tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : PARRALOX FT FRANCINE - Crying On The Dancefloor

PARRALOX FT FRANCINE

Crying On The Dancefloor

MusicCD
DiscoSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[57/100]   

Conzoom
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

Is there something wrong with cheesy music? I guess not, so there you go! Crying On The Dance Floor could have been the perfect title of an 80s tune by some one hit wonder, and it actually sounds like it. The Australian band Parralox (try to write that without making a mistake) that is led by John von Ahlen who got the help of a woman called Francine on this track. It’s disco synth pop with a touch of soul. Imagine Gary Numan making a soul record. Something like that....

You better love this track as it is featured seven times (!) here. The 7th Heaven Club Mix (you have to give it a name, haven't you?) gives it some Eurodisco feel, while the extended mix (over seven minutes!) lasts a bit longer. Why? Have you ever heard a tune on the dance floor that lasts 7 minutes?

Perhaps some people don't like this CD, but if you do, then you will be spoiled (or whatever you call it) with a fourth version. The John von Ahlen’s Haus remix indeed has more (guess what) house beats.

The most interesting remix is the NW version, as the club atmosphere gives the track another dimension, and if this song ever ends up on an alternative dance floor, then it better be this version.

After five versions of the same song, we finally hear something else, but in fact Dry 2 The Bone sounds exactly like the rest. Imagine Kylie Minogue doing some karaoke tunes by Donna Summer. Bad? Not really, we like Kylie paying tribute to the disco queen, but we wonder whether this record needs to be in your collection.

And then there’s another version of that song you already know the title of. Sorry we won’t be that cruel, but it adds nothing new, it just feels like you accidentally pushed the repeat button.

At least, Parralox saves us all by adding the almost ten minutes long Faded Memory that sounds like superb synthpop. Not a tune by another band that wants to prove that it is the next Depeche Mode (with bad songs), but an intelligent song that comes close to Visage. Talking about compliments!

After seven times the same song, there is still some space left on the disc for a final track: Your Silent Face Remix.

Parralox surely has potential and it’s even an act to follow if you like intelligent synthpop, but a CD that lasts over one hour featuring the same track over and over again is not exactly what we’re waiting for!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell