tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

ESBEN SVANE

live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

Concert
AcousticIndieSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   
01/12/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

To start with Esben Svane is a nice Danish indie singersongwriter, a true bard with a fab voice that can enchant a crowd. I loved the EP (The Sudden Stop) and now I can say that he's on stage even better!

His gig in Brussels was in a cosy hotel with a lot of youngsters and actually with a few fans who already knew his songs. He is completelyalone, with just his guitar on a small stage and one spot behind his back. Back to basics after playing as a drummer in a Danish popband. As he stated in one of his songs, it wasn't his thing and went out from Kopenhagen to find his true self somewhere in the countryside to write songs, just armed with his guitar and magical voice.

During his set of one hour (with a short break in between to talk to the fans, autographing his ep...) he played two songs from other artists (Gone for good from The Shins & Chelsea Hotel from Leonard Cohen) and succeeded in making them his own pearls. One of the songs I didn't knew from the ep was Forest (a nice one about his mother who had a real bad disease, one that can kill and choose to write about it as if she was a forest). Recreation was a great song to end his first set, a bit more up-tempo and really well fuelled. This one will be the first song on his full cd!

My favorite ones from his ep The Sudden Stop, Anywhere In A Paper Boat (this was the final song of his regular set and great to end with), The World Below My Feet (actually a song about smoking weed at young age) and Girlfriends (this was the encore song) really come up great on stage!

I must say it wasn't always easy for Esben to perform as noise was coming up from the bar that was a bit disturbing, but he did what he could to overwin it and turned this evening into a real campfire moment, a magical night, with romance in the air, some heartbreaking moments...This bard knows his job and does it with all his heart! I hope to see him one day in The Botanique or at some other nice place!

Looking forward to get the full cd & see more of him!

Good job!

My review of the new ep:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/esben-svane-the-sudden-stop-ep/?viaadmin=1

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/12/2013


01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013 01/12/2013 : ESBEN SVANE - live in Brussels, 30/11/2013

 

Next reviews
PEOPLE OF NOTHING • A Break To Cry
DELAYKLINIKEN • Air
HONG SANGSOO • In another country
TAPAGE • Overgrown
SHATOO • Floodlight
TOBE HOOPER • Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2
ANABELLE'S GARDEN • Time's no measure 1987-1993
FADERHEAD • FH4
TOBIAS LINDHOLM • Kapringen
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Hera, Protector Of Teddybears Since 2012

 

Other reviews from ESBEN SVANE
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela