tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

10/12/2016 : GUTTERDAMMERUNG - Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

GUTTERDAMMERUNG

Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Concert
Hard RockHeavy MetalMusical 10/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

EN

On Thursday, june 30th, metal heads gathered in The Barn, at the Rock Werchter festival to experience Gutterdämmerung, the loudest silent movie in the world, as the Swedish-Belgian director Bjorn Tagemose describes it. The film is shot in stylish black and white with a really loud live metal soundtrack, the band playing behind the screen, that was the concept. It's rather unlikely this film will get any Oscar nomination and a prize for most original storyline probably isn't in the cards either.

Gutterdämmerung only differs slightly from the word Götterdämmerung and that's probably no coincidence at all. In the opera piece by Richard Wagner it's all about the quest and fight for the Ring of the Nibelungen, in Tagemose's movie it's about a guitar everybody wants. Jesse Hughes (Eagles of Death Metal) plays the role of a bounty hunter, Iggy Pop is a fallen angel, Grace Jones is the Mother God and the late Lemmy and Slayer's Tom Arraya are featured in the movie as well. None other than Henry Rollins played the role of the evil priest and storyteller. When Rollins' character walked onto stage in front of the film screen, it became clear that Rollins was actually in Werchter 'in the flesh'. For a moment I wondered if Iggy Pop would be in the venue, as he was to play the festival only two days later, but alas. No Iggy, nor Mark Lanegan, Nina Hagen, Tom Arraya, Joshua Homme who were also featured in the story.

Whilst the movie was shown and the story was told about good and evil, with executions and sermons by the evil priest, the Gutterdämmerung live band played a tight and very heavy set. British singer Jesse Smith fronted the band, delivering really good vocals and grunts. In contrast, Flemish soprano singer Cathy Van Roy provided Wagnerian opera vocals.

The band's performance was a journey through the history of rock, hard rock and mainly metal, with Filter's song Hey man, nice shot being performed, whilst Jesse Hughes was executing his first victim. Gems included in the set were War Pigs and Black Sabbath (Black Sabbath) and of course Motörhead's Ace of Spades; Battery (Metallica) was used as an intro to a destructive version of Raining Blood (Slayer). Hughes vocals in Led Zeppelin's Dazed and Confused were impressive. Apart from metal classics the band also performed Johnny Cash' Folsom Prison Blues and Screamin' Jay Hawkins' I Put a Spell on You.

During the 'finale' The End (by The Doors) was combined with O Fortuna (Carmina Burana, Carl Orff), both in classical and 'metalized' version.

When the filmscreen was switched off, Henry Rollins, still dressed as the evil priest, talked about Lemmy's contribution to the movie and told us what a big example Lemmy was for all of us. There was an uneasy silence amongst the fans. And then the Gutterdämmerung band paid tribute to Lemmy with a reprise of Ace of Spades.

During the gig, you sometimes wondered whether this was a tribute to or a parody of metal music. I don't think it's the latter, but ode or pastisch, it sounded great and the concept worked perfectly, delivering one of the finest moments at the festival.


Setlist:
Hey Man, Nice Shot (Filter) / War Pigs (Black Sabbath) / Black Sabbath (Black Sabbath) / Motor City Madhouse (Ted Nugent) / Ace of Spades (Motörhead) / Folsom Prison Blues (Johnny Cash) / White Rabbit (Jefferson Airplane) / Sad Man's Tongue (Volbeat) / My Own Summer (Deftones) / Battery - Intro (Metallica) / Raining Blood (Slayer) / Run Pig Run (Queens of the Stone Age) / Dazed And Confused (Led Zeppelin) / I Put A Spell On You (Screamin' Jay Hawkins) / Rammstein (Rammstein) / The End (The Doors) / Carmina Burana (Carl Orff)

Encore:
Ace of Spades (Motörhead)

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


NL

Een Oscarnominatie zit er wellicht niét in, een onderscheiding voor originaliteit evenmin en een prijs voor fijngevoeligheid al zeker niet. Maar de luidste stille film op de wereld zoals de Belgisch-Zweedse regisseur Bjorn Tagemose zijn film Gutterdämmerung noemt, artistiek gefilmd in zwart-wit en begeleid door een oorverdovende livemetalband, zorgde wel voor één van de hoogtepunten op de eerste Rock Werchter-dag.

We stonden met heel wat metalheads en andere melomanen op donderdag 30 juni 2016 in The Barn naar een film te kijken, mét livemuziek, aanvankelijk achter het filmscherm met gaandeweg solo-spots die zich voor het scherm afspeelden. Als je Gutterdämmerung leest, denk je allicht spontaan aan Wagners Götterdämmerung, niet? Zoek niet verder, Tagemose zal wellicht niet ontkennen dat het een inspiratie was. Maar de strijd gaat niet om de ring van de Nibelungen maar om een al dan niet duivelse of hemelse gitaar die iedereen wil hebben. Het was een filterdunne plot, originaliteit nul, maar erg kunstzinnig gefilmd en de live-soundtrack stond als een huis.

Jesse Hughes (Eagles of Death Metal) vertolkt in de film de rol van premiejager, Iggy Pop is de gevallen engel, Grace Jones de moeder Gods, en ook de betreurde Lemmy en Slayers Tom Arraya verschenen ten tonele. Niemand minder dan Henry Rollins vertolkte de rol van de gemene priester en verteller. Rollins, die op zeker moment uit het doek stapte en op het podium stond. Je vroeg je af of ook Iggy Pop live aanwezig zou zijn, per slot van rekening speelde die op zondag ook op Werchter. Maar we moesten het 'live' zonder Iggy, Mark Lanegan, Nina Hagen, Joshua Homme (ook allemaal in de film) of Tom Arraya doen.

Terwijl de queeste naar de gitaar en het verhaal over goed en kwaad, met terechtstellingen en preken, zich voltrok op het scherm, zette de Gutterdammerüng-liveband een strakke set neer. Frontman was de energieke Brits Jesse Smith, die zich meer dan behoorlijk van zijn taak kweet, van grunten tot het opzoeken van de hogere vocale regionen. Daartegenover stonden de hoge Wagneriaanse octaven van de Vlaamse soprano Cathy Van Roy.

De band grasduinde in de rock-, hardrock- en voornamelijk metalgeschiedenis met Filter's Hey Man, Nice Shot als openingssong terwijl op het scherm Jesse Hughes zijn eerste executie volbracht. Met ook nog Black Sabbath's War Pigs en Black Sabbath, uiteraard Ace of Spades van Motörhead, Metallica's Battery als intro tot een verzengend destructief Raining Blood van Slayer, een fenomenal Dazed and Confused van Led Zeppelin, maar evengoed kwam Johnny Cash met Folsom Prison Blues aan bod en Screamin' Jay Hawkins met I Put A Spell on You.

De finale was een samengaan van The Doors' The End met Carl Orffs O Fortuna (uit Carmina Burana), zowel gebracht in het klassieke concept, éven toch, als nadien gegrunt door Jesse Smith.

Daarna doofde het filmscherm en trad Henry Rollins naar voren, weliswaar nog steeds in priesterspij, om eer te betuigen aan Lemmy, die nog meewerkte aan de film. Het werd even heel stil onder de muziekfans, waarop de band nog een vlammende reprise van Ace of Spades neerzette als encore.

Tijdens het concert vroeg je je soms af of het een eerbetoon aan dan wel een parodie op metal was. Ik vermoed het eerste. Wat er ook van zij, ode of pastiche, het klonk lekker en het concept wérkte.

Setlist:
Hey Man, Nice Shot (Filter) / War Pigs (Black Sabbath) / Black Sabbath (Black Sabbath) / Motor City Madhouse (Ted Nugent) / Ace of Spades (Motörhead) / Folsom Prison Blues (Johnny Cash) / White Rabbit (Jefferson Airplane) / Sad Man's Tongue (Volbeat) / My Own Summer (Deftones) / Battery - Intro (Metallica) / Raining Blood (Slayer) / Run Pig Run (Queens of the Stone Age) / Dazed And Confused (Led Zeppelin) / I Put A Spell On You (Screamin' Jay Hawkins) / Rammstein (Rammstein) / The End (The Doors) / Carmina Burana (Carl Orff)

Encore:
Ace of Spades (Motörhead)

Mark VAN MULLEM
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
GUY GARVEY • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
KATE RYAN • Comment Te Dire Adieu
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
SON OF SAM • The Collapse of Ancient Funk vol. 2
DAS PROJEKT • Les Belles Infidèles
YVES SCHELPE (PSY'AVIAH) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
DAGEIST • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (25/06/2016)
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EMPUSAE + KLANKDAL • Split album

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORANGE OUTLAW • Desert Wolf
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic

 

Same genre: MUSICAL
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Rufus Norris : London Road
VINCENT BAL • Brabançonne
ROB MARSHALL • Into The Woods
CLINT EASTWOOD • Jersey Boys
TED V. MIKELS • Girl In Gold Boots
RICHARD LESTER • A Hard Day's Night
WALTER HILL • STREETS OF FIRE

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem