tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2017 : PRINCIPE VALIENTE - Oceans

PRINCIPE VALIENTE

Oceans

MusicCD
Post PunkShoegaze

[83/100]   

afmusic
13/06/2017, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Emanating from Sweden is the new CD of Principe Valiente. Active since 2005 this band can be described as darkpop, although there also is a large portion of postpunk and shoegaze to be found. Oceans contains 8 songs.

Opener Wildest Flowers made me believe I had inadvertently loaded a U2 CD... I don't want to offend anyone but structure, sound and guitars could have been from the good old days of U2. The same goes for Running Juveniles. At least strong songs that make you want to hear more.

And indeed it continues in the same style with When I Learned To Crawl. Melodic, with a sharp pace and not too polished. It all sounds clean (compliments for mixing and production), but still rocky enough not to be too poppy. Not that we have something against that with songs of this level.

It is time for an inviting portion of shoegaze of the best kind. Floating psychedelic guitars with plenty of effects. Almost intoxicating. The vocals stay constant but musically we get some nice variations. Untouchable ? Not yet, but the status of the song with that name is above standard. The start is rather subdued but swells after about 2 minutes to lead to the apotheosis. Frontman, bass player and singer Fernando Honorato manages to get the maximum from his voice. And what a voice he has! We already had darkpop and shoegaze, now we get postpunk in No Time. Composed from bonedry drumbeats, a firm bassline and rather pained guitars. No Reason Why and Monsters Of The Sea, with their hypocritical calm, take us to the end of this great CD.

The Swedes had a good listen to the right examples and their sound is more poppy, but still with a dark edge. To be enjoyed? Yes, certainly. The band plays with confidence and regularly gives it it's all, which makes and keeps every song a joy to listen to.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2017


NL

Vanuit Zweden komt de nieuwe CD van Principe Valiente aangewaaid. De band is actief van 2005 en kan je als darkpop omschrijven, hoewel er ook een stevige porttie postpunk en shoegaze te ontwaren is. Oceans telt 8 songs.

De opener is Wildest Flowers. Ik wil niemand affronteren, maar ik dacht een CD van U2 in mijn CD-lader te hebben gestopt. Qua opbouw, geluid en gitaarwerk kon het zo uit de good old days van U2 komen. Zo ook Running Juveniles. In ieder geval sterke songs die doen verlangn naar méér.

En het gaat inderdaad in dezelfde stijl verder met When I Learned To Crawl. Melodieus, een snedig tempo met een niét te gepolijst kantje. Het klinkt allemaal wel clean (compliment voor mixing en productie), maar blijft genoeg rocken om niet té poppy te zijn. Niét dat we daar ook maar iéts op tegen hebben, met songs van dit niveau.

En dan tijd voor een uitnodigende portie shoegaze van de beste soort. Zweverig, psychedelisch gitaarwerk met de nodige effecten. Bedwelmend bijna. De zang blijft een constante, maar muzikaal krijgen we leuke variaties. Untouchable zijn ze (nog) niet, maar de status van de gelijnamige song is boven de standaard. Het start ingetogen, maar zwelt op na een goede twee minuten om zo naar een apotheose te gaan. Frontman, bassist én zanger Fernando Honorato haalt het maximale uit zijn stem en dat is er ook één van formaat. We kregen al darkpop en shoegaze, de postpunk wordt uitgepakt met No Time. Samengesteld uit kurkdroog drumwerk , een stevige baslijn en eerder gepijnigd gitaarwerk. No Reason Why en Monsters Of The Sea nemen ons in hun geveinsde rust naar het einde van deze goede CD.

De Zweden hebben goed geluisterd naar de goéde voorbeelden en hun geluid is eerder poppy, maar toch nog met een donker randje. Genietbaar? Jazeker. De band speelt zelfverzekerd en trekt geregeld alle registers open, waardoor elk nummer genietbaar is én blijft.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2017


 

Next reviews
XOSAR • Xymeria
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
IKON • Everyone, Everything, Everywhere Ends
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
DIRK DA DAVO • Protest EP
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
WOLFHOUNDS • Untied Kingdom
FIXMER / MCCARTHY • Chemicals
PPM • Victims Of Our Own Efficiency

 

Other reviews from PRINCIPE VALIENTE
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Principe Valiente

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)