tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DOMADORA - The Violent Mystical Sukuma

DOMADORA

The Violent Mystical Sukuma

MusicCD
HeavyPsych RockStoner Rock

[78/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Heavy psychedelic with stoner rock influences. That's a mouthful to say that we are talking about a heavy rock band with roots in the 70s. Think of bands like Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless... But especially in the vocal songs one notices the stoner influence. Think of Velvet Revolver, Mastodon...

So we can speak of a certain duality. The instrumental tracks are typically long (up to a quarter) and sound like hard rock with psychedelic elements. Sometimes they sound like well worked out jam sessions and have a wonderful vibe. In other cases, the songs sound as a single elongated solo. The vocal tracks are rather regular stoner songs with striking and catchy vocals by Belwil. I would have preferred more vocal songs. Indian Depression is a whopping song: heavy vocals, a delicious groove and dirty guitar lines. The same goes for Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, give us more of that! The instrumental tracks are, as mentioned earlier, much longer and more like 70's music, but no less interesting. Only, the song structures are not common and may put off some listeners. But the vibe and groove are always good. Just listen to the sixteen minutes during track Solarium which stops after a solid start and slowly builds up again for a merciless rock ending.

Domadora delivers a fine album and shows that it has potential. These guys have a very strong and balanced album in their genes somewhere. For now, we will be sweet with The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Heavy psychedelic rock met stonerinvloeden. Dat is een hele mond vol om te zeggen dat we hier over een heavyrockband spreken met roots in de jaren 70. Denk aan bands zoals Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Earthless… Maar vooral in de songs met vocale passages merken we de stonerinvloed. Denk aan Velvet Revolver, Mastodon…

We kunnen dus van een zekere dualiteit spreken. De instrumentale tracks zijn meestal lang (tot een kwartier) en zijn vooral harde rock met psychedelische elementen. Soms klinken ze als goed uitgewerkte jamsessies en hebben ze een heerlijke vibe. In andere gevallen is de song één lang uitgesponnen solo. De vocale tracks zijn eerder reguliere stonersongs waarin de aanstekelijk zang van Belwil opvalt. Voor mij mochten er wat meer gezongen tracks aanwezig zijn. Indian Depression is bijvoorbeeld een knoert van een song: heavy vocals, heerlijke groove en smerige gitaarlijnen. Hetzelfde geldt trouwens voor Rocking Crash Hero. Hell yeah, geef ons meer van dat. De instrumentale tracks zijn, zoals eerder gezegd, heel wat langer en meer in de stijl van de jaren 70, maar daarom niet minder interessant. Alleen de songstructuren zijn hier niet alledaags en dat zal vermoedelijk wel enkelen onder ons afschrikken. Maar de vibe en de groove zitten wel telkens goed. Luister maar eens naar het zestien minuten durende Solarium dat na een stevig begin stilvalt en langzaam weer opbouwt om dan genadeloos naar het einde te rocken.

Domodora levert een fijn album af waarin het toont potentie te hebben. Ergens zit er volgens mij nog een heel sterk en uitgebalanceerd album in hun genen. Voorlopig zijn we een tijdje zoet met The Violent Mystical Sukuma.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me