tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SWEET BABOO - Dennis

SWEET BABOO

Dennis

MusicCD
PopRockSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Moshi Moshi
09/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

The British band Sweet Baboo (the solo project of Stephen Black) releases an EP with six tracks: a Christmas song, three covers (Daniel Johnston, The Exciters and The Beach Boys) and two previously released tracks from The Boombox Ballads sessions (2015). Stephen Black previously played with the band JT Mouse and his style is often described as a mix of country and psychedelia, with a penchant for dark lyrics. He was influenced by Welsh bands such as Super Furry Animals and Gorky's Zygotic Mynci, but also by The Beach Boys and Jonathan Richman.

The six songs on the EP Dennis are very diverse in style and that has to do with the fact that this album is a compilation of recorded material that never was released. We Used to Call him Dennis is a nice earwig that makes you wonder why it never was released as a single, because the composition sounds attractive and has a chorus that instantly settles in your head. Perhaps it is due to the strange (and much slower) end of the track. Dennis was the name I gave to my son before he was born, Black explains in the liner notes, but my wife wasn’t as keen as me so we went with something else.

Do the Buzzard begins with a brief piano riff that reminds me of Dreamer by Supertramp, but the composition then changes to a perfect pop song with a high tempo and an attractive melody. It's a steamy dance track with a text that refers to old-fashioned mating rituals. Mountain Top is a Daniel Johnston cover, a song that Sweet Baboo recorded for a radio session that never was broadcast: a brittle and fragile singer-songwriter ballad of which the melody and the lyrics sound much better than the original version. Very nice.

Don’t be Alone this Christmas is Sweet Baboo’s attempt to write a Christmas song. Paul Jones provides vocal assistance and the result is satisfactory, although it only partly sounds as a Christmas song, because a saxophone is the last you expect to hear in the vicinity of a crib! It's just a perfect pop song for every season and maybe just a little bit more for the dark days of December. Blowing Up My Mind is a cover of a horny Northern Soul Classic of The Exciters, a black girl band from the sixties that scored six top 100 hits in the US (pop) between 1962 and 1966 and two R&B hits between 1969 and 1978. Their hit Do Wah Diddy Diddy (stranded on 78 in the US in 1964) was a number 1 hit in Europe and America in the version of Manfred Mann in the same year. In the hands of Sweet Baboo, Blowing Up My Mind is a swinging pop song with a sunny sixties vibe, whining guitars, a broad carpet of electro-organ sounds and heavy percussion. The track was used as the B-side of the Sweet Baboo single Got to hang on to You from the album The Boombox Ballads.

The short ballad Cuddle Up was written by Dennis Wilson and Daryl Dragon for a solo album by Wilson (1971) that never was released. A year later, Wilson recorded the composition for The Beach Boys. Sweet Baboo shortens the track by half, leaves out the orchestral middle of the Beach Boys version and reduces the film score-like atmosphere to a singer-songwriter ballad that sounds tighter and at the same time less mealy, to the tones of an emphatic piano and without losing the tone of the original composition. A stunning version.

As mentioned earlier, this is a very diverse EP, on which we get an impression of the different styles of Sweet Baboo. Varied and yet very strong.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


NL

Het Britse Sweet Baboo (het soloproject van Stephen Black) brengt een ep uit met 6 tracks: een kerstliedje, drie covers (Daniel Johnston, The Exciters, The Beach Boys) en 2 niet eerder gereleasete tracks uit The Boombox Ballads-sessies (2015). Black speelde eerder bij de band JT Mouse en z’n stijl wordt vaak omschreven als een mix van country en psychedelica, met een voorliefde voor donkere songteksten. Hij is beïnvloed door Welshe bands zoals Super Furry Animals en Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci, maar evenzeer door The Beach Boys en Jonathan Richman.

De 6 composities op de ep Dennis zijn zeer divers van stijl en dat heeft te maken met het feit dat het om een compilatie gaat van materiaal dat in de voorbije jaren is opgenomen, maar dat om de een of andere reden nooit is gereleaset. We Used to Call him Dennis is een goed in het oor liggende popsong waarvan je je afvraagt waarom hij nooit als een single is gereleaset, want de compositie klinkt aantrekkelijk en is voorzien van een refrein dat zich meteen in je hoofd nestelt. Wellicht ligt het aan het wat vreemde (en veel langzamere) einde van de track. Het is de naam die ik mijn toekomstige zoon wilde geven, zegt Stephen Black over de tekst, maar mijn vrouw zag die naam niet zitten. Elke vers van de track gaat over één van de namen die we nadien overwogen.

Do the Buzzard begint met een kort pianoloopje dat schuldig is aan Dreamer van Supertramp, maar de compositie evolueert vervolgens tot een perfecte popsong met een hoog tempo en een aantrekkelijke melodie. Het is een hitsige danstrack met een tekst die betrekking heeft op ouderwetse paringsrituelen. Mountain Top is een Daniel Johnston-cover, een song die Sweet Baboo opnam voor een radiosessie die nooit is uitgezonden: Black maakt er een breekbare en fragiele singer-songwritersballade van die de melodie en de tekst veel beter tot hun recht laat komen dan in de originele versie. Heel erg mooi.

Don’t be Alone this Christmas is Sweet Baboos poging om een kerstlied te schrijven. Hij deed daarvoor een beroep op Paul Jones die ook vocale assistentie levert en het resultaat mag er best zijn, al klinkt deze in de hoogzomer geschreven song maar zeer gedeeltelijk als een kerstlied, want een saxofoon verwacht je niet meteen bij een kribbe! Het is gewoon een perfecte popsong voor elk seizoen en misschien net iets meer voor de donkere dagen van December. Blowing Up My Mind is een cover van de hitsige Northern Soul Classic van The Exciters, een zwarte meidengroep uit de jaren zestig die 6 top 100-hits scoorde in de VS (pop) tussen 1962 en 1966 en twee R&B-hits tussen 1969 en 1978. Hun hit Do Wah Diddy Diddy (gestrand op 78 in de US in 1964) werd een nummer 1-hit in Europa en Amerika in de versie van Manfred Mann in datzelfde jaar. In de handen van Sweet Baboo wordt Blowing Up My Mind een swingende popsong met een zonnig jarenzestigsfeertje, jengelende gitaren, een breed tapijt van electro-orgelklanken en stevige percussie. De track werd gebruikt als B-kantje van de Sweet Baboo-single Got to Hang on to You uit het album The Boombox Ballads.

De korte ballade Cuddle Up is van de hand van Dennis Wilson en Daryl Dragon voor een solo-album van Wilson (1971) dat nooit het daglicht zag. Een jaar later nam hij de compositie opnieuw op voor The Beach Boys. Sweet Baboo kort de track met de helft in, gooit het orkestrale middenstuk van de Beach Boys-versie weg en reduceert de filmscore-achtige sfeer tot een singer-songwritersballade die strakker en tegelijk minder melig klinkt, op de tonen van een nadrukkelijke piano en zonder dat de sfeer van de originele compositie verloren gaat. Een bloedmooie versie.

Zoals eerder vermeld is dit een zeer gevarieerde ep waarop we een indruk krijgen van de diverse stijlen van Sweet Baboo. Gevarieerd en toch heel sterk.

William LIÉNARD
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NACHTMAHR • Kampfbereit
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Modern Idea
SOME SKELETONS • Vigils
• Coalescaremonium: a gathering of like-minded as we like it
THE ARCH • Fates
KRANKLAND • In The Realms Of The Unreal
AMNISTIA • Dawn
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne

 

Other reviews from SWEET BABOO
SWEET BABOO • The Boombox Ballads

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK + SINGER SONGWRITER
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
AN PIERLÉ & FULCO OTTERVANGER • Slumberland
KATIE MAC • Minutes Into Hours (EP)
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away

 

Same genre: POP
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16