tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : CHROM - Peak And Decay

CHROM

Peak And Decay

MusicCD
ElectroElectro PopSynth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[75/100]   

Out Of Line
11/12/2016, Ron SCHOONWATER

EN

The electro/synthpop band Chrom has gold in its hands with its third album Peak And Decay. At first Peak And Decay sounds as another electro/synthpop album, but it sounds better after listening to it for a while. It's not that Chrom is pioneering. The songs are however well written.

The alternation is perfectly done within the songs, but also within the album as a whole. It keeps the music exciting. The music is especially delicious to dance on and to sing along with. The singing fits perfectly with the style of the music, which is always important for a synthpop band.

There is no weak track on this record, but really big outliers (songs that grab the listener by the throat) are missing. Peak And Decay is solid, fun, danceable and accessible. Great for those who love Covenant, De/Vision or Neuroticfish. Perhaps most striking is the small break of the last song Farewell Letter, that could fit perfectly on a Depeche Mode tribute.

Peak And Decay is an absolute must for synth/electropop lovers.

Ron SCHOONWATER
11/12/2016


NL

Het electro/synthpopgezelschap Chrom heeft met zijn derde album Peak And Decay stiekem goud in handen. Tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt klinkt Peak And Decay nog als het zoveelste electro/synthpopalbum, maar na een aantal keren draaien wordt het album steeds beter. Het is niet dat Chrom nu ineens baanbrekend werk verricht. De tracks zitten echter prima in elkaar. De afwisseling is perfect binnen de songs, maar ook in het album als geheel. Het houdt de muziek spannend.

De muziek is vooral lekker om op te dansen en mee te zingen. De zang past perfect bij de stijl van de muziek, altijd belangrijk bij een synthpopact. Er staat geen zwakke song op deze plaat, maar echte grote uitschieters (songs die de luisteraar bij de keel grijpen) ontbreken.

Peak And Decay is degelijk, leuk, dansbaar en toegankelijk. Geweldig voor liefhebbers van Covenant, De/Vision of Neuroticfish. Meest opvallend is misschien toch de kleine trendbreuk van de laatste track Farewell Letter, die zo op een Depeche Mode tribute terecht kan.

Peak And Decay is een absolute aanrader voor synth/electropopliefhebbers.

Ron SCHOONWATER
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
PET SHOP BOYS • Super
MAD ABOUT MOUNTAINS • Radio Harlaz
MESH • Looking Skyward

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + ELECTRO POP + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
DIVE • Underneath
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ABSURD MINDS • Tempus Fugit
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Machine Sex
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
FAREWELL • Sequoia
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
WE THE NORTH • Endemic
JOHN FOXX • 21st Century, A Man, A Woman and a City
CHIRON • We Own The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
SPECTRA PARIS • Retromachine Betty
PARRALOX • Subculture
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
DICEPEOPLE • Synthetic
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
COVENANT • The Blinding Dark
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
LUXVID • Trench
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
PATIENCE • The Pressure/Wait For You
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
FRAGILE TOM • The Particular Go
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
VOGON POETRY • The Dented Stories

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)