tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/11/2015 : EMMA SOLEIL - Time Falls

EMMA SOLEIL

Time Falls

MusicCD
AcousticSinger Songwriter

[70/100]   

Acoustic Seed Records
03/11/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The American singer-songwriter Emma Soleil (Connecticut, 1998!) was educated as a cellist and a pianist. Her debut album Time Falls contains a collection of compositions for piano and voice, which we situate between Regina Spector and Tori Amos, although we heard the young Carole King occasionally as well. It is a genre that is especially appreciated by those who love strong vocals, carefully crafted melodies and controlled instruments, and precisely on that front Emma Soleil is a strong musician. Given the fact that the piano provides musical support in most of the compositions, Time Falls is a very homogeneous album, though we have the impression that there is just too little variation on the album to listen to the 10 tracks in one go. Craftsmanship is a prerequisite, but differentiation as well, but perhaps Time Falls is an album that should be given time and space to grow.

Behind the Bullet is the first single. The beautiful harmonies in combination with the attractive piano sound immediately set the tone for the rest of the album. Do not Speak is quieter and more intimate, and again the combination of harmonies and piano proves that Emma Soleil has interesting things to tell.

Like a lot of American singers, Emma Soleil has a rather nasal voice, making it sound quite high and a little sharp, which leads to a good result in Gold, for the piano also sounds quite high, while the contrast with the low piano chords in the remainder of the song has a nice subtle effect. Home could have taken advantage of the addition of a nagging cello, but in Hopefully, the piano sounds sufficiently varied to ensure the necessary color tones. I Rise follows almost seamlessly, though the track sounds a lot more cheerful, while Stop and Go benefits from a slightly different voice and a playful piano sound. Certainly strong enough as second single.

The Way You Are floats on an attractive rhythm, with a piano that alternately sounds excited and subdued, and in the title track Time Falls, it puts very precise accents to support the vocals. Very nice. What Will We Do is not only the last track of the album, the song sounds also as a farewell.

Good compositions, beautiful piano playing and a beautiful voice, only a bit too little variation to convince entirely. But Emma Soleil has all the time to grow and don’t be surprised if one day she writes her own Blue or Tapestry.

Tracklisting:
1 Behind the Bullet
2 Don’t Speak
3 Gold
4 Home
5 Hopefully
6 I Rise
7 Stop and Go
8 The Way You Are
9 Time Falls
0 What Will We Do

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bN_lIwNh2KY
www.acousticseed.com

William LIÉNARD
03/11/2015


NL

De Amerikaanse singer-songwriter Emma Soleil (Connecticut, 1998!) genoot een opleiding als cellist en pianiste. Op haar debuutalbum Time Falls brengt ze een verzameling composities voor piano en stem die we kunnen situeren tussen Regina Spector en Tori Amos, hoewel we zelf af en toe de jonge Carole King menen te horen. Het is een genre dat vooral op prijs wordt gesteld door muziekliefhebbers die van sterke vocalen houden, van zorgvuldig uitgewerkte melodieën en een beheerst instrumentarium, en precies op dat vlak toont Emma Soleil zich een sterke medespeelster. Gezien piano in de meeste composities voor de muzikale ondersteuning zorgt, is Time Falls een zeer homogeen album, al kunnen we ons niet van de indruk ontdoen dat er net iets te weinig variatie aanwezig is om de 10 tracks in één ruk te beluisteren. Vakmanschap is een voorwaarde, maar differentiatie even zeer, doch wellicht is Time Falls een album dat tijd en ruimte moet krijgen om te groeien.

Behind the Bullet is als eerste single gereleaset en de prachtige harmonieën in combinatie met het aantrekkelijke pianogeluid zetten meteen de toon voor de rest van het album. Don’t Speak is rustiger en intimistischer en opnieuw is het de combinatie van harmonieën en piano, die bewijst dat Emma Soleil heel veel in haar mars heeft.

Emma Soleil heeft zoals de meeste Amerikanen een eerder nasale stem, waardoor haar stem vrij hoog en een beetje scherp klinkt. In Gold leidt dat tot een mooi resultaat, want ook de piano zet vrij hoog in, terwijl het contrast met de lage pianoakkoorden in het vervolg van de song verrassend genoeg ook uitstekend werkt. Home had beslist z’n voordeel kunnen doen met een zeurende cello ter ondersteuning, maar in Hopefully is het pianogeluid voldoende gevarieerd om voor voldoende kleurschakeringen te zorgen. I Rise sluit bijna naadloos aan, al klinkt de track een stuk opgewekter, terwijl Stop and Go z’n voordeel doet met een iets ander stemgeluid en speels pianogeluid. Beslist sterk genoeg als opvolger van Behind the Bullet.

The Way You Are dobbert op een aantrekkelijk ritme met een piano die afwisselend opgewekt en ingetogen klinkt en in de titeltrack Time Falls legt hij zeer precieze accenten ter ondersteuning van de vocalen. Heel mooi. What Will We Do is niet alleen de laatste track van het album, de song klinkt ook een beetje als een afscheid.

Goede composities, prachtig pianospel en een mooie stem, alleen wat te weinig variatie om helemaal te overtuigen. Maar Emma Soleil heeft alle tijd om te groeien en misschien schrijft ze ooit haar eigen Blue of Tapestry.

William LIÉNARD
03/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet