tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DOMADORA - The Violent Mystical Sukuma

DOMADORA

The Violent Mystical Sukuma

MusicCD
HeavyPsych RockStoner Rock

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Heavy psychedelic with stoner rock influences. That's a mouthful to say that we are talking about a heavy rock band with roots in the 70s. Think of bands like Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless... But especially in the vocal songs one notices the stoner influence. Think of Velvet Revolver, Mastodon...

So we can speak of a certain duality. The instrumental tracks are typically long (up to a quarter) and sound like hard rock with psychedelic elements. Sometimes they sound like well worked out jam sessions and have a wonderful vibe. In other cases, the songs sound as a single elongated solo. The vocal tracks are rather regular stoner songs with striking and catchy vocals by Belwil. I would have preferred more vocal songs. Indian Depression is a whopping song: heavy vocals, a delicious groove and dirty guitar lines. The same goes for Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, give us more of that! The instrumental tracks are, as mentioned earlier, much longer and more like 70's music, but no less interesting. Only, the song structures are not common and may put off some listeners. But the vibe and groove are always good. Just listen to the sixteen minutes during track Solarium which stops after a solid start and slowly builds up again for a merciless rock ending.

Domadora delivers a fine album and shows that it has potential. These guys have a very strong and balanced album in their genes somewhere. For now, we will be sweet with The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Heavy psychedelic rock met stonerinvloeden. Dat is een hele mond vol om te zeggen dat we hier over een heavyrockband spreken met roots in de jaren 70. Denk aan bands zoals Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless… Maar vooral in de songs met vocale passages merken we de stonerinvloed. Denk aan Velvet Revolver, Mastodon…

We kunnen dus van een zekere dualiteit spreken. De instrumentale tracks zijn meestal lang (tot een kwartier) en zijn vooral harde rock met psychedelische elementen. Soms klinken ze als goed uitgewerkte jamsessies en hebben ze een heerlijke vibe. In andere gevallen is de song één lang uitgesponnen solo. De vocale tracks zijn eerder reguliere stonersongs waarin de aanstekelijk zang van Belwil opvalt. Voor mij mochten er wat meer gezongen tracks aanwezig zijn. Indian Depression is bijvoorbeeld een knoert van een song: heavy vocals, heerlijke groove en smerige gitaarlijnen. Hetzelfde geldt trouwens voor Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, geef ons meer van dat. De instrumentale tracks zijn, zoals eerder gezegd, heel wat langer en meer in de stijl van de jaren 70, maar daarom niet minder interessant. Alleen de songstructuren zijn hier niet alledaags en dat zal vermoedelijk wel enkelen onder ons afschrikken. Maar de vibe en de groove zitten wel telkens goed. Luister maar eens naar het zestien minuten durende Solarium dat na een stevig begin stilvalt en langzaam weer opbouwt om dan genadeloos naar het einde te rocken.

Domodora levert een fijn album af waarin het toont potentie te hebben. Ergens zit er volgens mij nog een heel sterk en uitgebalanceerd album in hun genen. Voorlopig zijn we een tijdje zoet met The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: HEAVY
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
EVERY HOUR KILLS • Every Hour Kills EP
WORLD GONE • EP
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
OST+FRONT • Freundschaft EP
KARMA TO BURN • Arch Stanton
HELL:SECTOR • The Rise Of The Apocalypse
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012
MXRCXL • Dump

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
ORGAN • Tetro

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure