tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PETER NORDBERG - Om Man Inte Är Här

PETER NORDBERG

Om Man Inte Är Här

MusicCD
ElectronicsFolkPopRockSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Sounds Nordic
11/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Om Man Inte Är Här (If You are not Here) is Peter Nordberg’s fourth album, on which he trades in the acoustic guitar for electronics. Do not expect an album with whistling synths and thunderous drones, because this Swede remains true to his Scandinavian roots, making the compositions reflect the ambience of the north.

Till Jags Vem Vet Jag Ar is a great song, because you can barely escape the combination of melodious guitar-like synths, saxophone sounds and Nordberg’s soft Swedish voice. The choir parts sound wonderful. Orden Mellan Raderna is a logical sequel, again with splendid vocals, rumbling percussion and gently gurgling synths: a beautiful and powerful rock ballad. We don't understand the lyrics, but title song Om Man Inte Är Här convinces immediately, with the same ingredients, but strong in terms of composition and arrangement. I Borjan Av September follows seamlessly, because again Peter Nordberg has a fascinating melody in store and again his voice sounds so beautiful.

Luft gets remarkably electronic sounds, occasionally some noise and voices, but everything in moderation. The pace is slow and Nordberg sounds alternately dark and exuberant (chorus), while Om Du Lamnar Mig Nu Ger Jag Fan I Helan Solen unfolds as a driven rock ballad in which the Swede is at full strength, but in which he also leaves room for introspection and quiet moments. Again wonderful. The same goes for Dom Ljuger, in which he creates a perfect atmosphere, and for Visst Drommer Jag om Dig Stavanger, a song that grows into a big ballad in no time, supported by emphatic percussion and a beautiful piano. The rock song that a-ha never wrote...

Kanske Jag Sover is light and dark at the same time. In the chorus you think of The Police and you see a young Sting waving his guitar, while the track is perfectly in place on this CD. Peter Nordberg pulls the melodies out of the hat as if it were the most normal thing in the world. And he can convince in a calm way too, because Om Du Tror Mig only turns into a rock ballad in the second half, again with catchy multiple voices and gently bobbing electronics. Nordberg has preserved the sensitive but short ballad Aven Om Jag Glommer (Even if I Forget) for the finale: a nice conclusion of a special album.

Maybe a little too little variation on this CD, but it all sounds excellent and lovers of quality music (pop and rock) will agree: if this was an English-language album, then it surely would be picked up everywhere... so, give it a try!

Tracklist:
1. Till Jags Vet Vem Jag Ar
2. Orden Mellan Raderna
3. Om Man Inte Är Här
4. I Borjan Av September
5. Luft
6. Om Du Lamnar Mig Nu Ger Jag Fan I Helan Solen
7. Dom Ljuger
8. Visst Drommer Jag Om Dig Stavanger
9. Kanske Jag Sover
10. Om Du Tror Mig
11. Aven Om Jag Glommer

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


NL

Om Man inte Är Här (If you are not Here) is Peter Nordbergs vierde album, waarop hij de akoestische gitaar inruilt voor elektronica. Verwacht niet meteen een album met fluitende synths of donderende drones, want deze Zweed blijft trouw aan z’n Scandinavische roots waardoor de composities doordrongen zijn van sfeer van het hoge noorden.

Till Jags Vet Vem Jag Ar is meteen een schot de roos, want aan de combinatie van welluidende gitaarachtige synths, saxofoongeluid en Nordbergs zacht Zweeds stemgeluid is nauwelijks te ontsnappen. Het koortje is overigens wondermooi. Orden Mellan Raderna is een logisch vervolg, opnieuw met prachtige vocalen, roffelende percussie en zacht ruisende synths: zondermeer een prachtige en sterke rockballade. We begrijpen er geen jota van, maar titelsong Om Man Inte Är Här overtuigt meteen, met dezelfde ingrediënten, maar sterk qua compositie en wondermooi qua zangstem. I Borjan Av September sluit naadloos aan zonder dat er sprake is van herhaling, want opnieuw heeft Peter Nordberg een boeiende melodie in petto terwijl we niet genoeg krijgen van z’n prachtige stem.

Luft krijgt verrassend elektronicageluid, af en toe wat geruis en stemmen, maar alles met mate. Het tempo ligt laag en Nordberg klinkt afwisselend donker en uitbundig (refrein), terwijl Om Du Lamnar Mig Nu Ger Jag Fan I Helan Solen zich ontspint als een geheide rockballade waarin de Zweed voluit gaat, maar ook ruimte laat voor introspectie en stille momenten. Opnieuw wondermooi. Hetzelfde geldt voor Dom Ljuger, waarin de elektronica voor een perfecte sfeer zorgt en Norberg de longen uit het lijf zingt, en eveneens voor Visst Drommer Jag Om Dig Stavanger, dat in geen tijd uitgroeit tot een grote ballade, gesteund door nadrukkelijk slagwerk en een prachtige piano, de rocksong die a-ha nooit heeft geschreven…

Kanske Jag Sover is licht en donker tegelijk. In het refrein denk je aan The Police en zie je de jonge Sting met z’n gitaar zwaaien, terwijl de track hier toch perfect op z’n plaats is. Peter Nordberg schudt de melodieën uit z’n mouw alsof het hem geen enkele moeite kost. En dat hij ook op een rustige manier kan overtuigen, dat bewijst hij in Om Du Tror Mig, dat pas in de tweede helft uitgroeit tot een rockballade, opnieuw met aanstekelijke meervoudige stemmen en zacht dobberende elektronica. Voor de finale heeft Nordberg het gevoelige Aven Om Jag Glommer (Zelfs als ik Vergeet) bewaard. Kort en goed, moet hij hebben gedacht, maar wel heel erg mooi.

Misschien net iets te weinig variatie op deze cd, maar het klinkt wel allemaal uitstekend en liefhebbers van de betere pop- en rockmuziek zullen het daarmee eens zijn. Mocht dit een Engelstalig album zijn, dan was de schade niet te overzien…

Tracklist:
1. Till Jags Vet Vem Jag Ar
2. Orden Mellan Raderna
3. Om Man Inte Är Här
4. I Borjan Av September
5. Luft
6. Om Du Lamnar Mig Nu Ger Jag Fan I Helan Solen
7. Dom Ljuger
8. Visst Drommer Jag Om Dig Stavanger
9. Kanske Jag Sover
10. Om Du Tror Mig
11. Aven Om Jag Glommer

William LIÉNARD
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
XOTOX • Essentials
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
ROLAND BEELEN • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
GIUSEPPE TAIBI (EUROPEAN GHOST) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PETER DE KONING (HEDERA HELIX, HYBRYDS) • Ten Album That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue
DER PLAN • Unkapitulierbar
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
AUTOMAT • OstWest

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain
MEIJER • Vrouwen

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void