tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

13/10/2015 : CATHOLIC SPIT - A Pact With The Devil

CATHOLIC SPIT

A Pact With The Devil

MusicVinyl
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicPost Punk

[85/100]   

Bad Touch Records
13/10/2015, Luki PUKI

A Pact with the Devil 2013 was Californian band Catholic Spit’s first full LP. The band are a six piece playing fast Death Punk and have played gigs with the likes of Fangs on Fur and (half of) Christian Death.

Singer Ericka has a lovely aggressiveness in her vocals. It’s great to hear a woman really scream into a microphone while being clearly feminine in her singing. Her voice is a bit like Becky Bondage of Vice Squad, but has more humour, contempt and scorn in it. The lyrics range from surrealist isolation, S&M to religion sometimes touching on all three at the same time (they’re called Catholic Spit after all.)

Keyboards and echoing baritone guitar create an eerie feel and are dragged along by juggernaut of bass, guitar and drums. There isn’t a whole lot of variation in the baritone/keyboard combo, but with only 7 tracks it doesn’t have time to get boring.

Their album is name your price (including nothing) through https://catholicspit.bandcamp.com/album/a-pact-with-the-devil-lp or you can order one of the 400 LPs by mailing badtouchrecords@gmail.com which come with a spiffing 16-page z-ine.

Luki PUKI
13/10/2015


13/10/2015 : CATHOLIC SPIT - A Pact With The Devil 13/10/2015 : CATHOLIC SPIT - A Pact With The Devil

 

Next reviews
DANIEL BARBIERO & CRISTIANO BOCCI • Vόστος
ANTIMATTER • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
ANTIMATTER • The Judas Table
CATHERINE DUC • Voyager
VOGON POETRY • The Perfect Stories
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES (UNKNOWN PLEASURES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PARADISE LOST • Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)
HOLLY MACVE • The Corner Of My Mind

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC + POST PUNK
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
EYACULACIÓN POST MORTEM • Vive La Muerte
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights