tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

26/02/2013 : BEMYDELAY - Hazy Lights

BEMYDELAY

Hazy Lights

MusicVinyl
DroneIndieSinger Songwriter

[81/100]   

Boring Machines
26/02/2013, Didier BECU

People who are following the Italian undergroundscene might have heard the name of Marcella Riccardi, and if not perhaps her band Blake/e/e/e. If it still doesn’t ring a bell, then there’s still a second chance with her soloproject BeMyDelay (in one word that is).

The first album from BeMyDelay was released in 2011 on Italian label Boring Machines and it was described by yours truly as a wonderful trip that everyone should make (at least once) in his lifetime. Two years later her second album (on vinyl) lands on my desk and once again I’m in love after a couple of seconds. Her voice is far from being perfect, but just like Catpower Marcella knows how to handle the right tricks to touch her listener.

I Feared The Fury Of My Wind is perhaps not the strongest track to start an album, but you’ll hear immediately that Hazy Lights will be a very special album. You Are My Sunshine is altcountry like only Lambchop can make, while Ocean Drive has some lovely drones as well.

Roses And Snow is probably the best track on this wonderful album just because it’s the kind of song you wish a woman would sing for you.

Hazy Lights is a magnificent second attempt from a well skilled musician who wants to reach the bottom of our hearts. She doesn’t need an orchestra as a simple string or a guitar is more than enough. Another winner from a musician you should give a change. A Kate Bush for the dronegeneration!

Didier BECU
26/02/2013


 

Next reviews
HALO EFFECT • Recoding _
CONTREJOUR • Passion/Fall
GLIS • PHOENIX
MY DEAR KILLER • The Electric Dragon Of Venus
PARADE GROUND • A ROOM WITH A VIEW
BARRY BATTLES • The Baytown Outlaws
NORTHERN SADNESS • FEAR TO SEE
DU CHAMP • Nar
HOUSE OF LOVE • She paints words in red
WOODY ALLEN • To Rome With Love

 

Other reviews from BEMYDELAY
BEMYDELAY • Totheotherside

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked