tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/06/2017 : LEIF VOLLEBEKK - Twin Solitude

LEIF VOLLEBEKK

Twin Solitude

MusicCD
AcousticFolkIndieSinger Songwriter

[80/100]   

Secret City Records
20/06/2017, Pierre SCHIFFLERS

On his third album Twin Solitude, Leif Vollebekk has done away with much of the driving acoustic guitars that punctuated 2013’s North Americana. Instead, he has chosen to replace these with simple keys (piano, moog and Wurlitzer) that are gently backed by a lush bass and brushed drums. Guitars are still present, especially in the second half of the album but they are much less rhythmic and less at the forefront than in the past.

This instrumentation largely contributes to the feeling of calm and serenity that is a constant throughout the album. Elegy, the album’s first single is a perfect example of this, building on a subdued piano and a bass that follows a bass drum so softly, it almost feels like a whisper. Vollebekk has also chosen to add strings at particular moments (see Vancouver Time) and this works wonderfully by reinforcing the organic feel of the album.

The music is never particularly complex, often revolving around two or three chords and jumping between these by briefly resting on intermediary chords. This works to perfection here as it allows one to get lost in the simplicity and the inherent peace of the music. This simplicity also allows Vollebekk to keep listeners on their toes by occasionally taking them out of the hypnotising grooves that he creates, simply through the use of an unexpected chord or a brief moment of silence (see the end of Into The Ether with its beautiful build-up and chord variation). By doing this, Vollebekk keeps the listener focused on the beauty of the track at hand and helps them to stay connected to songs that might otherwise simply fade into the background.

Although clearly front and centre, the vocals can sometimes almost feel like a secondary portion of the tracks. Vollebekk doesn’t spend much time creating catchy vocal melodies or worrying about the number of syllables that he fits into each line. Rather, his texts, heavily drenched in melancholy and visual cues, almost feel improvised and placed upon the repetitive melodic patterns wherever they might fit. Leif’s voice is confident and audacious at times, yet painfully fragile at others, as though it might just break at any time. Comparisons will inevitably be made with Bob Dylan (Rest is particularly striking) but this is clearly the voice of a musician that has found his strengths and is using them to the best of his ability.

There are certain emotions in life that are difficult to explain, to pinpoint accurately. They may be so fleeting that we are unable to catch them in time to put them into words. They may also be so complex that no amount of phrases could ever do them justice. I feel that this is precisely what Vollebekk achieves on Twin Solitude. The album embodies the tiny part of sadness that one feels during moments of joy, precisely because they know that things will never be this beautiful again.

Pierre SCHIFFLERS
20/06/2017


 

Next reviews
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
XOSAR • Xymeria
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

 

Same genre: FOLK
SEESAYLE • Stamina
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
KEVIN MORBY • Singing Saw
KRISTOFFER GILDENLöW • The Rain
MEIJER • Vrouwen
THE ANCHORESS • Confessions of a Romance Novelist

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid