tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KEVIN MORBY - Singing Saw

KEVIN MORBY

Singing Saw

MusicCD
IndieSinger Songwriter

[78/100]   

Dead Oceans
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The biography of Kevin Morby reads like the real rock 'n roll life. At the age of seventeen, the young American left school and moved from Kansas to Brooklyn to seek the true musician's life. That went well, because he soon became the bassist of Woods, and later the singer of The Babies, but especially his solo career seems to be a success. Reviewers often compare the 27-year-old guy with Bob Dylan or Leonard Cohen. Praising words that make some people dizzy, and even though most rock critics like to use some exaggerations, Morby’s third album Singing Saw is indeed intriguing.

Cut Me Down is a minimalist singer-songwriter song that immediately grabs you by the neck. Take Me As I Am, sings Kevin while you notice all kind of fabulous sounds in the background. It seems like Mark Hollis of Talk Talk has returned from oblivion. In I Have Been To The Mountain the guitars take the lead, it’s pop to dream away on, the gospel-like chorus in the background gives the track an almost magical tone. The title track Singing Saw is the crown jewel of this CD, it lasts nearly eight minutes and embraces your soul with love.

Have You Heard My Guitar Singing?, the troubadour wonders in Drunk And On A Star, it sounds as beautiful as what Lee Hazzlewood did in the 60s. Kevin Morby never has hidden the fact that Lou Reed is his great hero, an influence you definitely hear on Dorothy. On Ferris Wheel the young musician proves that he can impress on a piano as well. It’s almost a naked song which is in complete contrast with the Phil Spector-like Destroyer.

Singing Saw is such a diverse album that is difficult to catagorize. It’s just the evidence that Kevin Morby is a big talent.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De biografie van Kevin Morby leest als het echte rock ’n roll-leven. Op zijn zeventiende besefte de Amerikaan dat de schoolbanken niets voor hem waren, en zonder aarzelen verhuisde hij van Kansas naar Brooklyn waar hij op zoek was naar het ware muzikantenleven. Dat viel redelijk goed mee, want hij werd de bassist van de vrij populaire Woods, later zanger van The Babies, maar vooral solo blijkt het echt te lukken. Recensenten draaien er hun hand niet voor om door deze 27-jarige kerel met grootheden als Bob Dylan of Leonard Cohen te vergelijken. Het zijn woorden die sommige mensen doen duizelen, en ook al zijn de meeste rockcritici niet vies van enige overdrijving, is zijn derde plaat Singing Saw inderdaad intrigerend.

Cut Me Down is een minimalistische singersongerwritercompositie die je meteen bij de nek grijpt. Take Me As I Am, zingt Kevin, met op de achtergrond allerlei sprookjesachtige arrangementen. Het lijkt wel alsof Mark Hollis van Talk Talk terug is. In I Have Been To The Mountain komen de gitaren wat meer aan bod, het is pop om op weg te dromen, het gospelachtig koortje op de achtergrond geeft de track een bijna magische ondertoon. De titeltrack Singing Saw is het kroonjuweel van deze plaat, een werkstuk van bijna acht minuten dat je ziel met liefde omarmt.

Have You Heard My Guitar Singing?, vraagt de eigentijdse troebadoer zich in Drunk And On A Star af, het klinkt even mooi als wat Lee Hazzlewood in de jaren 60 deed. Kevin Morby heeft het nooit onder banken of stoelen gestoken dat Lou Reed zijn grote held is, een invloed die je zeker op Dorothy hoort. Op Ferris Wheel bewijst de jonge kerel dat hij ook zijn mannetje kan staan als hij zich op de piano stort. Een bijna naakte song en een scherp contrast met het Phil Spector-achtige Destroyer.

Singing Saw is zo’n diverse plaat dat je ze niet in een vakje kan stoppen, het bewijs van een zeer groot talent dat je beslist in de gaten moet houden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
ONMENS • Witruimte
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013
THE PHYSICISTS • My Love Is Dead
SONUS CORONA • Sonus Corona

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ROBERT FORSTER • Songs To Play
DESTROYER • Poison Season
CECILIA MEADOWS • Cerulean Blue
THE BEACH • Thieves
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
TOM THE LION • Sleep
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
BEMYDELAY • Hazy Lights

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void