tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : SWAN DEATH - Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)

SWAN DEATH

Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)

Concert
Death Rock / BatcaveGothic Rock 11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After seven years of silence, Swan Death is back, celebrating its 30th anniversary. The guys jumped on stage in Mina's Irish Pub, a small but fine concert club in Dendermonde. Ashes & Dust put the band on stage for the release of the new CD.

At 22:15 hrs the band came on stage. The question was if the music would be alive as many years ago and if the new songs would touch the audience. First thing I saw: Swan Death is still rocking, alternating solid material, gorgeous solo guitar work and vocal variations with male and female voices. Although the terrible sound of the PA partially ruined the show. The band did all it could, tried to perform well, it did not affect the public: much buzz and an almost empty venue by the end of the set. Swan Death did not deserve this....


We cannot complain about the compositions, they still are good in terms of structure: witty bass lines, synths that are responsible for the melodic part, guitars that rock hard and then sound intimate. It must be said that the guitarist really did great things on his instrument. Tracks such as Egypt, long drawn out with an alternation between good vocal work (by the keyboard player) and very hard, almost noisy sounding guitars were a relief.

I wished I could see the same performance again with a good sound, because this could have been a good goth rock concert. Too bad the band had to make a comeback in such circumstances after seven years of absence...

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Na 7 jaar stilte stond Swan Death, dat z'n 30ste verjaardag viert, op de planken van Mina's Irish Pub, een kleine maar fijne concertclub in hartje Dendermonde. Ashes & Dust zette de band op het podium voor de release van de nieuwe cd.

De band stond omstreeks 22.15 uur het podium. Het was maar de vraag of het nieuwe werk zou aanslaan na 7 jaar stilte. Dat Swan Death nog steeds rockt, werd gauw duidelijk: de afwisseling tussen stevige stukken, schitterend sologitaarwerk en de vocale varitaties met mannelijke en vrouwelijke stemmen, al dan niet in samenzang. Hoewel dit laatste, mede door de verre van schitterende PA, heel veel te wensen overliet. Hoe goed de band ook zijn best deed, het kwam bij het publiek niet over, getuige het geroezemoes en een zaal die tegen het einde van de set bijna leeg was. Dit verdient Swan Death niet, maar de band ging echt de mist in door de slechte sound in de zaal. De drumsectie die uit de synths kwam was in een paar tracks nagenoeg onhoorbaar, de gitaren kwamen alleen uit de versterkers, niet uit de boxen. Dit had een fijn optreden kunnen zijn, los van de technische problemen.

Over de tracks valt niét te klagen. Die zijn nog steeds goed qua opbouw: snedige baslijnen, synths die instaan voor het melodieuze gedeelte, gitaren die snoeihard en dan weer intiem klinken. Het dient gezegd dat de gitarist echt geweldige dingen uit zijn instrument toverde. Qua riffs en solowerk een topper en hij leverde dan ook een wezenlijke bijdrage tot de show.

Tracks zoals Egypt, lang uitgesponnen met een afwisseling tussen goed vocaal werk van de toetseniste en snoeiharde, haast noisy klinkende gitaren, waren een verademing.

De band staat er nog en ik wenste dat ik hetzelfde optreden nog eens kon zien, met een goede geluidsinstallatie, want dan was er sprake geweest van een goed gothrockoptreden. Jammer dat de band in deze omstandigheden voor te weinig mensen een rentree moest maken na 7 jaar afwezigheid....

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : SWAN DEATH - Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : SWAN DEATH - Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : SWAN DEATH - Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : SWAN DEATH - Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : SWAN DEATH - Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016) 11/12/2016 : SWAN DEATH - Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)

 

Next reviews
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
GHOST • Popestar
GROUP A • 70 + a =
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + GOTHIC ROCK
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
SOROR DOLOROSA • No More Heroes
BLOODY DEAD AND SEXY • Bad Ambient
K-OZ OFFICE • 2000-2012 was a gas
DEATHCAMP PROJECT • Well-Known Pleasures

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality
HEMGRAVEN • Saudade
CHRISTIAN DEATH • Eernegem, B52

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?