tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

16/11/2020 : ERASURE - THE NEON

ERASURE

THE NEON

MusicCD / Digital
Electro PopSynth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[90/100]   

PIAS
16/11/2020, Guillermo CORONEL

Keeping their style, Erasure continue to maintain their formula of making fun songs where synthesizer is the main protagonist. And "The Neon" is no exception. His danceable music and his great and memorable hits like "Stop", "oh l’ amour" always make us look out for Erasure.

On the other hand, Vince Clarke on synthesizers represents an indisputable trajectory and experience for having participated in the beginnings of Depeche Mode and having founded Yazoo, the band that popularized songs like "Situation" or " Don't Go ", so we can see that undoubtedly the keyboardist of this band knows how to handle success. And all this is accompanied by a great singer and main voice of the soul with Andy Bell who is a frontman with a lot of brightness and with a really melodic, high and powerful voice.

This is definitely a Synthpop album, where the structure of their songs preserves the classic 80s style of Erasure, which basically consists of offering us dance songs sung with a very high and harmonic voice over the minimalist melodies made with synthesizers and electronic percussion. And in this album there are songs with chorus, a lot of energy and analog synthesizers that remind us of the nostalgic eighties. It contains 10 songs of orthodox Sythpop, danceable, cheerful following the undisputed brand of this super duo, like "Fallen Angel" that is the song that I think could define this album and I'm gonna mark "New Horizons" as the most romantic song in this release with "Kid You're Not Alone", both complete the quota of slow and romantics tracks. And to end my ranking another song that I find very interesting in The Neon album is Careful What I Try To Do”.

Despite this review and everything I can write about The Neon, Erasure continues to be loyal to their style and they continue to create beautiful songs full of sensitivity and fun that make us dance, but they are very romantic at the same time. This is another great release to enjoy by this legendary project whose music and works are always welcome.

Guillermo CORONEL
16/11/2020


 

Next reviews
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki
JESU • When I Was Small
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ALSO • Live in Celovec
JOSH WERNER • Mode For Titan

 

Other reviews from ERASURE
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
ERASURE • Snow Globe
ERASURE • Tomorrow's World (Deluxe Edition)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
CHROM • Peak And Decay
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
HATCHLING • Other EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You