tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

13/10/2015 : CATHOLIC SPIT - A Pact With The Devil

CATHOLIC SPIT

A Pact With The Devil

MusicVinyl
Death Rock / BatcaveGothicPost Punk

[85/100]   

Bad Touch Records
13/10/2015, Luki PUKI

A Pact with the Devil 2013 was Californian band Catholic Spit’s first full LP. The band are a six piece playing fast Death Punk and have played gigs with the likes of Fangs on Fur and (half of) Christian Death.

Singer Ericka has a lovely aggressiveness in her vocals. It’s great to hear a woman really scream into a microphone while being clearly feminine in her singing. Her voice is a bit like Becky Bondage of Vice Squad, but has more humour, contempt and scorn in it. The lyrics range from surrealist isolation, S&M to religion sometimes touching on all three at the same time (they’re called Catholic Spit after all.)

Keyboards and echoing baritone guitar create an eerie feel and are dragged along by juggernaut of bass, guitar and drums. There isn’t a whole lot of variation in the baritone/keyboard combo, but with only 7 tracks it doesn’t have time to get boring.

Their album is name your price (including nothing) through https://catholicspit.bandcamp.com/album/a-pact-with-the-devil-lp or you can order one of the 400 LPs by mailing badtouchrecords@gmail.com which come with a spiffing 16-page z-ine.

Luki PUKI
13/10/2015


13/10/2015 : CATHOLIC SPIT - A Pact With The Devil 13/10/2015 : CATHOLIC SPIT - A Pact With The Devil

 

Next reviews
DANIEL BARBIERO & CRISTIANO BOCCI • Vόστος
ANTIMATTER • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (09/10/2015)
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
ANTIMATTER • The Judas Table
CATHERINE DUC • Voyager
VOGON POETRY • The Perfect Stories
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES (UNKNOWN PLEASURES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PARADISE LOST • Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)
HOLLY MACVE • The Corner Of My Mind

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC + POST PUNK
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
EYACULACIÓN POST MORTEM • Vive La Muerte
TOM'S MIDNIGHT GARDEN • To kill a klown, complete 1984 studio sessions

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked