tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/11/2015 : EMMA SOLEIL - Time Falls

EMMA SOLEIL

Time Falls

MusicCD
AcousticSinger Songwriter

[70/100]   

Acoustic Seed Records
03/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The American singer-songwriter Emma Soleil (Connecticut, 1998!) was educated as a cellist and a pianist. Her debut album Time Falls contains a collection of compositions for piano and voice, which we situate between Regina Spector and Tori Amos, although we heard the young Carole King occasionally as well. It is a genre that is especially appreciated by those who love strong vocals, carefully crafted melodies and controlled instruments, and precisely on that front Emma Soleil is a strong musician. Given the fact that the piano provides musical support in most of the compositions, Time Falls is a very homogeneous album, though we have the impression that there is just too little variation on the album to listen to the 10 tracks in one go. Craftsmanship is a prerequisite, but differentiation as well, but perhaps Time Falls is an album that should be given time and space to grow.

Behind the Bullet is the first single. The beautiful harmonies in combination with the attractive piano sound immediately set the tone for the rest of the album. Do not Speak is quieter and more intimate, and again the combination of harmonies and piano proves that Emma Soleil has interesting things to tell.

Like a lot of American singers, Emma Soleil has a rather nasal voice, making it sound quite high and a little sharp, which leads to a good result in Gold, for the piano also sounds quite high, while the contrast with the low piano chords in the remainder of the song has a nice subtle effect. Home could have taken advantage of the addition of a nagging cello, but in Hopefully, the piano sounds sufficiently varied to ensure the necessary color tones. I Rise follows almost seamlessly, though the track sounds a lot more cheerful, while Stop and Go benefits from a slightly different voice and a playful piano sound. Certainly strong enough as second single.

The Way You Are floats on an attractive rhythm, with a piano that alternately sounds excited and subdued, and in the title track Time Falls, it puts very precise accents to support the vocals. Very nice. What Will We Do is not only the last track of the album, the song sounds also as a farewell.

Good compositions, beautiful piano playing and a beautiful voice, only a bit too little variation to convince entirely. But Emma Soleil has all the time to grow and don’t be surprised if one day she writes her own Blue or Tapestry.

Tracklisting:
1 Behind the Bullet
2 Don’t Speak
3 Gold
4 Home
5 Hopefully
6 I Rise
7 Stop and Go
8 The Way You Are
9 Time Falls
0 What Will We Do

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bN_lIwNh2KY
www.acousticseed.com

William LIÉNARD
03/11/2015


NL

De Amerikaanse singer-songwriter Emma Soleil (Connecticut, 1998!) genoot een opleiding als cellist en pianiste. Op haar debuutalbum Time Falls brengt ze een verzameling composities voor piano en stem die we kunnen situeren tussen Regina Spector en Tori Amos, hoewel we zelf af en toe de jonge Carole King menen te horen. Het is een genre dat vooral op prijs wordt gesteld door muziekliefhebbers die van sterke vocalen houden, van zorgvuldig uitgewerkte melodieën en een beheerst instrumentarium, en precies op dat vlak toont Emma Soleil zich een sterke medespeelster. Gezien piano in de meeste composities voor de muzikale ondersteuning zorgt, is Time Falls een zeer homogeen album, al kunnen we ons niet van de indruk ontdoen dat er net iets te weinig variatie aanwezig is om de 10 tracks in één ruk te beluisteren. Vakmanschap is een voorwaarde, maar differentiatie even zeer, doch wellicht is Time Falls een album dat tijd en ruimte moet krijgen om te groeien.

Behind the Bullet is als eerste single gereleaset en de prachtige harmonieën in combinatie met het aantrekkelijke pianogeluid zetten meteen de toon voor de rest van het album. Don’t Speak is rustiger en intimistischer en opnieuw is het de combinatie van harmonieën en piano, die bewijst dat Emma Soleil heel veel in haar mars heeft.

Emma Soleil heeft zoals de meeste Amerikanen een eerder nasale stem, waardoor haar stem vrij hoog en een beetje scherp klinkt. In Gold leidt dat tot een mooi resultaat, want ook de piano zet vrij hoog in, terwijl het contrast met de lage pianoakkoorden in het vervolg van de song verrassend genoeg ook uitstekend werkt. Home had beslist z’n voordeel kunnen doen met een zeurende cello ter ondersteuning, maar in Hopefully is het pianogeluid voldoende gevarieerd om voor voldoende kleurschakeringen te zorgen. I Rise sluit bijna naadloos aan, al klinkt de track een stuk opgewekter, terwijl Stop and Go z’n voordeel doet met een iets ander stemgeluid en speels pianogeluid. Beslist sterk genoeg als opvolger van Behind the Bullet.

The Way You Are dobbert op een aantrekkelijk ritme met een piano die afwisselend opgewekt en ingetogen klinkt en in de titeltrack Time Falls legt hij zeer precieze accenten ter ondersteuning van de vocalen. Heel mooi. What Will We Do is niet alleen de laatste track van het album, de song klinkt ook een beetje als een afscheid.

Goede composities, prachtig pianospel en een mooie stem, alleen wat te weinig variatie om helemaal te overtuigen. Maar Emma Soleil heeft alle tijd om te groeien en misschien schrijft ze ooit haar eigen Blue of Tapestry.

William LIÉNARD
03/11/2015


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger