tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2017 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Oceans

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Oceans

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

afmusic
13/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Emanating from Sweden is the new CD of Principe Valiente. Active since 2005 this band can be described as darkpop, although there also is a large portion of postpunk and shoegaze to be found. Oceans contains 8 songs.

Opener Wildest Flowers made me believe I had inadvertently loaded a U2 CD... I don't want to offend anyone but structure, sound and guitars could have been from the good old days of U2. The same goes for Running Juveniles. At least strong songs that make you want to hear more.

And indeed it continues in the same style with When I Learned To Crawl. Melodic, with a sharp pace and not too polished. It all sounds clean (compliments for mixing and production), but still rocky enough not to be too poppy. Not that we have something against that with songs of this level.

It is time for an inviting portion of shoegaze of the best kind. Floating psychedelic guitars with plenty of effects. Almost intoxicating. The vocals stay constant but musically we get some nice variations. Untouchable ? Not yet, but the status of the song with that name is above standard. The start is rather subdued but swells after about 2 minutes to lead to the apotheosis. Frontman, bass player and singer Fernando Honorato manages to get the maximum from his voice. And what a voice he has! We already had darkpop and shoegaze, now we get postpunk in No Time. Composed from bonedry drumbeats, a firm bassline and rather pained guitars. No Reason Why and Monsters Of The Sea, with their hypocritical calm, take us to the end of this great CD.

The Swedes had a good listen to the right examples and their sound is more poppy, but still with a dark edge. To be enjoyed? Yes, certainly. The band plays with confidence and regularly gives it it's all, which makes and keeps every song a joy to listen to.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2017


NL

Vanuit Zweden komt de nieuwe CD van Principe Valiente aangewaaid. De band is actief van 2005 en kan je als darkpop omschrijven, hoewel er ook een stevige porttie postpunk en shoegaze te ontwaren is. Oceans telt 8 songs.

De opener is Wildest Flowers. Ik wil niemand affronteren, maar ik dacht een CD van U2 in mijn CD-lader te hebben gestopt. Qua opbouw, geluid en gitaarwerk kon het zo uit de good old days van U2 komen. Zo ook Running Juveniles. In ieder geval sterke songs die doen verlangn naar méér.

En het gaat inderdaad in dezelfde stijl verder met When I Learned To Crawl. Melodieus, een snedig tempo met een niét te gepolijst kantje. Het klinkt allemaal wel clean (compliment voor mixing en productie), maar blijft genoeg rocken om niet té poppy te zijn. Niét dat we daar ook maar iéts op tegen hebben, met songs van dit niveau.

En dan tijd voor een uitnodigende portie shoegaze van de beste soort. Zweverig, psychedelisch gitaarwerk met de nodige effecten. Bedwelmend bijna. De zang blijft een constante, maar muzikaal krijgen we leuke variaties. Untouchable zijn ze (nog) niet, maar de status van de gelijnamige song is boven de standaard. Het start ingetogen, maar zwelt op na een goede twee minuten om zo naar een apotheose te gaan. Frontman, bassist én zanger Fernando Honorato haalt het maximale uit zijn stem en dat is er ook één van formaat. We kregen al darkpop en shoegaze, de postpunk wordt uitgepakt met No Time. Samengesteld uit kurkdroog drumwerk , een stevige baslijn en eerder gepijnigd gitaarwerk. No Reason Why en Monsters Of The Sea nemen ons in hun geveinsde rust naar het einde van deze goede CD.

De Zweden hebben goed geluisterd naar de goéde voorbeelden en hun geluid is eerder poppy, maar toch nog met een donker randje. Genietbaar? Jazeker. De band speelt zelfverzekerd en trekt geregeld alle registers open, waardoor elk nummer genietbaar is én blijft.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2017


 

Next reviews
XOSAR • Xymeria
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?