tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light

TYMON DOGG

Made of Light

MusicCD
FolkSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   

Self-released
25/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

During his long career, the now 65-year-old singer-songwriter and alt-folk/punk veteran Tymon Dogg (real name: Stephen John Murray) performed at the Cavern, made the single The Bitter Thoughts of Little Jane with Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones, which led to a recording contract with Apple and recordings with Paul McCartney on piano and James Taylor on guitar, a cooperation with The Clash, with Strummer’s band Mescaleros and even with The Moody Blues.

A veteran, nothing less, and so it will not surprise you that the release of his new album Made of Light (the first in many years) was awaited with more than ordinary interest. We will not keep you in suspense: Made of Light does not disappoint. It is a strong, convincing and very varied album that holds the songs together with beautiful melodies and a nice musical accompaniment. Conscience of Money, with violins and harpsichord, is an attractive singer-songwriter ballad with a wonderful melody, beautiful harmonies and a heartbreaking violin solo halfway, which grows into a powerful protest song. Time for Moving On suggests melancholy and nostalgia, a reverie for those who are already there for a long life, with simple guitar accompaniment and a humming bass, while in Pound of Grain the guitars come to the forefront, accompanied by drumming percussion. Let's take the children to the abattoir, Tymon Dogg sings with an accusing voice and then: how much land does it take up to a pound of grain, and he wonders whether that was Dylan's intention with Hard Rain: a biting indictment of a vegan, but with a funny ending: has anyone seen my cat? Title track Made of Light floats on the sound of a ringing guitar, backed by piano and later by tremulous violins, a stunning singer-songwriter composition that conjures goosebumps. The violins swirl together like a stray of snowflakes, the melody gently winds itself around it, the guitars are echoing in the background as receding angels. The instrumental Rock Box Hammer gets tabla and singing violins, buzzing guitars, emphatic metallic percussion and finally a frayed dialogue between two violins. It is a quiet and exotic interlude. In Like I Used to Be, the tempo is accelerated, a pop song with an attractive melody, piano interventions and a voice which makes us think of Genesis P-Orridge, with noise and again an emphatic piano. As I Make My Way is again the work of the singer-songwriter, a composition full of nostalgia for a time that will never come back: heartbreaking and nostalgic, for piano and violin in a beautiful melody.

Perfect Match has gypsy violins, a composition with roots in British folk and the Celtic tradition, the perfect tune for a campfire or a slow round dance in a torch-lit barn. DMT starts emphatically and dark and is again a singer-songwriter ballad from the great tradition, with musical and cinematic-like accents, that grows into a spatial and festive experience. That's the Way it Is, is the story of a man who has experienced much and who can tell us about it without being sentimental. The violins add the color keys and the piano dribbles softly and again we hear a voice that sounds like Genesis P-Orridge, whiny and a little sharper than usual. Modern Art gets double vocals, ringing and later strummed violins, emphatic percussion and guitars. Finally, Walking Down the Road is again a stunning ballad that almost forces you to press the start button on your CD player again... We have not yet decided which albums will be in our top 10 of 2015, but Made of Light is certainly a strong candidate.

Tracklist
1. Conscience Money
2. Time For Moving On
3. Pound Of Grain
4. Made Of Light
5. Rock Box Hammer
6. Like I Used To Be
7. As I Make My Way
8. Perfect Match
9. D.M.T
0.That’s The Way It Is
1.Modern Art
2.Walking Down The Road

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


NL

De inmiddels 65-jarige singer-songwriter en alt-folk-/punkveteraan Tymon Dogg (echte naam: Stephen John Murray) kent u misschien van zijn samenwerking met Joe Strummer (The Clash). Hij heeft er al een lange carrière opzitten die begon met optredens in de Cavern, de single The Bitter Thoughts of Little Jane met Jimmy Page en John Paul Jones, wat leidde tot een platencontract met Apple, opnamen met Paul McCartney op piano en James Taylor op gitaar en de samenwerking met The Clash, Strummers band Mescaleros en The Moody Blues.

Een veteraan, niets minder dan dat, en het zal u dan ook niet verbazen dat er met meer dan gewone interesse uitgekeken werd naar de release van zijn nieuwe album Made of Light, het eerste in vele jaren. En we willen u niet in spanning houden: Made of Light lost de verwachtingen helemaal in. Het is een sterk, overtuigend en zeer gevarieerd album, waarin de songs worden bijeengehouden door prachtige melodieën en een fraaie muzikale begeleiding. Conscience of Money, op de tonen van violen en klavecimbel, is een aantrekkelijke singer-songwritersballade met een mooie zanglijn, prachtige harmonieën en een hartverscheurende vioolsolo halfweg, die uitgroeit tot een krachtige protestsong. Time for Moving On suggereert melancholie en nostalgie, een mijmering voor wie er al een lang leven op heeft zitten, met een eenvoudige gitaarbegeleiding en een zoemende bas, terwijl in Pound of Grain de gitaren naar de voorgrond treden, vergezeld van roffelend slagwerk. Let’s take the children to the abattoir, zingt Tymon Dogg met beschuldigende stem en nog, how much land does it take to a pound of grain?, met de vraag of Dylan dat bedoelde met Hard Rain: de bijtende aanklacht van een veganist tegen hét systeem, en op het einde: heeft iemand mijn kat gezien?

Made of Light drijft de huiskamer in op de tonen van een galmende gitaar, gesteund door piano en later door sidderende violen, een bloedmooie singer-songwriter compositie die kippenvel tevoorschijn tovert. De violen dwarrelen door elkaar als verdwaalde sneeuwvlokken, de zanglijn slingert er zich voorzichtig omheen, de gitaren echoën op de achtergrond als wegdrijvende engeltjes. De instrumental Rock Box Hammer krijgt tabla en zingende violen, zoemende gitaren en nadrukkelijk metaalachtig slagwerk en tot slot een rafelige dialoog tussen twee violen. Een rustig en exotisch intermezzo. In Like I Used to Be wordt het tempo opgedreven, een popsong met een aantrekkelijke melodie, piano-interventies en een stem waarbij we heel even aan Genesis P-Orridge denken, noise en opnieuw een nadrukkelijke piano. As I Make My Way is opnieuw het werk van de singer-songwriter in Tygmon Dogg, een compositie vol heimwee naar een tijd die nooit meer terugkomt: hartbrekend en nostalgisch, voor piano en viool in een prachtige melodie.

Perfect Match heeft zigeunerviolen en klinkt Dylanesker dan Dylan, een compositie met wortels in Engelse folk en de Celtische traditie, de perfecte melodie voor een kampvuur of een trage rondedans in een met fakkels verlichte schuur. DMT begint nadrukkelijk en donker en is opnieuw een singer-songwritersballade uit de grote traditie, met musicalachtige en filmische accenten, die uitgroeit tot een ruimtelijk en feestelijk ervaring. That’s the Way it Is is het verhaal van een man die veel heeft meegemaakt en die het ons kan vertellen zonder sentimenteel te worden. De violen brengen de kleurtoetsen aan, de piano dribbelt zachtjes voorbij en opnieuw horen we een stem die klinkt als Genesis P-Orridge, zeurderig en een beetje scherper dan gewoonlijk. Modern Art krijgt dubbele vocalen, galmende en later getokkelde violen, nadrukkelijke percussie en gitaren. Walking Down the Road tenslotte, sluit het album af met – opnieuw – een bloedmooie ballade die je bijna dwingt om zo meteen weer op de startknop van je cd-speler te drukken… We hebben ons nog niet afgevraagd welke albums in onze top 10 van 2015 terecht zullen komen, maar Made of light is beslist een sterke kandidaat.

William LIÉNARD
25/10/2015


25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light 25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light 25/10/2015 : TYMON DOGG - Made of Light

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS