tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Words in Ruin

DYSCORDIA

Words in Ruin

MusicCD
Heavy Metalprogressive metal

[87/100]   

Road Marks Productions
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The members of Dyscordia played in bands like Gwyllion and Artrach. And yes, Gwyllion is still a big name
in the circles of the older metalheads, but Dyscordia works purposefully and professionally to become a big name itself. No success without hard work, right? Dyscordia's releases are great and the band gives a lot of attention to the fans, and of course Dyscordia has a good live reputation. Those who saw them on stage, know that they can expect quality. The latest album is released by their own label Mark Road Productions.

And what about the music? Musically, Dyscodia can be situated between progressive and classic heavy metal. The music and the lyrics sometimes are mythical and epic.

The first thing we hear is a short instrumental (Templum Creationis) in which a guitar line claims the lead. In Harlequin's Grief the band shows its trump cards: nice harmonies and guitar licks, a solid rhythm section, the alternating between the grunts of Stefan Segers and the clean vocals of Peter Overstijns.

Bail Me Out is even better. Beautiful vocals, a great structure and an interplay between guitars and rhythm section with an outro that is reminiscent of Iron Maiden. Top! During Words of Fortune, I sometimes think of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth again because of the structure of the song. Very beautiful vocals. An epic and melancholic song.

Chthonic Star is a familiar song during their live performances. A strong track and an excellent choice for a single. Sacred Soil of Souls is a short, warm ballad. Reveries contains magnificent drumming and guitar work. Never Will has melodic and catchy moments. An album with no weak moments.

After eleven tracks, I can only say that this album is a stunner. Those who have difficulties with Iron Maiden because of the vocals by Bruce Dickinson, should try Dyscordia. Also live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De leden hebben hun strepen verdiend in bands als Gwyllion en Artrach. Gwyllion is een naam die iets betekent voor oudere metalheads, maar Dyscordia is goed op weg om zelf naam te maken. Daarbij gaat men doelbewust en professioneel te werk. Succes moet je immers afdwingen. Er wordt veel werk gemaakt van de releases en veel aandacht besteed aan hun fans en hun livereputatie. Wie Dyscordia op een podium aan het werk zag, weet dat je telkens kwaliteit mag verwachten. De nieuwste worp is een release via het eigen Road Mark Productions.

En de muziek? Muzikaal situeren we Dyscordia tussen progressieve en klassieke heavy metal. De muziek en de teksten klinken soms wat mythisch en episch. Er wordt naar goede gewoonte gestart met een korte instrumental (Templum Creationis) waarin een gitaarlijn de hoofdrol opeist. Dat leidt ons naar de eerste echte song op het album: Harlequin’s Grief. Meteen gooit Dyscodia al zijn troeven op tafel: leuke harmonieën en gitaarlicks, een ferme ritmesectie, afwisseling tussen de grunts van Stefan Segers en de cleane zang van Piet Overstijns.

Maar Bail Me Out is nog sterker: mooie zanglijnen, een goede opbouw en samenspel tussen gitaren en ritmesectie. Met een outro die wat aan Iron Maiden doet denken. Een nummer dat af is. Top!

Ook tijdens Words of Fortune moet ik soms aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken vanwege de opbouw van de song. Prachtige zang. Een episch en weemoedig lied. Chthonic Star kennen we van de live-optredens. Een sterke song en een terechte single. Sacred Soil of Souls is een korte, warme ballade die vrij ingetogen blijft. Reveries bevat schitterend drum- en gitaarwerk. Never Will heeft melodische en catchy momenten. Een album zonder zwakke momenten.

Na elf tracks kan ik alleen maar zeggen dat dit een knaller van een plaat is. Een internationaal product, maar wel van eigen bodem. Wie graag Iron Maiden hoort, maar het wat moeilijk heeft met de beknepen zang van Bruce Dickinson, moet beslist Dyscordia eens uitproberen. Ook live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)