tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DAVID BOWIE - Black Star

DAVID BOWIE

Black Star

MusicCD
JazzPopRock

[100/100]   

SONY MUSIC
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

10 January 2016. The world stood still, as in the early morning a radio voice announced that the thin white duke died. Bowie was no longer with us, tears rolled. I cried, staring at an album named Black Star that was released two days before his death.

I admit it I bought it on the very first day and played it over and over, but I didn’t understand it. What was it? Some days before we read that this release was going to be a new step in his career, a sort of free jazz album that takes its inspiration from David Lynch. Well, okay, this was certainly not the kind of Bowie we heard before, but what a strange Bowie album this was!

After ten spins (I guess it was actually twelve), I decided to give it some rest, as this was another difficult David Bowie that probably needed some more time. How could I (and millions of others) know that this was the man’s legacy, his last farewell to planet earth. God, through my tears I was laughing: Bowie fooled us, as almost every line is connected to death.

Finally, I forced myself to listen to the album of my hero. I wanted to understand it, and I think I finally did. When Bowie sings I'm not a film star, I’m not a pop star, I'm a black star, you know that he’s referring to himself as he’s indeed a black star now, not a pop star. An impossible song to listen to, as the second part drives you to pure madness, and I notice (again) that while writing this, I have a handkerchief in my hands. Yes, crying again for the greatest man ever, that ultimate hero. Nah, it’s a masterpiece, perhaps even THE masterpiece, but just not possible to listen to.

And what about that jazz, those saxophones? Well, you can hear them indeed on ‘Tis Pity She Was A Whore, a great Bowie track, but in some way it feels like this doesn’t really fit here. It sounds as if Bowie could go on for ages. His return, on which everyone was waiting, culminated in a sad reality. He was gone.

We didn’t even have to watch the news because Bowie sings: Look Up Here, I’m In Heaven (Lazarus). Bowie made art of his own death, it’s the weirdest track he has ever written. Genius? More than that, if only it could make you happy, but it doesn’t. Nobody escapes death, not even Ziggy, but how does it feel when you hear your hero sing Look up here, man, I'm in danger...I've got nothing left to lose. Yes, then you simply wish you could save your hero, whereas now he’s just some star looking down on us.

Bowie feels some pity for us as he simply knows that we would mourn forever and therefore he probably added Sue to this album, another weird ride through Bowie land in whic we meet the ghosts of some Lynchian creatures.

Where the fuck did Monday go?, Bowie sings in Girl Loves Me. It feels like a death march, the music sounds like the concert that was played at the Titanic while sinking.Yes, it was on a fucking Monday when we heard the news, David.

And then there’s that other track, called Dollar Days. We didn’t notice it the days before his death, stupid people as we are, but Bowie sings I’m falling down, I’m dying to. It was his way to say goodbye, with a grinning face when he whispers Don’t believe for just a second I’m forgetting you. Thanks Mr. Bowie, I don’t think there was one second in this bloody year that I forgot about you. Bowie is simply everywhere, all around us, it’s as if his ghost is in everything.

The album ends with I Can’t Give Everything Away, a touching song. The final words of the legend: That’s the message that I sent. I can’t give everything away.

Is Black Star the best Bowie album ever? It’s a question I can’t answer, as I heard Low at least about 2000 times (nah, Bowie’s ghost says it’s actually about 2500 times), but dear beloved Bowie, I really can’t listen 2500 times. Find someone who can! Thank you, see you in heaven!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
MANTUS • Refugium
TACOCAT • Lost Time
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
THE 1975 • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
GREG LAKE • Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation

 

Other reviews from DAVID BOWIE
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
DAVID BOWIE • How Bowie Found Us
DAVID BOWIE • The Man Who Sold The World
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
DAVID BOWIE • David Bowie Is (Groningen, Groninger Museum, Until/tot 13.3.2016)
DAVID BOWIE • The Unfolding Mystery? | A Fan Speaks...
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS
DAVID BOWIE • Nothing has changed
DAVID BOWIE • Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)
DAVID BOWIE • The Next Day

 

Same combination of genres: JAZZ + POP + ROCK
DAVID LUND • Ever

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above