tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DOMADORA - The Violent Mystical Sukuma

DOMADORA

The Violent Mystical Sukuma

MusicCD
HeavyPsych RockStoner Rock

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Heavy psychedelic with stoner rock influences. That's a mouthful to say that we are talking about a heavy rock band with roots in the 70s. Think of bands like Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless... But especially in the vocal songs one notices the stoner influence. Think of Velvet Revolver, Mastodon...

So we can speak of a certain duality. The instrumental tracks are typically long (up to a quarter) and sound like hard rock with psychedelic elements. Sometimes they sound like well worked out jam sessions and have a wonderful vibe. In other cases, the songs sound as a single elongated solo. The vocal tracks are rather regular stoner songs with striking and catchy vocals by Belwil. I would have preferred more vocal songs. Indian Depression is a whopping song: heavy vocals, a delicious groove and dirty guitar lines. The same goes for Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, give us more of that! The instrumental tracks are, as mentioned earlier, much longer and more like 70's music, but no less interesting. Only, the song structures are not common and may put off some listeners. But the vibe and groove are always good. Just listen to the sixteen minutes during track Solarium which stops after a solid start and slowly builds up again for a merciless rock ending.

Domadora delivers a fine album and shows that it has potential. These guys have a very strong and balanced album in their genes somewhere. For now, we will be sweet with The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Heavy psychedelic rock met stonerinvloeden. Dat is een hele mond vol om te zeggen dat we hier over een heavyrockband spreken met roots in de jaren 70. Denk aan bands zoals Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless… Maar vooral in de songs met vocale passages merken we de stonerinvloed. Denk aan Velvet Revolver, Mastodon…

We kunnen dus van een zekere dualiteit spreken. De instrumentale tracks zijn meestal lang (tot een kwartier) en zijn vooral harde rock met psychedelische elementen. Soms klinken ze als goed uitgewerkte jamsessies en hebben ze een heerlijke vibe. In andere gevallen is de song één lang uitgesponnen solo. De vocale tracks zijn eerder reguliere stonersongs waarin de aanstekelijk zang van Belwil opvalt. Voor mij mochten er wat meer gezongen tracks aanwezig zijn. Indian Depression is bijvoorbeeld een knoert van een song: heavy vocals, heerlijke groove en smerige gitaarlijnen. Hetzelfde geldt trouwens voor Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, geef ons meer van dat. De instrumentale tracks zijn, zoals eerder gezegd, heel wat langer en meer in de stijl van de jaren 70, maar daarom niet minder interessant. Alleen de songstructuren zijn hier niet alledaags en dat zal vermoedelijk wel enkelen onder ons afschrikken. Maar de vibe en de groove zitten wel telkens goed. Luister maar eens naar het zestien minuten durende Solarium dat na een stevig begin stilvalt en langzaam weer opbouwt om dan genadeloos naar het einde te rocken.

Domodora levert een fijn album af waarin het toont potentie te hebben. Ergens zit er volgens mij nog een heel sterk en uitgebalanceerd album in hun genen. Voorlopig zijn we een tijdje zoet met The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery