tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : CREMATORY - Monument

CREMATORY

Monument

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[82/100]   

SPV
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

I always had a love-hate relationship with metal. Do not ask me why, but if there is one metal band that I'm hopelessly in love with, then it is Crematory. Some metal heads don’t like it, others fall on their knees for the melancholic goth metal of these Germans, that is often dominated by the melodic synths of Katrin Jüllich.

The newest (and thirteenth!) CD is called Monument and that’s a perfect title, simply because this year the Germans celebrate their 25th anniversary. It was not an easy task, because due to personal reasons, singer and guitarist Matthias Hechler left the band after 17 years. He was replaced by two musicians: Tosse Basler and Rolf Munkes.

But the recognizable voice of Felix Stass is still there, just as drummer Markus Jüllich. Monument has become a very varied record. My Love Within is a typical Crematory song in which clean vocals are interspersed with grunts. The songs which are sung in German (Die Letzte Schlacht and Falsche Tränen), have a Neue Deutsche Härte style, but you also find a goth epic on the album (Haus Mit Garten). The band from Mannheim regularly returns to its old sound (brutal guitar riffs, melancholic synths and an alternation between grunts and clean vocals), like on Eiskalt or Die So Soon that opens with superb 80's synths. Talking about the 80s, you even hear old 80's metal (Ravens Calling and Everything).

After all this time, Crematory has nothing to prove anymore, except perhaps the fact that the band still delivers excellent work, and that's what Crematory does on the album Monument. No there is nothing new here, but who cares?

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Met metal heb ik steeds een liefde-haatverhouding gehad. Vraag me niet waarom, maar als er één metalband is waaraan ik hopeloos mijn hart heb verpand, dan is dat het Duitse Crematory. Bij sommige metalheads is deze legende niet al te geliefd, anderen vallen dan weer op hun knieën voor de typische melancholische gothmetal die vaak wordt overheerst door de melodieuze synths van Katrin Jüllich.

De nieuwste (en dertiende!) cd heet Monument en dat is een titel die niet zo maar gekozen is, want dit jaar vieren de Duitsers hun 25e verjaardag. Een gemakkelijke taak was het niet, want om privéredenen verliet zanger en gitarist Matthias Hechler na 17 jaar de band en werd vervangen door twee mensen: Tosse Basler en Rolf Munkes.

De herkenbare stem van Felix Stass is er nog steeds, net als drummer Markus Jüllich. Monument is een zeer gevarieerde plaat. My Love Within is zo’n typisch Crematory-lied waarin cleane vocals met grunts worden afgewisseld. De in het Duits gezongen tracks (Die Letzte Schlacht en Falsche Tränen) gaan in de richting van de Neue Deutsche Härte, maar je vindt op deze nieuweling eveneens een gothepos (Haus Mit Garten). De band uit Mannheim keert ook regelmatig naar zijn oude geluid terug: brutale gitaarriffs, melancholische synths en een afwisseling tussen grunts en cleane vocals, zoals op Eiskalt of Die So Soon met 80s-synths zonder dat die retro of gedateerd klinken. Op Monument zal je zelfs wat ouderwetse 80s-metal ontdekken (Ravens Calling en Everything).

Crematory hoeft na al die tijd niets meer te bewijzen, hooguit dat men het nog steeds kan. En dat doet deze band op Monument. Niks nieuws onder de zon, maar Crematory is het soort groep waarvan je dat ook niet zou verlangen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On