de populaire band Samaris. Sundur is het IJslandse woord voor apart en dat is ook het thema dat in deze plaat terugkeert. Door de muzikale omstandigheden waarin de zusjes verwikkeld zijn geraakt, zien ze elkaar nog nauwelijks. Het was dus niet eenvoudig om ze in een studio bij elkaar te krijgen. Ze vonden wat tijd in Nederland. Op de opvolger van Twosomeness vind je 11 songs waaraan ze anderhalf jaar hebben gewerkt.

De stem van Jófríõur wordt vaak met die van Björk vergeleken. En, eerlijk is eerlijk, daar kan je niet omheen. Wel, doet ze er, net als bij Samaris, in Pascal Pinon iets compleet anders mee. De elf tracks zijn minimale danspop die ondersteund wordt door ambientachtige piano- en synthesizerklanken of vreemde geluiden die door hun vader Áki Ásgeirsson zijn verzameld, en die tevens de percussie voor zijn rekening neemt. Soms doet hij dat met de meest bizarre voorwerpen, zoals bijv. afgedankte vliegtuigonderdelen.

Pientere lezers hebben de essentie begrepen: als je ervoor open staat, is Sundur alweer zo’n IJslandse release om heerlijk op weg te mijmeren.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WERNER KARLOFF • Tanz Der Automaten
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
RUBIN (LOW FACTOR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RIO GOLDHAMMER (1919) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VARIOUS • 4 in 1 Volume 4
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
MICHAEL ALIANI (CHIRON) • Ten Album That Changed My Life
JACQUES SAPH (VIRGIN IN VEIL) • Ten albums that changed my life
SUZI SABOTAGE (VIRGIN IN VEIL & MASQUERADE) • 10 albums that changed my life

 

Same genre: FOLKTRONICA
BRODKA • Clashes

 

Same genre: INDIE
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists
DEF NEON • Def Neon

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
GRANDCHAOS • Memories

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once
ROBERTO ATTANASIO • Another Past

Music reviews

11
05
DISCO INFERNO
In Debt 91/92
10
05
WOLFHOUNDS
Untied Kingdom
09
05
FIXMER / MCCARTHY
Chemicals
08
05
PPM
Victims Of Our Own Efficiency
06
05
WIRE
Silver / Lead
02
05
WHITE SEA
Tropical Odds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
First Light - the debut album from Fader, a new band formed by Neil Arthur (Blancmange/Near Future)
24
05
EBM juggernauts Front Line Assembly & Die Krupps sharing stage at De Casino (St-Niklaas,B) on 25th August
24
05
Tomorrow! May 25th, Exclusive Belgian 'Best Of' Clubshow by Project Pitchfork @ De Casino - St Niklaas
19
05
OMD announces new album: The Punishment of Luxury
15
05
LYDIA LUNCH & CYPRESS GROVE to release cover album 'Under The Covers'
14
05
Factice Factory release their forthcoming album 'Lines & Parallels' mid-September

Concert reviews

05
05
26TH WAVE UND GOTIK TREFFEN - 2ND-5TH JUNE
Some Electro-/EBM-/industrial-/synthpop bands to check at WGT 2017 !!!
04
05
COALESCAREMONIUM
15
04
DURBUY ROCK
New Model Army loves a hopeless cause... | Durbuy, Belgium | 08.04.2017
10
04
HAUSCHKA
Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
06
04
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Some postpunk, indie, coldwave bands to discover at WGT 2017 (Leipzig, D)
04
04
HOCICO, SHAARGHOT
Magasin 4 - 29 maart 2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
05
MASSIVE EGO
‘CAN NEVER SEE MYSELF BEING IN A BAND THAT JUST WORE JEANS AND T-SHIRTS’
25
05
THIS MORN'OMINA
'TMO is a strange entity, it seems to possess and control us'
24
04
DIVE
'Music is a virus!'
20
04
SOVIETWAVE
Cosmonauts' day special
18
04
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER
'The universe of dark industrial music takes me somewhere I want to be'

PHOTOS

27
05
PROJECT PITCHFORK
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
27
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
07
05
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
DARKWOOD
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
THOROFON
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
DIE WEISSE ROSE
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium
07
05
LIQUID TRAUMA
Porta Nigra XII - Walpurgis Night, De Klinker, Aarschot, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
28
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Purge
27
05
LIZARD SMILE
State Of Void
26
05
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
25
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
24
05
PARADE GROUND
Moans
23
05
KRAFTWERK
Boing Boom Tschak/Techno Pop/Music Non Stop