tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/02/2013 : HALO EFFECT - Recoding _

HALO EFFECT

Recoding _

MusicCD
EBMFuturepopSynthpop

[81/100]   

EK Product
26/02/2013, Didier PIETERS

EN

 

 

EKPCD023

Releasedate: December 7th, 2012.

You can feel it right from the start. We’re taking off for a luxurious flight to Synthpop/EBM heaven. 

“Cold Front”, the fierce and fiery “Recoding _”-kickoff, promises sixty beat infested minutes of pure Fun & Future. “Burning Chrome” continues in strict EBM-tempo, marching through cyber reality with the greatest of ease. Time for the BIG guns! “Pulsar” is probably the best song on “Recoding –“: Halo effect in KILLER mode, DARK STARS indeed. An exquisite intro (Stalker?), relentless beats converging with delightful “eighties” vocals, this song really has it all. “Fiction” doesn’t’, I’m sorry guys. Too much Crüxshadows. Halo Effect seems at its best with mid-tempo vocals. Should I specifically mention some other songs? Maybe one, “Total Recall”, another great track displaying the bright and full potential of Halo Effect.

In all, there are 14 tracks to be discovered and enjoyed on “Recoding _”, a potent mix of Synthpop, EBM and Futurepop. The third Halo Effect album deserves the full attention of people in the market for fine craftsmanship, a high degree of refinement and catchy melodies. “Recoding _” was excellently produced by Mika Rossi (AUTODAFEH) and preceded by “New Romantic Industry” (2008) and “The Fourth Zone” (2010). Mika also delivers a vocal contribution on “New Body Machine”.

EK Product is breaking the silence once more … and release n° 23 is an (almost) absolute gem! John Andrew Peverieri, Alessandro Polinori, Federico Rosi en Marco Cattani: cheers and BIG UP!

BUY OR DIE!

Didier PIETERS
26/02/2013


NL

 

 

EKPCD023

Releasedatum: 7 december 2012.

De eerste beats doen majestueus hun intrede en we lijken meteen vertrokken voor een luxueus ritje richting EBM/Synthpop-heaven. “Cold Front”, het warme begin van “Recoding _” kondigt met verve een zestigtal minuten Fun & Future aan. “Burning Chrome”, met onvervalste EBM-intro, houdt moeiteloos het strakke ritme aan en het is goed toeven in de cyberrealiteit van Halo Effect.

Met “Pulsar” wordt het alleen maar leuker: een dijk van een song met een heerlijke intro (Stalker?), loodzware beats en zalige “eighties” vocals … Halo Effect op zijn allerstrakst! “Pulsar” is hoogstwaarschijnlijk de donkerste STER van Halo Effect, schitterend schijnend aan hun zelfgecreëerde firmament … en het contrast met de volgende song, “Fiction”, is dan ook groot. Het te hoge “Crüxshadows”-gehalte komt “Fiction” niet ten goede. Halo Effect lijkt op zijn best als ze vocaal wat gas terugnemen. Over The Crüxshadows verder overigens geen onvertogen woord: ik heb vorig jaar ongelooflijk genoten van hun wervelende show in Waregem en “Quicksilver”was één van mijn favoriete songs van 2012.

Goed … Er staan dus 14 songs op “Recoding _”, een potente mix van Synthpop, EBM en Futurepop. Het derde album van Halo Effect is een absolute aanrader voor liefhebbers van auditief detail en gepolijste tracks met hoge afwerkingsgraad en aanstekelijke melodieën. De productie, getekend Mika Rossi (AUTODAFEH), is ULTRAVET! Mika levert een puntgave sound en neemt verder nog de vocale honneurs waar in “New Body Machine”. De voorgangers van “Recoding _”, “New Romantic Industry” en “The Fourth Zone”, dateren van 2008 en 2010.

Zijn er nog specifieke songs te vermelden? Misschien nog eentje: “Total Recall”, een sublieme track die het rijke potentieel van het Italiaanse Halo Effect ten volle etaleert. 

EK Product breekt eens te meer de stilte en hun 23ste release is opnieuw een (bijna) absoluut juweeltje! John Andrew Peverieri, Alessandro Polinori, Federico Rosi en Marco Cattani: cheers en BIG UP!

En beste lezer: nu als de bliksem naar de (virtuele) platensmurf!

Didier PIETERS
26/02/2013


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain