tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DIIV - Is The Is Are

DIIV

Is The Is Are

MusicCD
IndiePost PunkShoegaze

[84/100]   

Captured Tracks
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

DIIV is the American indie rock band of frontman Zachary Cole Smith. He has got the looks of Kurt Cobain, but his guitar play rather reminds me of Robert Smith of The Cure. Is The Is Are is the long awaited successor of Oshin, the debut from 2012. In interviews that appeared shortly after Oshin, Zachary Cole Smith said that he had numerous songs ready for the follow-up, but we had to wait until February 2016 for the sophomore album Is The Is Are.

Since Oshin, the Brooklyn based band came in the press for all the wrong reasons. Z.C. Smith and his girlfriend Sky Ferreira were arrested for possession of heroine, bass guitarist Devin Ruben Perez posted some homophobic, racist and sexist comments on a chat room, drummer Colby Hewitt left the band because of drug issues, etc. But the long waiting is rewarded. Is The Is Are counts 17 tracks, good for over one hour of music.

The seemingly cheerful single Under The Sun is catchy and melodic. Bent (Roi’s Song) is a beautiful track, filled with junkie’s grief. The propulsive Dopamine also deals about heroine.

Another highlight is Blue Bordeom. Sky Ferreira’s semi-parlando reminds me of Kim Gordon’s. Mire (Grant’s Song) is also reminiscent of Sonic Youth, but this time because of the abundant feedback.

Dust is crossed and nihilistic post-punk, deliciously sarcastic. The noisy Incarnate Devil reminds me of My Bloody Valentine. The album ends in style with the dark slow and ominous Waste Of Breathe.

Is The Is Are is alternately cheerful and sad, loud and silent, poppy and noisy, dreamy and chaotic. Atlthough Is The Is Are is a varied album, it should have been shorter. Then this good album, could have been fantastic. Anyway, it’s worthwhile.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


NL

DIIV is de Amerikaanse band van frontman Zachary Cole Smith. Qua uiterlijk lijkt hij wat op Kurt Cobain, maar het Smiths-achtige gitaarspel herinnert me eerder aan dat van zijn naamgenoot Robert Smith van The Cure. Is The Is Are is de langverwachte opvolger van het goed ontvangen debuut Oshin uit 2012. In interviews die verschenen kort na Oshin gaf Zachary Cole Smith al aan dat hij tal van songs klaar had voor de opvolger, toch was het wachten tot februari 2016.

Sinds het debuut Oshin, kwam de band uit Brooklyn vooral wegens de verkeerde redenen in de pers. Z.C. Smith en zijn vriendin Sky Ferreira werden opgepakt wegens heroïnebezit, bassist Devin Ruben Perez kwam in opspraak na het posten van homofobe, racistische en sexistische commentaren op een chatroom, drummer Colby Hewitt stapte op wegens drugsproblemen, etc. Maar het lange wachten is beloond. Is The Is Are is goed voor ruim één uur muziek, maar liefst 17 tracks.

De schijnbaar opgewekte single Under The Sun is melodisch en catchy. Bent (Roi’s Song) is een prachtige song vol junkieverdriet. Ook het voortstuwende Dopamine handelt ook over heroïne.

Een ander hoogtepunt is Blue Boredom. Sky Ferreiras semi-parlando herinnert me aan Kim Gordon. Ook Mire (Grant’s Song) doet aan Sonic Youth denken, maar dan wegens de weelderige feedback.

Dust is nihilistische, nijdige post-punk, heerlijk sarcastisch. Het noisy Incarnate Devil refereert aan My Bloody Valentine. Het album eindigt in stijl met het slepende donkere en dreigende Waste Of Breath.

Is The is Are is afwisselend opgewekt en triest, luid en stil, poppy en noisy, dromerig en chaotisch… Hoewel Is The Is Are een gevarieerde plaat is, had ze iets korter en gebalder mogen zijn. Dan had deze sowieso sterke plaat schitterend kunnen zijn. Hoe dan ook de moeite waard.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KOTZE IM EINKAUFSWAGEN • Wunderschön und Unverfälscht
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
THE WEYERS • Beep Beep Beep
THE CHAMELEONS • Strange Times
WILD NOTHING • Life of Pause
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • London, The Garage (14/03/2016)
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
CREMATORY • Monument
PARRALOX • Wildlife
HELFIR • Still Bleeding

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ELECTRAFIXION • Burned
THE BOXER REBELLION • The cold still

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection