tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DAVID BOWIE - Pin Ups

DAVID BOWIE

Pin Ups

MusicCD
Glamrock

[85/100]   

EMI
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Personally, I am not fond of cover albums, simply because I can’t think of many good ones. It will surprise many readers, but for me Thank You by Duran Duran is quite a good example of how to do it well, and of course Pin Ups by Bowie from 1973.

As a Bowie fanatic (I almost wrote addict) it is of course logic, but actually it is not. If there is one artist I do not need covers from, then it is Bowie. Pin Ups is definitely not the best Bowie album, and even one that is on the back of my list of Bowie favourites. It remains an immortal record though.

Pin Ups was released after Alladin Sane, which is strange because it was the first record on which Bowie said goodbye to his Ziggy Stardust alter ego. But the Ziggy influences dominate Pin Ups: old songs from the 60s, adapted to the genius of Bowie, with a lot of glam rock.

Actually, you can consider the album as a collection of songs that Bowie (well, David Robert Jones back then) liked to sing in his teen years, although it is alleged that he just made the album to conquer the American market. Ironically, the LP did (again) very well in the UK charts and stayed for 21 (!) weeks at number one.

Pin Ups is a sublime rock'n'roll record, on which Bowie doesn’t take risks, but some interpretations are definitely better than the original. Personally, I still prefer Bowie's version of Here Comes The Night above the Them original and his adaptation of I Can’t Explain is stronger than The Who classic.

It adorns Bowie that he chose rather obscure songs. Almost everyone knows Sorrow (the only single taken from the album), but who knows the original by The Merseys? Also Friday On My Mind is forever associated with Bowie, is it not?

Who really wants to give criticism, can say that Pin Ups was a step back compard to the ingenious predecessor Aladdin Sane because it is after all only rock ’n roll, glam rock without depth. However, it is a brilliant collection of songs, and the combination of Bowie and Mick Ronson is always invaluable.

Reportedly, Bowie wanted to make a second cover album, but that plan fell through. He did a few covers on later albums like Heathen (Pixies, Neil Young, The Rays and Legendary Stardust Cowboy) and Reality (George Harrison and Jonathan Richman).

If this CD is not in your collection yet, try to find the Ryko version on which you find two bonus tracks: a cover of Jacques Brel 'Amsterdam (the B-side of Sorrow) and Growin' Up by Bruce Springsteen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Zelf ben ik helemaal niet tuk op coveralbums, gewoonweg omdat ik er maar weinig goede ken. Het zal menig lezer verbazen, maar Thank You van Duran Duran is voor mij wel een goed voorbeeld van hoe het moet, en natuurlijk ook Pin Ups van David Bowie uit 1973.

Als Bowie-fanaat (bijna schreef ik het woord verslaafde) is dat natuurlijk enigszins normaal, maar eigenlijk ook weer niet. Als er één artiest is waarvan ik geen covers nodig heb, dan is het wel Bowie. Pin Ups is zeker niet het beste Bowie-album, en het bengelt zelfs helemaal achteraan in mijn lijst van Bowie-favorieten, toch blijft het een onsterfelijke plaat.

Pin Ups verscheen na Alladin Sane en dat is vreemd omdat dit de eerste plaat was waarop Bowie zijn Ziggy Stardust-alter ego vaarwel zegde, maar waarop je de Ziggy-invloeden wél hoort. Het zijn oude liedjes uit de jaren 60, aangepast met het genie van Bowie en dus met veel glamrock.

Eigenlijk kan je de plaat beschouwen als een verzameling liedjes die Bowie (nou ja, toen was het nog David Robert Jones) in zijn tienerjaren graag zong, ofschoon men beweert dat hij dit gewoon deed om de Amerikaanse markt te veroveren. Ironisch genoeg deed de plaat het (alweer) ontzettend goed in de Britse charts en bleef daar 21(!) weken op de eerste plaats glunderen.

Pin Ups is een sublieme rock ’n rollplaat, waarop Bowie weliswaar geen seconde risico's neemt waardoor sommige vertolkingen beter zijn dan het origineel. Zelf verkies ik nog altijd Bowies versie van Here Comes The Night boven die van Them of is zijn bewerking van I Can’t Explain sterker dan het origineel van The Who.

Het siert Bowie dat hij voor tamelijk obscure songs koos. Bijna iedereen kent Sorrow (de enige single uit het album), maar wie kent het origineel van The Merseys? Friday On My Mind associeer je toch ook steeds met Bowie?

Wie echt kritiek wil geven, kan zeggen dat Pin Ups een stap terug is in vergelijk met de geniale voorganger Aladdin Sane omdat Bowie daarop duidelijk voor de glamrock zonder veel diepgang koos. Het levert wel een collectie geniale songs op, en de combinatie van Bowie en Mick Ronson blijft altijd goud waard.

Naar verluidt wilde Bowie nog een tweede coverplaat maken, maar dat ging niet door. Wel deed hij een paar covers op latere albums als Heathen (Pixies, Neil Young, The Rays en Legendary Stardust Cowboy) en Reality (George Harrison en Jonathan Richman).

Als je deze cd nog niet in je kast heb, probeer dan de Ryko-versie op de kop te tikken waarop je als extra ook nog een cover van Jacques Brel’ Amsterdam (het B-kantje van Sorrow) en Growin’ Up van Bruce Springsteen vindt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky