tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust

THE SPILLS

Collecting Dust

MusicCD
PopPunkRock

[65/100]   

Alcopop Records
27/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

With their debut album Occam's Razor, the Yorkshire quartet attracted the attention of BBC 6Music. on their second album Collecting Dust, they again bring a repertoire of rock and punk, in which the guitars sound melodic, and loud and youthful roughness is coupled with melodic pop music.

Hidding Blood is a rock song with great sounding vocals and crisp guitar sounds, while Waste and Pine and Flash Floods are similar composition with quiet and loud passages and varied guitar playing. Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher is more melodic and shows another facet of their repertoire, which is also dealt with in Floyd. The guitars often sound emphatic, but they never try to stifle the voice. And in Nothing's Gonna Kill Me (Tonight), the rhythm part is played by the guitars, because there is no percussion added. We hear influences of Psychic TV, but otherwise this is just a great rocker.

Pepper's Ghost is a good straightforward rock song and also Stopper sounds very attractive with whining guitars, guitar noise in between and a metal-like finale. The instrumental composition I Shot an Arrow into the Air begins with varied percussion, gets quiet and dark guitars, melodious guitars on top, noise underneath, and floats at a leisurely pace through the melody. A Film and a Frame is another steamy rock song, and finally, Rust is an emphatic pop/rock ballad.

Collecting Dust is a varied album, but The Spills lack strong melodies, while the structure of the songs is often along the same lines, and they often sound too predictable.

Tracklist:
1. Hidden Blood
2. Waste and Pine
3. Flash Floods
4. Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher
5. Broken Guts
6. Floyd
7. Nothing’s Gonna Kill Me (Tonight)
8. Pepper’s Ghost
 9. Stopper
0. I Shot An Arrow Into the Air
1. A Film and a Frame
2. Rust 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UCYUiLmdhs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UCYUiLmdhs

William LIÉNARD
27/10/2015


NL

Met hun debuutalbum Occam’s Razor trok het Yorkshirese kwartet eerder de aandacht van BBC 6Music. op hun tweede album Collecting Dust trekken ze opnieuw de kaart van licht en donker met een repertoire van rock, punk en pop, waarin de gitaren de ene keer melodisch en de andere keer luid en schreeuwerig klinken, en waarin ze hun jeugdige ruwheid koppelen aan melodische popmuziek.

Hidding Blood is een rocksong met goed klinkende vocalen en knisperend gitaargeluid, dat regelmatig naar gierend gitaargeluid overschakelt, waarbij de meervoudige vocalen voor een flinke portie heibel zorgen. Waste and Pine en Flash Floods zijn gelijksoortige compositie met rustige en luide passages en gevarieerd gitaarspel, terwijl Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher een melodische richting in gaat en een ander facet van het repertoire zichtbaar maakt dat ook in Floyd aan bod komt. De gitaren klinken ook hier vaak nadrukkelijk, maar ze proberen nooit om de stem weg te drukken. En ook in Nothing’s Gonna Kill Me (Tonight) zijn de gitaren nadrukkelijk aanwezig, nemen ze bij gebrek aan slagwerk het ritme voor hun rekening, en krijgt de zanglijn alle ruimte. De song heeft iets van Psychic TV, maar voor de rest is dit gewoon een uitstekende rocker.

Peppers Ghost is een uitstekende recht toe recht aan rocksong en ook Stopper klinkt zeer aantrekkelijk met jengelende gitaren, gitaarnoise tussendoor en een metalachtige finale. De instrumentale compositie I Shot an Arrow into the Air begint met gevarieerd slagwerk, krijgt rustige en donkere gitaren, welluidende gitaren bovenop en noise onderaan, en dobbert tegen een rustige tempo door de melodie. A Film and a Frame is opnieuw een stomende rocksong en Rust sluit het album af met een nadrukkelijke pop-/rockballade.

Collecting Dust is een gevarieerd album, maar het ontbreekt The Spills nog wat aan sterke melodieën terwijl de opbouw van de songs te veel volgens hetzelfde stramien verloopt en vaak te voorspelbaar is.

William LIÉNARD
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust 27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust 27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust

 

Next reviews
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Crushed By The Chips
THE POODLES • Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)
TYMON DOGG • Made of Light

 

Same combination of genres: POP + PUNK + ROCK
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday
JOHN WATTS • Fischer-Z

 

Same genre: POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: PUNK
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh