tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DIIV - Is The Is Are

DIIV

Is The Is Are

MusicCD
IndiePost PunkShoegaze

[84/100]   

Captured Tracks
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

DIIV is the American indie rock band of frontman Zachary Cole Smith. He has got the looks of Kurt Cobain, but his guitar play rather reminds me of Robert Smith of The Cure. Is The Is Are is the long awaited successor of Oshin, the debut from 2012. In interviews that appeared shortly after Oshin, Zachary Cole Smith said that he had numerous songs ready for the follow-up, but we had to wait until February 2016 for the sophomore album Is The Is Are.

Since Oshin, the Brooklyn based band came in the press for all the wrong reasons. Z.C. Smith and his girlfriend Sky Ferreira were arrested for possession of heroine, bass guitarist Devin Ruben Perez posted some homophobic, racist and sexist comments on a chat room, drummer Colby Hewitt left the band because of drug issues, etc. But the long waiting is rewarded. Is The Is Are counts 17 tracks, good for over one hour of music.

The seemingly cheerful single Under The Sun is catchy and melodic. Bent (Roi’s Song) is a beautiful track, filled with junkie’s grief. The propulsive Dopamine also deals about heroine.

Another highlight is Blue Bordeom. Sky Ferreira’s semi-parlando reminds me of Kim Gordon’s. Mire (Grant’s Song) is also reminiscent of Sonic Youth, but this time because of the abundant feedback.

Dust is crossed and nihilistic post-punk, deliciously sarcastic. The noisy Incarnate Devil reminds me of My Bloody Valentine. The album ends in style with the dark slow and ominous Waste Of Breathe.

Is The Is Are is alternately cheerful and sad, loud and silent, poppy and noisy, dreamy and chaotic. Atlthough Is The Is Are is a varied album, it should have been shorter. Then this good album, could have been fantastic. Anyway, it’s worthwhile.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

DIIV is de Amerikaanse band van frontman Zachary Cole Smith. Qua uiterlijk lijkt hij wat op Kurt Cobain, maar het Smiths-achtige gitaarspel herinnert me eerder aan dat van zijn naamgenoot Robert Smith van The Cure. Is The Is Are is de langverwachte opvolger van het goed ontvangen debuut Oshin uit 2012. In interviews die verschenen kort na Oshin gaf Zachary Cole Smith al aan dat hij tal van songs klaar had voor de opvolger, toch was het wachten tot februari 2016.

Sinds het debuut Oshin, kwam de band uit Brooklyn vooral wegens de verkeerde redenen in de pers. Z.C. Smith en zijn vriendin Sky Ferreira werden opgepakt wegens heroïnebezit, bassist Devin Ruben Perez kwam in opspraak na het posten van homofobe, racistische en sexistische commentaren op een chatroom, drummer Colby Hewitt stapte op wegens drugsproblemen, etc. Maar het lange wachten is beloond. Is The Is Are is goed voor ruim één uur muziek, maar liefst 17 tracks.

De schijnbaar opgewekte single Under The Sun is melodisch en catchy. Bent (Roi’s Song) is een prachtige song vol junkieverdriet. Ook het voortstuwende Dopamine handelt ook over heroïne.

Een ander hoogtepunt is Blue Boredom. Sky Ferreiras semi-parlando herinnert me aan Kim Gordon. Ook Mire (Grant’s Song) doet aan Sonic Youth denken, maar dan wegens de weelderige feedback.

Dust is nihilistische, nijdige post-punk, heerlijk sarcastisch. Het noisy Incarnate Devil refereert aan My Bloody Valentine. Het album eindigt in stijl met het slepende donkere en dreigende Waste Of Breath.

Is The is Are is afwisselend opgewekt en triest, luid en stil, poppy en noisy, dromerig en chaotisch… Hoewel Is The Is Are een gevarieerde plaat is, had ze iets korter en gebalder mogen zijn. Dan had deze sowieso sterke plaat schitterend kunnen zijn. Hoe dan ook de moeite waard.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa