tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : DAVID BOWIE - Pin Ups

DAVID BOWIE

Pin Ups

MusicCD
Glamrock

[85/100]   

EMI
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Personally, I am not fond of cover albums, simply because I can’t think of many good ones. It will surprise many readers, but for me Thank You by Duran Duran is quite a good example of how to do it well, and of course Pin Ups by Bowie from 1973.

As a Bowie fanatic (I almost wrote addict) it is of course logic, but actually it is not. If there is one artist I do not need covers from, then it is Bowie. Pin Ups is definitely not the best Bowie album, and even one that is on the back of my list of Bowie favourites. It remains an immortal record though.

Pin Ups was released after Alladin Sane, which is strange because it was the first record on which Bowie said goodbye to his Ziggy Stardust alter ego. But the Ziggy influences dominate Pin Ups: old songs from the 60s, adapted to the genius of Bowie, with a lot of glam rock.

Actually, you can consider the album as a collection of songs that Bowie (well, David Robert Jones back then) liked to sing in his teen years, although it is alleged that he just made the album to conquer the American market. Ironically, the LP did (again) very well in the UK charts and stayed for 21 (!) weeks at number one.

Pin Ups is a sublime rock'n'roll record, on which Bowie doesn’t take risks, but some interpretations are definitely better than the original. Personally, I still prefer Bowie's version of Here Comes The Night above the Them original and his adaptation of I Can’t Explain is stronger than The Who classic.

It adorns Bowie that he chose rather obscure songs. Almost everyone knows Sorrow (the only single taken from the album), but who knows the original by The Merseys? Also Friday On My Mind is forever associated with Bowie, is it not?

Who really wants to give criticism, can say that Pin Ups was a step back compard to the ingenious predecessor Aladdin Sane because it is after all only rock ’n roll, glam rock without depth. However, it is a brilliant collection of songs, and the combination of Bowie and Mick Ronson is always invaluable.

Reportedly, Bowie wanted to make a second cover album, but that plan fell through. He did a few covers on later albums like Heathen (Pixies, Neil Young, The Rays and Legendary Stardust Cowboy) and Reality (George Harrison and Jonathan Richman).

If this CD is not in your collection yet, try to find the Ryko version on which you find two bonus tracks: a cover of Jacques Brel 'Amsterdam (the B-side of Sorrow) and Growin' Up by Bruce Springsteen.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Zelf ben ik helemaal niet tuk op coveralbums, gewoonweg omdat ik er maar weinig goede ken. Het zal menig lezer verbazen, maar Thank You van Duran Duran is voor mij wel een goed voorbeeld van hoe het moet, en natuurlijk ook Pin Ups van David Bowie uit 1973.

Als Bowie-fanaat (bijna schreef ik het woord verslaafde) is dat natuurlijk enigszins normaal, maar eigenlijk ook weer niet. Als er één artiest is waarvan ik geen covers nodig heb, dan is het wel Bowie. Pin Ups is zeker niet het beste Bowie-album, en het bengelt zelfs helemaal achteraan in mijn lijst van Bowie-favorieten, toch blijft het een onsterfelijke plaat.

Pin Ups verscheen na Alladin Sane en dat is vreemd omdat dit de eerste plaat was waarop Bowie zijn Ziggy Stardust-alter ego vaarwel zegde, maar waarop je de Ziggy-invloeden wél hoort. Het zijn oude liedjes uit de jaren 60, aangepast met het genie van Bowie en dus met veel glamrock.

Eigenlijk kan je de plaat beschouwen als een verzameling liedjes die Bowie (nou ja, toen was het nog David Robert Jones) in zijn tienerjaren graag zong, ofschoon men beweert dat hij dit gewoon deed om de Amerikaanse markt te veroveren. Ironisch genoeg deed de plaat het (alweer) ontzettend goed in de Britse charts en bleef daar 21(!) weken op de eerste plaats glunderen.

Pin Ups is een sublieme rock ’n rollplaat, waarop Bowie weliswaar geen seconde risico's neemt waardoor sommige vertolkingen beter zijn dan het origineel. Zelf verkies ik nog altijd Bowies versie van Here Comes The Night boven die van Them of is zijn bewerking van I Can’t Explain sterker dan het origineel van The Who.

Het siert Bowie dat hij voor tamelijk obscure songs koos. Bijna iedereen kent Sorrow (de enige single uit het album), maar wie kent het origineel van The Merseys? Friday On My Mind associeer je toch ook steeds met Bowie?

Wie echt kritiek wil geven, kan zeggen dat Pin Ups een stap terug is in vergelijk met de geniale voorganger Aladdin Sane omdat Bowie daarop duidelijk voor de glamrock zonder veel diepgang koos. Het levert wel een collectie geniale songs op, en de combinatie van Bowie en Mick Ronson blijft altijd goud waard.

Naar verluidt wilde Bowie nog een tweede coverplaat maken, maar dat ging niet door. Wel deed hij een paar covers op latere albums als Heathen (Pixies, Neil Young, The Rays en Legendary Stardust Cowboy) en Reality (George Harrison en Jonathan Richman).

Als je deze cd nog niet in je kast heb, probeer dan de Ryko-versie op de kop te tikken waarop je als extra ook nog een cover van Jacques Brel’ Amsterdam (het B-kantje van Sorrow) en Growin’ Up van Bruce Springsteen vindt.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real