tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2017 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Oceans

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Oceans

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

afmusic
13/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Emanating from Sweden is the new CD of Principe Valiente. Active since 2005 this band can be described as darkpop, although there also is a large portion of postpunk and shoegaze to be found. Oceans contains 8 songs.

Opener Wildest Flowers made me believe I had inadvertently loaded a U2 CD... I don't want to offend anyone but structure, sound and guitars could have been from the good old days of U2. The same goes for Running Juveniles. At least strong songs that make you want to hear more.

And indeed it continues in the same style with When I Learned To Crawl. Melodic, with a sharp pace and not too polished. It all sounds clean (compliments for mixing and production), but still rocky enough not to be too poppy. Not that we have something against that with songs of this level.

It is time for an inviting portion of shoegaze of the best kind. Floating psychedelic guitars with plenty of effects. Almost intoxicating. The vocals stay constant but musically we get some nice variations. Untouchable ? Not yet, but the status of the song with that name is above standard. The start is rather subdued but swells after about 2 minutes to lead to the apotheosis. Frontman, bass player and singer Fernando Honorato manages to get the maximum from his voice. And what a voice he has! We already had darkpop and shoegaze, now we get postpunk in No Time. Composed from bonedry drumbeats, a firm bassline and rather pained guitars. No Reason Why and Monsters Of The Sea, with their hypocritical calm, take us to the end of this great CD.

The Swedes had a good listen to the right examples and their sound is more poppy, but still with a dark edge. To be enjoyed? Yes, certainly. The band plays with confidence and regularly gives it it's all, which makes and keeps every song a joy to listen to.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2017


NL

Vanuit Zweden komt de nieuwe CD van Principe Valiente aangewaaid. De band is actief van 2005 en kan je als darkpop omschrijven, hoewel er ook een stevige porttie postpunk en shoegaze te ontwaren is. Oceans telt 8 songs.

De opener is Wildest Flowers. Ik wil niemand affronteren, maar ik dacht een CD van U2 in mijn CD-lader te hebben gestopt. Qua opbouw, geluid en gitaarwerk kon het zo uit de good old days van U2 komen. Zo ook Running Juveniles. In ieder geval sterke songs die doen verlangn naar méér.

En het gaat inderdaad in dezelfde stijl verder met When I Learned To Crawl. Melodieus, een snedig tempo met een niét te gepolijst kantje. Het klinkt allemaal wel clean (compliment voor mixing en productie), maar blijft genoeg rocken om niet té poppy te zijn. Niét dat we daar ook maar iéts op tegen hebben, met songs van dit niveau.

En dan tijd voor een uitnodigende portie shoegaze van de beste soort. Zweverig, psychedelisch gitaarwerk met de nodige effecten. Bedwelmend bijna. De zang blijft een constante, maar muzikaal krijgen we leuke variaties. Untouchable zijn ze (nog) niet, maar de status van de gelijnamige song is boven de standaard. Het start ingetogen, maar zwelt op na een goede twee minuten om zo naar een apotheose te gaan. Frontman, bassist én zanger Fernando Honorato haalt het maximale uit zijn stem en dat is er ook één van formaat. We kregen al darkpop en shoegaze, de postpunk wordt uitgepakt met No Time. Samengesteld uit kurkdroog drumwerk , een stevige baslijn en eerder gepijnigd gitaarwerk. No Reason Why en Monsters Of The Sea nemen ons in hun geveinsde rust naar het einde van deze goede CD.

De Zweden hebben goed geluisterd naar de goéde voorbeelden en hun geluid is eerder poppy, maar toch nog met een donker randje. Genietbaar? Jazeker. De band speelt zelfverzekerd en trekt geregeld alle registers open, waardoor elk nummer genietbaar is én blijft.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2017


 

Next reviews
XOSAR • Xymeria
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
WHISPERING SONS • Endless Party

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis