tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DOMADORA - The Violent Mystical Sukuma

DOMADORA

The Violent Mystical Sukuma

MusicCD
HeavyPsych RockStoner Rock

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Heavy psychedelic with stoner rock influences. That's a mouthful to say that we are talking about a heavy rock band with roots in the 70s. Think of bands like Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless... But especially in the vocal songs one notices the stoner influence. Think of Velvet Revolver, Mastodon...

So we can speak of a certain duality. The instrumental tracks are typically long (up to a quarter) and sound like hard rock with psychedelic elements. Sometimes they sound like well worked out jam sessions and have a wonderful vibe. In other cases, the songs sound as a single elongated solo. The vocal tracks are rather regular stoner songs with striking and catchy vocals by Belwil. I would have preferred more vocal songs. Indian Depression is a whopping song: heavy vocals, a delicious groove and dirty guitar lines. The same goes for Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, give us more of that! The instrumental tracks are, as mentioned earlier, much longer and more like 70's music, but no less interesting. Only, the song structures are not common and may put off some listeners. But the vibe and groove are always good. Just listen to the sixteen minutes during track Solarium which stops after a solid start and slowly builds up again for a merciless rock ending.

Domadora delivers a fine album and shows that it has potential. These guys have a very strong and balanced album in their genes somewhere. For now, we will be sweet with The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Heavy psychedelic rock met stonerinvloeden. Dat is een hele mond vol om te zeggen dat we hier over een heavyrockband spreken met roots in de jaren 70. Denk aan bands zoals Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless… Maar vooral in de songs met vocale passages merken we de stonerinvloed. Denk aan Velvet Revolver, Mastodon…

We kunnen dus van een zekere dualiteit spreken. De instrumentale tracks zijn meestal lang (tot een kwartier) en zijn vooral harde rock met psychedelische elementen. Soms klinken ze als goed uitgewerkte jamsessies en hebben ze een heerlijke vibe. In andere gevallen is de song één lang uitgesponnen solo. De vocale tracks zijn eerder reguliere stonersongs waarin de aanstekelijk zang van Belwil opvalt. Voor mij mochten er wat meer gezongen tracks aanwezig zijn. Indian Depression is bijvoorbeeld een knoert van een song: heavy vocals, heerlijke groove en smerige gitaarlijnen. Hetzelfde geldt trouwens voor Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, geef ons meer van dat. De instrumentale tracks zijn, zoals eerder gezegd, heel wat langer en meer in de stijl van de jaren 70, maar daarom niet minder interessant. Alleen de songstructuren zijn hier niet alledaags en dat zal vermoedelijk wel enkelen onder ons afschrikken. Maar de vibe en de groove zitten wel telkens goed. Luister maar eens naar het zestien minuten durende Solarium dat na een stevig begin stilvalt en langzaam weer opbouwt om dan genadeloos naar het einde te rocken.

Domodora levert een fijn album af waarin het toont potentie te hebben. Ergens zit er volgens mij nog een heel sterk en uitgebalanceerd album in hun genen. Voorlopig zijn we een tijdje zoet met The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: HEAVY
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
EVERY HOUR KILLS • Every Hour Kills EP
WORLD GONE • EP
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
OST+FRONT • Freundschaft EP
KARMA TO BURN • Arch Stanton
HELL:SECTOR • The Rise Of The Apocalypse
WOVEN HAND • Review of the concert at EDEN in Charleroi on 28th September 2012
MXRCXL • Dump

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973

 

Same genre: STONER ROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
7WEEKS • A Farewell To Dawn
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
KING GOBLIN • Cryptozoology
ORGAN • Tetro

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis