tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DAVID BOWIE - Pin Ups

DAVID BOWIE

Pin Ups

MusicCD
Glamrock

[85/100]   

EMI
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Personally, I am not fond of cover albums, simply because I can’t think of many good ones. It will surprise many readers, but for me Thank You by Duran Duran is quite a good example of how to do it well, and of course Pin Ups by Bowie from 1973.

As a Bowie fanatic (I almost wrote addict) it is of course logic, but actually it is not. If there is one artist I do not need covers from, then it is Bowie. Pin Ups is definitely not the best Bowie album, and even one that is on the back of my list of Bowie favourites. It remains an immortal record though.

Pin Ups was released after Alladin Sane, which is strange because it was the first record on which Bowie said goodbye to his Ziggy Stardust alter ego. But the Ziggy influences dominate Pin Ups: old songs from the 60s, adapted to the genius of Bowie, with a lot of glam rock.

Actually, you can consider the album as a collection of songs that Bowie (well, David Robert Jones back then) liked to sing in his teen years, although it is alleged that he just made the album to conquer the American market. Ironically, the LP did (again) very well in the UK charts and stayed for 21 (!) weeks at number one.

Pin Ups is a sublime rock'n'roll record, on which Bowie doesn’t take risks, but some interpretations are definitely better than the original. Personally, I still prefer Bowie's version of Here Comes The Night above the Them original and his adaptation of I Can’t Explain is stronger than The Who classic.

It adorns Bowie that he chose rather obscure songs. Almost everyone knows Sorrow (the only single taken from the album), but who knows the original by The Merseys? Also Friday On My Mind is forever associated with Bowie, is it not?

Who really wants to give criticism, can say that Pin Ups was a step back compard to the ingenious predecessor Aladdin Sane because it is after all only rock ’n roll, glam rock without depth. However, it is a brilliant collection of songs, and the combination of Bowie and Mick Ronson is always invaluable.

Reportedly, Bowie wanted to make a second cover album, but that plan fell through. He did a few covers on later albums like Heathen (Pixies, Neil Young, The Rays and Legendary Stardust Cowboy) and Reality (George Harrison and Jonathan Richman).

If this CD is not in your collection yet, try to find the Ryko version on which you find two bonus tracks: a cover of Jacques Brel 'Amsterdam (the B-side of Sorrow) and Growin' Up by Bruce Springsteen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Zelf ben ik helemaal niet tuk op coveralbums, gewoonweg omdat ik er maar weinig goede ken. Het zal menig lezer verbazen, maar Thank You van Duran Duran is voor mij wel een goed voorbeeld van hoe het moet, en natuurlijk ook Pin Ups van David Bowie uit 1973.

Als Bowie-fanaat (bijna schreef ik het woord verslaafde) is dat natuurlijk enigszins normaal, maar eigenlijk ook weer niet. Als er één artiest is waarvan ik geen covers nodig heb, dan is het wel Bowie. Pin Ups is zeker niet het beste Bowie-album, en het bengelt zelfs helemaal achteraan in mijn lijst van Bowie-favorieten, toch blijft het een onsterfelijke plaat.

Pin Ups verscheen na Alladin Sane en dat is vreemd omdat dit de eerste plaat was waarop Bowie zijn Ziggy Stardust-alter ego vaarwel zegde, maar waarop je de Ziggy-invloeden wél hoort. Het zijn oude liedjes uit de jaren 60, aangepast met het genie van Bowie en dus met veel glamrock.

Eigenlijk kan je de plaat beschouwen als een verzameling liedjes die Bowie (nou ja, toen was het nog David Robert Jones) in zijn tienerjaren graag zong, ofschoon men beweert dat hij dit gewoon deed om de Amerikaanse markt te veroveren. Ironisch genoeg deed de plaat het (alweer) ontzettend goed in de Britse charts en bleef daar 21(!) weken op de eerste plaats glunderen.

Pin Ups is een sublieme rock ’n rollplaat, waarop Bowie weliswaar geen seconde risico's neemt waardoor sommige vertolkingen beter zijn dan het origineel. Zelf verkies ik nog altijd Bowies versie van Here Comes The Night boven die van Them of is zijn bewerking van I Can’t Explain sterker dan het origineel van The Who.

Het siert Bowie dat hij voor tamelijk obscure songs koos. Bijna iedereen kent Sorrow (de enige single uit het album), maar wie kent het origineel van The Merseys? Friday On My Mind associeer je toch ook steeds met Bowie?

Wie echt kritiek wil geven, kan zeggen dat Pin Ups een stap terug is in vergelijk met de geniale voorganger Aladdin Sane omdat Bowie daarop duidelijk voor de glamrock zonder veel diepgang koos. Het levert wel een collectie geniale songs op, en de combinatie van Bowie en Mick Ronson blijft altijd goud waard.

Naar verluidt wilde Bowie nog een tweede coverplaat maken, maar dat ging niet door. Wel deed hij een paar covers op latere albums als Heathen (Pixies, Neil Young, The Rays en Legendary Stardust Cowboy) en Reality (George Harrison en Jonathan Richman).

Als je deze cd nog niet in je kast heb, probeer dan de Ryko-versie op de kop te tikken waarop je als extra ook nog een cover van Jacques Brel’ Amsterdam (het B-kantje van Sorrow) en Growin’ Up van Bruce Springsteen vindt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland