tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust

THE SPILLS

Collecting Dust

MusicCD
PopPunkRock

[65/100]   

Alcopop Records
27/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

With their debut album Occam's Razor, the Yorkshire quartet attracted the attention of BBC 6Music. on their second album Collecting Dust, they again bring a repertoire of rock and punk, in which the guitars sound melodic, and loud and youthful roughness is coupled with melodic pop music.

Hidding Blood is a rock song with great sounding vocals and crisp guitar sounds, while Waste and Pine and Flash Floods are similar composition with quiet and loud passages and varied guitar playing. Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher is more melodic and shows another facet of their repertoire, which is also dealt with in Floyd. The guitars often sound emphatic, but they never try to stifle the voice. And in Nothing's Gonna Kill Me (Tonight), the rhythm part is played by the guitars, because there is no percussion added. We hear influences of Psychic TV, but otherwise this is just a great rocker.

Pepper's Ghost is a good straightforward rock song and also Stopper sounds very attractive with whining guitars, guitar noise in between and a metal-like finale. The instrumental composition I Shot an Arrow into the Air begins with varied percussion, gets quiet and dark guitars, melodious guitars on top, noise underneath, and floats at a leisurely pace through the melody. A Film and a Frame is another steamy rock song, and finally, Rust is an emphatic pop/rock ballad.

Collecting Dust is a varied album, but The Spills lack strong melodies, while the structure of the songs is often along the same lines, and they often sound too predictable.

Tracklist:
1. Hidden Blood
2. Waste and Pine
3. Flash Floods
4. Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher
5. Broken Guts
6. Floyd
7. Nothing’s Gonna Kill Me (Tonight)
8. Pepper’s Ghost
 9. Stopper
0. I Shot An Arrow Into the Air
1. A Film and a Frame
2. Rust 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UCYUiLmdhs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UCYUiLmdhs

William LIÉNARD
27/10/2015


NL

Met hun debuutalbum Occam’s Razor trok het Yorkshirese kwartet eerder de aandacht van BBC 6Music. op hun tweede album Collecting Dust trekken ze opnieuw de kaart van licht en donker met een repertoire van rock, punk en pop, waarin de gitaren de ene keer melodisch en de andere keer luid en schreeuwerig klinken, en waarin ze hun jeugdige ruwheid koppelen aan melodische popmuziek.

Hidding Blood is een rocksong met goed klinkende vocalen en knisperend gitaargeluid, dat regelmatig naar gierend gitaargeluid overschakelt, waarbij de meervoudige vocalen voor een flinke portie heibel zorgen. Waste and Pine en Flash Floods zijn gelijksoortige compositie met rustige en luide passages en gevarieerd gitaarspel, terwijl Atomic Arabian Skullcrusher een melodische richting in gaat en een ander facet van het repertoire zichtbaar maakt dat ook in Floyd aan bod komt. De gitaren klinken ook hier vaak nadrukkelijk, maar ze proberen nooit om de stem weg te drukken. En ook in Nothing’s Gonna Kill Me (Tonight) zijn de gitaren nadrukkelijk aanwezig, nemen ze bij gebrek aan slagwerk het ritme voor hun rekening, en krijgt de zanglijn alle ruimte. De song heeft iets van Psychic TV, maar voor de rest is dit gewoon een uitstekende rocker.

Peppers Ghost is een uitstekende recht toe recht aan rocksong en ook Stopper klinkt zeer aantrekkelijk met jengelende gitaren, gitaarnoise tussendoor en een metalachtige finale. De instrumentale compositie I Shot an Arrow into the Air begint met gevarieerd slagwerk, krijgt rustige en donkere gitaren, welluidende gitaren bovenop en noise onderaan, en dobbert tegen een rustige tempo door de melodie. A Film and a Frame is opnieuw een stomende rocksong en Rust sluit het album af met een nadrukkelijke pop-/rockballade.

Collecting Dust is een gevarieerd album, maar het ontbreekt The Spills nog wat aan sterke melodieën terwijl de opbouw van de songs te veel volgens hetzelfde stramien verloopt en vaak te voorspelbaar is.

William LIÉNARD
27/10/2015


27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust 27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust 27/10/2015 : THE SPILLS - Collecting Dust

 

Next reviews
EYEMOUTH • Noera Genesis (EP)
ANDREAS DAVIDS (XOTOX) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOANNA (MASSENHYSTERIE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
CONTROL • In Harm’s Way
GRØN • Indland
ADAMENNON/ALTAJ • Split LP
SOKO FRIEDHOF • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE FORCE DIMENSION • Crushed By The Chips
THE POODLES • Kortrijk, De Kreun (22/10/2015)
TYMON DOGG • Made of Light

 

Same combination of genres: POP + PUNK + ROCK
DRINKS • Hermits on Holiday
JOHN WATTS • Fischer-Z

 

Same genre: POP
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)

 

Same genre: PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE SPECIALS • Encore
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
CULTURE SHOCK • Attention Span
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real