tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

03/04/2014 : CREMATORY - Antiserum

CREMATORY

Antiserum

MusicCD
Electro RockGothic RockHeavy Metal

[91/100]   

Steamhammer/SPV
03/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Crematory no longer need to fear comparison with the international competition, Germany’s most popular Gothic Metal Band having earned itself an excellent reputation at home and abroad over the past 23 years. One reason for this is the great recognition value of their songs, along with the band’s characteristic style and their unconditional determination to continue to grow as artists. None of their albums so far is a copy of any of its predecessors; each of them is an independent recording with unique features and fresh ideas. So if Crematory has decided to pick up the electronic elements from Revolution (2004) on their latest album Antiserum, they do so with different parameters and future-oriented visions. So far the promotional talk, let’s start talking about the album!

To start with the cover, the images and the fine fantasy art! I just love it! Before I start the real review I must say that I really loved listening to it, it was sometimes hard to focus on the reviewing part as the music was taking me away from my keyboard!

'Apocalyptic Vision' is a nice intro that unveils the story of the album! 'Until the end' has a nice melodic sound and a great mix between the brutal grunting (Matthias) and the clean/melancholic voice (Felix). Love the electronics in it too! The guitars blend in well with the melodic sound! 'Shadowmaker' has a fast & energetic drive, love the mix between electronics and the typical gothic metal sound, the mix of the clean and the brutal voice! The metallic computer voice is also a nice ad, giving it an extra dimension! 'If you believe' is partially sung in German (harsh voice) and English (clean voice), it sounds a bit like Rammstein on heavy fuel. One thing is for sure: the 2 languages are blending in perfectly and I love the melodic sound! 'Inside your eyes' has a more death metal-minded sound until the clean voice gives it a more melancholic & desperate sound! 'Kommt näher' sounds as if I have heard it before! Love the melody & the well worked out sound. The chorus is despite the fact that it is in German very catchy (my German is not good enough to understand it fully)! 'Irony of fate' is yet again a great mix between electronics & a great melodic metal sound & also a great mix between a clean voice and a harsh and brutal voice. I love the lyrics & the catchy chorus! 'Virus' sounds a bit like Rammstein, for sure in the beginning when the harsh voice is singing. The backing lifts up the song to a higher level. Love the synth that plays an important role in this song. 'Back from the dead' starts like a symphonic metal song and gets more pumped up by the backing and more electronics. This one must be a bomb on stage! 'Welcome' starts all fired up & becomes more symphonic after 30 seconds. This one sounds like a perfect opener of closing song for a concert! Love the high tempo & the chorus! 'Antiserum' starts with a piano synth and gets lead by Matthias before the great voice of Alex also jumps in. This song gives back the hope and is a great end song! Love the melodic and melancholic sound in it!

I hope to see these guys back on stage, as their passage at Eurorock and Graspop is way too long for me ago for me! I really enjoyed their album! It was hard starting the next review as it's the kind of pearl that stick on you and makes all the rest sound like rubbish! Great work!

The people who buy the digipack version get 2 extra tracks:


Shadowmaker – Elektro Mix (bonus track)
Shadowmaker – Centhron Mix (bonus track)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
03/04/2014


 

Next reviews
JEFF RENFROE • The Colony
PORTION CONTROL • Unrest in the Grime
FATAL CASUALTIES • SITM remixes
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
STUART BLUMBERG • Thanks For Sharing
NEURO-SENTENCE • The Shores of Anhedonia
JOEL & ETHAN COEN • Inside llewyn Davis
SOFT METALS • Lenses
WALLACE WORSLEY • The hunchback of Notre Dame
TEMPLES • live at the Botanique, 31/3/2014, Brussels, Belgium

 

Other reviews from CREMATORY
CREMATORY • Monument

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO ROCK + GOTHIC ROCK + HEAVY METAL
HELL BOULEVARD • Hangover from Hell
TRAFFICJAM • Lonely Happy
HERRSCHAFT • Les 12 Vertiges
THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD • To Lunar Canyons

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses