tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

26/02/2013 : BEMYDELAY - Hazy Lights

BEMYDELAY

Hazy Lights

MusicVinyl
DroneIndieSinger Songwriter

[81/100]   

Boring Machines
26/02/2013, Didier BECU

People who are following the Italian undergroundscene might have heard the name of Marcella Riccardi, and if not perhaps her band Blake/e/e/e. If it still doesn’t ring a bell, then there’s still a second chance with her soloproject BeMyDelay (in one word that is).

The first album from BeMyDelay was released in 2011 on Italian label Boring Machines and it was described by yours truly as a wonderful trip that everyone should make (at least once) in his lifetime. Two years later her second album (on vinyl) lands on my desk and once again I’m in love after a couple of seconds. Her voice is far from being perfect, but just like Catpower Marcella knows how to handle the right tricks to touch her listener.

I Feared The Fury Of My Wind is perhaps not the strongest track to start an album, but you’ll hear immediately that Hazy Lights will be a very special album. You Are My Sunshine is altcountry like only Lambchop can make, while Ocean Drive has some lovely drones as well.

Roses And Snow is probably the best track on this wonderful album just because it’s the kind of song you wish a woman would sing for you.

Hazy Lights is a magnificent second attempt from a well skilled musician who wants to reach the bottom of our hearts. She doesn’t need an orchestra as a simple string or a guitar is more than enough. Another winner from a musician you should give a change. A Kate Bush for the dronegeneration!

Didier BECU
26/02/2013


 

Next reviews
HALO EFFECT • Recoding _
CONTREJOUR • Passion/Fall
GLIS • PHOENIX
MY DEAR KILLER • The Electric Dragon Of Venus
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
BARRY BATTLES • The Baytown Outlaws
NORTHERN SADNESS • FEAR TO SEE
DU CHAMP • Nar
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
WOODY ALLEN • To Rome With Love

 

Other reviews from BEMYDELAY
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights