tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LIEN SCHOETERS - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

LIEN SCHOETERS

Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Concert
AcousticSinger Songwriter 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Finally the star of singer-songwriter Lien Schoeters (Mechelen) is slowly rising, and well deserved too. A beautiful voice, great keyboard playing and then those little jewels, aka songs should do the trick.

The chanteuse also has got her own band now, called A Linn Thing. With the band she's playing at the Maanrock festival in Mechelen next week. At the Rijmrockfestival, saturday august 20th, the singer-songwriter played an impressive intimate solo-set at the acoustic stage.

In no time Lien Schoeters gained all of the attention of the audience. The only tools she needed were her beautiful voice, the keyboards, briefly an acoustic guitar and of course the music.

A moving Day by Day was the strong opener of the set. Songs such as Lift A Stone and Good Day proved to be other instant favourites. The audience gladly sang along to the chorus of Your House.

The songs Lien played on saturday are the songs she's playing currently with her band. But also in their acoustic outfit they work perfectly. Not that strange: in the end a good song is a good song, in whatever version it's played, right?

I'm going to try out something new, Lien said and she grabbed an acoustic guitar an then played School of Life, a truly beautiful song with some really strong lyrics.

When Schoeters was saying goodbye to her audience she was told that she had time for one more song. Hallelujah! Lien smiled and said ah, a litle bit more? And she played the song... A Little Bit More. Yet another jewel and a very touching song it is too.

It wasn't the first time I saw Lien Schoeters perform and it surely won't be the last. But again I was impressed by so much beauty. If you have the chance, do check A Linn Thing on Maanrock on saturday august 27th, or when Lien Schoeters is playing a solo gig.

And there's the album to look out for of course...

Setlist:
Day By Day / Good Day / It'll Be What It Is / Meet At Home / Your House / Lift A Stone / School of Life

Encore:
A Little Bit More

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Lien Schoeters is in Mechelen langzaam maar zeker en volkomen terecht aan het uitgroeien tot een begrip. Met een prachtig stemgeluid, knap pianospel en liedjes die stuk voor stuk popparels genoemd kunnen worden. De jonge singer-songwriter heeft sinds kort ook een eigen band: A Linn Thing.

Haar band kun je bewonderen op Maanrock, zaterdag 27 augustus. Maar Lien treedt ook nog steeds solo op natuurlijk. Zaterdag 20 augustus maakte de chanteuse op het akoestisch podium van Rijmrock in Rijmenam het mooie weer.

Lien, het klavier, heel even ook de akoestische gitaar, haar mooie warme stemgeluid en de kleine kunstwerkjes die de songs zijn; meer was er niet nodig om de aanwezigen in te pakken en te charmeren die zaterdag.

Al bij de eerste noten van een pakkend Day by Day wist de sympathieke singer-songwriter zonder al te veel moeite te overtuigen. Tot de instant favorieten horen behalve Day by Day zeker ook Lift A Stone en Good Day. De songs die Lien bracht, zijn liedjes die ze ook met A Linn Thing brengt. Aan Your House, vlotjes meegezongen door het publiek, kun je dat misschien nog het beste merken, maar ook ontdaan van alle franjes, staat deze meezinger als een heu.. huis. Dat geldt trouwens ook voor de andere composities. Een sterke song is een sterke song, of niet soms?

Rijmrockers die ook naar Maanrock gaan, zullen een aantal liedjes misschien herkennen en wie weet spontaan meezingen of -neuriën.

Nu ga ik mij aan een experimentje wagen sprak Lien en ze omgorde de akoestische gitaar en zette School of Life in. Wel, dat experimentje mag ze gerust overdoen, ook op de snaren is ze bedreven. Een heel erg mooi lied trouwens, deze School of Life, met een sterke tekst ook.

Wanneer Schoeters eigenlijk al aan het afscheid nemen was, hoorde ze dat ze nog een liedje mocht brengen. Gelukkig maar. A little bit more?, vroeg Lien. En we kregen, toeval of niet, een erg fraai A Little Bit More.

Voor jullie verslaggever was het géén eerste kennismaking met de mooie muziek van Lien Schoeters. Maar ik was wel weer opnieuw onder de indruk.

Check zeker A Linn Thing, aanstaande zaterdag op Maanrock als je je dan vrij kunt maken. Doén!

En dan is het aftellen naar het album van A Linn Thing, en meer optredens natuurlijk, wat mij betreft zowel mét band als solo. Wordt vervolgd!

Setlist:
Day By Day / Good Day / It'll Be What It Is / Meet At Home / Your House / Lift A Stone / School of Life

Encore:
A Little Bit More

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott