tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : KEVIN MORBY - Singing Saw

KEVIN MORBY

Singing Saw

MusicCD
IndieSinger Songwriter

[78/100]   

Dead Oceans
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The biography of Kevin Morby reads like the real rock 'n roll life. At the age of seventeen, the young American left school and moved from Kansas to Brooklyn to seek the true musician's life. That went well, because he soon became the bassist of Woods, and later the singer of The Babies, but especially his solo career seems to be a success. Reviewers often compare the 27-year-old guy with Bob Dylan or Leonard Cohen. Praising words that make some people dizzy, and even though most rock critics like to use some exaggerations, Morby’s third album Singing Saw is indeed intriguing.

Cut Me Down is a minimalist singer-songwriter song that immediately grabs you by the neck. Take Me As I Am, sings Kevin while you notice all kind of fabulous sounds in the background. It seems like Mark Hollis of Talk Talk has returned from oblivion. In I Have Been To The Mountain the guitars take the lead, it’s pop to dream away on, the gospel-like chorus in the background gives the track an almost magical tone. The title track Singing Saw is the crown jewel of this CD, it lasts nearly eight minutes and embraces your soul with love.

Have You Heard My Guitar Singing?, the troubadour wonders in Drunk And On A Star, it sounds as beautiful as what Lee Hazzlewood did in the 60s. Kevin Morby never has hidden the fact that Lou Reed is his great hero, an influence you definitely hear on Dorothy. On Ferris Wheel the young musician proves that he can impress on a piano as well. It’s almost a naked song which is in complete contrast with the Phil Spector-like Destroyer.

Singing Saw is such a diverse album that is difficult to catagorize. It’s just the evidence that Kevin Morby is a big talent.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De biografie van Kevin Morby leest als het echte rock ’n roll-leven. Op zijn zeventiende besefte de Amerikaan dat de schoolbanken niets voor hem waren, en zonder aarzelen verhuisde hij van Kansas naar Brooklyn waar hij op zoek was naar het ware muzikantenleven. Dat viel redelijk goed mee, want hij werd de bassist van de vrij populaire Woods, later zanger van The Babies, maar vooral solo blijkt het echt te lukken. Recensenten draaien er hun hand niet voor om door deze 27-jarige kerel met grootheden als Bob Dylan of Leonard Cohen te vergelijken. Het zijn woorden die sommige mensen doen duizelen, en ook al zijn de meeste rockcritici niet vies van enige overdrijving, is zijn derde plaat Singing Saw inderdaad intrigerend.

Cut Me Down is een minimalistische singersongerwritercompositie die je meteen bij de nek grijpt. Take Me As I Am, zingt Kevin, met op de achtergrond allerlei sprookjesachtige arrangementen. Het lijkt wel alsof Mark Hollis van Talk Talk terug is. In I Have Been To The Mountain komen de gitaren wat meer aan bod, het is pop om op weg te dromen, het gospelachtig koortje op de achtergrond geeft de track een bijna magische ondertoon. De titeltrack Singing Saw is het kroonjuweel van deze plaat, een werkstuk van bijna acht minuten dat je ziel met liefde omarmt.

Have You Heard My Guitar Singing?, vraagt de eigentijdse troebadoer zich in Drunk And On A Star af, het klinkt even mooi als wat Lee Hazzlewood in de jaren 60 deed. Kevin Morby heeft het nooit onder banken of stoelen gestoken dat Lou Reed zijn grote held is, een invloed die je zeker op Dorothy hoort. Op Ferris Wheel bewijst de jonge kerel dat hij ook zijn mannetje kan staan als hij zich op de piano stort. Een bijna naakte song en een scherp contrast met het Phil Spector-achtige Destroyer.

Singing Saw is zo’n diverse plaat dat je ze niet in een vakje kan stoppen, het bewijs van een zeer groot talent dat je beslist in de gaten moet houden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TREETOP FLYERS • Palomino
THIERRY ANSALLEM • Joe Cocker Live at Montreux 1987
ONMENS • Witruimte
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP
LUPI GLADIUS • L’Armonia Del Buio
• The history behind Waveteef
REMAIN IN SILENCE • ...And The Soul Goes On
MEILYR JONES • 2013
THE PHYSICISTS • My Love Is Dead
SONUS CORONA • Sonus Corona

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ROBERT FORSTER • Songs To Play
DESTROYER • Poison Season
CECILIA MEADOWS • Cerulean Blue
THE BEACH • Thieves
RODDY FRAME • Seven Dials
TOM THE LION • Sleep
THE HIGH WIRE • Found in Honey
ESBEN SVANE • live in Brussels, 30/11/2013
BEMYDELAY • Hazy Lights

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout