tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : CREMATORY - Monument

CREMATORY

Monument

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[82/100]   

SPV
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I always had a love-hate relationship with metal. Do not ask me why, but if there is one metal band that I'm hopelessly in love with, then it is Crematory. Some metal heads don’t like it, others fall on their knees for the melancholic goth metal of these Germans, that is often dominated by the melodic synths of Katrin Jüllich.

The newest (and thirteenth!) CD is called Monument and that’s a perfect title, simply because this year the Germans celebrate their 25th anniversary. It was not an easy task, because due to personal reasons, singer and guitarist Matthias Hechler left the band after 17 years. He was replaced by two musicians: Tosse Basler and Rolf Munkes.

But the recognizable voice of Felix Stass is still there, just as drummer Markus Jüllich. Monument has become a very varied record. My Love Within is a typical Crematory song in which clean vocals are interspersed with grunts. The songs which are sung in German (Die Letzte Schlacht and Falsche Tränen), have a Neue Deutsche Härte style, but you also find a goth epic on the album (Haus Mit Garten). The band from Mannheim regularly returns to its old sound (brutal guitar riffs, melancholic synths and an alternation between grunts and clean vocals), like on Eiskalt or Die So Soon that opens with superb 80's synths. Talking about the 80s, you even hear old 80's metal (Ravens Calling and Everything).

After all this time, Crematory has nothing to prove anymore, except perhaps the fact that the band still delivers excellent work, and that's what Crematory does on the album Monument. No there is nothing new here, but who cares?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Met metal heb ik steeds een liefde-haatverhouding gehad. Vraag me niet waarom, maar als er één metalband is waaraan ik hopeloos mijn hart heb verpand, dan is dat het Duitse Crematory. Bij sommige metalheads is deze legende niet al te geliefd, anderen vallen dan weer op hun knieën voor de typische melancholische gothmetal die vaak wordt overheerst door de melodieuze synths van Katrin Jüllich.

De nieuwste (en dertiende!) cd heet Monument en dat is een titel die niet zo maar gekozen is, want dit jaar vieren de Duitsers hun 25e verjaardag. Een gemakkelijke taak was het niet, want om privéredenen verliet zanger en gitarist Matthias Hechler na 17 jaar de band en werd vervangen door twee mensen: Tosse Basler en Rolf Munkes.

De herkenbare stem van Felix Stass is er nog steeds, net als drummer Markus Jüllich. Monument is een zeer gevarieerde plaat. My Love Within is zo’n typisch Crematory-lied waarin cleane vocals met grunts worden afgewisseld. De in het Duits gezongen tracks (Die Letzte Schlacht en Falsche Tränen) gaan in de richting van de Neue Deutsche Härte, maar je vindt op deze nieuweling eveneens een gothepos (Haus Mit Garten). De band uit Mannheim keert ook regelmatig naar zijn oude geluid terug: brutale gitaarriffs, melancholische synths en een afwisseling tussen grunts en cleane vocals, zoals op Eiskalt of Die So Soon met 80s-synths zonder dat die retro of gedateerd klinken. Op Monument zal je zelfs wat ouderwetse 80s-metal ontdekken (Ravens Calling en Everything).

Crematory hoeft na al die tijd niets meer te bewijzen, hooguit dat men het nog steeds kan. En dat doet deze band op Monument. Niks nieuws onder de zon, maar Crematory is het soort groep waarvan je dat ook niet zou verlangen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love