tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light

TYMON DOGG

Made of Light

MusicCD
FolkSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   

Self-released
25/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

During his long career, the now 65-year-old singer-songwriter and alt-folk/punk veteran Tymon Dogg (real name: Stephen John Murray) performed at the Cavern, made the single The Bitter Thoughts of Little Jane with Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones, which led to a recording contract with Apple and recordings with Paul McCartney on piano and James Taylor on guitar, a cooperation with The Clash, with Strummer’s band Mescaleros and even with The Moody Blues.

A veteran, nothing less, and so it will not surprise you that the release of his new album Made of Light (the first in many years) was awaited with more than ordinary interest. We will not keep you in suspense: Made of Light does not disappoint. It is a strong, convincing and very varied album that holds the songs together with beautiful melodies and a nice musical accompaniment. Conscience of Money, with violins and harpsichord, is an attractive singer-songwriter ballad with a wonderful melody, beautiful harmonies and a heartbreaking violin solo halfway, which grows into a powerful protest song. Time for Moving On suggests melancholy and nostalgia, a reverie for those who are already there for a long life, with simple guitar accompaniment and a humming bass, while in Pound of Grain the guitars come to the forefront, accompanied by drumming percussion. Let's take the children to the abattoir, Tymon Dogg sings with an accusing voice and then: how much land does it take up to a pound of grain, and he wonders whether that was Dylan's intention with Hard Rain: a biting indictment of a vegan, but with a funny ending: has anyone seen my cat? Title track Made of Light floats on the sound of a ringing guitar, backed by piano and later by tremulous violins, a stunning singer-songwriter composition that conjures goosebumps. The violins swirl together like a stray of snowflakes, the melody gently winds itself around it, the guitars are echoing in the background as receding angels. The instrumental Rock Box Hammer gets tabla and singing violins, buzzing guitars, emphatic metallic percussion and finally a frayed dialogue between two violins. It is a quiet and exotic interlude. In Like I Used to Be, the tempo is accelerated, a pop song with an attractive melody, piano interventions and a voice which makes us think of Genesis P-Orridge, with noise and again an emphatic piano. As I Make My Way is again the work of the singer-songwriter, a composition full of nostalgia for a time that will never come back: heartbreaking and nostalgic, for piano and violin in a beautiful melody.

Perfect Match has gypsy violins, a composition with roots in British folk and the Celtic tradition, the perfect tune for a campfire or a slow round dance in a torch-lit barn. DMT starts emphatically and dark and is again a singer-songwriter ballad from the great tradition, with musical and cinematic-like accents, that grows into a spatial and festive experience. That's the Way it Is, is the story of a man who has experienced much and who can tell us about it without being sentimental. The violins add the color keys and the piano dribbles softly and again we hear a voice that sounds like Genesis P-Orridge, whiny and a little sharper than usual. Modern Art gets double vocals, ringing and later strummed violins, emphatic percussion and guitars. Finally, Walking Down the Road is again a stunning ballad that almost forces you to press the start button on your CD player again... We have not yet decided which albums will be in our top 10 of 2015, but Made of Light is certainly a strong candidate.

Tracklist
1. Conscience Money
2. Time For Moving On
3. Pound Of Grain
4. Made Of Light
5. Rock Box Hammer
6. Like I Used To Be
7. As I Make My Way
8. Perfect Match
9. D.M.T
0.That’s The Way It Is
1.Modern Art
2.Walking Down The Road

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


NL

De inmiddels 65-jarige singer-songwriter en alt-folk-/punkveteraan Tymon Dogg (echte naam: Stephen John Murray) kent u misschien van zijn samenwerking met Joe Strummer (The Clash). Hij heeft er al een lange carrière opzitten die begon met optredens in de Cavern, de single The Bitter Thoughts of Little Jane met Jimmy Page en John Paul Jones, wat leidde tot een platencontract met Apple, opnamen met Paul McCartney op piano en James Taylor op gitaar en de samenwerking met The Clash, Strummers band Mescaleros en The Moody Blues.

Een veteraan, niets minder dan dat, en het zal u dan ook niet verbazen dat er met meer dan gewone interesse uitgekeken werd naar de release van zijn nieuwe album Made of Light, het eerste in vele jaren. En we willen u niet in spanning houden: Made of Light lost de verwachtingen helemaal in. Het is een sterk, overtuigend en zeer gevarieerd album, waarin de songs worden bijeengehouden door prachtige melodieën en een fraaie muzikale begeleiding. Conscience of Money, op de tonen van violen en klavecimbel, is een aantrekkelijke singer-songwritersballade met een mooie zanglijn, prachtige harmonieën en een hartverscheurende vioolsolo halfweg, die uitgroeit tot een krachtige protestsong. Time for Moving On suggereert melancholie en nostalgie, een mijmering voor wie er al een lang leven op heeft zitten, met een eenvoudige gitaarbegeleiding en een zoemende bas, terwijl in Pound of Grain de gitaren naar de voorgrond treden, vergezeld van roffelend slagwerk. Let’s take the children to the abattoir, zingt Tymon Dogg met beschuldigende stem en nog, how much land does it take to a pound of grain?, met de vraag of Dylan dat bedoelde met Hard Rain: de bijtende aanklacht van een veganist tegen hét systeem, en op het einde: heeft iemand mijn kat gezien?

Made of Light drijft de huiskamer in op de tonen van een galmende gitaar, gesteund door piano en later door sidderende violen, een bloedmooie singer-songwriter compositie die kippenvel tevoorschijn tovert. De violen dwarrelen door elkaar als verdwaalde sneeuwvlokken, de zanglijn slingert er zich voorzichtig omheen, de gitaren echoën op de achtergrond als wegdrijvende engeltjes. De instrumental Rock Box Hammer krijgt tabla en zingende violen, zoemende gitaren en nadrukkelijk metaalachtig slagwerk en tot slot een rafelige dialoog tussen twee violen. Een rustig en exotisch intermezzo. In Like I Used to Be wordt het tempo opgedreven, een popsong met een aantrekkelijke melodie, piano-interventies en een stem waarbij we heel even aan Genesis P-Orridge denken, noise en opnieuw een nadrukkelijke piano. As I Make My Way is opnieuw het werk van de singer-songwriter in Tygmon Dogg, een compositie vol heimwee naar een tijd die nooit meer terugkomt: hartbrekend en nostalgisch, voor piano en viool in een prachtige melodie.

Perfect Match heeft zigeunerviolen en klinkt Dylanesker dan Dylan, een compositie met wortels in Engelse folk en de Celtische traditie, de perfecte melodie voor een kampvuur of een trage rondedans in een met fakkels verlichte schuur. DMT begint nadrukkelijk en donker en is opnieuw een singer-songwritersballade uit de grote traditie, met musicalachtige en filmische accenten, die uitgroeit tot een ruimtelijk en feestelijk ervaring. That’s the Way it Is is het verhaal van een man die veel heeft meegemaakt en die het ons kan vertellen zonder sentimenteel te worden. De violen brengen de kleurtoetsen aan, de piano dribbelt zachtjes voorbij en opnieuw horen we een stem die klinkt als Genesis P-Orridge, zeurderig en een beetje scherper dan gewoonlijk. Modern Art krijgt dubbele vocalen, galmende en later getokkelde violen, nadrukkelijke percussie en gitaren. Walking Down the Road tenslotte, sluit het album af met – opnieuw – een bloedmooie ballade die je bijna dwingt om zo meteen weer op de startknop van je cd-speler te drukken… We hebben ons nog niet afgevraagd welke albums in onze top 10 van 2015 terecht zullen komen, maar Made of light is beslist een sterke kandidaat.

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light 25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light 25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent