tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DIIV - Is The Is Are

DIIV

Is The Is Are

MusicCD
IndiePost PunkShoegaze

[84/100]   

Captured Tracks
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

DIIV is the American indie rock band of frontman Zachary Cole Smith. He has got the looks of Kurt Cobain, but his guitar play rather reminds me of Robert Smith of The Cure. Is The Is Are is the long awaited successor of Oshin, the debut from 2012. In interviews that appeared shortly after Oshin, Zachary Cole Smith said that he had numerous songs ready for the follow-up, but we had to wait until February 2016 for the sophomore album Is The Is Are.

Since Oshin, the Brooklyn based band came in the press for all the wrong reasons. Z.C. Smith and his girlfriend Sky Ferreira were arrested for possession of heroine, bass guitarist Devin Ruben Perez posted some homophobic, racist and sexist comments on a chat room, drummer Colby Hewitt left the band because of drug issues, etc. But the long waiting is rewarded. Is The Is Are counts 17 tracks, good for over one hour of music.

The seemingly cheerful single Under The Sun is catchy and melodic. Bent (Roi’s Song) is a beautiful track, filled with junkie’s grief. The propulsive Dopamine also deals about heroine.

Another highlight is Blue Bordeom. Sky Ferreira’s semi-parlando reminds me of Kim Gordon’s. Mire (Grant’s Song) is also reminiscent of Sonic Youth, but this time because of the abundant feedback.

Dust is crossed and nihilistic post-punk, deliciously sarcastic. The noisy Incarnate Devil reminds me of My Bloody Valentine. The album ends in style with the dark slow and ominous Waste Of Breathe.

Is The Is Are is alternately cheerful and sad, loud and silent, poppy and noisy, dreamy and chaotic. Atlthough Is The Is Are is a varied album, it should have been shorter. Then this good album, could have been fantastic. Anyway, it’s worthwhile.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

DIIV is de Amerikaanse band van frontman Zachary Cole Smith. Qua uiterlijk lijkt hij wat op Kurt Cobain, maar het Smiths-achtige gitaarspel herinnert me eerder aan dat van zijn naamgenoot Robert Smith van The Cure. Is The Is Are is de langverwachte opvolger van het goed ontvangen debuut Oshin uit 2012. In interviews die verschenen kort na Oshin gaf Zachary Cole Smith al aan dat hij tal van songs klaar had voor de opvolger, toch was het wachten tot februari 2016.

Sinds het debuut Oshin, kwam de band uit Brooklyn vooral wegens de verkeerde redenen in de pers. Z.C. Smith en zijn vriendin Sky Ferreira werden opgepakt wegens heroïnebezit, bassist Devin Ruben Perez kwam in opspraak na het posten van homofobe, racistische en sexistische commentaren op een chatroom, drummer Colby Hewitt stapte op wegens drugsproblemen, etc. Maar het lange wachten is beloond. Is The Is Are is goed voor ruim één uur muziek, maar liefst 17 tracks.

De schijnbaar opgewekte single Under The Sun is melodisch en catchy. Bent (Roi’s Song) is een prachtige song vol junkieverdriet. Ook het voortstuwende Dopamine handelt ook over heroïne.

Een ander hoogtepunt is Blue Boredom. Sky Ferreiras semi-parlando herinnert me aan Kim Gordon. Ook Mire (Grant’s Song) doet aan Sonic Youth denken, maar dan wegens de weelderige feedback.

Dust is nihilistische, nijdige post-punk, heerlijk sarcastisch. Het noisy Incarnate Devil refereert aan My Bloody Valentine. Het album eindigt in stijl met het slepende donkere en dreigende Waste Of Breath.

Is The is Are is afwisselend opgewekt en triest, luid en stil, poppy en noisy, dromerig en chaotisch… Hoewel Is The Is Are een gevarieerde plaat is, had ze iets korter en gebalder mogen zijn. Dan had deze sowieso sterke plaat schitterend kunnen zijn. Hoe dan ook de moeite waard.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still

 

Same genre: INDIE
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

Music reviews

24
04
THE MEMBRANES
What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
DECODED FEEDBACK
Waiting For The Storm
23
04
AEX
Selected Memories
22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline