tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Words in Ruin

DYSCORDIA

Words in Ruin

MusicCD
Heavy Metalprogressive metal

[87/100]   

Road Marks Productions
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The members of Dyscordia played in bands like Gwyllion and Artrach. And yes, Gwyllion is still a big name
in the circles of the older metalheads, but Dyscordia works purposefully and professionally to become a big name itself. No success without hard work, right? Dyscordia's releases are great and the band gives a lot of attention to the fans, and of course Dyscordia has a good live reputation. Those who saw them on stage, know that they can expect quality. The latest album is released by their own label Mark Road Productions.

And what about the music? Musically, Dyscodia can be situated between progressive and classic heavy metal. The music and the lyrics sometimes are mythical and epic.

The first thing we hear is a short instrumental (Templum Creationis) in which a guitar line claims the lead. In Harlequin's Grief the band shows its trump cards: nice harmonies and guitar licks, a solid rhythm section, the alternating between the grunts of Stefan Segers and the clean vocals of Peter Overstijns.

Bail Me Out is even better. Beautiful vocals, a great structure and an interplay between guitars and rhythm section with an outro that is reminiscent of Iron Maiden. Top! During Words of Fortune, I sometimes think of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth again because of the structure of the song. Very beautiful vocals. An epic and melancholic song.

Chthonic Star is a familiar song during their live performances. A strong track and an excellent choice for a single. Sacred Soil of Souls is a short, warm ballad. Reveries contains magnificent drumming and guitar work. Never Will has melodic and catchy moments. An album with no weak moments.

After eleven tracks, I can only say that this album is a stunner. Those who have difficulties with Iron Maiden because of the vocals by Bruce Dickinson, should try Dyscordia. Also live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De leden hebben hun strepen verdiend in bands als Gwyllion en Artrach. Gwyllion is een naam die iets betekent voor oudere metalheads, maar Dyscordia is goed op weg om zelf naam te maken. Daarbij gaat men doelbewust en professioneel te werk. Succes moet je immers afdwingen. Er wordt veel werk gemaakt van de releases en veel aandacht besteed aan hun fans en hun livereputatie. Wie Dyscordia op een podium aan het werk zag, weet dat je telkens kwaliteit mag verwachten. De nieuwste worp is een release via het eigen Road Mark Productions.

En de muziek? Muzikaal situeren we Dyscordia tussen progressieve en klassieke heavy metal. De muziek en de teksten klinken soms wat mythisch en episch. Er wordt naar goede gewoonte gestart met een korte instrumental (Templum Creationis) waarin een gitaarlijn de hoofdrol opeist. Dat leidt ons naar de eerste echte song op het album: Harlequin’s Grief. Meteen gooit Dyscodia al zijn troeven op tafel: leuke harmonieën en gitaarlicks, een ferme ritmesectie, afwisseling tussen de grunts van Stefan Segers en de cleane zang van Piet Overstijns.

Maar Bail Me Out is nog sterker: mooie zanglijnen, een goede opbouw en samenspel tussen gitaren en ritmesectie. Met een outro die wat aan Iron Maiden doet denken. Een nummer dat af is. Top!

Ook tijdens Words of Fortune moet ik soms aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken vanwege de opbouw van de song. Prachtige zang. Een episch en weemoedig lied. Chthonic Star kennen we van de live-optredens. Een sterke song en een terechte single. Sacred Soil of Souls is een korte, warme ballade die vrij ingetogen blijft. Reveries bevat schitterend drum- en gitaarwerk. Never Will heeft melodische en catchy momenten. Een album zonder zwakke momenten.

Na elf tracks kan ik alleen maar zeggen dat dit een knaller van een plaat is. Een internationaal product, maar wel van eigen bodem. Wie graag Iron Maiden hoort, maar het wat moeilijk heeft met de beknepen zang van Bruce Dickinson, moet beslist Dyscordia eens uitproberen. Ook live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
02
Peek-a-Boo founder Ward De Prins has passed away...
18
02
Darkness On Demand (Ex-Dance Or Die) release new video, EP and album!
18
02
Today, exactly 15 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

19
02
DUNE MESSIAH
Moth Club, London, UK
19
02
DRAB MAJESTY
Moth Club, London, UK
19
02
THE SOFT MOON
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
02
SARIN
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
PUNISH YOURSELF
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
SPANKRAGHT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
HEDERA HELIX
Hedera Helix Promo
21
02
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
20
02
EVI VINE
My Hands Are Tied
19
02
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart