tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DAVID BOWIE - Black Star

DAVID BOWIE

Black Star

MusicCD
JazzPopRock

[100/100]   

SONY MUSIC
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

10 January 2016. The world stood still, as in the early morning a radio voice announced that the thin white duke died. Bowie was no longer with us, tears rolled. I cried, staring at an album named Black Star that was released two days before his death.

I admit it I bought it on the very first day and played it over and over, but I didn’t understand it. What was it? Some days before we read that this release was going to be a new step in his career, a sort of free jazz album that takes its inspiration from David Lynch. Well, okay, this was certainly not the kind of Bowie we heard before, but what a strange Bowie album this was!

After ten spins (I guess it was actually twelve), I decided to give it some rest, as this was another difficult David Bowie that probably needed some more time. How could I (and millions of others) know that this was the man’s legacy, his last farewell to planet earth. God, through my tears I was laughing: Bowie fooled us, as almost every line is connected to death.

Finally, I forced myself to listen to the album of my hero. I wanted to understand it, and I think I finally did. When Bowie sings I'm not a film star, I’m not a pop star, I'm a black star, you know that he’s referring to himself as he’s indeed a black star now, not a pop star. An impossible song to listen to, as the second part drives you to pure madness, and I notice (again) that while writing this, I have a handkerchief in my hands. Yes, crying again for the greatest man ever, that ultimate hero. Nah, it’s a masterpiece, perhaps even THE masterpiece, but just not possible to listen to.

And what about that jazz, those saxophones? Well, you can hear them indeed on ‘Tis Pity She Was A Whore, a great Bowie track, but in some way it feels like this doesn’t really fit here. It sounds as if Bowie could go on for ages. His return, on which everyone was waiting, culminated in a sad reality. He was gone.

We didn’t even have to watch the news because Bowie sings: Look Up Here, I’m In Heaven (Lazarus). Bowie made art of his own death, it’s the weirdest track he has ever written. Genius? More than that, if only it could make you happy, but it doesn’t. Nobody escapes death, not even Ziggy, but how does it feel when you hear your hero sing Look up here, man, I'm in danger...I've got nothing left to lose. Yes, then you simply wish you could save your hero, whereas now he’s just some star looking down on us.

Bowie feels some pity for us as he simply knows that we would mourn forever and therefore he probably added Sue to this album, another weird ride through Bowie land in whic we meet the ghosts of some Lynchian creatures.

Where the fuck did Monday go?, Bowie sings in Girl Loves Me. It feels like a death march, the music sounds like the concert that was played at the Titanic while sinking.Yes, it was on a fucking Monday when we heard the news, David.

And then there’s that other track, called Dollar Days. We didn’t notice it the days before his death, stupid people as we are, but Bowie sings I’m falling down, I’m dying to. It was his way to say goodbye, with a grinning face when he whispers Don’t believe for just a second I’m forgetting you. Thanks Mr. Bowie, I don’t think there was one second in this bloody year that I forgot about you. Bowie is simply everywhere, all around us, it’s as if his ghost is in everything.

The album ends with I Can’t Give Everything Away, a touching song. The final words of the legend: That’s the message that I sent. I can’t give everything away.

Is Black Star the best Bowie album ever? It’s a question I can’t answer, as I heard Low at least about 2000 times (nah, Bowie’s ghost says it’s actually about 2500 times), but dear beloved Bowie, I really can’t listen 2500 times. Find someone who can! Thank you, see you in heaven!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
MANTUS • Refugium
TACOCAT • Lost Time
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
THE 1975 • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
GREG LAKE • Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation

 

Other reviews from DAVID BOWIE
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
DAVID BOWIE • Pin Ups
DAVID BOWIE • How Bowie Found Us
DAVID BOWIE • The Man Who Sold The World
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
DAVID BOWIE • David Bowie Is (Groningen, Groninger Museum, Until/tot 13.3.2016)
DAVID BOWIE • The Unfolding Mystery? | A Fan Speaks...
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS
DAVID BOWIE • Nothing has changed
DAVID BOWIE • Sue (Or In A Season Of Crime)

 

Same combination of genres: JAZZ + POP + ROCK
DAVID LUND • Ever

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)