tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

11/12/2016 : LIEN SCHOETERS - Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

LIEN SCHOETERS

Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Concert
AcousticSinger Songwriter 11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

Finally the star of singer-songwriter Lien Schoeters (Mechelen) is slowly rising, and well deserved too. A beautiful voice, great keyboard playing and then those little jewels, aka songs should do the trick.

The chanteuse also has got her own band now, called A Linn Thing. With the band she's playing at the Maanrock festival in Mechelen next week. At the Rijmrockfestival, saturday august 20th, the singer-songwriter played an impressive intimate solo-set at the acoustic stage.

In no time Lien Schoeters gained all of the attention of the audience. The only tools she needed were her beautiful voice, the keyboards, briefly an acoustic guitar and of course the music.

A moving Day by Day was the strong opener of the set. Songs such as Lift A Stone and Good Day proved to be other instant favourites. The audience gladly sang along to the chorus of Your House.

The songs Lien played on saturday are the songs she's playing currently with her band. But also in their acoustic outfit they work perfectly. Not that strange: in the end a good song is a good song, in whatever version it's played, right?

I'm going to try out something new, Lien said and she grabbed an acoustic guitar an then played School of Life, a truly beautiful song with some really strong lyrics.

When Schoeters was saying goodbye to her audience she was told that she had time for one more song. Hallelujah! Lien smiled and said ah, a litle bit more? And she played the song... A Little Bit More. Yet another jewel and a very touching song it is too.

It wasn't the first time I saw Lien Schoeters perform and it surely won't be the last. But again I was impressed by so much beauty. If you have the chance, do check A Linn Thing on Maanrock on saturday august 27th, or when Lien Schoeters is playing a solo gig.

And there's the album to look out for of course...

Setlist:
Day By Day / Good Day / It'll Be What It Is / Meet At Home / Your House / Lift A Stone / School of Life

Encore:
A Little Bit More

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


NL

Lien Schoeters is in Mechelen langzaam maar zeker en volkomen terecht aan het uitgroeien tot een begrip. Met een prachtig stemgeluid, knap pianospel en liedjes die stuk voor stuk popparels genoemd kunnen worden. De jonge singer-songwriter heeft sinds kort ook een eigen band: A Linn Thing.

Haar band kun je bewonderen op Maanrock, zaterdag 27 augustus. Maar Lien treedt ook nog steeds solo op natuurlijk. Zaterdag 20 augustus maakte de chanteuse op het akoestisch podium van Rijmrock in Rijmenam het mooie weer.

Lien, het klavier, heel even ook de akoestische gitaar, haar mooie warme stemgeluid en de kleine kunstwerkjes die de songs zijn; meer was er niet nodig om de aanwezigen in te pakken en te charmeren die zaterdag.

Al bij de eerste noten van een pakkend Day by Day wist de sympathieke singer-songwriter zonder al te veel moeite te overtuigen. Tot de instant favorieten horen behalve Day by Day zeker ook Lift A Stone en Good Day. De songs die Lien bracht, zijn liedjes die ze ook met A Linn Thing brengt. Aan Your House, vlotjes meegezongen door het publiek, kun je dat misschien nog het beste merken, maar ook ontdaan van alle franjes, staat deze meezinger als een heu.. huis. Dat geldt trouwens ook voor de andere composities. Een sterke song is een sterke song, of niet soms?

Rijmrockers die ook naar Maanrock gaan, zullen een aantal liedjes misschien herkennen en wie weet spontaan meezingen of -neuriën.

Nu ga ik mij aan een experimentje wagen sprak Lien en ze omgorde de akoestische gitaar en zette School of Life in. Wel, dat experimentje mag ze gerust overdoen, ook op de snaren is ze bedreven. Een heel erg mooi lied trouwens, deze School of Life, met een sterke tekst ook.

Wanneer Schoeters eigenlijk al aan het afscheid nemen was, hoorde ze dat ze nog een liedje mocht brengen. Gelukkig maar. A little bit more?, vroeg Lien. En we kregen, toeval of niet, een erg fraai A Little Bit More.

Voor jullie verslaggever was het géén eerste kennismaking met de mooie muziek van Lien Schoeters. Maar ik was wel weer opnieuw onder de indruk.

Check zeker A Linn Thing, aanstaande zaterdag op Maanrock als je je dan vrij kunt maken. Doén!

En dan is het aftellen naar het album van A Linn Thing, en meer optredens natuurlijk, wat mij betreft zowel mét band als solo. Wordt vervolgd!

Setlist:
Day By Day / Good Day / It'll Be What It Is / Meet At Home / Your House / Lift A Stone / School of Life

Encore:
A Little Bit More

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)