tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

16/11/2020 : ERASURE - THE NEON

ERASURE

THE NEON

MusicCD / Digital
Electro PopSynth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[90/100]   

PIAS
16/11/2020, Guillermo CORONEL

Keeping their style, Erasure continue to maintain their formula of making fun songs where synthesizer is the main protagonist. And "The Neon" is no exception. His danceable music and his great and memorable hits like "Stop", "oh l’ amour" always make us look out for Erasure.

On the other hand, Vince Clarke on synthesizers represents an indisputable trajectory and experience for having participated in the beginnings of Depeche Mode and having founded Yazoo, the band that popularized songs like "Situation" or " Don't Go ", so we can see that undoubtedly the keyboardist of this band knows how to handle success. And all this is accompanied by a great singer and main voice of the soul with Andy Bell who is a frontman with a lot of brightness and with a really melodic, high and powerful voice.

This is definitely a Synthpop album, where the structure of their songs preserves the classic 80s style of Erasure, which basically consists of offering us dance songs sung with a very high and harmonic voice over the minimalist melodies made with synthesizers and electronic percussion. And in this album there are songs with chorus, a lot of energy and analog synthesizers that remind us of the nostalgic eighties. It contains 10 songs of orthodox Sythpop, danceable, cheerful following the undisputed brand of this super duo, like "Fallen Angel" that is the song that I think could define this album and I'm gonna mark "New Horizons" as the most romantic song in this release with "Kid You're Not Alone", both complete the quota of slow and romantics tracks. And to end my ranking another song that I find very interesting in The Neon album is Careful What I Try To Do”.

Despite this review and everything I can write about The Neon, Erasure continues to be loyal to their style and they continue to create beautiful songs full of sensitivity and fun that make us dance, but they are very romantic at the same time. This is another great release to enjoy by this legendary project whose music and works are always welcome.

Guillermo CORONEL
16/11/2020


 

Next reviews
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF • All Thoughts Fly Sweden
FATAL CASUALTIES • Lullaby for Helsinki
JESU • When I Was Small
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ALSO • Live in Celovec
JOSH WERNER • Mode For Titan

 

Other reviews from ERASURE
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
ERASURE • Snow Globe
ERASURE • Tomorrow's World (Deluxe Edition)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
CHROM • Peak And Decay
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
HATCHLING • Other EP

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover