tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : RED FANG - Only Ghosts

RED FANG

Only Ghosts

MusicCD
Hard RockStoner Rock

[80/100]   

Relapse Records
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

After three years of vigorously touring the world, Red Fang is back with a brand new album: Only Ghosts, released October 14th. The fourth album by the stoner rock quartet is produced by Ross Robinson (At The Drive In, The Cure, Slipknot) and mixed by Joe Baressi (Queens of the Stone Age, Kyuss). Let's not beat about the bush, touched by the hand of both Robinson and Baressi, all of the ten tracks on the album have that typical Red Fang signature to it, which means Only Ghosts sounds great!

On Only Ghosts the band continues to please with a high impact, hook filled stoner rock with irresistable fat grooves and great melodies. The album is not ground breaking, nor is it something completely different then what you already knew from the band, just expect more and much better of the same recipe; absolute grand songs and great riffs. From the throaty Flies to the proggy instrumental Flames over the almost poppy Not For You or the apocalyptic The Smell Of Sound, the new Red Fang kicks ass for 41 minutes!

It's hard to find a lesser track on this album as there is none. But there are some notble tracks of course. To name them: the haunting and daunting No Air with its fat choruses, desperate vocals, grand guitars and its overal big sound, or the apocalyptic and scaring The Smell Of Sound, wow! Another great tune is I Am Ghost. Those guitars, man! And there's Cut It Short of course, kicking off with a Nirvana-like intro riff - Love Buzz*, Nirvana's take on the Shocking Blue-song, a yone? - and developing into a majestic power pop song, surely a firm candidate for a single, I would say. The same goes for Not For You with its great riffing, killer choruses and grand vocals, with the singalong chorus he wants it all she wants it all they want it all, this could be an instant hit? It Should!

With this fourth album, Red Fang has found the perfect balance between sledgehammer riffs and hooks, screams,shouts and clean vocals, fat grooves, some wonderful melodies and even poppy tunes. All of the songs have a truly great architecture to them without getting too arty farty or even proggy, and keeping the no nonsense rock & noise and fuzz in the sound.

If I were you, I would buy the new Red Fang album. Don't hesitate. I must warn you though, you could end up like me and play it in repeat constantly and especially tracks like Not For You, Cut It Short and No Air!

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey