tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2017 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Oceans

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Oceans

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

afmusic
13/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Emanating from Sweden is the new CD of Principe Valiente. Active since 2005 this band can be described as darkpop, although there also is a large portion of postpunk and shoegaze to be found. Oceans contains 8 songs.

Opener Wildest Flowers made me believe I had inadvertently loaded a U2 CD... I don't want to offend anyone but structure, sound and guitars could have been from the good old days of U2. The same goes for Running Juveniles. At least strong songs that make you want to hear more.

And indeed it continues in the same style with When I Learned To Crawl. Melodic, with a sharp pace and not too polished. It all sounds clean (compliments for mixing and production), but still rocky enough not to be too poppy. Not that we have something against that with songs of this level.

It is time for an inviting portion of shoegaze of the best kind. Floating psychedelic guitars with plenty of effects. Almost intoxicating. The vocals stay constant but musically we get some nice variations. Untouchable ? Not yet, but the status of the song with that name is above standard. The start is rather subdued but swells after about 2 minutes to lead to the apotheosis. Frontman, bass player and singer Fernando Honorato manages to get the maximum from his voice. And what a voice he has! We already had darkpop and shoegaze, now we get postpunk in No Time. Composed from bonedry drumbeats, a firm bassline and rather pained guitars. No Reason Why and Monsters Of The Sea, with their hypocritical calm, take us to the end of this great CD.

The Swedes had a good listen to the right examples and their sound is more poppy, but still with a dark edge. To be enjoyed? Yes, certainly. The band plays with confidence and regularly gives it it's all, which makes and keeps every song a joy to listen to.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2017


NL

Vanuit Zweden komt de nieuwe CD van Principe Valiente aangewaaid. De band is actief van 2005 en kan je als darkpop omschrijven, hoewel er ook een stevige porttie postpunk en shoegaze te ontwaren is. Oceans telt 8 songs.

De opener is Wildest Flowers. Ik wil niemand affronteren, maar ik dacht een CD van U2 in mijn CD-lader te hebben gestopt. Qua opbouw, geluid en gitaarwerk kon het zo uit de good old days van U2 komen. Zo ook Running Juveniles. In ieder geval sterke songs die doen verlangn naar méér.

En het gaat inderdaad in dezelfde stijl verder met When I Learned To Crawl. Melodieus, een snedig tempo met een niét te gepolijst kantje. Het klinkt allemaal wel clean (compliment voor mixing en productie), maar blijft genoeg rocken om niet té poppy te zijn. Niét dat we daar ook maar iéts op tegen hebben, met songs van dit niveau.

En dan tijd voor een uitnodigende portie shoegaze van de beste soort. Zweverig, psychedelisch gitaarwerk met de nodige effecten. Bedwelmend bijna. De zang blijft een constante, maar muzikaal krijgen we leuke variaties. Untouchable zijn ze (nog) niet, maar de status van de gelijnamige song is boven de standaard. Het start ingetogen, maar zwelt op na een goede twee minuten om zo naar een apotheose te gaan. Frontman, bassist én zanger Fernando Honorato haalt het maximale uit zijn stem en dat is er ook één van formaat. We kregen al darkpop en shoegaze, de postpunk wordt uitgepakt met No Time. Samengesteld uit kurkdroog drumwerk , een stevige baslijn en eerder gepijnigd gitaarwerk. No Reason Why en Monsters Of The Sea nemen ons in hun geveinsde rust naar het einde van deze goede CD.

De Zweden hebben goed geluisterd naar de goéde voorbeelden en hun geluid is eerder poppy, maar toch nog met een donker randje. Genietbaar? Jazeker. De band speelt zelfverzekerd en trekt geregeld alle registers open, waardoor elk nummer genietbaar is én blijft.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2017


 

Next reviews
XOSAR • Xymeria
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life