tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SUEDE - Night Thoughts

SUEDE

Night Thoughts

MusicCD
Indie

[90/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Night Thoughts was released some time ago, but already I consider it a classic. Allowed? Yes, it is, and perhaps it is one of the most underrated records ever.

I always was mad about Brett Anderson, though it was only because he is the only one who reaches to the knees of the biggest ever (that’ll always be David Bowie). Why do I love Suede so much? Because of the ideal combination of the perfect pop song, embellished with melancholy and performed by someone who likes to be a pop star without forgetting his audience. In short, the kind of pop star every fan dreams of.

The seventh studio album of Suede is a true tour de force, both in terms of production and content. The CD was recorded under the supervision of Ed Buller, a man with whom they worked previously. The album was recorded in one take. These are just a few words on paper, for a popular band like Suede, however, a great risk.

As expected, the CD did not get off the ground outside England, but if it can be a consolation: Night Thoughts is the best album Suede ever made. A very melancholy record, one that'll blow your mind. The accompanying video of Roger Sargent which was fully displayed during the last tour is the prove: images of a young man who steps out of life. Away from all the demons which haunt him, stepping into the waves of the sea which relieve him of suffering. Not some personea poetry, just the content of the Suede video.

The poignant When We Are Young begins with a classical suite. No, Suede never sounded like this before. On Outsiders you hear the old sound of the Britpop band, glam rock that refers to Bowie, but it's about... well... outsiders.

It is followed by No Tomorrow (with a video clip of a man who takes an overdose of pills), glam rock that affects your soul. Pale Snow is an intimate piece of music, the guitar of Richard Oakes knocks you down... and then comes I Do not Know How To Reach You, one of the most moving Suede songs ever.

What I'm Trying To Tell You is an uptempo song (with a sad text), and so we move on to Tightrope, then Learning To Be. I try to step away, but I am too scared to move i like I'm in love again, sings Brett in his typical high-pitched voice. The song only lasts three minutes, but it makes a deep impression.

Suede never went as deep as on Night Thoughts, it is a journey through your dark soul, lead by an experienced guide. Give this masterpiece a chance!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Night Thoughts is nog maar een tijdje uit, toch doop ik dit album nu al als een klassieker. Mag dat? Ja, dat is toegelaten, gewoon omdat Night Thoughts misschien één van de meest ondergewaardeerde platen ooit is.

Zelf heb ik altijd gedweept met Brett Anderson, al was het maar omdat hij de enige is die tot aan de knieën van de allergrootste komt (nog altijd David Bowie). Waarom ik zo van Suede hou? De perfecte combinatie van de ideale popsong, aangedikt met de nodige portie melancholie en gebracht door iemand die ervan houdt om popster te zijn zonder dat hij zijn publiek uit het oog verliest. Kortom, het soort popster waarvan iedere fan droomt.

De zevende studioplaat van Suede is een ware tour de force, zowel in productietermen als qua inhoud. De cd is onder toezicht van Ed Buller opgenomen, een man met wie al eerder was samengewerkt. De plaat is in één take opgenomen. Het zijn maar een paar woorden op papier, voor een populaire band als Suede toch een groot risico.

Zoals verwacht raakte de plaat buiten Engeland niet echt van de grond, maar als het een troost mag zijn: Night Thoughts is de mooiste plaat die Suede ooit heeft gemaakt.... Een zeer zwaarmoedige plaat, eentje die je omver blaast. De bijbehorende video van Roger Sargent, integraal getoond tijdens de laatste tour, bewees dat nog meer: beelden van een jonge man die uit het leven stapt, die los van alle demonen die hem achtervolgen de golven van de zee instappend zodat hij van het lijden is verlost. Geen eigen poëzie, wel de inhoud van de video van Suede.

De plaat begint met het aangrijpende When We Are Young, dat wordt ingeleid met een klassieke suite. Neen, zo klonk Suede nog nooit. In Outsiders hoor je de oude Suede: glamrock die naar Bowie refereert, maar het gaat over... tja... outsiders.

Het wordt gevolgd door No Tomorrow (met een videoclip over een man die een overdosis pillen inneemt), glamrock die je ziel aantast. Pale Snow is een intiem stukje muziek, de gitaar van Richard Oakes slaat je knock out... en dan komt I Don’t Know How To Reach You, één van de meest aangrijpende Suede-songs ooit.

What I’m Trying To Tell You is een uptempo song (met een droevige tekst weliswaar), en zo gaan we over naar het zwartgallige Tightrope en daarna Learning To Be. I try to step away, but I am too scared to move like I’m in love again, zingt Brett met zijn typisch hoge stem. De song duurt amper drie minuten, maar hij maakt diepe indruk.

Nog nooit ging Suede zo diep als op Night Thoughts, het is een trip door je donkere ziel, begeleidt door een ervaren gids. Geef dit meesterwerk een kans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
10
Producer & This Mortal Coil co-founder John Fryer releases 'These Mortal Covers' LP!
28
10
43 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 32 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
10
VIOLENT VICKIE
Under The Gun
29
10
STACIAN
Telephonix
28
10
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
27
10
NO MORE
Turnaround
26
10
DEVO
Beautiful World
25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit