tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

28/10/2015 : MY DYING BRIDE - Feel The Misery

MY DYING BRIDE

Feel The Misery

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom

[88/100]   

Peaceville Records
28/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We guess that the guys from My Dying Bride never will make uplifting music. In terms of death/doom metal they play at a high level for years, and on this album we welcome guitarist Calvin Robertshaw again, who was part of the band between 1900 and 2000.

The album opens strongly with the melancholic and clean sung And My Father Left Forever, a song that starts quite dynamic and has some slower middle pieces. On To Shiver in Empty Halls the clean vocals are gone, and Stainthorpe starts to grunt. The guitars sound more raw and fit well with the vocals.

The melancholic piano piece that introduces a dark part, is an excellent moment. The tempo completely disappears and the emphasis isq clearly on the atmosphere. Towards the end we hear a medieval, almost gothic guitar that accompanies Aaron’s whispering. A very strong composition.

On A New Cold Curse we hear again clean vocals, and the voice is similar to the one of Tapio Rautavaara from Him, or the late Peter Steele of Type O Negative. Feel The Misery has a nice chorus with some violins, and again with some gothic elements. The lyrics are a glorification of misery in all its forms. It doesn’t make you happy at all, and sometimes it worries me, but it is a fact that it expresses the music in a beautiful way.

Feel The Misery is a beautiful album with the known My Dying Bride elements: doom, an epic sound, the gothic elements and varying vocal styles. Ultimately, this album will fit well with their previous works. The strongest tracks are the epic To Shiver in Empty Halls, the gothic Feel The Misery and the varied ten-minute epic Within A Sleeping Forest. The new My Dying Bride is, along with Draconian 's Sovran, one of the best albums I've already heard in the genre this year.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/10/2015


NL

Erg vrolijke muziek zullen de heren van My Dying Bride wellicht nooit maken. Op het vlak van death/doom metal staan ze al lange tijd op een hoog niveau en op dit album verwelkomen we opnieuw gitarist Calvin Robertshaw, die tussen 1900 en 2000 ook al deel uitmaakte van de band.

Het album opent sterk met het melancholisch en volledig clean gezongen And My Father Left Forever, een nummer dat vrij dynamisch begint en wat tragere middenstukken heeft. Op To Shiver in Empty Halls laat Stainthorpe de cleane zang grotendeels achterwege en grunt er duchtig op los. Ook het gitaarwerk is rauwer en sluit goed aan bij de zang.

Het melancholische pianostukje, dat een donker stuk inleidt, is een sterk moment. Het tempo verdwijnt helemaal en de nadruk ligt duidelijk op de sfeer. Tegen het einde horen we een middeleeuws, bijna gotisch gitaarstukje dat Aarons gefluister begeleidt. Een erg sterke compositie.

Op A New Cold Curse horen we opnieuw cleane vocals en de stem doet soms wat aan Tapio Rautavaara van Him, of aan de betreurde Peter Steele van Type o Negative denken. Feel The Misery begint broeierig, en er is een mooi verrassend refrein met violen, met opnieuw wat gothic elementen. De tekst is een verheerlijking van de miserie in al haar vormen. Erg vrolijk word je er niet van en soms erger ik er mij wat aan,m aar het blijft een feit dat de muziek mooi tot uitdrukking wordt gebracht.

Feel The Misery is een mooi en consistent album met de bekende My Dying Bride-elementen zoals doom, een episch geluid, de gotische elementen en de variërende zangstijlen. Uiteindelijk staat dit album goed tussen hun ander werk. De uitschieters hier zijn het epische To Shiver in Empty Halls, het gotische Feel The Misery en het gevarieerde tien minuten durende epos Within A Sleeping Forest. De nieuwe My Dying Bride is samen met Draconian’s Sovran één van de beste albums dat ik dit jaar in het genre heb gehoord.

Wim GUILLEMYN
28/10/2015


 

Next reviews
PROCOL HARUM • Shine On So Brightly
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
SALES/SINKANE • Gent, De Charlatan (25th October 2015)-Democrazy
GARY NUMAN • Manchester, Academy (24/10/2015)
APOCALYPTICA/TRACER • Brussels, AB (24th October 2015)
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
CHRIS TENZ • Nails Through Bird Feet
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
OLEG (OTHER VOICES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE SPILLS • Collecting Dust

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH METAL + DOOM
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
ATARAXIE • Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)
GOD MACCABRE • THE WINTERLONG (reissue)
SERPENTINE PATH • EMANATIONS
SHRINE • AETHER EP
CONAN • Blood Eagle

 

Same genre: DEATH METAL
ARKAN • Kelem
NIHILISM • Beyond Redemption
OBITUARY • Then Thousand Ways To Die
POSEYDON • Masterpiece
DEVILDRIVER • Trust No One
DEATH • Scream Bloody Gore
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
GOMORRAH • The Haruspex
EXUVIATED • Last Call To The Void
T.A.N.K. • Symbiosis

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
TANGLED THOUGHTS OF LEAVING • Yield To Despair

Music reviews

16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)
04
11
SEESAYLE
Stamina

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan
17
11
ELVYA DULCIMER
Gover Si Vena
16
11
GRANDBROTHERS
From A Distance
15
11
THE TEA PARTY
Temptation
14
11
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
14
11
NO MORE
Suicide Commando (Official 1981 video & version)