tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/10/2015 : ANGÉLINE - Back To Pike Place

ANGÉLINE

Back To Pike Place

MusicCD
PopRockSinger Songwriter

[85/100]   

Self-released
14/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Angéline is French by nationality, but after her studies in London she lingered in the British capital. Back to Pike Place is her second EP, which sounds a lot rougher and bolder than predecessor HomeIt's made at home using what I had around me, she says about the new EP, it was not my intention to let me limit by money that I did not have, but to write songs with what I have around me. She got help from Garry Cosgrove, who was also involved in the production and the finishing of the EP.

Angéline found inspiration for the EP in Cuba. She wrote the songs after a recent visit to Havana, where she was impressed with salsa dancing. That influence can be heard in the percussion on most of the tracks. Afterwards she recorded the sounds she heard in the streets of Havana and London, and used those field recordings at the end of Back to Pike Place to give the listener an idea of the enormous differences between the two cultures.

As promised, Black Butterflies gets a distinctive percussion track, but the song remains a fairly quiet and tidy ballad with a beautiful melody and attractive harmonies, without any attempt to disguise the sliding fingers over the strings. Nice start. Si la J'avais Choix is the only French track on the EP. Suddenly Angéline sounds different, which is probably due to the language, because she sounds like a quiet Axel Red ora thoroughbred France Gall. Si J’avais la Choix might well be her ticket to the French charts. We hope so, because the song sounds great with those bell-like synths and atmospheric percussion.

Aama is a maverick, because Angéline wrote the track in response to the earthquake in Nepal, whereby she reserved the proceeds of the song for the reconstruction of the affected country through justgiving.com. In the text she tells the story of a Nepalese friend who witnessed it all himself. The story of the misery that followed the disaster, and the difficult survival trek afterwards, are spread on the layered percussion track, supported by atmospheric flute sounds and African-sounding drums. Ghost Dance gets an acoustic guitar, reverb on the beautiful voice and a humming choir: a simple and beautiful ballad with a wide variety of percussion underneath. Kohly is a short field recording with background sounds and twittering birds, and While I was Away starts with the sound of the streets of London, followed by a double vocal line with a bass guitar as accompaniment, later supplemented with synths, dark and rhythmic percussion and a typical Cuban choir for the chorus. World music in which Africa and the Caribbean meet. Very pretty as well.

To the long list of female singer-songwriters we add a new name: Angéline.

Tracklist:
1 Black Butterflies
2 Si J’avais la Choix
3 Aama
4 Ghost Dance
5 Kohly
6 While I was Away

Website: http://angeline-music.com
Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/angelinemusicpage
youtube: http://youtube.com/angelinemusicpage

William LIÉNARD
14/10/2015


NL

Angéline is Française van nationaliteit, maar na haar muziekstudies in Londen bleef ze in de Britse hoofdstuk hangen. Back to Pike Place is haar tweede ep en die klinkt een stuk ruwer en stouter dan voorganger Home. Hij is thuis gemaakt met behulp van wat ik om me heen had, zegt ze over de nieuwe ep, het was niet mijn bedoeling om me te laten beperken door geld dat ik niet heb, maar om songs te schrijven met wat ik om me heen heb. Ze kreeg daarbij hulp van Garry Cosgrove, die ook de productie en de afwerking van de ep voor zijn rekening nam.

Inspiratie voor de ep vond Angéline in Cuba. Ze schreef de songs na een recent bezoek aan Havana, waar ze onder de indruk kwam van het salsadansen. Die invloed is hoorbaar in de percussie die onder de tracks is geschoven. Maar ze nam ook de geluiden op die ze op straat hoorde, in Havana en Londen, en die gebruikt ze op het einde van Back tot he Pike Place om de luisteraar een idee te geven van de gigantische verschillen tussen beide culturen.

Black Butterflies krijgt inderdaad een opvallende percussietrack, maar het blijft altijd een vrij rustige en opgeruimde ballade met een mooie zanglijn en aantrekkelijke harmonieën, waarbij geen poging is gedaan om het schuiven van de vingers over de snaren te verdoezelen. Mooie start. Si J’avais la Choix is de enige Franstalige track op de ep. En meteen klinkt Angéline heel anders. Het ligt beslist aan de taal, want de track klinkt meer als een rustige Axel Red of volbloed France Gall, waarmee ze haar entreeticket tot de Franse hitparade misschien wel veilig stelt. Het is haar gegund, want Si J’avais la Choix klinkt uitstekend met de belachtige synths en de atmosferische percussie.

Aama is een buitenbeentje, want die track schreef Angéline naar aanleiding van de aardbeving in Nepal, waarbij ze de opbrengst van de song reserveerde voor de wederopbouw van het getroffen land via justgiving.com. In de tekst vertelt ze het verhaal van een Nepalese vriend die het allemaal zelf meemaakte. Over de gelaagde percussietrack legt ze het verhaal over de ellende die op de ramp volgde en de moeizame overlevingstocht achteraf, gesteund door atmosferische fluitgeluiden en Afrikaans aandoende drums. Ghost Dance krijgt een akoestische gitaar, galm op de prachtige stem en een zoemend koortje: een eenvoudige en prachtige ballade zonder kapsones, met een zeer gevarieerde percussietrack onderaan. Kohly is een korte veldopname met achtergrondgeluid en vogelgesjilp, terwijl While I was Away begint met het geluid in de straten van Londen en vervolgens een dubbele zanglijn krijgt met een basgitaar als begeleiding, later aangevuld met synths, ritmische en donkere percussie en een typisch Cubaans aandoend koortje voor het refrein. Wereldmuziek waarin Afrika en de Caraïben elkaar ontmoeten. Heel mooi ook.

Aan de lange lijst van vrouwelijke singer-songwriters voegen we met plezier een nieuwe naam toe: Angéline.

William LIÉNARD
14/10/2015


14/10/2015 : ANGÉLINE - Back To Pike Place 14/10/2015 : ANGÉLINE - Back To Pike Place 14/10/2015 : ANGÉLINE - Back To Pike Place

 

Next reviews
MIKE KEIRSBILCK (CONSOULING SOUNDS/9000 RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BORN FOR BLISS • Diary of recording an album
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
LIA FAIL • Cynical Stones
CATHOLIC SPIT • A Pact With The Devil
DANIEL BARBIERO & CRISTIANO BOCCI • Vόστος
ANTIMATTER • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
ANTIMATTER • The Judas Table
CATHERINE DUC • Voyager

 

Same combination of genres: POP + ROCK + SINGER SONGWRITER
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist
AN PIERLÉ & FULCO OTTERVANGER • Slumberland
KATIE MAC • Minutes Into Hours (EP)
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
HANNAH IN THE WARS • Only Wanna Be
ILANA J • Free Falling From The Ground Up
DELEYAMAN • The Edge
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS • Push the sky away

 

Same genre: POP
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets