tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DOMADORA - The Violent Mystical Sukuma

DOMADORA

The Violent Mystical Sukuma

MusicCD
HeavyPsych RockStoner Rock

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Heavy psychedelic with stoner rock influences. That's a mouthful to say that we are talking about a heavy rock band with roots in the 70s. Think of bands like Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless... But especially in the vocal songs one notices the stoner influence. Think of Velvet Revolver, Mastodon...

So we can speak of a certain duality. The instrumental tracks are typically long (up to a quarter) and sound like hard rock with psychedelic elements. Sometimes they sound like well worked out jam sessions and have a wonderful vibe. In other cases, the songs sound as a single elongated solo. The vocal tracks are rather regular stoner songs with striking and catchy vocals by Belwil. I would have preferred more vocal songs. Indian Depression is a whopping song: heavy vocals, a delicious groove and dirty guitar lines. The same goes for Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, give us more of that! The instrumental tracks are, as mentioned earlier, much longer and more like 70's music, but no less interesting. Only, the song structures are not common and may put off some listeners. But the vibe and groove are always good. Just listen to the sixteen minutes during track Solarium which stops after a solid start and slowly builds up again for a merciless rock ending.

Domadora delivers a fine album and shows that it has potential. These guys have a very strong and balanced album in their genes somewhere. For now, we will be sweet with The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Heavy psychedelic rock met stonerinvloeden. Dat is een hele mond vol om te zeggen dat we hier over een heavyrockband spreken met roots in de jaren 70. Denk aan bands zoals Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless… Maar vooral in de songs met vocale passages merken we de stonerinvloed. Denk aan Velvet Revolver, Mastodon…

We kunnen dus van een zekere dualiteit spreken. De instrumentale tracks zijn meestal lang (tot een kwartier) en zijn vooral harde rock met psychedelische elementen. Soms klinken ze als goed uitgewerkte jamsessies en hebben ze een heerlijke vibe. In andere gevallen is de song één lang uitgesponnen solo. De vocale tracks zijn eerder reguliere stonersongs waarin de aanstekelijk zang van Belwil opvalt. Voor mij mochten er wat meer gezongen tracks aanwezig zijn. Indian Depression is bijvoorbeeld een knoert van een song: heavy vocals, heerlijke groove en smerige gitaarlijnen. Hetzelfde geldt trouwens voor Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, geef ons meer van dat. De instrumentale tracks zijn, zoals eerder gezegd, heel wat langer en meer in de stijl van de jaren 70, maar daarom niet minder interessant. Alleen de songstructuren zijn hier niet alledaags en dat zal vermoedelijk wel enkelen onder ons afschrikken. Maar de vibe en de groove zitten wel telkens goed. Luister maar eens naar het zestien minuten durende Solarium dat na een stevig begin stilvalt en langzaam weer opbouwt om dan genadeloos naar het einde te rocken.

Domodora levert een fijn album af waarin het toont potentie te hebben. Ergens zit er volgens mij nog een heel sterk en uitgebalanceerd album in hun genen. Voorlopig zijn we een tijdje zoet met The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above