tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SUEDE - Night Thoughts

SUEDE

Night Thoughts

MusicCD
Indie

[90/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Night Thoughts was released some time ago, but already I consider it a classic. Allowed? Yes, it is, and perhaps it is one of the most underrated records ever.

I always was mad about Brett Anderson, though it was only because he is the only one who reaches to the knees of the biggest ever (that’ll always be David Bowie). Why do I love Suede so much? Because of the ideal combination of the perfect pop song, embellished with melancholy and performed by someone who likes to be a pop star without forgetting his audience. In short, the kind of pop star every fan dreams of.

The seventh studio album of Suede is a true tour de force, both in terms of production and content. The CD was recorded under the supervision of Ed Buller, a man with whom they worked previously. The album was recorded in one take. These are just a few words on paper, for a popular band like Suede, however, a great risk.

As expected, the CD did not get off the ground outside England, but if it can be a consolation: Night Thoughts is the best album Suede ever made. A very melancholy record, one that'll blow your mind. The accompanying video of Roger Sargent which was fully displayed during the last tour is the prove: images of a young man who steps out of life. Away from all the demons which haunt him, stepping into the waves of the sea which relieve him of suffering. Not some personea poetry, just the content of the Suede video.

The poignant When We Are Young begins with a classical suite. No, Suede never sounded like this before. On Outsiders you hear the old sound of the Britpop band, glam rock that refers to Bowie, but it's about... well... outsiders.

It is followed by No Tomorrow (with a video clip of a man who takes an overdose of pills), glam rock that affects your soul. Pale Snow is an intimate piece of music, the guitar of Richard Oakes knocks you down... and then comes I Do not Know How To Reach You, one of the most moving Suede songs ever.

What I'm Trying To Tell You is an uptempo song (with a sad text), and so we move on to Tightrope, then Learning To Be. I try to step away, but I am too scared to move i like I'm in love again, sings Brett in his typical high-pitched voice. The song only lasts three minutes, but it makes a deep impression.

Suede never went as deep as on Night Thoughts, it is a journey through your dark soul, lead by an experienced guide. Give this masterpiece a chance!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Night Thoughts is nog maar een tijdje uit, toch doop ik dit album nu al als een klassieker. Mag dat? Ja, dat is toegelaten, gewoon omdat Night Thoughts misschien één van de meest ondergewaardeerde platen ooit is.

Zelf heb ik altijd gedweept met Brett Anderson, al was het maar omdat hij de enige is die tot aan de knieën van de allergrootste komt (nog altijd David Bowie). Waarom ik zo van Suede hou? De perfecte combinatie van de ideale popsong, aangedikt met de nodige portie melancholie en gebracht door iemand die ervan houdt om popster te zijn zonder dat hij zijn publiek uit het oog verliest. Kortom, het soort popster waarvan iedere fan droomt.

De zevende studioplaat van Suede is een ware tour de force, zowel in productietermen als qua inhoud. De cd is onder toezicht van Ed Buller opgenomen, een man met wie al eerder was samengewerkt. De plaat is in één take opgenomen. Het zijn maar een paar woorden op papier, voor een populaire band als Suede toch een groot risico.

Zoals verwacht raakte de plaat buiten Engeland niet echt van de grond, maar als het een troost mag zijn: Night Thoughts is de mooiste plaat die Suede ooit heeft gemaakt.... Een zeer zwaarmoedige plaat, eentje die je omver blaast. De bijbehorende video van Roger Sargent, integraal getoond tijdens de laatste tour, bewees dat nog meer: beelden van een jonge man die uit het leven stapt, die los van alle demonen die hem achtervolgen de golven van de zee instappend zodat hij van het lijden is verlost. Geen eigen poëzie, wel de inhoud van de video van Suede.

De plaat begint met het aangrijpende When We Are Young, dat wordt ingeleid met een klassieke suite. Neen, zo klonk Suede nog nooit. In Outsiders hoor je de oude Suede: glamrock die naar Bowie refereert, maar het gaat over... tja... outsiders.

Het wordt gevolgd door No Tomorrow (met een videoclip over een man die een overdosis pillen inneemt), glamrock die je ziel aantast. Pale Snow is een intiem stukje muziek, de gitaar van Richard Oakes slaat je knock out... en dan komt I Don’t Know How To Reach You, één van de meest aangrijpende Suede-songs ooit.

What I’m Trying To Tell You is een uptempo song (met een droevige tekst weliswaar), en zo gaan we over naar het zwartgallige Tightrope en daarna Learning To Be. I try to step away, but I am too scared to move like I’m in love again, zingt Brett met zijn typisch hoge stem. De song duurt amper drie minuten, maar hij maakt diepe indruk.

Nog nooit ging Suede zo diep als op Night Thoughts, het is een trip door je donkere ziel, begeleidt door een ervaren gids. Geef dit meesterwerk een kans!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell