tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light

TYMON DOGG

Made of Light

MusicCD
FolkSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   

Self-released
25/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

During his long career, the now 65-year-old singer-songwriter and alt-folk/punk veteran Tymon Dogg (real name: Stephen John Murray) performed at the Cavern, made the single The Bitter Thoughts of Little Jane with Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones, which led to a recording contract with Apple and recordings with Paul McCartney on piano and James Taylor on guitar, a cooperation with The Clash, with Strummer’s band Mescaleros and even with The Moody Blues.

A veteran, nothing less, and so it will not surprise you that the release of his new album Made of Light (the first in many years) was awaited with more than ordinary interest. We will not keep you in suspense: Made of Light does not disappoint. It is a strong, convincing and very varied album that holds the songs together with beautiful melodies and a nice musical accompaniment. Conscience of Money, with violins and harpsichord, is an attractive singer-songwriter ballad with a wonderful melody, beautiful harmonies and a heartbreaking violin solo halfway, which grows into a powerful protest song. Time for Moving On suggests melancholy and nostalgia, a reverie for those who are already there for a long life, with simple guitar accompaniment and a humming bass, while in Pound of Grain the guitars come to the forefront, accompanied by drumming percussion. Let's take the children to the abattoir, Tymon Dogg sings with an accusing voice and then: how much land does it take up to a pound of grain, and he wonders whether that was Dylan's intention with Hard Rain: a biting indictment of a vegan, but with a funny ending: has anyone seen my cat? Title track Made of Light floats on the sound of a ringing guitar, backed by piano and later by tremulous violins, a stunning singer-songwriter composition that conjures goosebumps. The violins swirl together like a stray of snowflakes, the melody gently winds itself around it, the guitars are echoing in the background as receding angels. The instrumental Rock Box Hammer gets tabla and singing violins, buzzing guitars, emphatic metallic percussion and finally a frayed dialogue between two violins. It is a quiet and exotic interlude. In Like I Used to Be, the tempo is accelerated, a pop song with an attractive melody, piano interventions and a voice which makes us think of Genesis P-Orridge, with noise and again an emphatic piano. As I Make My Way is again the work of the singer-songwriter, a composition full of nostalgia for a time that will never come back: heartbreaking and nostalgic, for piano and violin in a beautiful melody.

Perfect Match has gypsy violins, a composition with roots in British folk and the Celtic tradition, the perfect tune for a campfire or a slow round dance in a torch-lit barn. DMT starts emphatically and dark and is again a singer-songwriter ballad from the great tradition, with musical and cinematic-like accents, that grows into a spatial and festive experience. That's the Way it Is, is the story of a man who has experienced much and who can tell us about it without being sentimental. The violins add the color keys and the piano dribbles softly and again we hear a voice that sounds like Genesis P-Orridge, whiny and a little sharper than usual. Modern Art gets double vocals, ringing and later strummed violins, emphatic percussion and guitars. Finally, Walking Down the Road is again a stunning ballad that almost forces you to press the start button on your CD player again... We have not yet decided which albums will be in our top 10 of 2015, but Made of Light is certainly a strong candidate.

Tracklist
1. Conscience Money
2. Time For Moving On
3. Pound Of Grain
4. Made Of Light
5. Rock Box Hammer
6. Like I Used To Be
7. As I Make My Way
8. Perfect Match
9. D.M.T
0.That’s The Way It Is
1.Modern Art
2.Walking Down The Road

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


NL

De inmiddels 65-jarige singer-songwriter en alt-folk-/punkveteraan Tymon Dogg (echte naam: Stephen John Murray) kent u misschien van zijn samenwerking met Joe Strummer (The Clash). Hij heeft er al een lange carrière opzitten die begon met optredens in de Cavern, de single The Bitter Thoughts of Little Jane met Jimmy Page en John Paul Jones, wat leidde tot een platencontract met Apple, opnamen met Paul McCartney op piano en James Taylor op gitaar en de samenwerking met The Clash, Strummers band Mescaleros en The Moody Blues.

Een veteraan, niets minder dan dat, en het zal u dan ook niet verbazen dat er met meer dan gewone interesse uitgekeken werd naar de release van zijn nieuwe album Made of Light, het eerste in vele jaren. En we willen u niet in spanning houden: Made of Light lost de verwachtingen helemaal in. Het is een sterk, overtuigend en zeer gevarieerd album, waarin de songs worden bijeengehouden door prachtige melodieën en een fraaie muzikale begeleiding. Conscience of Money, op de tonen van violen en klavecimbel, is een aantrekkelijke singer-songwritersballade met een mooie zanglijn, prachtige harmonieën en een hartverscheurende vioolsolo halfweg, die uitgroeit tot een krachtige protestsong. Time for Moving On suggereert melancholie en nostalgie, een mijmering voor wie er al een lang leven op heeft zitten, met een eenvoudige gitaarbegeleiding en een zoemende bas, terwijl in Pound of Grain de gitaren naar de voorgrond treden, vergezeld van roffelend slagwerk. Let’s take the children to the abattoir, zingt Tymon Dogg met beschuldigende stem en nog, how much land does it take to a pound of grain?, met de vraag of Dylan dat bedoelde met Hard Rain: de bijtende aanklacht van een veganist tegen hét systeem, en op het einde: heeft iemand mijn kat gezien?

Made of Light drijft de huiskamer in op de tonen van een galmende gitaar, gesteund door piano en later door sidderende violen, een bloedmooie singer-songwriter compositie die kippenvel tevoorschijn tovert. De violen dwarrelen door elkaar als verdwaalde sneeuwvlokken, de zanglijn slingert er zich voorzichtig omheen, de gitaren echoën op de achtergrond als wegdrijvende engeltjes. De instrumental Rock Box Hammer krijgt tabla en zingende violen, zoemende gitaren en nadrukkelijk metaalachtig slagwerk en tot slot een rafelige dialoog tussen twee violen. Een rustig en exotisch intermezzo. In Like I Used to Be wordt het tempo opgedreven, een popsong met een aantrekkelijke melodie, piano-interventies en een stem waarbij we heel even aan Genesis P-Orridge denken, noise en opnieuw een nadrukkelijke piano. As I Make My Way is opnieuw het werk van de singer-songwriter in Tygmon Dogg, een compositie vol heimwee naar een tijd die nooit meer terugkomt: hartbrekend en nostalgisch, voor piano en viool in een prachtige melodie.

Perfect Match heeft zigeunerviolen en klinkt Dylanesker dan Dylan, een compositie met wortels in Engelse folk en de Celtische traditie, de perfecte melodie voor een kampvuur of een trage rondedans in een met fakkels verlichte schuur. DMT begint nadrukkelijk en donker en is opnieuw een singer-songwritersballade uit de grote traditie, met musicalachtige en filmische accenten, die uitgroeit tot een ruimtelijk en feestelijk ervaring. That’s the Way it Is is het verhaal van een man die veel heeft meegemaakt en die het ons kan vertellen zonder sentimenteel te worden. De violen brengen de kleurtoetsen aan, de piano dribbelt zachtjes voorbij en opnieuw horen we een stem die klinkt als Genesis P-Orridge, zeurderig en een beetje scherper dan gewoonlijk. Modern Art krijgt dubbele vocalen, galmende en later getokkelde violen, nadrukkelijke percussie en gitaren. Walking Down the Road tenslotte, sluit het album af met – opnieuw – een bloedmooie ballade die je bijna dwingt om zo meteen weer op de startknop van je cd-speler te drukken… We hebben ons nog niet afgevraagd welke albums in onze top 10 van 2015 terecht zullen komen, maar Made of light is beslist een sterke kandidaat.

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light 25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light 25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself