tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/10/2015 : MY DYING BRIDE - Feel The Misery

MY DYING BRIDE

Feel The Misery

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom

[88/100]   

Peaceville Records
28/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We guess that the guys from My Dying Bride never will make uplifting music. In terms of death/doom metal they play at a high level for years, and on this album we welcome guitarist Calvin Robertshaw again, who was part of the band between 1900 and 2000.

The album opens strongly with the melancholic and clean sung And My Father Left Forever, a song that starts quite dynamic and has some slower middle pieces. On To Shiver in Empty Halls the clean vocals are gone, and Stainthorpe starts to grunt. The guitars sound more raw and fit well with the vocals.

The melancholic piano piece that introduces a dark part, is an excellent moment. The tempo completely disappears and the emphasis isq clearly on the atmosphere. Towards the end we hear a medieval, almost gothic guitar that accompanies Aaron’s whispering. A very strong composition.

On A New Cold Curse we hear again clean vocals, and the voice is similar to the one of Tapio Rautavaara from Him, or the late Peter Steele of Type O Negative. Feel The Misery has a nice chorus with some violins, and again with some gothic elements. The lyrics are a glorification of misery in all its forms. It doesn’t make you happy at all, and sometimes it worries me, but it is a fact that it expresses the music in a beautiful way.

Feel The Misery is a beautiful album with the known My Dying Bride elements: doom, an epic sound, the gothic elements and varying vocal styles. Ultimately, this album will fit well with their previous works. The strongest tracks are the epic To Shiver in Empty Halls, the gothic Feel The Misery and the varied ten-minute epic Within A Sleeping Forest. The new My Dying Bride is, along with Draconian 's Sovran, one of the best albums I've already heard in the genre this year.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/10/2015


NL

Erg vrolijke muziek zullen de heren van My Dying Bride wellicht nooit maken. Op het vlak van death/doom metal staan ze al lange tijd op een hoog niveau en op dit album verwelkomen we opnieuw gitarist Calvin Robertshaw, die tussen 1900 en 2000 ook al deel uitmaakte van de band.

Het album opent sterk met het melancholisch en volledig clean gezongen And My Father Left Forever, een nummer dat vrij dynamisch begint en wat tragere middenstukken heeft. Op To Shiver in Empty Halls laat Stainthorpe de cleane zang grotendeels achterwege en grunt er duchtig op los. Ook het gitaarwerk is rauwer en sluit goed aan bij de zang.

Het melancholische pianostukje, dat een donker stuk inleidt, is een sterk moment. Het tempo verdwijnt helemaal en de nadruk ligt duidelijk op de sfeer. Tegen het einde horen we een middeleeuws, bijna gotisch gitaarstukje dat Aarons gefluister begeleidt. Een erg sterke compositie.

Op A New Cold Curse horen we opnieuw cleane vocals en de stem doet soms wat aan Tapio Rautavaara van Him, of aan de betreurde Peter Steele van Type o Negative denken. Feel The Misery begint broeierig, en er is een mooi verrassend refrein met violen, met opnieuw wat gothic elementen. De tekst is een verheerlijking van de miserie in al haar vormen. Erg vrolijk word je er niet van en soms erger ik er mij wat aan,m aar het blijft een feit dat de muziek mooi tot uitdrukking wordt gebracht.

Feel The Misery is een mooi en consistent album met de bekende My Dying Bride-elementen zoals doom, een episch geluid, de gotische elementen en de variërende zangstijlen. Uiteindelijk staat dit album goed tussen hun ander werk. De uitschieters hier zijn het epische To Shiver in Empty Halls, het gotische Feel The Misery en het gevarieerde tien minuten durende epos Within A Sleeping Forest. De nieuwe My Dying Bride is samen met Draconian’s Sovran één van de beste albums dat ik dit jaar in het genre heb gehoord.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH METAL + DOOM
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
ATARAXIE • Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
SERPENTINE PATH • EMANATIONS
SHRINE • AETHER EP
CONAN • Blood Eagle

 

Same genre: DEATH METAL
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
ARKAN • Kelem
NIHILISM • Beyond Redemption
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
POSEYDON • Masterpiece
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual