tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : DYSCORDIA - Words in Ruin

DYSCORDIA

Words in Ruin

MusicCD
Heavy Metalprogressive metal

[87/100]   

Road Marks Productions
08/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The members of Dyscordia played in bands like Gwyllion and Artrach. And yes, Gwyllion is still a big name
in the circles of the older metalheads, but Dyscordia works purposefully and professionally to become a big name itself. No success without hard work, right? Dyscordia's releases are great and the band gives a lot of attention to the fans, and of course Dyscordia has a good live reputation. Those who saw them on stage, know that they can expect quality. The latest album is released by their own label Mark Road Productions.

And what about the music? Musically, Dyscodia can be situated between progressive and classic heavy metal. The music and the lyrics sometimes are mythical and epic.

The first thing we hear is a short instrumental (Templum Creationis) in which a guitar line claims the lead. In Harlequin's Grief the band shows its trump cards: nice harmonies and guitar licks, a solid rhythm section, the alternating between the grunts of Stefan Segers and the clean vocals of Peter Overstijns.

Bail Me Out is even better. Beautiful vocals, a great structure and an interplay between guitars and rhythm section with an outro that is reminiscent of Iron Maiden. Top! During Words of Fortune, I sometimes think of Iron Maiden and Iced Earth again because of the structure of the song. Very beautiful vocals. An epic and melancholic song.

Chthonic Star is a familiar song during their live performances. A strong track and an excellent choice for a single. Sacred Soil of Souls is a short, warm ballad. Reveries contains magnificent drumming and guitar work. Never Will has melodic and catchy moments. An album with no weak moments.

After eleven tracks, I can only say that this album is a stunner. Those who have difficulties with Iron Maiden because of the vocals by Bruce Dickinson, should try Dyscordia. Also live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


NL

De leden hebben hun strepen verdiend in bands als Gwyllion en Artrach. Gwyllion is een naam die iets betekent voor oudere metalheads, maar Dyscordia is goed op weg om zelf naam te maken. Daarbij gaat men doelbewust en professioneel te werk. Succes moet je immers afdwingen. Er wordt veel werk gemaakt van de releases en veel aandacht besteed aan hun fans en hun livereputatie. Wie Dyscordia op een podium aan het werk zag, weet dat je telkens kwaliteit mag verwachten. De nieuwste worp is een release via het eigen Road Mark Productions.

En de muziek? Muzikaal situeren we Dyscordia tussen progressieve en klassieke heavy metal. De muziek en de teksten klinken soms wat mythisch en episch. Er wordt naar goede gewoonte gestart met een korte instrumental (Templum Creationis) waarin een gitaarlijn de hoofdrol opeist. Dat leidt ons naar de eerste echte song op het album: Harlequin’s Grief. Meteen gooit Dyscodia al zijn troeven op tafel: leuke harmonieën en gitaarlicks, een ferme ritmesectie, afwisseling tussen de grunts van Stefan Segers en de cleane zang van Piet Overstijns.

Maar Bail Me Out is nog sterker: mooie zanglijnen, een goede opbouw en samenspel tussen gitaren en ritmesectie. Met een outro die wat aan Iron Maiden doet denken. Een nummer dat af is. Top!

Ook tijdens Words of Fortune moet ik soms aan Iron Maiden of Iced Earth denken vanwege de opbouw van de song. Prachtige zang. Een episch en weemoedig lied. Chthonic Star kennen we van de live-optredens. Een sterke song en een terechte single. Sacred Soil of Souls is een korte, warme ballade die vrij ingetogen blijft. Reveries bevat schitterend drum- en gitaarwerk. Never Will heeft melodische en catchy momenten. Een album zonder zwakke momenten.

Na elf tracks kan ik alleen maar zeggen dat dit een knaller van een plaat is. Een internationaal product, maar wel van eigen bodem. Wie graag Iron Maiden hoort, maar het wat moeilijk heeft met de beknepen zang van Bruce Dickinson, moet beslist Dyscordia eens uitproberen. Ook live.

Wim GUILLEMYN
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)