tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : KEVIN MORBY - Singing Saw

KEVIN MORBY

Singing Saw

MusicCD
IndieSinger Songwriter

[78/100]   

Dead Oceans
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The biography of Kevin Morby reads like the real rock 'n roll life. At the age of seventeen, the young American left school and moved from Kansas to Brooklyn to seek the true musician's life. That went well, because he soon became the bassist of Woods, and later the singer of The Babies, but especially his solo career seems to be a success. Reviewers often compare the 27-year-old guy with Bob Dylan or Leonard Cohen. Praising words that make some people dizzy, and even though most rock critics like to use some exaggerations, Morby’s third album Singing Saw is indeed intriguing.

Cut Me Down is a minimalist singer-songwriter song that immediately grabs you by the neck. Take Me As I Am, sings Kevin while you notice all kind of fabulous sounds in the background. It seems like Mark Hollis of Talk Talk has returned from oblivion. In I Have Been To The Mountain the guitars take the lead, it’s pop to dream away on, the gospel-like chorus in the background gives the track an almost magical tone. The title track Singing Saw is the crown jewel of this CD, it lasts nearly eight minutes and embraces your soul with love.

Have You Heard My Guitar Singing?, the troubadour wonders in Drunk And On A Star, it sounds as beautiful as what Lee Hazzlewood did in the 60s. Kevin Morby never has hidden the fact that Lou Reed is his great hero, an influence you definitely hear on Dorothy. On Ferris Wheel the young musician proves that he can impress on a piano as well. It’s almost a naked song which is in complete contrast with the Phil Spector-like Destroyer.

Singing Saw is such a diverse album that is difficult to catagorize. It’s just the evidence that Kevin Morby is a big talent.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De biografie van Kevin Morby leest als het echte rock ’n roll-leven. Op zijn zeventiende besefte de Amerikaan dat de schoolbanken niets voor hem waren, en zonder aarzelen verhuisde hij van Kansas naar Brooklyn waar hij op zoek was naar het ware muzikantenleven. Dat viel redelijk goed mee, want hij werd de bassist van de vrij populaire Woods, later zanger van The Babies, maar vooral solo blijkt het echt te lukken. Recensenten draaien er hun hand niet voor om door deze 27-jarige kerel met grootheden als Bob Dylan of Leonard Cohen te vergelijken. Het zijn woorden die sommige mensen doen duizelen, en ook al zijn de meeste rockcritici niet vies van enige overdrijving, is zijn derde plaat Singing Saw inderdaad intrigerend.

Cut Me Down is een minimalistische singersongerwritercompositie die je meteen bij de nek grijpt. Take Me As I Am, zingt Kevin, met op de achtergrond allerlei sprookjesachtige arrangementen. Het lijkt wel alsof Mark Hollis van Talk Talk terug is. In I Have Been To The Mountain komen de gitaren wat meer aan bod, het is pop om op weg te dromen, het gospelachtig koortje op de achtergrond geeft de track een bijna magische ondertoon. De titeltrack Singing Saw is het kroonjuweel van deze plaat, een werkstuk van bijna acht minuten dat je ziel met liefde omarmt.

Have You Heard My Guitar Singing?, vraagt de eigentijdse troebadoer zich in Drunk And On A Star af, het klinkt even mooi als wat Lee Hazzlewood in de jaren 60 deed. Kevin Morby heeft het nooit onder banken of stoelen gestoken dat Lou Reed zijn grote held is, een invloed die je zeker op Dorothy hoort. Op Ferris Wheel bewijst de jonge kerel dat hij ook zijn mannetje kan staan als hij zich op de piano stort. Een bijna naakte song en een scherp contrast met het Phil Spector-achtige Destroyer.

Singing Saw is zo’n diverse plaat dat je ze niet in een vakje kan stoppen, het bewijs van een zeer groot talent dat je beslist in de gaten moet houden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
ONMENS • Witruimte
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013
THE PHYSICISTS • My Love Is Dead
SONUS CORONA • Sonus Corona

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ROBERT FORSTER • Songs To Play
DESTROYER • Poison Season
CECILIA MEADOWS • Cerulean Blue
THE BEACH • Thieves
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
TOM THE LION • Sleep
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
BEMYDELAY • Hazy Lights

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream
THEE OH SEES • A Weird Exists

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

19
01
MESH
Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
01
Mortiis announces Era 1 live dates for 2018!
18
01
OMD, MIDGE URE and more confirmed at XIV. AMPHI FESTIVAL 2018
17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
KMFDM
Sascha Konietzko Gives Us The Latest On KMFDM
28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
WIRE
In Vivo
19
01
IN DEATH IT ENDS
Pomba Gira
18
01
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man