tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

11/12/2016 : OBITUARY - Then Thousand Ways To Die

OBITUARY

Then Thousand Ways To Die

MusicCD (EP)
Death Metal

[85/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Death metal legend Obituary has announced a new release for October 21st on the Relapse label: Ten Thousand Ways To Die, a special two-song single containing two brand new studio tracks plus a live set of twelve (12) classics and fan favorites from the band's catalogue as a bonus, recorded live in eleven different cities during the successful 2015 US Inked in Blood Tour. That's 14 songs, not bad for an interim release, is it?

The release of the tenth Obituary album is scheduled for spring 2017 and the band has announced a European Tour the coming fall with Prong and Exodus, starting on october 21st - the release date of Ten Thousand Ways To Die - and ending on november 20th. In the mean time you can put your grabby hands on this Then Thousand Ways To Die, with 'only' two new songs and twelve live classics, vintage Obituary if you ask me.

Both Loathe and title track Ten Thousand Ways To Die are killers. Death metal as we like it. Loathe is an instant classic, blending doom and death metal the Obituary way. The title track is another epical Obituary top class composition: great grunts, some sore vocals, great guitar playing and a powerful overall sound.

The live section surely will make you thirsty for both the upcoming European Tour and the new album in the making. During the US dates of the Inked in Blood tour sound engineer Joe Cincotta recorded each show. The band then chose its favorite live tracks. The recordings capture the real live experience because nothing was done to the songs after the live performance recording, so it gives you the real, true, unedited "live show" sound and the feeling that the fans experienced at each show, as the band proudly states.

Amongst the live recordings you'll find beauties such as Bloodsoaked, Redneck Stomp, Dying, Chopped in Half-Turned Inside Out and of course Slowly We Rot, to mention only a few of my faves. I'm sure you'll have some other gems on this album.

In fact, the whole selection outlines how well the band's live reputation still is, almost as good as the real thing.

It does not need proof, but both the new tracks and the live selection show that after nearly 30 years the band still deserves a place at the top of the death metal pantheon. Obituary still plays in death metal's premier league. Truth be told!

Is Ten Thousand Ways To Die the better filler or an essential release? Maybe both. You get excellent new material and some great live tracks, or a grand live album with two extra studio tracks.

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Obituary brengt op 21 oktober 2016 een potige single uit. Ten Thousand Ways To Die bevat behalve twee gloednieuwe studio tracks ook twaalf songs, opgenomen tijdens het Amerikaanse luik van de Inked in Blood-wereldtour van de deathmetal-legende in 2015. Veertien songs in totaal. Schreef ik single? Potige single dus. En niet slecht voor een tussendoortje.

De deathmetal-pioniers uit Tampa zitten niet bepaald stil. Met de vorige tour nog maar 'net' achter de rug, kondigde de band voor oktober en november een herfsttour aan, samen met Prong en Exodus. En er is deze Ten Thousand Ways To Die. Het tiende full album is beloofd voor de zomer van 2017. Maar eerst dus deze Ten Thousand Ways To Die, een aanrader en niet alleen wegens de uitstekende live-registraties van de Inked in Blood-tour, de twee nieuwe opnames zijn meer dan de moeite waard: vintage Obituary.

In Loathe, een instant classic, worden doom en deathmetal op geniale wijze met elkaar verweven, op de Obituary-manier. De track Ten Thousand Ways To Die is een echte epic. De gebruikelijke ingredienten worden perfect gebruikt: geweldige grunts, hese zang, geniaal gitaarspel en een erg knap en strak totaalgeluid.

Bovenop de twee nieuwe Obituarykillersongs krijg je er ei zo na nog een compleet concert bovenop. Nu ja, zo lijkt het toch. Het betreft opnames van verschillende optredens in de US, maar zo samengesteld dat het aanvoelt alsof je naar een volledig concert luistert. Dat was ook de bedoeling. De bands geluidstechnicus Joe Cincotta nam élk concert op, de band selecteerde de songs. Er werd bewust niét aan geprutst in de studio, je krijgt de songs te horen zoals ze gebracht werden: intens en met ruwe power.

Tussen die live-opnames hoor je toppers zoals Bloodsoaked, Redneck Stomp, Dying, Chopped in Half-Turned Inside Out en natuurlijk Slowly We Rot, om me te beperken tot mijn favorieten. Elkeen zal er wel andere beste momenten uitpikken, maar de gehele selectie schetst goed hoe de band zijn live-reputatie nog steeds waarmaakt en ze doet je dorsten naar de opkomende tour of/en het album dat voor de zomer van 2017 gepland is.

Obituary bewijst na bijna 30 jaar nog steeds terecht in de eerste klasse van de deathmetal-competitie spelen. Is Ten Thousand Ways To Die een essentiële release, of gewoon een erg goed tussendoortje? Misschien allebei. Je kan de aanschaf overwegen voor de nieuwe songs met als bonus maar liefst twaalf live-songs, of je kan je een uitstekend Obituary-live-album aanschaffen met twee nieuwe studio tracks. Aan jou de keuze.

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden