tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KEVIN MORBY - Singing Saw

KEVIN MORBY

Singing Saw

MusicCD
IndieSinger Songwriter

[78/100]   

Dead Oceans
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The biography of Kevin Morby reads like the real rock 'n roll life. At the age of seventeen, the young American left school and moved from Kansas to Brooklyn to seek the true musician's life. That went well, because he soon became the bassist of Woods, and later the singer of The Babies, but especially his solo career seems to be a success. Reviewers often compare the 27-year-old guy with Bob Dylan or Leonard Cohen. Praising words that make some people dizzy, and even though most rock critics like to use some exaggerations, Morby’s third album Singing Saw is indeed intriguing.

Cut Me Down is a minimalist singer-songwriter song that immediately grabs you by the neck. Take Me As I Am, sings Kevin while you notice all kind of fabulous sounds in the background. It seems like Mark Hollis of Talk Talk has returned from oblivion. In I Have Been To The Mountain the guitars take the lead, it’s pop to dream away on, the gospel-like chorus in the background gives the track an almost magical tone. The title track Singing Saw is the crown jewel of this CD, it lasts nearly eight minutes and embraces your soul with love.

Have You Heard My Guitar Singing?, the troubadour wonders in Drunk And On A Star, it sounds as beautiful as what Lee Hazzlewood did in the 60s. Kevin Morby never has hidden the fact that Lou Reed is his great hero, an influence you definitely hear on Dorothy. On Ferris Wheel the young musician proves that he can impress on a piano as well. It’s almost a naked song which is in complete contrast with the Phil Spector-like Destroyer.

Singing Saw is such a diverse album that is difficult to catagorize. It’s just the evidence that Kevin Morby is a big talent.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De biografie van Kevin Morby leest als het echte rock ’n roll-leven. Op zijn zeventiende besefte de Amerikaan dat de schoolbanken niets voor hem waren, en zonder aarzelen verhuisde hij van Kansas naar Brooklyn waar hij op zoek was naar het ware muzikantenleven. Dat viel redelijk goed mee, want hij werd de bassist van de vrij populaire Woods, later zanger van The Babies, maar vooral solo blijkt het echt te lukken. Recensenten draaien er hun hand niet voor om door deze 27-jarige kerel met grootheden als Bob Dylan of Leonard Cohen te vergelijken. Het zijn woorden die sommige mensen doen duizelen, en ook al zijn de meeste rockcritici niet vies van enige overdrijving, is zijn derde plaat Singing Saw inderdaad intrigerend.

Cut Me Down is een minimalistische singersongerwritercompositie die je meteen bij de nek grijpt. Take Me As I Am, zingt Kevin, met op de achtergrond allerlei sprookjesachtige arrangementen. Het lijkt wel alsof Mark Hollis van Talk Talk terug is. In I Have Been To The Mountain komen de gitaren wat meer aan bod, het is pop om op weg te dromen, het gospelachtig koortje op de achtergrond geeft de track een bijna magische ondertoon. De titeltrack Singing Saw is het kroonjuweel van deze plaat, een werkstuk van bijna acht minuten dat je ziel met liefde omarmt.

Have You Heard My Guitar Singing?, vraagt de eigentijdse troebadoer zich in Drunk And On A Star af, het klinkt even mooi als wat Lee Hazzlewood in de jaren 60 deed. Kevin Morby heeft het nooit onder banken of stoelen gestoken dat Lou Reed zijn grote held is, een invloed die je zeker op Dorothy hoort. Op Ferris Wheel bewijst de jonge kerel dat hij ook zijn mannetje kan staan als hij zich op de piano stort. Een bijna naakte song en een scherp contrast met het Phil Spector-achtige Destroyer.

Singing Saw is zo’n diverse plaat dat je ze niet in een vakje kan stoppen, het bewijs van een zeer groot talent dat je beslist in de gaten moet houden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane