tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Words in Ruin

DYSCORDIA

Words in Ruin

MusicCD
Heavy Metalprogressive metal

[87/100]   

Road Marks Productions
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The members of Dyscordia played in bands like Gwyllion and Artrach. And yes, Gwyllion is still a big name
in the circles of the older metalheads, but Dyscordia works purposefully and professionally to become a big name itself. No success without hard work, right? Dyscordia's releases are great and the band gives a lot of attention to the fans, and of course Dyscordia has a good live reputation. Those who saw them on stage, know that they can expect quality. The latest album is released by their own label Mark Road Productions.

And what about the music? Musically, Dyscodia can be situated between progressive and classic heavy metal. The music and the lyrics sometimes are mythical and epic.

The first thing we hear is a short instrumental (Templum Creationis) in which a guitar line claims the lead. In Harlequin's Grief the band shows its trump cards: nice harmonies and guitar licks, a solid rhythm section, the alternating between the grunts of Stefan Segers and the clean vocals of Peter Overstijns.

Bail Me Out is even better. Beautiful vocals, a great structure and an interplay between guitars and rhythm section with an outro that is reminiscent of Iron Maiden. Top! During Words of Fortune, I sometimes think of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth again because of the structure of the song. Very beautiful vocals. An epic and melancholic song.

Chthonic Star is a familiar song during their live performances. A strong track and an excellent choice for a single. Sacred Soil of Souls is a short, warm ballad. Reveries contains magnificent drumming and guitar work. Never Will has melodic and catchy moments. An album with no weak moments.

After eleven tracks, I can only say that this album is a stunner. Those who have difficulties with Iron Maiden because of the vocals by Bruce Dickinson, should try Dyscordia. Also live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De leden hebben hun strepen verdiend in bands als Gwyllion en Artrach. Gwyllion is een naam die iets betekent voor oudere metalheads, maar Dyscordia is goed op weg om zelf naam te maken. Daarbij gaat men doelbewust en professioneel te werk. Succes moet je immers afdwingen. Er wordt veel werk gemaakt van de releases en veel aandacht besteed aan hun fans en hun livereputatie. Wie Dyscordia op een podium aan het werk zag, weet dat je telkens kwaliteit mag verwachten. De nieuwste worp is een release via het eigen Road Mark Productions.

En de muziek? Muzikaal situeren we Dyscordia tussen progressieve en klassieke heavy metal. De muziek en de teksten klinken soms wat mythisch en episch. Er wordt naar goede gewoonte gestart met een korte instrumental (Templum Creationis) waarin een gitaarlijn de hoofdrol opeist. Dat leidt ons naar de eerste echte song op het album: Harlequin’s Grief. Meteen gooit Dyscodia al zijn troeven op tafel: leuke harmonieën en gitaarlicks, een ferme ritmesectie, afwisseling tussen de grunts van Stefan Segers en de cleane zang van Piet Overstijns.

Maar Bail Me Out is nog sterker: mooie zanglijnen, een goede opbouw en samenspel tussen gitaren en ritmesectie. Met een outro die wat aan Iron Maiden doet denken. Een nummer dat af is. Top!

Ook tijdens Words of Fortune moet ik soms aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken vanwege de opbouw van de song. Prachtige zang. Een episch en weemoedig lied. Chthonic Star kennen we van de live-optredens. Een sterke song en een terechte single. Sacred Soil of Souls is een korte, warme ballade die vrij ingetogen blijft. Reveries bevat schitterend drum- en gitaarwerk. Never Will heeft melodische en catchy momenten. Een album zonder zwakke momenten.

Na elf tracks kan ik alleen maar zeggen dat dit een knaller van een plaat is. Een internationaal product, maar wel van eigen bodem. Wie graag Iron Maiden hoort, maar het wat moeilijk heeft met de beknepen zang van Bruce Dickinson, moet beslist Dyscordia eens uitproberen. Ook live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R
13
08
AIMA
Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
12
08
AUGER
From Now On I

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS
07
08
CHELSEA announce European Tour in September

Concert reviews

07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo
17
08
MOTOR!K
Static
16
08
ENZO KREFT
Disobedient
15
08
DER KLINKE
CURTAINS