tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/10/2015 : MY DYING BRIDE - Feel The Misery

MY DYING BRIDE

Feel The Misery

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom

[88/100]   

Peaceville Records
28/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We guess that the guys from My Dying Bride never will make uplifting music. In terms of death/doom metal they play at a high level for years, and on this album we welcome guitarist Calvin Robertshaw again, who was part of the band between 1900 and 2000.

The album opens strongly with the melancholic and clean sung And My Father Left Forever, a song that starts quite dynamic and has some slower middle pieces. On To Shiver in Empty Halls the clean vocals are gone, and Stainthorpe starts to grunt. The guitars sound more raw and fit well with the vocals.

The melancholic piano piece that introduces a dark part, is an excellent moment. The tempo completely disappears and the emphasis isq clearly on the atmosphere. Towards the end we hear a medieval, almost gothic guitar that accompanies Aaron’s whispering. A very strong composition.

On A New Cold Curse we hear again clean vocals, and the voice is similar to the one of Tapio Rautavaara from Him, or the late Peter Steele of Type O Negative. Feel The Misery has a nice chorus with some violins, and again with some gothic elements. The lyrics are a glorification of misery in all its forms. It doesn’t make you happy at all, and sometimes it worries me, but it is a fact that it expresses the music in a beautiful way.

Feel The Misery is a beautiful album with the known My Dying Bride elements: doom, an epic sound, the gothic elements and varying vocal styles. Ultimately, this album will fit well with their previous works. The strongest tracks are the epic To Shiver in Empty Halls, the gothic Feel The Misery and the varied ten-minute epic Within A Sleeping Forest. The new My Dying Bride is, along with Draconian 's Sovran, one of the best albums I've already heard in the genre this year.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/10/2015


NL

Erg vrolijke muziek zullen de heren van My Dying Bride wellicht nooit maken. Op het vlak van death/doom metal staan ze al lange tijd op een hoog niveau en op dit album verwelkomen we opnieuw gitarist Calvin Robertshaw, die tussen 1900 en 2000 ook al deel uitmaakte van de band.

Het album opent sterk met het melancholisch en volledig clean gezongen And My Father Left Forever, een nummer dat vrij dynamisch begint en wat tragere middenstukken heeft. Op To Shiver in Empty Halls laat Stainthorpe de cleane zang grotendeels achterwege en grunt er duchtig op los. Ook het gitaarwerk is rauwer en sluit goed aan bij de zang.

Het melancholische pianostukje, dat een donker stuk inleidt, is een sterk moment. Het tempo verdwijnt helemaal en de nadruk ligt duidelijk op de sfeer. Tegen het einde horen we een middeleeuws, bijna gotisch gitaarstukje dat Aarons gefluister begeleidt. Een erg sterke compositie.

Op A New Cold Curse horen we opnieuw cleane vocals en de stem doet soms wat aan Tapio Rautavaara van Him, of aan de betreurde Peter Steele van Type o Negative denken. Feel The Misery begint broeierig, en er is een mooi verrassend refrein met violen, met opnieuw wat gothic elementen. De tekst is een verheerlijking van de miserie in al haar vormen. Erg vrolijk word je er niet van en soms erger ik er mij wat aan,m aar het blijft een feit dat de muziek mooi tot uitdrukking wordt gebracht.

Feel The Misery is een mooi en consistent album met de bekende My Dying Bride-elementen zoals doom, een episch geluid, de gotische elementen en de variërende zangstijlen. Uiteindelijk staat dit album goed tussen hun ander werk. De uitschieters hier zijn het epische To Shiver in Empty Halls, het gotische Feel The Misery en het gevarieerde tien minuten durende epos Within A Sleeping Forest. De nieuwe My Dying Bride is samen met Draconian’s Sovran één van de beste albums dat ik dit jaar in het genre heb gehoord.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH METAL + DOOM
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
ATARAXIE • Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
SERPENTINE PATH • EMANATIONS
SHRINE • AETHER EP
CONAN • Blood Eagle

 

Same genre: DEATH METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
ARKAN • Kelem
NIHILISM • Beyond Redemption
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
POSEYDON • Masterpiece
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf