tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : DIIV - Is The Is Are

DIIV

Is The Is Are

MusicCD
IndiePost PunkShoegaze

[84/100]   

Captured Tracks
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

DIIV is the American indie rock band of frontman Zachary Cole Smith. He has got the looks of Kurt Cobain, but his guitar play rather reminds me of Robert Smith of The Cure. Is The Is Are is the long awaited successor of Oshin, the debut from 2012. In interviews that appeared shortly after Oshin, Zachary Cole Smith said that he had numerous songs ready for the follow-up, but we had to wait until February 2016 for the sophomore album Is The Is Are.

Since Oshin, the Brooklyn based band came in the press for all the wrong reasons. Z.C. Smith and his girlfriend Sky Ferreira were arrested for possession of heroine, bass guitarist Devin Ruben Perez posted some homophobic, racist and sexist comments on a chat room, drummer Colby Hewitt left the band because of drug issues, etc. But the long waiting is rewarded. Is The Is Are counts 17 tracks, good for over one hour of music.

The seemingly cheerful single Under The Sun is catchy and melodic. Bent (Roi’s Song) is a beautiful track, filled with junkie’s grief. The propulsive Dopamine also deals about heroine.

Another highlight is Blue Bordeom. Sky Ferreira’s semi-parlando reminds me of Kim Gordon’s. Mire (Grant’s Song) is also reminiscent of Sonic Youth, but this time because of the abundant feedback.

Dust is crossed and nihilistic post-punk, deliciously sarcastic. The noisy Incarnate Devil reminds me of My Bloody Valentine. The album ends in style with the dark slow and ominous Waste Of Breathe.

Is The Is Are is alternately cheerful and sad, loud and silent, poppy and noisy, dreamy and chaotic. Atlthough Is The Is Are is a varied album, it should have been shorter. Then this good album, could have been fantastic. Anyway, it’s worthwhile.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

DIIV is de Amerikaanse band van frontman Zachary Cole Smith. Qua uiterlijk lijkt hij wat op Kurt Cobain, maar het Smiths-achtige gitaarspel herinnert me eerder aan dat van zijn naamgenoot Robert Smith van The Cure. Is The Is Are is de langverwachte opvolger van het goed ontvangen debuut Oshin uit 2012. In interviews die verschenen kort na Oshin gaf Zachary Cole Smith al aan dat hij tal van songs klaar had voor de opvolger, toch was het wachten tot februari 2016.

Sinds het debuut Oshin, kwam de band uit Brooklyn vooral wegens de verkeerde redenen in de pers. Z.C. Smith en zijn vriendin Sky Ferreira werden opgepakt wegens heroïnebezit, bassist Devin Ruben Perez kwam in opspraak na het posten van homofobe, racistische en sexistische commentaren op een chatroom, drummer Colby Hewitt stapte op wegens drugsproblemen, etc. Maar het lange wachten is beloond. Is The Is Are is goed voor ruim één uur muziek, maar liefst 17 tracks.

De schijnbaar opgewekte single Under The Sun is melodisch en catchy. Bent (Roi’s Song) is een prachtige song vol junkieverdriet. Ook het voortstuwende Dopamine handelt ook over heroïne.

Een ander hoogtepunt is Blue Boredom. Sky Ferreiras semi-parlando herinnert me aan Kim Gordon. Ook Mire (Grant’s Song) doet aan Sonic Youth denken, maar dan wegens de weelderige feedback.

Dust is nihilistische, nijdige post-punk, heerlijk sarcastisch. Het noisy Incarnate Devil refereert aan My Bloody Valentine. Het album eindigt in stijl met het slepende donkere en dreigende Waste Of Breath.

Is The is Are is afwisselend opgewekt en triest, luid en stil, poppy en noisy, dromerig en chaotisch… Hoewel Is The Is Are een gevarieerde plaat is, had ze iets korter en gebalder mogen zijn. Dan had deze sowieso sterke plaat schitterend kunnen zijn. Hoe dan ook de moeite waard.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
THE KVB • Of Desire

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

18
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
THE HORRORIST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
XOTOX
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
18
12
ELM
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

18
12
FRONT 242
Headhunter (Live @ AB, Brussels 01.12.2017)
17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One