tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DAVID BOWIE - Black Star

DAVID BOWIE

Black Star

MusicCD
JazzPopRock

[100/100]   

SONY MUSIC
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

10 January 2016. The world stood still, as in the early morning a radio voice announced that the thin white duke died. Bowie was no longer with us, tears rolled. I cried, staring at an album named Black Star that was released two days before his death.

I admit it I bought it on the very first day and played it over and over, but I didn’t understand it. What was it? Some days before we read that this release was going to be a new step in his career, a sort of free jazz album that takes its inspiration from David Lynch. Well, okay, this was certainly not the kind of Bowie we heard before, but what a strange Bowie album this was!

After ten spins (I guess it was actually twelve), I decided to give it some rest, as this was another difficult David Bowie that probably needed some more time. How could I (and millions of others) know that this was the man’s legacy, his last farewell to planet earth. God, through my tears I was laughing: Bowie fooled us, as almost every line is connected to death.

Finally, I forced myself to listen to the album of my hero. I wanted to understand it, and I think I finally did. When Bowie sings I'm not a film star, I’m not a pop star, I'm a black star, you know that he’s referring to himself as he’s indeed a black star now, not a pop star. An impossible song to listen to, as the second part drives you to pure madness, and I notice (again) that while writing this, I have a handkerchief in my hands. Yes, crying again for the greatest man ever, that ultimate hero. Nah, it’s a masterpiece, perhaps even THE masterpiece, but just not possible to listen to.

And what about that jazz, those saxophones? Well, you can hear them indeed on ‘Tis Pity She Was A Whore, a great Bowie track, but in some way it feels like this doesn’t really fit here. It sounds as if Bowie could go on for ages. His return, on which everyone was waiting, culminated in a sad reality. He was gone.

We didn’t even have to watch the news because Bowie sings: Look Up Here, I’m In Heaven (Lazarus). Bowie made art of his own death, it’s the weirdest track he has ever written. Genius? More than that, if only it could make you happy, but it doesn’t. Nobody escapes death, not even Ziggy, but how does it feel when you hear your hero sing Look up here, man, I'm in danger...I've got nothing left to lose. Yes, then you simply wish you could save your hero, whereas now he’s just some star looking down on us.

Bowie feels some pity for us as he simply knows that we would mourn forever and therefore he probably added Sue to this album, another weird ride through Bowie land in whic we meet the ghosts of some Lynchian creatures.

Where the fuck did Monday go?, Bowie sings in Girl Loves Me. It feels like a death march, the music sounds like the concert that was played at the Titanic while sinking.Yes, it was on a fucking Monday when we heard the news, David.

And then there’s that other track, called Dollar Days. We didn’t notice it the days before his death, stupid people as we are, but Bowie sings I’m falling down, I’m dying to. It was his way to say goodbye, with a grinning face when he whispers Don’t believe for just a second I’m forgetting you. Thanks Mr. Bowie, I don’t think there was one second in this bloody year that I forgot about you. Bowie is simply everywhere, all around us, it’s as if his ghost is in everything.

The album ends with I Can’t Give Everything Away, a touching song. The final words of the legend: That’s the message that I sent. I can’t give everything away.

Is Black Star the best Bowie album ever? It’s a question I can’t answer, as I heard Low at least about 2000 times (nah, Bowie’s ghost says it’s actually about 2500 times), but dear beloved Bowie, I really can’t listen 2500 times. Find someone who can! Thank you, see you in heaven!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
MANTUS • Refugium
TACOCAT • Lost Time
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
THE 1975 • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
GREG LAKE • Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation

 

Other reviews from DAVID BOWIE
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
DAVID BOWIE • How Bowie Found Us
DAVID BOWIE • The Man Who Sold The World
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
DAVID BOWIE • David Bowie Is (Groningen, Groninger Museum, Until/tot 13.3.2016)
DAVID BOWIE • The Unfolding Mystery? | A Fan Speaks...
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS
DAVID BOWIE • Nothing has changed
DAVID BOWIE • Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)

 

Same combination of genres: JAZZ + POP + ROCK
DAVID LUND • Ever

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue