tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / digital review

06/09/2022 : VANGUARD - Spectrum

VANGUARD

Spectrum

MusicCD / Digital
FuturepopSynthpop
Infacted Recordings
06/09/2022, Ash MCAULIFFE

Is it too early to compile a "Best of 2022" list? It is? Oh well, I still think it a no brainer to describe the latest release by Swedish synth masters, Vanguard, an immense success that is surely going to be way up there on various year end "Best of" lists.

It's a bold statement to make I know but every single second of the album is sheer joy unto the ears. The earworms burrow deep into the depths of your brain and when the sad time of the record ending comes there is an inevitability that the replay button is going to be hit.

This is Vanguard's 5th record. Elements from all of their previous records have been cleverly conjured and combined to create what I truly believe to be their magnum opus release. It is one of the freshest sounding synthpop records this year. With addictive pulsating basslines and energetic electronics abounding, how is one to determine a favourite singular track?

It is safe to say that the preceding singles are up there in the upper echelons of classic singles in the genre. "Ragnarok" with its warning of self-destruction hammering home some home truths over an incredibly stunning dark melody that is difficult to get out of your head. "Move Out" making it irresistible for even those who refuse to dance to want to shake their thing. "Defeated" is another upbeat track with its resounding sound of victory.

For me, "Enemy Inside" is a standout track. The vocal harmonies are sublime and the chorus has me hooked every single time I hear it. I think the vocals deserve a huge shoutout on this album too. They give the tracks an added dimension that makes the experience an enjoyable ride. There truly isn't anything negative I can say about "Spectrum."

At 9 tracks, it's clear and concise in its mission to conquer and win over those with an open mind to delve into modern day synthpop. A huge success.

Ash MCAULIFFE
06/09/2022


 

Next reviews
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
RAMMSTEIN • Zeit
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS • 11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO • At B52 Club Eeernegem
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SAMHAIN • Experiment
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance

 

Other reviews from VANGUARD
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
VANGUARD • I Want To Live
VANGUARD • Retribution

 

Same combination of genres: FUTUREPOP + SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
DISKONNEKTED • Radio Existence EP
TECHNOIR • We came for love
HALO EFFECT • Recoding _

 

Same genre: FUTUREPOP
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
LAS AVES • Die in Shangai
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
CHIRON • Breaking Point EP
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
JUNKSISTA • Trust No Bitch
MR.KITTY • Fragments

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
POTOCHKINE
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance