tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/04/2014 : CREMATORY - Antiserum

CREMATORY

Antiserum

MusicCD
Electro RockGothic RockHeavy Metal

[91/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
03/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Crematory no longer need to fear comparison with the international competition, Germany’s most popular Gothic Metal Band having earned itself an excellent reputation at home and abroad over the past 23 years. One reason for this is the great recognition value of their songs, along with the band’s characteristic style and their unconditional determination to continue to grow as artists. None of their albums so far is a copy of any of its predecessors; each of them is an independent recording with unique features and fresh ideas. So if Crematory has decided to pick up the electronic elements from Revolution (2004) on their latest album Antiserum, they do so with different parameters and future-oriented visions. So far the promotional talk, let’s start talking about the album!

To start with the cover, the images and the fine fantasy art! I just love it! Before I start the real review I must say that I really loved listening to it, it was sometimes hard to focus on the reviewing part as the music was taking me away from my keyboard!

'Apocalyptic Vision' is a nice intro that unveils the story of the album! 'Until the end' has a nice melodic sound and a great mix between the brutal grunting (Matthias) and the clean/melancholic voice (Felix). Love the electronics in it too! The guitars blend in well with the melodic sound! 'Shadowmaker' has a fast & energetic drive, love the mix between electronics and the typical gothic metal sound, the mix of the clean and the brutal voice! The metallic computer voice is also a nice ad, giving it an extra dimension! 'If you believe' is partially sung in German (harsh voice) and English (clean voice), it sounds a bit like Rammstein on heavy fuel. One thing is for sure: the 2 languages are blending in perfectly and I love the melodic sound! 'Inside your eyes' has a more death metal-minded sound until the clean voice gives it a more melancholic & desperate sound! 'Kommt näher' sounds as if I have heard it before! Love the melody & the well worked out sound. The chorus is despite the fact that it is in German very catchy (my German is not good enough to understand it fully)! 'Irony of fate' is yet again a great mix between electronics & a great melodic metal sound & also a great mix between a clean voice and a harsh and brutal voice. I love the lyrics & the catchy chorus! 'Virus' sounds a bit like Rammstein, for sure in the beginning when the harsh voice is singing. The backing lifts up the song to a higher level. Love the synth that plays an important role in this song. 'Back from the dead' starts like a symphonic metal song and gets more pumped up by the backing and more electronics. This one must be a bomb on stage! 'Welcome' starts all fired up & becomes more symphonic after 30 seconds. This one sounds like a perfect opener of closing song for a concert! Love the high tempo & the chorus! 'Antiserum' starts with a piano synth and gets lead by Matthias before the great voice of Alex also jumps in. This song gives back the hope and is a great end song! Love the melodic and melancholic sound in it!

I hope to see these guys back on stage, as their passage at Eurorock and Graspop is way too long for me ago for me! I really enjoyed their album! It was hard starting the next review as it's the kind of pearl that stick on you and makes all the rest sound like rubbish! Great work!

The people who buy the digipack version get 2 extra tracks:


Shadowmaker – Elektro Mix (bonus track)
Shadowmaker – Centhron Mix (bonus track)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
03/04/2014


 

Next reviews
JEFF RENFROE • The Colony
PORTION CONTROL • Unrest in the Grime
FATAL CASUALTIES • SITM remixes
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
STUART BLUMBERG • Thanks For Sharing
NEURO-SENTENCE • The Shores of Anhedonia
JOEL & ETHAN COEN • Inside llewyn Davis
SOFT METALS • Lenses
WALLACE WORSLEY • The hunchback of Notre Dame
TEMPLES • live at the Botanique, 31/3/2014, Brussels, Belgium

 

Other reviews from CREMATORY
CREMATORY • Monument

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO ROCK + GOTHIC ROCK + HEAVY METAL
HELL BOULEVARD • Hangover from Hell
TRAFFICJAM • Lonely Happy
HERRSCHAFT • Les 12 Vertiges
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
KMFDM • Hyena
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THIS VALE OF TEARS • This Vale Of Tears
KILL SHELTER • Asylum
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
PIG • Pain Is God
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence