tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

ESBEN SVANE

live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

Concert
AcousticIndieSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   
01/12/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with Esben Svane is a nice Danish indie singersongwriter, a true bard with a fab voice that can enchant a crowd. I loved the EP (The Sudden Stop) and now I can say that he's on stage even better!

His gig in Brussels was in a cosy hotel with a lot of youngsters and actually with a few fans who already knew his songs. He is completelyalone, with just his guitar on a small stage and one spot behind his back. Back to basics after playing as a drummer in a Danish popband. As he stated in one of his songs, it wasn't his thing and went out from Kopenhagen to find his true self somewhere in the countryside to write songs, just armed with his guitar and magical voice.

During his set of one hour (with a short break in between to talk to the fans, autographing his ep...) he played two songs from other artists (Gone for good from The Shins & Chelsea Hotel from Leonard Cohen) and succeeded in making them his own pearls. One of the songs I didn't knew from the ep was Forest (a nice one about his mother who had a real bad disease, one that can kill and choose to write about it as if she was a forest). Recreation was a great song to end his first set, a bit more up-tempo and really well fuelled. This one will be the first song on his full cd!

My favorite ones from his ep The Sudden Stop, Anywhere In A Paper Boat (this was the final song of his regular set and great to end with), The World Below My Feet (actually a song about smoking weed at young age) and Girlfriends (this was the encore song) really come up great on stage!

I must say it wasn't always easy for Esben to perform as noise was coming up from the bar that was a bit disturbing, but he did what he could to overwin it and turned this evening into a real campfire moment, a magical night, with romance in the air, some heartbreaking moments...This bard knows his job and does it with all his heart! I hope to see him one day in The Botanique or at some other nice place!

Looking forward to get the full cd & see more of him!

Good job!

My review of the new ep:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/esben-svane-the-sudden-stop-ep/?viaadmin=1

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2013


01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

 

Next reviews
PEOPLE OF NOTHING • A Break To Cry
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
HONG SANGSOO • In another country
TAPAGE • Overgrown
SHATOO • Floodlight
TOBE HOOPER • Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2
ANABELLE'S GARDEN • Time's no measure 1987-1993
FADERHEAD • FH4
TOBIAS LINDHOLM • Kapringen
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Hera, Protector Of Teddybears Since 2012

 

Other reviews from ESBEN SVANE
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag