tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : CREMATORY - Monument

CREMATORY

Monument

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[82/100]   

SPV
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I always had a love-hate relationship with metal. Do not ask me why, but if there is one metal band that I'm hopelessly in love with, then it is Crematory. Some metal heads don’t like it, others fall on their knees for the melancholic goth metal of these Germans, that is often dominated by the melodic synths of Katrin Jüllich.

The newest (and thirteenth!) CD is called Monument and that’s a perfect title, simply because this year the Germans celebrate their 25th anniversary. It was not an easy task, because due to personal reasons, singer and guitarist Matthias Hechler left the band after 17 years. He was replaced by two musicians: Tosse Basler and Rolf Munkes.

But the recognizable voice of Felix Stass is still there, just as drummer Markus Jüllich. Monument has become a very varied record. My Love Within is a typical Crematory song in which clean vocals are interspersed with grunts. The songs which are sung in German (Die Letzte Schlacht and Falsche Tränen), have a Neue Deutsche Härte style, but you also find a goth epic on the album (Haus Mit Garten). The band from Mannheim regularly returns to its old sound (brutal guitar riffs, melancholic synths and an alternation between grunts and clean vocals), like on Eiskalt or Die So Soon that opens with superb 80's synths. Talking about the 80s, you even hear old 80's metal (Ravens Calling and Everything).

After all this time, Crematory has nothing to prove anymore, except perhaps the fact that the band still delivers excellent work, and that's what Crematory does on the album Monument. No there is nothing new here, but who cares?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Met metal heb ik steeds een liefde-haatverhouding gehad. Vraag me niet waarom, maar als er één metalband is waaraan ik hopeloos mijn hart heb verpand, dan is dat het Duitse Crematory. Bij sommige metalheads is deze legende niet al te geliefd, anderen vallen dan weer op hun knieën voor de typische melancholische gothmetal die vaak wordt overheerst door de melodieuze synths van Katrin Jüllich.

De nieuwste (en dertiende!) cd heet Monument en dat is een titel die niet zo maar gekozen is, want dit jaar vieren de Duitsers hun 25e verjaardag. Een gemakkelijke taak was het niet, want om privéredenen verliet zanger en gitarist Matthias Hechler na 17 jaar de band en werd vervangen door twee mensen: Tosse Basler en Rolf Munkes.

De herkenbare stem van Felix Stass is er nog steeds, net als drummer Markus Jüllich. Monument is een zeer gevarieerde plaat. My Love Within is zo’n typisch Crematory-lied waarin cleane vocals met grunts worden afgewisseld. De in het Duits gezongen tracks (Die Letzte Schlacht en Falsche Tränen) gaan in de richting van de Neue Deutsche Härte, maar je vindt op deze nieuweling eveneens een gothepos (Haus Mit Garten). De band uit Mannheim keert ook regelmatig naar zijn oude geluid terug: brutale gitaarriffs, melancholische synths en een afwisseling tussen grunts en cleane vocals, zoals op Eiskalt of Die So Soon met 80s-synths zonder dat die retro of gedateerd klinken. Op Monument zal je zelfs wat ouderwetse 80s-metal ontdekken (Ravens Calling en Everything).

Crematory hoeft na al die tijd niets meer te bewijzen, hooguit dat men het nog steeds kan. En dat doet deze band op Monument. Niks nieuws onder de zon, maar Crematory is het soort groep waarvan je dat ook niet zou verlangen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell