tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DAVID BOWIE - Pin Ups

DAVID BOWIE

Pin Ups

MusicCD
Glamrock

[85/100]   

EMI
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Personally, I am not fond of cover albums, simply because I can’t think of many good ones. It will surprise many readers, but for me Thank You by Duran Duran is quite a good example of how to do it well, and of course Pin Ups by Bowie from 1973.

As a Bowie fanatic (I almost wrote addict) it is of course logic, but actually it is not. If there is one artist I do not need covers from, then it is Bowie. Pin Ups is definitely not the best Bowie album, and even one that is on the back of my list of Bowie favourites. It remains an immortal record though.

Pin Ups was released after Alladin Sane, which is strange because it was the first record on which Bowie said goodbye to his Ziggy Stardust alter ego. But the Ziggy influences dominate Pin Ups: old songs from the 60s, adapted to the genius of Bowie, with a lot of glam rock.

Actually, you can consider the album as a collection of songs that Bowie (well, David Robert Jones back then) liked to sing in his teen years, although it is alleged that he just made the album to conquer the American market. Ironically, the LP did (again) very well in the UK charts and stayed for 21 (!) weeks at number one.

Pin Ups is a sublime rock'n'roll record, on which Bowie doesn’t take risks, but some interpretations are definitely better than the original. Personally, I still prefer Bowie's version of Here Comes The Night above the Them original and his adaptation of I Can’t Explain is stronger than The Who classic.

It adorns Bowie that he chose rather obscure songs. Almost everyone knows Sorrow (the only single taken from the album), but who knows the original by The Merseys? Also Friday On My Mind is forever associated with Bowie, is it not?

Who really wants to give criticism, can say that Pin Ups was a step back compard to the ingenious predecessor Aladdin Sane because it is after all only rock ’n roll, glam rock without depth. However, it is a brilliant collection of songs, and the combination of Bowie and Mick Ronson is always invaluable.

Reportedly, Bowie wanted to make a second cover album, but that plan fell through. He did a few covers on later albums like Heathen (Pixies, Neil Young, The Rays and Legendary Stardust Cowboy) and Reality (George Harrison and Jonathan Richman).

If this CD is not in your collection yet, try to find the Ryko version on which you find two bonus tracks: a cover of Jacques Brel 'Amsterdam (the B-side of Sorrow) and Growin' Up by Bruce Springsteen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Zelf ben ik helemaal niet tuk op coveralbums, gewoonweg omdat ik er maar weinig goede ken. Het zal menig lezer verbazen, maar Thank You van Duran Duran is voor mij wel een goed voorbeeld van hoe het moet, en natuurlijk ook Pin Ups van David Bowie uit 1973.

Als Bowie-fanaat (bijna schreef ik het woord verslaafde) is dat natuurlijk enigszins normaal, maar eigenlijk ook weer niet. Als er één artiest is waarvan ik geen covers nodig heb, dan is het wel Bowie. Pin Ups is zeker niet het beste Bowie-album, en het bengelt zelfs helemaal achteraan in mijn lijst van Bowie-favorieten, toch blijft het een onsterfelijke plaat.

Pin Ups verscheen na Alladin Sane en dat is vreemd omdat dit de eerste plaat was waarop Bowie zijn Ziggy Stardust-alter ego vaarwel zegde, maar waarop je de Ziggy-invloeden wél hoort. Het zijn oude liedjes uit de jaren 60, aangepast met het genie van Bowie en dus met veel glamrock.

Eigenlijk kan je de plaat beschouwen als een verzameling liedjes die Bowie (nou ja, toen was het nog David Robert Jones) in zijn tienerjaren graag zong, ofschoon men beweert dat hij dit gewoon deed om de Amerikaanse markt te veroveren. Ironisch genoeg deed de plaat het (alweer) ontzettend goed in de Britse charts en bleef daar 21(!) weken op de eerste plaats glunderen.

Pin Ups is een sublieme rock ’n rollplaat, waarop Bowie weliswaar geen seconde risico's neemt waardoor sommige vertolkingen beter zijn dan het origineel. Zelf verkies ik nog altijd Bowies versie van Here Comes The Night boven die van Them of is zijn bewerking van I Can’t Explain sterker dan het origineel van The Who.

Het siert Bowie dat hij voor tamelijk obscure songs koos. Bijna iedereen kent Sorrow (de enige single uit het album), maar wie kent het origineel van The Merseys? Friday On My Mind associeer je toch ook steeds met Bowie?

Wie echt kritiek wil geven, kan zeggen dat Pin Ups een stap terug is in vergelijk met de geniale voorganger Aladdin Sane omdat Bowie daarop duidelijk voor de glamrock zonder veel diepgang koos. Het levert wel een collectie geniale songs op, en de combinatie van Bowie en Mick Ronson blijft altijd goud waard.

Naar verluidt wilde Bowie nog een tweede coverplaat maken, maar dat ging niet door. Wel deed hij een paar covers op latere albums als Heathen (Pixies, Neil Young, The Rays en Legendary Stardust Cowboy) en Reality (George Harrison en Jonathan Richman).

Als je deze cd nog niet in je kast heb, probeer dan de Ryko-versie op de kop te tikken waarop je als extra ook nog een cover van Jacques Brel’ Amsterdam (het B-kantje van Sorrow) en Growin’ Up van Bruce Springsteen vindt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete