tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Words in Ruin

DYSCORDIA

Words in Ruin

MusicCD
Heavy Metalprogressive metal

[87/100]   

Road Marks Productions
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The members of Dyscordia played in bands like Gwyllion and Artrach. And yes, Gwyllion is still a big name
in the circles of the older metalheads, but Dyscordia works purposefully and professionally to become a big name itself. No success without hard work, right? Dyscordia's releases are great and the band gives a lot of attention to the fans, and of course Dyscordia has a good live reputation. Those who saw them on stage, know that they can expect quality. The latest album is released by their own label Mark Road Productions.

And what about the music? Musically, Dyscodia can be situated between progressive and classic heavy metal. The music and the lyrics sometimes are mythical and epic.

The first thing we hear is a short instrumental (Templum Creationis) in which a guitar line claims the lead. In Harlequin's Grief the band shows its trump cards: nice harmonies and guitar licks, a solid rhythm section, the alternating between the grunts of Stefan Segers and the clean vocals of Peter Overstijns.

Bail Me Out is even better. Beautiful vocals, a great structure and an interplay between guitars and rhythm section with an outro that is reminiscent of Iron Maiden. Top! During Words of Fortune, I sometimes think of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth again because of the structure of the song. Very beautiful vocals. An epic and melancholic song.

Chthonic Star is a familiar song during their live performances. A strong track and an excellent choice for a single. Sacred Soil of Souls is a short, warm ballad. Reveries contains magnificent drumming and guitar work. Never Will has melodic and catchy moments. An album with no weak moments.

After eleven tracks, I can only say that this album is a stunner. Those who have difficulties with Iron Maiden because of the vocals by Bruce Dickinson, should try Dyscordia. Also live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De leden hebben hun strepen verdiend in bands als Gwyllion en Artrach. Gwyllion is een naam die iets betekent voor oudere metalheads, maar Dyscordia is goed op weg om zelf naam te maken. Daarbij gaat men doelbewust en professioneel te werk. Succes moet je immers afdwingen. Er wordt veel werk gemaakt van de releases en veel aandacht besteed aan hun fans en hun livereputatie. Wie Dyscordia op een podium aan het werk zag, weet dat je telkens kwaliteit mag verwachten. De nieuwste worp is een release via het eigen Road Mark Productions.

En de muziek? Muzikaal situeren we Dyscordia tussen progressieve en klassieke heavy metal. De muziek en de teksten klinken soms wat mythisch en episch. Er wordt naar goede gewoonte gestart met een korte instrumental (Templum Creationis) waarin een gitaarlijn de hoofdrol opeist. Dat leidt ons naar de eerste echte song op het album: Harlequin’s Grief. Meteen gooit Dyscodia al zijn troeven op tafel: leuke harmonieën en gitaarlicks, een ferme ritmesectie, afwisseling tussen de grunts van Stefan Segers en de cleane zang van Piet Overstijns.

Maar Bail Me Out is nog sterker: mooie zanglijnen, een goede opbouw en samenspel tussen gitaren en ritmesectie. Met een outro die wat aan Iron Maiden doet denken. Een nummer dat af is. Top!

Ook tijdens Words of Fortune moet ik soms aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken vanwege de opbouw van de song. Prachtige zang. Een episch en weemoedig lied. Chthonic Star kennen we van de live-optredens. Een sterke song en een terechte single. Sacred Soil of Souls is een korte, warme ballade die vrij ingetogen blijft. Reveries bevat schitterend drum- en gitaarwerk. Never Will heeft melodische en catchy momenten. Een album zonder zwakke momenten.

Na elf tracks kan ik alleen maar zeggen dat dit een knaller van een plaat is. Een internationaal product, maar wel van eigen bodem. Wie graag Iron Maiden hoort, maar het wat moeilijk heeft met de beknepen zang van Bruce Dickinson, moet beslist Dyscordia eens uitproberen. Ook live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

26
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Idiorhythmic
25
09
KMFDM
In Dub
03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
09
A CERTAIN RATIO are back with a new album, ACR Loco!
25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
09
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
In The Early Days We Spent More Time Drinking And Partying Rather Than Playing
19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion