tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SUEDE - Night Thoughts

SUEDE

Night Thoughts

MusicCD
Indie

[90/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Night Thoughts was released some time ago, but already I consider it a classic. Allowed? Yes, it is, and perhaps it is one of the most underrated records ever.

I always was mad about Brett Anderson, though it was only because he is the only one who reaches to the knees of the biggest ever (that’ll always be David Bowie). Why do I love Suede so much? Because of the ideal combination of the perfect pop song, embellished with melancholy and performed by someone who likes to be a pop star without forgetting his audience. In short, the kind of pop star every fan dreams of.

The seventh studio album of Suede is a true tour de force, both in terms of production and content. The CD was recorded under the supervision of Ed Buller, a man with whom they worked previously. The album was recorded in one take. These are just a few words on paper, for a popular band like Suede, however, a great risk.

As expected, the CD did not get off the ground outside England, but if it can be a consolation: Night Thoughts is the best album Suede ever made. A very melancholy record, one that'll blow your mind. The accompanying video of Roger Sargent which was fully displayed during the last tour is the prove: images of a young man who steps out of life. Away from all the demons which haunt him, stepping into the waves of the sea which relieve him of suffering. Not some personea poetry, just the content of the Suede video.

The poignant When We Are Young begins with a classical suite. No, Suede never sounded like this before. On Outsiders you hear the old sound of the Britpop band, glam rock that refers to Bowie, but it's about... well... outsiders.

It is followed by No Tomorrow (with a video clip of a man who takes an overdose of pills), glam rock that affects your soul. Pale Snow is an intimate piece of music, the guitar of Richard Oakes knocks you down... and then comes I Do not Know How To Reach You, one of the most moving Suede songs ever.

What I'm Trying To Tell You is an uptempo song (with a sad text), and so we move on to Tightrope, then Learning To Be. I try to step away, but I am too scared to move i like I'm in love again, sings Brett in his typical high-pitched voice. The song only lasts three minutes, but it makes a deep impression.

Suede never went as deep as on Night Thoughts, it is a journey through your dark soul, lead by an experienced guide. Give this masterpiece a chance!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Night Thoughts is nog maar een tijdje uit, toch doop ik dit album nu al als een klassieker. Mag dat? Ja, dat is toegelaten, gewoon omdat Night Thoughts misschien één van de meest ondergewaardeerde platen ooit is.

Zelf heb ik altijd gedweept met Brett Anderson, al was het maar omdat hij de enige is die tot aan de knieën van de allergrootste komt (nog altijd David Bowie). Waarom ik zo van Suede hou? De perfecte combinatie van de ideale popsong, aangedikt met de nodige portie melancholie en gebracht door iemand die ervan houdt om popster te zijn zonder dat hij zijn publiek uit het oog verliest. Kortom, het soort popster waarvan iedere fan droomt.

De zevende studioplaat van Suede is een ware tour de force, zowel in productietermen als qua inhoud. De cd is onder toezicht van Ed Buller opgenomen, een man met wie al eerder was samengewerkt. De plaat is in één take opgenomen. Het zijn maar een paar woorden op papier, voor een populaire band als Suede toch een groot risico.

Zoals verwacht raakte de plaat buiten Engeland niet echt van de grond, maar als het een troost mag zijn: Night Thoughts is de mooiste plaat die Suede ooit heeft gemaakt.... Een zeer zwaarmoedige plaat, eentje die je omver blaast. De bijbehorende video van Roger Sargent, integraal getoond tijdens de laatste tour, bewees dat nog meer: beelden van een jonge man die uit het leven stapt, die los van alle demonen die hem achtervolgen de golven van de zee instappend zodat hij van het lijden is verlost. Geen eigen poëzie, wel de inhoud van de video van Suede.

De plaat begint met het aangrijpende When We Are Young, dat wordt ingeleid met een klassieke suite. Neen, zo klonk Suede nog nooit. In Outsiders hoor je de oude Suede: glamrock die naar Bowie refereert, maar het gaat over... tja... outsiders.

Het wordt gevolgd door No Tomorrow (met een videoclip over een man die een overdosis pillen inneemt), glamrock die je ziel aantast. Pale Snow is een intiem stukje muziek, de gitaar van Richard Oakes slaat je knock out... en dan komt I Don’t Know How To Reach You, één van de meest aangrijpende Suede-songs ooit.

What I’m Trying To Tell You is een uptempo song (met een droevige tekst weliswaar), en zo gaan we over naar het zwartgallige Tightrope en daarna Learning To Be. I try to step away, but I am too scared to move like I’m in love again, zingt Brett met zijn typisch hoge stem. De song duurt amper drie minuten, maar hij maakt diepe indruk.

Nog nooit ging Suede zo diep als op Night Thoughts, het is een trip door je donkere ziel, begeleidt door een ervaren gids. Geef dit meesterwerk een kans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?