tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DIIV - Is The Is Are

DIIV

Is The Is Are

MusicCD
IndiePost PunkShoegaze

[84/100]   

Captured Tracks
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

DIIV is the American indie rock band of frontman Zachary Cole Smith. He has got the looks of Kurt Cobain, but his guitar play rather reminds me of Robert Smith of The Cure. Is The Is Are is the long awaited successor of Oshin, the debut from 2012. In interviews that appeared shortly after Oshin, Zachary Cole Smith said that he had numerous songs ready for the follow-up, but we had to wait until February 2016 for the sophomore album Is The Is Are.

Since Oshin, the Brooklyn based band came in the press for all the wrong reasons. Z.C. Smith and his girlfriend Sky Ferreira were arrested for possession of heroine, bass guitarist Devin Ruben Perez posted some homophobic, racist and sexist comments on a chat room, drummer Colby Hewitt left the band because of drug issues, etc. But the long waiting is rewarded. Is The Is Are counts 17 tracks, good for over one hour of music.

The seemingly cheerful single Under The Sun is catchy and melodic. Bent (Roi’s Song) is a beautiful track, filled with junkie’s grief. The propulsive Dopamine also deals about heroine.

Another highlight is Blue Bordeom. Sky Ferreira’s semi-parlando reminds me of Kim Gordon’s. Mire (Grant’s Song) is also reminiscent of Sonic Youth, but this time because of the abundant feedback.

Dust is crossed and nihilistic post-punk, deliciously sarcastic. The noisy Incarnate Devil reminds me of My Bloody Valentine. The album ends in style with the dark slow and ominous Waste Of Breathe.

Is The Is Are is alternately cheerful and sad, loud and silent, poppy and noisy, dreamy and chaotic. Atlthough Is The Is Are is a varied album, it should have been shorter. Then this good album, could have been fantastic. Anyway, it’s worthwhile.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

DIIV is de Amerikaanse band van frontman Zachary Cole Smith. Qua uiterlijk lijkt hij wat op Kurt Cobain, maar het Smiths-achtige gitaarspel herinnert me eerder aan dat van zijn naamgenoot Robert Smith van The Cure. Is The Is Are is de langverwachte opvolger van het goed ontvangen debuut Oshin uit 2012. In interviews die verschenen kort na Oshin gaf Zachary Cole Smith al aan dat hij tal van songs klaar had voor de opvolger, toch was het wachten tot februari 2016.

Sinds het debuut Oshin, kwam de band uit Brooklyn vooral wegens de verkeerde redenen in de pers. Z.C. Smith en zijn vriendin Sky Ferreira werden opgepakt wegens heroïnebezit, bassist Devin Ruben Perez kwam in opspraak na het posten van homofobe, racistische en sexistische commentaren op een chatroom, drummer Colby Hewitt stapte op wegens drugsproblemen, etc. Maar het lange wachten is beloond. Is The Is Are is goed voor ruim één uur muziek, maar liefst 17 tracks.

De schijnbaar opgewekte single Under The Sun is melodisch en catchy. Bent (Roi’s Song) is een prachtige song vol junkieverdriet. Ook het voortstuwende Dopamine handelt ook over heroïne.

Een ander hoogtepunt is Blue Boredom. Sky Ferreiras semi-parlando herinnert me aan Kim Gordon. Ook Mire (Grant’s Song) doet aan Sonic Youth denken, maar dan wegens de weelderige feedback.

Dust is nihilistische, nijdige post-punk, heerlijk sarcastisch. Het noisy Incarnate Devil refereert aan My Bloody Valentine. Het album eindigt in stijl met het slepende donkere en dreigende Waste Of Breath.

Is The is Are is afwisselend opgewekt en triest, luid en stil, poppy en noisy, dromerig en chaotisch… Hoewel Is The Is Are een gevarieerde plaat is, had ze iets korter en gebalder mogen zijn. Dan had deze sowieso sterke plaat schitterend kunnen zijn. Hoe dan ook de moeite waard.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space

Music reviews

20
02
UNIDENTIFIED MAN
Memento Mori
17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
02
Blutengel releases new album UN:GOT!
18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
02
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO - BEAUTY IN CHAOS
'I am forever indebted to everyone involved in Beauty In Chaos. We are friends, and now family with what we all created'.
19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
21
02
AGNES OBEL
Familiar
20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!