tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : PETER NORDBERG - Om Man Inte Är Här

PETER NORDBERG

Om Man Inte Är Här

MusicCD
ElectronicsFolkPopRockSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Sounds Nordic
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Om Man Inte Är Här (If You are not Here) is Peter Nordberg’s fourth album, on which he trades in the acoustic guitar for electronics. Do not expect an album with whistling synths and thunderous drones, because this Swede remains true to his Scandinavian roots, making the compositions reflect the ambience of the north.

Till Jags Vem Vet Jag Ar is a great song, because you can barely escape the combination of melodious guitar-like synths, saxophone sounds and Nordberg’s soft Swedish voice. The choir parts sound wonderful. Orden Mellan Raderna is a logical sequel, again with splendid vocals, rumbling percussion and gently gurgling synths: a beautiful and powerful rock ballad. We don't understand the lyrics, but title song Om Man Inte Är Här convinces immediately, with the same ingredients, but strong in terms of composition and arrangement. I Borjan Av September follows seamlessly, because again Peter Nordberg has a fascinating melody in store and again his voice sounds so beautiful.

Luft gets remarkably electronic sounds, occasionally some noise and voices, but everything in moderation. The pace is slow and Nordberg sounds alternately dark and exuberant (chorus), while Om Du Lamnar Mig Nu Ger Jag Fan I Helan Solen unfolds as a driven rock ballad in which the Swede is at full strength, but in which he also leaves room for introspection and quiet moments. Again wonderful. The same goes for Dom Ljuger, in which he creates a perfect atmosphere, and for Visst Drommer Jag om Dig Stavanger, a song that grows into a big ballad in no time, supported by emphatic percussion and a beautiful piano. The rock song that a-ha never wrote...

Kanske Jag Sover is light and dark at the same time. In the chorus you think of The Police and you see a young Sting waving his guitar, while the track is perfectly in place on this CD. Peter Nordberg pulls the melodies out of the hat as if it were the most normal thing in the world. And he can convince in a calm way too, because Om Du Tror Mig only turns into a rock ballad in the second half, again with catchy multiple voices and gently bobbing electronics. Nordberg has preserved the sensitive but short ballad Aven Om Jag Glommer (Even if I Forget) for the finale: a nice conclusion of a special album.

Maybe a little too little variation on this CD, but it all sounds excellent and lovers of quality music (pop and rock) will agree: if this was an English-language album, then it surely would be picked up everywhere... so, give it a try!

Tracklist:
1. Till Jags Vet Vem Jag Ar
2. Orden Mellan Raderna
3. Om Man Inte Är Här
4. I Borjan Av September
5. Luft
6. Om Du Lamnar Mig Nu Ger Jag Fan I Helan Solen
7. Dom Ljuger
8. Visst Drommer Jag Om Dig Stavanger
9. Kanske Jag Sover
10. Om Du Tror Mig
11. Aven Om Jag Glommer

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Om Man inte Är Här (If you are not Here) is Peter Nordbergs vierde album, waarop hij de akoestische gitaar inruilt voor elektronica. Verwacht niet meteen een album met fluitende synths of donderende drones, want deze Zweed blijft trouw aan z’n Scandinavische roots waardoor de composities doordrongen zijn van sfeer van het hoge noorden.

Till Jags Vet Vem Jag Ar is meteen een schot de roos, want aan de combinatie van welluidende gitaarachtige synths, saxofoongeluid en Nordbergs zacht Zweeds stemgeluid is nauwelijks te ontsnappen. Het koortje is overigens wondermooi. Orden Mellan Raderna is een logisch vervolg, opnieuw met prachtige vocalen, roffelende percussie en zacht ruisende synths: zondermeer een prachtige en sterke rockballade. We begrijpen er geen jota van, maar titelsong Om Man Inte Är Här overtuigt meteen, met dezelfde ingrediënten, maar sterk qua compositie en wondermooi qua zangstem. I Borjan Av September sluit naadloos aan zonder dat er sprake is van herhaling, want opnieuw heeft Peter Nordberg een boeiende melodie in petto terwijl we niet genoeg krijgen van z’n prachtige stem.

Luft krijgt verrassend elektronicageluid, af en toe wat geruis en stemmen, maar alles met mate. Het tempo ligt laag en Nordberg klinkt afwisselend donker en uitbundig (refrein), terwijl Om Du Lamnar Mig Nu Ger Jag Fan I Helan Solen zich ontspint als een geheide rockballade waarin de Zweed voluit gaat, maar ook ruimte laat voor introspectie en stille momenten. Opnieuw wondermooi. Hetzelfde geldt voor Dom Ljuger, waarin de elektronica voor een perfecte sfeer zorgt en Norberg de longen uit het lijf zingt, en eveneens voor Visst Drommer Jag Om Dig Stavanger, dat in geen tijd uitgroeit tot een grote ballade, gesteund door nadrukkelijk slagwerk en een prachtige piano, de rocksong die a-ha nooit heeft geschreven…

Kanske Jag Sover is licht en donker tegelijk. In het refrein denk je aan The Police en zie je de jonge Sting met z’n gitaar zwaaien, terwijl de track hier toch perfect op z’n plaats is. Peter Nordberg schudt de melodieën uit z’n mouw alsof het hem geen enkele moeite kost. En dat hij ook op een rustige manier kan overtuigen, dat bewijst hij in Om Du Tror Mig, dat pas in de tweede helft uitgroeit tot een rockballade, opnieuw met aanstekelijke meervoudige stemmen en zacht dobberende elektronica. Voor de finale heeft Nordberg het gevoelige Aven Om Jag Glommer (Zelfs als ik Vergeet) bewaard. Kort en goed, moet hij hebben gedacht, maar wel heel erg mooi.

Misschien net iets te weinig variatie op deze cd, maar het klinkt wel allemaal uitstekend en liefhebbers van de betere pop- en rockmuziek zullen het daarmee eens zijn. Mocht dit een Engelstalig album zijn, dan was de schade niet te overzien…

Tracklist:
1. Till Jags Vet Vem Jag Ar
2. Orden Mellan Raderna
3. Om Man Inte Är Här
4. I Borjan Av September
5. Luft
6. Om Du Lamnar Mig Nu Ger Jag Fan I Helan Solen
7. Dom Ljuger
8. Visst Drommer Jag Om Dig Stavanger
9. Kanske Jag Sover
10. Om Du Tror Mig
11. Aven Om Jag Glommer

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest
WRANGLER • White Glue
YELLO • Toy
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Remix
THE INVISIBLE • Patience

 

Same genre: FOLK
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey

 

Same genre: POP
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain
MEIJER • Vrouwen
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist

Music reviews

18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night
29
08
CEPHALGY
Gott Maschine Vaterland
28
08
3TEETH
Shutdown.exe

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs
11
09
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Rose gardens are beautiful but they die too…you might as well dance in that garden during the last night.

PHOTOS

13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
DER REST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
24
08
RABIA SORDA
GDW Festival Tilloloy
24
08
DAS FLUFF
GDW Festival Tilloloy

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
16
09
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
16
09
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
16
09
JO QUAIL
Laurus
16
09
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad